We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Zurich hostels
See all Zurich hotels

Reviews of Hotel Otter

2 star Hotel | Oberdorfstrasse 7, Zurich, Switzerland 8001

78.5% Overall Rating

30 out of 36 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (10/07/2013)

"The room was lovely (I stayed in Carmen), as was the location. They upgraded me for free to a double room."

Read all Hotel Otter reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • 24 hour hot showers

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Zurich?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Zurich

City Backpacker - Hotel Biber
39.37 USD

Hostel 75.5% 53 reviews
Hotel DaVinci
86.71 USD

Hotel 2.5 star Not yet rated
Hotel Limmathof
68.09 USD

Hotel 2 star 81.7% 238 reviews
Hotel Bristol Zurich
66.50 USD

Hotel 3 star 89.9% 76 reviews
X-TRA Hotel
74.48 USD

Hotel 3 star 82.4% 44 reviews
Langstars
45.75 USD

Hostel 84.7% 232 reviews
Zurich Youth Hostel
45.75 USD

Hostel 87.0% 1044 reviews
Im Sonnenbuehl
79.80 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
78.5%

Overall Rating

30 out of 36 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hotel Otter'

Atmosphere
80.0%
Location
89.6%
Facilities
69.6%
Cleanliness
85.6%
Staff
77.6%
Value
65.6%
Safety
81.6%
Refine your results Showing 30 of 33 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Ashraf Khoury

Alone

Work / volunteering

19 May 2014 Ashraf would recommend this property

Liked: Price, location

Disliked: Toilette and bath are outside

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

10 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The room was lovely (I stayed in Carmen), as was the location. They upgraded me for free to a double room.

Disliked: The breakfast was pretty unimpressive, and it would have been nice to have a bathroom in the room - but you get what you pay for, and it was much much cheaper than other options.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

06 July 2012

Liked: The location was excellent and had a lot of character.

Disliked: I visited in the summer and it was tremendously uncomfortable due to the lack of a fan or air conditioner. I expected the bathroom and toilet to be separate and shared, but I did not expect them to be so bare and they looked clean, but barely so. The property is surrounded by bars and is incredibly loud at night.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Mark Hooper

With my spouse / partner

City break
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

29 April 2012 Mark would recommend this property

Liked: Good atmosphere - very nice, independent style room. Good choice for breakfast, good bar below.

Disliked: Nothing really. Perhaps we were sat on cow skin at the bar; vegetarians might be offended?

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break

15 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Charming place with unique character. I also appreciated the cleanliness. The lively bar was also nice.

Disliked: Breakfast was very simple. It is fine but I'd be great if some fruits would be served alongside bread. It could be as simple as fresh good apples. When I arrived I was told that breakfast is served until 11 o'clock but I forgot to ask what time it will start. On Sunday morning I was too early when tried my luck at 8:30-

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Comfy bed Warm room

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

09 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was clean, funky and roomy. The staff were very friendly and competent. The location was very central and easy to reach from the airport using public transport.

Disliked: Nothing

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

04 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Theme.

Disliked: Zurich in general is soooo expensive!

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

18 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very central location, clean rooms.

Disliked: Front desk hours.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa

19 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The room was quite special

Disliked: none

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Giulia degli Alessandrini

Alone

Work / volunteering

27 May 2011 Giulia would recommend this property

Liked: The room was nice and clean.

Disliked: The toilet; small, without a window and outside the room.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Ryan Morton

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

14 May 2011 Ryan would recommend this property

Liked: Prime location in the city centre, large room, shower/tub was in a separate room than the toilet, check-in was at the bar

Disliked: Small space for toilet - the door hits the seat but is fine for small people, you'll have to wash your hands in your own room, the shower/tub room was a bit dark - could use more lighting because of black tiles, noisy above a bar at night

25.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
City break

29 September 2010

Liked: very bad

Disliked: thay not adjusted my money

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

06 September 2010

Liked: Nice breakfast; staff were alright; location was really good

Disliked: The room - overrated

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year

13 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the room was cool

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Customer review

25 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I thought the hotel had a lot of character. I loved the different themed rooms and the location. However, I thought it wasn't worth the price and when I booked it I didn't realize that there are communal bathrooms.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Kimberly Henderson

03 June 2010 Kimberly would recommend this property

Liked: Very expensive place for not even having your own private bathroom.. however zurich is a very expensive place in itself.. the rooms had great character and were very clean and the breakfast that was included was fantastic..

Disliked: Kimberly left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Johannes Wagner

24 May 2010 Johannes would recommend this property

Liked: I am totally satisfied with Hotel Otter. The staff is friendly and the breakfast is excellent. The rooms are clean and spacy and the location within the city is great! The price is not cheap, but quite reasonable and adequate if you keep in mind that Zurich is one of the most expensive cities in the world.

Disliked: Johannes left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Simon Tam

10 April 2010 Simon would recommend this property

Liked: It is a good place to relax.The atmosphere is lovely.

Disliked: Simon left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

04 April 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The only bad thing about this place was the pervasive smell of cigarettes in the corridor, wafting up from the cafe on the ground floor. However the smell doesn't enter the room so it was fine.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

04 January 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The themed rooms were a bit of a novelty, and we were upgraded on arrival as there were better rooms available than what we booked. A cute little bar downstairs though it was smoky. Breakfast was adequate. Shared bathroom was clean, though not a great shower. Good location and close to the trams routes to get you to the station or anywhere else you might want to go in zurich.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Steven Zusack

26 September 2009 Steven would recommend this property

Liked: The friendliness of the staff was a treat. They were always helpful and curtious.

Disliked: Steven left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

14 September 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Centrally located.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

12 September 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Bright and quirky decoration- it was good they had different themed rooms. I stayed in the Japanese Suite and thought it was pretty and an interesting twist on your standard hotel room.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

19 August 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Well located and for Zurich very good value for money.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.


See all Zurich hostels
See all Zurich hotels