HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Mawella Beach Resort

Hotel | Mahawela Road, Moraktiyara, Tangalle, Sri Lanka 000

73.3% Overall Rating

9 out of 12 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (04/04/2013)

"There was nothing I liked about these cabanas, other than the close proximity to the beautiful and secluded beach."

Read all Mawella Beach Resort reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Swimming Pool
  • Tours/Travel Desk

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 91.89
  • Breakfast USD 4.59

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Tangalle?

Contact us directly

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
73.3%

Overall Rating

9 out of 12 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Mawella Beach Resort'

Atmosphere
65.0%
Location
80.0%
Facilities
63.3%
Cleanliness
68.3%
Staff
76.7%
Value
78.3%
Safety
81.7%
Refine your results Showing 9 of 12 reviews
Reset filter
34.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

04 April 2013

Liked: There was nothing I liked about these cabanas, other than the close proximity to the beautiful and secluded beach.

Disliked: No air con (had to pay extra for it), food was expensive and bland and there was also a very limited menu, no hot water, no trash can in the room, ant-infested bathroom, perpetually dirty floors, over-priced bottled water that you could easily buy for less than half the price in the down town area.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Romantic getaway

20 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, the beach is great for nice walks and also swimming/body surfing. The bungalows are unique in design and the whole area nicely done. Staff was friendly. A correction of a former comment, where the owner was called a racist, because no local was allowed. He told me the story, that the local was under 18 years old and coming with a Westerner. There are enough pedophiles in Asia and the owner, a very nice man, was completely right to not let misuse his place for Pedophiles.

Disliked: Internet was not working two of 5 days (and we needed it for working!!). It is understandable, that prices in the restaurant are higher than in Tangalle, nevertheless it was a bit too expensive compared to prices in tourist areas like now Ella, where we get way more food for less money. In details like cleanliness it could be better (-> for example wash the shower curtains and fix the appliances, damn !) The bed is only 190cm long with a foot- and head end - so tall travelers like me cannot stretch fully. The moskitonet is made on the top of dense fabric - so the ventilator brings no cooling. As someone else wrote already - with a bit of effort this place could do much better.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

ruth twiggins

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

03 March 2012 ruth would recommend this property

Liked: The hotel was right on a fantastic quiet beach, great location

Disliked: The restaurant was over priced and there was very little alternative option apart from going in to Tangale - which was a tuc tuc ride away. The manager was not overly friendly

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

Beach / sunbathing
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

09 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location of Manahara Beach Bungalows was great. The property is right on a beautiful beach with great waves. There is also a lovely swimming pool in the hotel grounds which is well-shaded when it becomes too hot on the beach. The atmosphere is relaxed and informal. The staff were helpful and responsive. It was a great place for relaxing, swimming and doing not very much else. If you want a beach with watersports, this is probably not the right place. There is one other hotel/restaurant within walking distance if you want to eat outside the hotel without taking a tuk tuk. We found the rooms represented reasonable value. Most of the food was very good.

Disliked: While we really enjoyed our stay at Manahara Beach Bungalows, we had the sense that the hotel could go from being good to excellent with just a little bit more effort. The rooms were clean but a bit shabby - frayed sheets with holes and old towels. The slope on one of the bathrooms meant that water accumulated on the floor. No effort was made to try to clean the bit of public beach immediately in front of the hotel. To some extent, this was perhaps reflected in the price of the rooms which we felt represented good value but we felt that the hotel could actually charge more if it made some efforts to improve the standard of the rooms. We also felt that more effort could be made to promote local attractions such as turtle-watching at Rekawa; fishing trips; whate-watching at Mirissa. However, we still really enjoyed our time at Manahara and would recommend it to others for a peaceful, relaxing beach holiday.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Family Holiday
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

19 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location, friendliness, hospitality

Disliked: Nothing.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Phil Hamilton

As a family with children

Family Holiday

26 April 2011 Phil would recommend this property

Liked: On a beautiful beach and large cabanas

Disliked: Nothing else to do within walking distant, and i mean nothing. No restaurants,cafe etc. Too quiet. Nothing to do for children or teenagers.

20.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

11 January 2011

Liked: Nothing. We trusted their advertisement and deceive ourselves.

