HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Hotel Moderne Hotel

1, Rue de Berne, Geneva, Switzerland

Atmosphere 66%

Cleanliness 76%

Facilities 68%

Location 95%

Safety 81%

Staff 89%

Value 62%

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Free Internet Access
  • Internet Access
  • Luggage Storage
  • Parking
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Telephone Fax Facilities

Important Information

We will pre authorize your credit card before arrival according to the cancellation policy.
Authorization means that we ask the credit card company to block an amount on your credit card (normally equal to the first night).
This amount is normally valid for a few weeks, thereafter it is automatically released back into your account (depending on the credit card company and the country). We have no control over the release process.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 14:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Child Friendly
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Geneva?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 66%

Cleanliness 76%

Facilities 68%

Location 95%

Safety 81%

Staff 89%

Value 62%

Showing 1-10 of 33 reviews

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Nov 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Work / volunteering

Liked: The flexibility in changing the booking and the good price.

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Sep 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Romantic getaway, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: Great location; private room for 2 small but comfortable; everything clean; pretty fine breakfast; computer and printer available; staff ok.

Disliked: It was not as "moderne" as you would expect - but it was still quite ok.

Customer would recommend this property

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Mar 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The staff were friendly

Disliked: Breakfast was very ordinary

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Feb 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The location is very good. The staff is very polite and friendly. The breakfast buffet is sufficient. The most important thing for us was the price which is in comparison with the other hotels in Geneva very reasonable. Overall, we liked it a lot at Hotel Moderne and would stay there again.

Disliked: We found some stains on the bed linens but I guess it was because they are quite old.

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Excelent location, friendly staff. Comfy bed. Fan available in room. Clean. Elevator.

Disliked: Rooms seem quite old.

Customer would recommend this property

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Jul 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: Wonderful location, well stocked private rooms (tv, sink, mirror, towels, in-room wi-fi, desk), friendly staff, and a great breakfast. The free transit card is a bonus, but I think most places do that and you can get around easily on foot

Disliked: It all felt a bit cramped (tiny rooms, tiny dining area, tiny lounge, tiny elevator...) but that's the trade off for the location. The whole place felt old too, which isn't necessarily a bad thing, but it could have used new wall paper and a few renovations. Mostly for that reason I'm not sure it justifies the price-tag, but it's at least a close call.

Customer would recommend this property

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 40%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Mar 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: The location is perfect, it's centrally located in Geneva and only a few minutes walk to the tramlines, bus stations and major train station with links to all parts of Switzerland. And with the free public transport card offered I was able to explore Geneva and No costs.

Disliked: It had a 1970s feel. I understand keeping the exterior facade looking old, but the interiors were clean but dated. I did not even have a flat screen tv in my room just an old 1990s Philips 14 inch tv. I think the hotel and much of Geneva could do with some interior modernization.

Customer would recommend this property

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 40%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 Mar 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Events / festivals, Work / volunteering

Liked: good position near City Center

Disliked: WC and Shower outside room

Customer would recommend this property

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 Jun 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Work / volunteering

Liked: Great, central location, helpful staff, and very substantial breakfast.

Disliked: Heating on in summer, and noise penetrates from adjoining rooms.

Customer would recommend this property

69% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 20%
69% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Mar 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Business / conference, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Very centrally located, just a few steps from train and bus stations, and the staff is friendly and helpful. Good breakfast.

Disliked: Very expensive for what it offers: small rooms, noisy if you happen to sleep on the streetside, shared showers and toilets, and the name "Moderne" must be meant ironically, the whole place looks like it came straight out of 70's spy film, and not in a good way.

Check Availability