HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Transit Motel Airport

Hotel | Karakata Area, Off Nyerere Rd, Dar es Salaam, Tanzania Dsm

68.4% Overall Rating

11 out of 14 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (13/12/2013)

Emma Jarratt thinks…

"Very convenient location just across from the airport, would be easily walkable or a $5, 2 minute taxi ride if like me you were a solo female arriving late at night after a very long flight. The taxi…"

Read all Transit Motel Airport reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 5.00

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Dar es Salaam?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Dar es Salaam

Eazy's Place
5.97 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Friendly Gecko
20.89 USD

Hostel 86.4% 4 reviews
Uplands Centre Hostel
17.50 USD

Hostel 70.8% 18 reviews
New Bondeni Hotel
23.00 USD

Hotel 65.3% 7 reviews
Tanzanite Executive suites
41.36 USD

Apartment 97.1% 5 reviews
Safari Inn Ltd
12.50 USD

Hostel 65.8% 26 reviews
Juba Hotel
12.50 USD

Hotel 65.0% 20 reviews
Transit Motel Ukonga
20.00 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
68.4%

Overall Rating

11 out of 14 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Transit Motel Airport'

Atmosphere
51.4%
Location
81.4%
Facilities
64.3%
Cleanliness
65.7%
Staff
64.3%
Value
74.3%
Safety
77.1%
Refine your results Showing 12 of 14 reviews
Reset filter
82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

05 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Close to the airport.

Disliked: There was no hot water in the shower.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Emma Jarratt

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

13 December 2013 Emma would recommend this property

Liked: Very convenient location just across from the airport, would be easily walkable or a $5, 2 minute taxi ride if like me you were a solo female arriving late at night after a very long flight. The taxi pick up waited a long time for me to deal with visa and baggage issues, and was very welcoming when I did finally turn up. The room was clean, bed comfy, good mosquito netting and good wifi. Ideal for an overnight stop over close to the airport.

Disliked: Emma left no negative feedback.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was literally 5 minutes drive out of the airport, literally across the road so easy to get to the airport.

Disliked: One staff member overnight was very unfriendly and abrupt when I asked one question about turning air-conditioning off she barked at me. Was extremely unfriendly and still as scary in the morning. The day staff was very polite. For this reason I would never stay here again. For other travellers if you don't mind bad customer service it is great for convenience. It is very noisy till about 1am you can hear the nightclubs outside very clearly so not a good nights sleep :(

77.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, clean room. All that was required - booked due to an early departure at the airport the following morning.

Disliked: Food service is very slow.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Adam Hoszman

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

21 September 2011 Adam would recommend this property

Liked: Close to the airport, free wifi, friendly staff. No problem with paying in several currencies. I spent all my residual shillings, paid the rest in USD, and the lady didn't have $4 change from $5 note so she even accepted a 1 euro coin instead of 1 USD!

Disliked: Dodgy area (but this is transit motel and you don't have to leave it for other purposes than the airport.

28.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

18 August 2011

Liked: Not much, just close to the airport, if you need a place to crash one night.

Disliked: Pretty much everything. It is dirty, old sheets. Not much help from staff when asking any questions. Loads of mosquitos, noise from the street in front, which is very run down part of town, probably dangerous to walk. All rooms are in one corridor, which gets very very noisy at night, including staff, which sit bored in front of the corridor and keep on laughing quite loud and shouting to each other. Food was also not good either, breakfast poor. Only useful if you need to be in the airport at 6am and want to avoid the risk to be in central Dar es Salaam. Otherwise, avoid 100%

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

26 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: proximity DAR airport great asset for 1--night stay after/before flight back home.

Disliked: Very noisy environment. Housebeat from nearby "casino" untill early morning. Earplugs really necessary!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

08 March 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We were so impressed with this place. AC and real glass windows (VERY rare in Tanzania) and a four poster bed. We would definitely recommend this hotel. It was also a very short cab ride to the airport.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Tobias Vermeulen

01 February 2010

Liked: It was really close to the airport, nice staff, but room and shower weren't clean at all.

Disliked: Tobias left no negative feedback.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Mary-Anne Constable

30 December 2009 Mary-Anne would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice bedroom, slightly concerned about the 2 dirty combs in the bathroom. Staff could barely speak english which I found strange for a transit motel. There seemed to be a lot of locals that use the motel, or facilities as well (?). Location to airport is very good. It was fine for a one night transit stopover but overpriced.

Disliked: Mary-Anne left no negative feedback.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Dr. Don & Elizabeth Kantel

19 October 2009

Liked: Nothing! It was the "motel from Hell!" Electricity and water were off. Staff kept a radio blaring until midnight. And the desk clerk forgot our wake-up call. In fact, the desk clerk was asleep on the floor and didn't even get up when I went to the lobby to find out about the missed wake-up. Also, the beds were so short, we had to book a second room and my wife and I slept--for the short time we did sleep--diagonally across our respective beds. The whole experience was the absolute worst in our many decades of travel!

Disliked: Dr. Don & Elizabeth left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

13 July 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It`s perfect if you`re on a transfer or have an early morning flight, as it`s practically in walking distance to the airport.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.