Disliked: We were there in the middle of November 2010. There was the worst hotel from all which we saw in Sri. Very rude and insolent manager, lack of respect or friendliness at all. Cheating and undercooked food in the restaurant, sick dogs, dirty pool, cockroaches in cabanas – that were the things the hotel offered to guests. The hotel was built after tsunami but it looks like a 20-year-old one. The territory is small; the hotel is rather isolated, 8 km to the nearest town Tangalle. There are four people who work for the hotel - a manager and three staff. The only one place to see nearby is The Blow Hole (5-km-way from the place) but it is not impressive. When we booked a room by Internet their advertisement mentioned excursions and evening entertainment but in fact they have nothing to offer. When we asked we were answered this was only by our own – “go to the high street and hire a vehicle”. For a start, when we checked-in a manager demanded all money for accommodation in advance because as he explained he supposed all guests are thieves and cheaters. We were unpleasantly surprised by such distrustful beginning but paid all the money without a word of arguing. When we saw our cabana we found out a lot of insects in the bathroom – cockroaches and local sorts of bugs - as well as stale air and smell of mould and rot. Hot water is an abstract thing, a boiler switch off when water temperature reaches 25-26 C. Given cold water has approximately the same temperature, there was no sense to pay for boiler, but hot water was included in a room's charge. Electricity switch off in rainy weather, all the electrical appliances were out of order almost all the day when it was a heavy rain. There was a small pool but nobody clean it; it was full of rubbish and, of course, people were reluctant to use it. The hotel's restaurant didn't increase our optimism. Dirty and torn tablecloths, very slow service, overpriced food and beverages – they charged 3 times more than similar dishes and beverages cost in the nearest town. But there were no chances to eat nearby; the place has no cafes or restaurants at all. They haven't a license for selling beer that was a reason why they don't include beer in a menu but the situation doesn't prevent them to sell beer and charge 360 Rp instead of 125 for each bottle. But we knew beer costs not more than 250 Rs in a good restaurant with a license across the country and refused to take it there. Meanwhile there were not all “pleasures”. As soon as we sat down in the restaurant several dogs had come and gathered around. All dogs were sick, each of them had a lot of flees and a herpes and they scratched all the time. We asked the manager to turn them out but heard a long speech as an answer which mean the dogs may do whatever they want, to scratch flees under a table, to sleep on a bed if we leave the door unclosed, to spoil our things if we leave them on cabana's balcony. Moreover, he said all our things and clothing are only our problem and if a dog spoiled something he even wouldn't move a finger because he likes dogs. Good news, isn't it? After a long waiting we were given our food. We ordered rice and curry for lunch and it has too much chilly pepper and salt it was very hard to eat. But when we ordered a Chinese chopsy at the evening it was a complete disaster. Normally it is meat with fried vegetables, but a chopsy which they cooked looked like slops. There were some pieces of burnt meat which were put in cabbage gruel and, of cause, too much salt. We can’t eat that meal at all and had to be hungry because the manager refused to give to us properly cooked meal in exchange. What is more, we had to listen how good and professional their cook was and how capricious we were, and, of cause, he made us to pay for the food despite the fact it was inedible. We had no choice but to go 8 km to the nearest town for eating. That was high time we remembered their ad “Food & Beverages: Quick delicious meals would be enough to make your mouth water. The beverages are equally nice to satisfy you have good value for money” At the next morning we ordered only tea and omelet considering they were hard to spoil. A staff offered some dishes to us as if they were a compliment but we asked them to put them away and didn't touch the dishes. What do you think - all meal which supposed to be free was included in an account. Moreover, after a staff took an order the manager came up as if he wanted to control staff's work and asked for order again. We repeated suspecting nothing but an unpleasant surprise was waiting for us afterwards, the repeated names were included twice in an account. Most people pay when checking-out and it is hard to remember all the dishes for several days. We noticed the matter only because we paid for each item at once. We refuse to take and pay for extra meal moreover we didn't touch it and asked to put the extra meal away and the result was the manager made a whole scene. He told us off and offended us as if he had got something against us and shouted on us in front of all people. All people were shocked, not only were we. It was highly likely we were cheaters and thieves according to his classification. Of cause, we weren't offered a one single word of apologies for such disgustful behavior. We leaved the place as soon as we had packed our luggage. Thanks God, we booked a room only for two nights and our time there was over. It was hard to believe but I saw it myself the manager said to our back he loved us, smacked his lips. It was when we checked-out. I had nothing to think but he was a madman, but this idea didn't put our feelings right. We were happy to leave the place. Blatantly obvious people are not welcome there. I would recommend the hotel to nobody.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

George Holloway

17 January 2010 George would recommend this property

Liked: We stayed for 6 nights at Manahara in Jan 2010 and would thoroughly recommend it. The owner/ manager is charming, extremely friendly and helpful and the food is some of the best we had in Sri Lanka. The rooms are on the small side but cosy rather than cramped with air con, hot water and your own private porch. The location is stunning with an effectively private beach and it costs approximately £3 to get to nearby Tangalle and back.When we come back to Sri Lanka we will try our hardest to visit again.

Disliked: George left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

mark crossley

07 December 2009

Liked: Nice place to stay with great food at he restaurant. Good location right on the beach and a ni ce pool area as well. The only downside is that the hotel is a long way from Tangalle itself, about I'm which was quite inconvenient as it made trips to the town quite expensive.

Disliked: mark left no negative feedback.