We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Geneva hostels

Reviews of Hotel Moderne

3 star Hotel | 1, Rue de Berne - CH-, Geneva, Switzerland 1201

76.6% Overall Rating

141 out of 177 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (21/08/2014)

"Excelent location, friendly staff. Comfy bed. Fan available in room. Clean. Elevator."

Read all Hotel Moderne reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

The hotel reserves the right to pre-authorise credit cards prior to arrival. 100% of the amount covering the first night will only be reserved, as a guarantee for the hotel. This reservation is automatically cancelled in case it is not used after a certain number of days, depending on every card issuer (bank). WARNING: Please be aware that the reservations for 3rd, 4th and 5th of March 2014 are NON-REFUNDABLE! The reservations for these dates can not be Cancelled or Modified!

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Geneva?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Geneva

Hotel Capitole
78.12 USD

Hotel 3 star 79.7% 38 reviews
Hotel St-Gervais
51.90 USD

Hotel 1 star 86.9% 282 reviews
Hotel Admiral
52.43 USD

Hotel 3 star 89.1% 51 reviews
Hotel Residence City Zen.
90.18 USD

Hotel 3 star 89.1% 33 reviews
City Hostel Geneva
38.13 USD

Hostel 88.6% 841 reviews
Youth Hostel Geneva
37.75 USD

Hostel 81.5% 114 reviews
Residence St-James
89.13 USD

Hotel 3 star 79.0% 67 reviews
Ramada Encore Geneva
67.63 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/11/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/11/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
76.6%

Overall Rating

141 out of 177 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hotel Moderne'

Atmosphere
65.6%
Location
95.2%
Facilities
68.8%
Cleanliness
76.0%
Staff
89.6%
Value
59.2%
Safety
81.6%
Refine your results Showing 125 of 136 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5   Next
Reset filter
88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

21 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excelent location, friendly staff. Comfy bed. Fan available in room. Clean. Elevator.

Disliked: Rooms seem quite old.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Kevin Holmes

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

24 July 2014 Kevin would recommend this property

Liked: Wonderful location, well stocked private rooms (tv, sink, mirror, towels, in-room wi-fi, desk), friendly staff, and a great breakfast. The free transit card is a bonus, but I think most places do that and you can get around easily on foot

Disliked: It all felt a bit cramped (tiny rooms, tiny dining area, tiny lounge, tiny elevator...) but that's the trade off for the location. The whole place felt old too, which isn't necessarily a bad thing, but it could have used new wall paper and a few renovations. Mostly for that reason I'm not sure it justifies the price-tag, but it's at least a close call.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

01 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is perfect, it's centrally located in Geneva and only a few minutes walk to the tramlines, bus stations and major train station with links to all parts of Switzerland. And with the free public transport card offered I was able to explore Geneva and No costs.

Disliked: It had a 1970s feel. I understand keeping the exterior facade looking old, but the interiors were clean but dated. I did not even have a flat screen tv in my room just an old 1990s Philips 14 inch tv. I think the hotel and much of Geneva could do with some interior modernization.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Viktor Tamayo

Alone

Events / festivals
Work / volunteering

07 March 2014 Viktor would recommend this property

Liked: good position near City Center

Disliked: WC and Shower outside room

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

11 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great, central location, helpful staff, and very substantial breakfast.

Disliked: Heating on in summer, and noise penetrates from adjoining rooms.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Sebastiaan Wouters

Alone

Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture

28 March 2013

Liked: Very centrally located, just a few steps from train and bus stations, and the staff is friendly and helpful. Good breakfast.

Disliked: Very expensive for what it offers: small rooms, noisy if you happen to sleep on the streetside, shared showers and toilets, and the name "Moderne" must be meant ironically, the whole place looks like it came straight out of 70's spy film, and not in a good way.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

23 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Super-convenient location a few minutes' walk from Cornavin Station. The breakfast was nice too. The staff seem a bit overworked but were very helpful.

Disliked: There wasn't anything I particularly disliked. My main priorities were location and value for money, and the hotel delivered on both of these. Don't expect 5-star accommodations and you will be quite satisfied.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

22 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean rooms, reasonably priced, compared with other accommodations in Geneva.

