We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Geneva hostels

Reviews of Residence St-James

3 star Hotel | Rue Du Versonnex 3, Geneva, Switzerland 1207

79.0% Overall Rating

56 out of 67 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (28/04/2013)

Basia Kwiatkowski thinks…

"The location was brilliant. Breakfast and lobby better than expected. Nice ambiance in the simple rooms. I was pleasantly surprised that the studio I had booked turned out to be a whole apartment…"

Read all Residence St-James reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 15.76

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

we accept only the cancellation with full details by email and not on the phone

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Geneva?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Geneva

Hotel Residence City Zen.
90.38 USD

Hotel 3 star 89.1% 33 reviews
Hotel Admiral
78.30 USD

Hotel 3 star 89.1% 51 reviews
Hotel Capitole
78.30 USD

Hotel 3 star 79.7% 38 reviews
Hotel Moderne
73.04 USD

Hotel 3 star 76.6% 177 reviews
Youth Hostel Geneva
37.84 USD

Hostel 81.6% 112 reviews
Hotel St-Gervais
52.02 USD

Hotel 1 star 86.9% 282 reviews
City Hostel Geneva
37.03 USD

Hostel 88.5% 840 reviews
Ramada Encore Geneva
83.55 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
79.0%

Overall Rating

56 out of 67 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Residence St-James'

Atmosphere
72.0%
Location
94.4%
Facilities
72.0%
Cleanliness
72.8%
Staff
83.2%
Value
73.6%
Safety
84.8%
Refine your results Showing 48 of 58 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Basia Kwiatkowski

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

28 April 2013 Basia would recommend this property

Liked: The location was brilliant. Breakfast and lobby better than expected. Nice ambiance in the simple rooms. I was pleasantly surprised that the studio I had booked turned out to be a whole apartment with two beds, and breakfast was sufficient with good coffee. Location just perfect, I couldn't have chosen better.

Disliked: Nothing, it was perfectly fine and exceeded expectations.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Heather DeVaney

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture

21 April 2013 Heather would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was very helpful, our room was spacious and clean, and the hotel is located just off the Rhone. What more could you want?

Disliked: The beds were a bit weird- they sort of folded down, and weren't the most comfortable. However, the pillows completely made up for it. We slept well enough.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Eduardo Martinez

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

03 January 2013 Eduardo would recommend this property

Liked: Everything's good

Disliked: Eduardo left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference

12 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Full function kitchen

Disliked: Did not inform about not changing towels more then one time. The shower curtain was really dirty.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

09 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean, big and fully equipped room,friendly stuff!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

28 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Placed at the centre of Geneva, a kichenette in the room

Disliked: Using Internet was charged

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

12 August 2012

Liked: .

Disliked: Price

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

27 July 2012

Liked: Good location. Helpfull staff.

Disliked: Room could be cleaner. A little expensive considering what is offered.

34.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Matthias Heid

With friends / other travellers

Romantic getaway

23 July 2012

Liked: Central Place

Disliked: - Unfriendly & lying service employees!! - dirty shower - Very loud --> Bad isolation of windows - Rooms outdated & a lot of broke stuff - Not enough electricity plugins

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Mark Myhill

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

28 May 2012 Mark would recommend this property

Liked: its worth staying here just because of the location, everything is pretty much on your door step. theres a kitchen in the room so you can cook your own dinner as geneva is exspensive, espescially if you backpack like i do.

Disliked: the room does look like you walked into the 1950s, but who cares because the location makes it so worth it and it has everything you need.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals

22 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Rebekah Macdonald

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

19 September 2011

Liked: The staff were excellent, and it's in a great, convenient location.

Disliked: Does not pay attention to details. Things in our room were broken, the bed was two singles pushed together.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

14 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: clean and tidy.

Disliked: bit of street noise. Not too bad though.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference

08 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice location, close to every means of transportation, accommodating staff though they seemed a bit lost sometimes. Good kitchen and fully equipped. Good size.

Disliked: The rooms looked a bit run down, and they still had the smell of old. The kitchen was really good to have and fully equipped - the only comment would be the absence of an exhaust fan, without which the smell of anything you cooked spread in the whole room. The internet should really be included in the price for the room - the extra charges were outrageous.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Jan-Ludvig Levinsen

With my spouse / partner

City break
Shopping
Visiting friends or family

07 March 2011 Jan-Ludvig would recommend this property

Liked: I was near the thing I wanted to see

Disliked: The room and the dishes wasn`t clean (I am not good in English)

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife

30 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: clean, spacious and well-equipped; friendly staff and free internet.

Disliked: traffic noise, lukewarm water during morning peak time.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

20 December 2010

Liked: I liked the room, nice studio and the location is great for the price.

Disliked: It is very dated and the bed sheets were dirty. Also the receptionists were unfriendly. Asking to change sheets was made to feel a chore and that I was in the wrong. No hello, how are you etc! Extremely unfriendly staff. Put me off coming here again

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

31 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: locationself catering

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

simon Reynolds

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

24 July 2010 simon would recommend this property

Liked: The property is in a great spot only 5 mins walk to both the centre and fountain. The Air Con is a great bonus and the kitchen is good, although no grill on the cooker (a problem when trying to cook a creme brule). Getting to the Airport was easy ans we got a free public transport ticket when checking in for the duration of our stay. Staff speak reasonable english

Disliked: simon left no negative feedback.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

13 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The room was nice but to crowded, to many furniture. I remember asking for double bed and had twins instead. And there was only one pillow, wich I doscovered onlu at night when I was going to sleep and there was no recepcionist at this time to request about it. The cleaningness, specially on the kitchen was awful, but at the toilet at least was nice.And it was noisy, inside. From 6:00 I could hear people walking and speaking loud in the hallways of my floor and the doors made a lot of noise.But the localization was espetacular.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

24 May 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good choise!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

18 April 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good deal in Geneva, a very expensive town. Good installations and location and also free internet in the reception.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

06 April 2010

Liked: location

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Clare Marshall

10 March 2010 Clare would recommend this property

Liked: Very helpful staff and excellent location!

Disliked: Clare left no negative feedback.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

01 March 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: No so bad

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.


See all Geneva hostels