HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Gamodh Citadel Resort

5 star Hotel | Lolugaswewa, Elayapaththuwa, Anuradhapura, Sri Lanka 500000

88.8% Overall Rating

10 out of 12 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (03/01/2014)

Vojko Gorjanc thinks…

"Such a lovely place. We really liked the garden. And the staff is just wonderful."

Read all Gamodh Citadel Resort reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Swimming Pool
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Banqueting facilities
  • Conference / meeting room(s)
  • Fax
  • Photocopying
  • Hot tub / jacuzzi
  • Bicycle hire
  • Concierge
  • Dry cleaning
  • Express check-in / out
  • Late check-out
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Room service (24 hour)
  • Room service (limited hours)
  • Wake-up calls
  • Bar(s)
  • BBQ area
  • Café
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Outside area
  • Pets allowed
  • Television room
  • Children's play area
  • Sofa

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 76.72

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Anuradhapura?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Anuradhapura

French Garden Tourist Rest
12.47 USD

Guesthouse 87.8% 19 reviews
Cottage Tourist Rest
10.74 USD

Guesthouse 76.8% 8 reviews
Little Paradise
17.65 USD

Guesthouse 79.3% 26 reviews
Hotel Randiya
19.18 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Panorama Rest
15.34 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Milano Tourist Rest
10.55 USD

Guesthouse 90.7% 21 reviews
London Palace
15.34 USD

Hostel Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/08/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/08/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
88.8%

Overall Rating

10 out of 12 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Gamodh Citadel Resort'

Atmosphere
88.3%
Location
80.0%
Facilities
86.7%
Cleanliness
93.3%
Staff
91.7%
Value
88.3%
Safety
93.3%
Refine your results Showing 11 of 12 reviews
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Vojko Gorjanc

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway

03 January 2014 Vojko would recommend this property

Liked: Such a lovely place. We really liked the garden. And the staff is just wonderful.

Disliked: Vojko left no negative feedback.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

As a family with children

Family Holiday

28 December 2013

Liked: I like the location.

Disliked: Facilities

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Andrew Morrall

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

01 October 2013 Andrew would recommend this property

Liked: Tranquil location, friendly staff, great value for October at least.

Disliked: Andrew left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Dariusz Strzelecki

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

17 June 2013 Dariusz would recommend this property

Liked: Thank you for waiting for our coming late evening, especially to Mr. Bernard.

Disliked: Dariusz left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Tova Eriksson Asp

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

08 June 2013 Tova would recommend this property

Liked: The service of the staff is excellent. They helped us arranging tours and made sure that we would arrive safely to our next stop. The rooms are brand new and very nice.

Disliked: The food need to level up, especially since there are no other restaurants in connection to the resort.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

16 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Hotel manager and staff were very firendly. Excellent meal service ( they took your order in the moring for the evening meal). Mangers English was very good. Meals in on the patio or in the graden. There are four rooms available. Further units are being added and a small pool ( no noise problem). Internet service good. Out of town some distance but local bus service available. Rent bike to travel to the ruins.

Disliked: Bikes are available for rent not free.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

michelle jeynes

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

16 January 2013 michelle would recommend this property

Liked: Location, staff, garden and food.

Disliked: Nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Walakulu Gunathilake

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

05 January 2013 Walakulu would recommend this property

Liked: new, clean and supportive staff

Disliked: Walakulu left no negative feedback.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 December 2012

Liked: The room is spacious and relatively clean, they clean my room every day

Disliked: 1. The toilet doesn't flush properly, while it takes a good 30 minutes to refill the tank, when I opened the tank, there is a little frog inside. An unanticipated aquarium plus a small cockroach can be distressing! 2.false advertising a.There was no wifi at the property at all! But I certainly enjoyed the amusing excuses the staff made! b. when I requested the bike, they are no where to be found, the staff told me they are lent by monks, went to some 500monks temples. c. As I booked the hostel booker, it clearly stated the breakfast included. The breakfast quality is poor but bearable if its for free. To much my dismay, three days tea and toast befall the bill of 1350. The price is really unjustified. 3. Here comes the SCAM the hotel was involved!!! Upon the first day of arrival, the staff told me outside 6500 rupee for a tour guide including 3250 ticket for the golden cultural triangle, they offer me a deal of 4500 including a guide and the ticket. On the day, I was taken by a guide who wears polo shirt and golden frames glasses, I really speculated he is the owner became my tuk tuk driver. Such guide/ potential hotel owner was offered tea in the morning and water afternoon. Didn't see these sort of treatment of tuk tuk driver somewhere else. The main scam part: the guide/driver/ potential owner took me to six places, as known, bodhi tree and th other temple is for free. The rest of places are in an out of no where fields, with some small Buddha stone made live in solitude. While my suspicion grows, a French couple and a Singaporean girl clearly held the 3250 ticket told me they have been to different places. The whole trip is a sham, while they trying to charge me 4500, and I haven't even been to the real places! While I confronted them, they to,d me the money goes to security and donation! I stayed there three days, they are full of lies and rip-offs, I lost faith in this country.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Neil Henderson

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

12 September 2012 Neil would recommend this property

Liked: It was located just outside the town (quiet and peaceful).Room was clean,very roomy, everything appeared modern and worked well. Staff very friendly,helpfull and always available. Food was excellent. Chef would come to you and ask how you wanted it in case you didnt want spicy.You could eat outside in a beautiful garden and watch the wildlife pass by.It was luxurious and very relaxing.

Disliked: It is in the process of expanding and too good value for money for the price to remain this low for long.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

monique van der sluis

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

26 July 2012 monique would recommend this property

Liked: the cook and staff, verry friendly and great service The room and bathroom, it is all new !! Verry nice and lovely garden

Disliked: monique left no negative feedback.