Disliked: The lift made a lot of noise when it was being used. The single room i stayed in did not have a toilet or shower which i knew but was still a minor inconvenience.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

09 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great location; friendly, helpful reception staff

Disliked: the woman working breakfast on Sunday was very unfriendly

57.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Rebecca Farthing

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

08 July 2012

Liked: The staff were friendly and they offered free wifi on all falls (even though it wasn't working when we first arrived)

Disliked: The hotel is in dire need of refurbishment!!! The thin carpet looked absolutely filthy, the bathroom had patterned tiles to hide the dirt- even they failed. The street below was very noisy but it was impossible to close the window as it was unbearably hot even with the provided fan. Breakfast was disgusting, my partner who eats most things was almost sick at the smell of some kind of 'fruit' juice. The photos on this website are 100% misleading, the hotel does not look over lake geneva, in fact it is a good tram ride away, the rooms displayed must have been from when it was first opened because there was no hint of any of that furniture in our room, no sofa, not even any curtains as there were outside shutters - are they even pictures of this hotel??? Moderne = JOKE!

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

03 July 2012

Liked: Proximity to train station. Good breakfast.

Disliked: Expensive, not good value for money. Very noisy, street noise, not within the hotel. Uncomfortable bed.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture

28 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location

Disliked: Strange smell

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Roland Pap

Alone

City break

21 May 2012 Roland would recommend this property

Liked: Location, location, location :)

Disliked: Old building, old furnitures

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Yvette Medri

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

27 April 2012 Yvette would recommend this property

Liked: Great location and close to station and city. Clean and functional and the staff are really helpful and welcoming.

Disliked: Traffic noise

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, facilities, nice showers.

Disliked: Too close to the street and the noise.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

30 January 2012

Liked: The staff seemed pretty nice and it was also great to have a transportation pass.

Disliked: When I checked in and went up to my room, it had still not been cleaned from the previous guest. I was also shocked at how small it was. Even when it was clean, it still looked dirty. Showers and toilets are shared per floor not between rooms. The street noise was also very loud.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: They offered a free to use computer and printer.

Disliked: The maintenance man was a jerk, I got locked inside my room and when he came he said I was lying....

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

As a family with children

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

27 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Quaint, cute, clean, location, close to train, lake Geneva, and city. Free boat pass, free metro and tram pass, great breakfast....

Disliked: very loud on Saturday night (all night) ,some fighting on street just below window.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Alexandra Hyatt

Alone

City break
Visiting friends or family

11 November 2011 Alexandra would recommend this property

Liked: Centre of Geneva

Disliked: Too hot. Rooms very small. showers shared between a floor, not between 2 rooms.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

10 November 2011

Liked: breakfast OK, central

Disliked: room small and smelly, bed hanging through, too expensive

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 October 2011

Liked: Location

Disliked: Definitely needs a refurbishment

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

12 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the people are friendly and the location is very near the railway station, it is ideal for a quick visit of the city or to just stay a night on a business trip.

Disliked: It is very loud and very hot, although they provide a ventilator. I would rather not recommend it for a trip to relax or a romantic holiday etc.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Rennie White

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

02 September 2011

Liked: I arrived at Geneva very early and went to the hotel to see when I could check in and they said that I could at that time, which was convenient. Overall, I found the staff very friendly.

Disliked: It's called Hotel Moderne, but nothing about it is modern. Plus, I'm pretty sure there was a pubic hair on my pillow when I arrived.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lina Bakutyte

Alone

Visiting friends or family

01 September 2011 Lina would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, I was only travelling through Geneva and very much liked the fact it was walking distance from the main train station, also great links with the airport. Good rooms with slightly old-fashioned feel, which is nice, comparing to very generic style of big hotel chains. Good quality breakfast and above all immaculate service, especially at the Reception.

Disliked: Perhaps one-night stay is too short to detect any flaws.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

31 August 2011

Liked: Nothing.

Disliked: Very expensive "chamber", a small room with one bed, but shared shower. The staff is not friendly.


See all Geneva hostels