We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Hotel Catalunya Express

2 star Hotel | C/General Contreras 16, Tarragona, Costa Dorada, Spain 43004

84.5% Overall Rating

69 out of 76 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (19/10/2011)

"Location is really great, not far train station and beach. The staff was helpful - my girlfriend needed iron, so I asked at reception and they brought straight away. The room was clean, good breakfast included. Great…"

Read all Hotel Catalunya Express reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Conference / meeting room(s)
  • Fax
  • Late check-out
  • Laundry service
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Pets allowed
  • Infant bed

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Check In time : 3pm

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Tarragona?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Tarragona

Tarragona Hostel
12.65 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Hotel SB Ciutat de Tarragona
33.21 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated
Las Palmeras Camping & Bungalow
26.57 USD

Guesthouse 87.2% 63 reviews
Hotel SB Express Tarragona
25.30 USD

Hotel 3 star 80.0% 4 reviews
Hotel La Torreta
31.63 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
Eurostars Quality Reus Hotel
252.37 USD

Hotel 3 star 67.9% 4 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 26/11/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 26/11/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
84.5%

Overall Rating

69 out of 76 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hotel Catalunya Express'

Atmosphere
71.2%
Location
92.8%
Facilities
82.4%
Cleanliness
89.6%
Staff
83.2%
Value
82.4%
Safety
89.6%
Refine your results Showing 58 of 61 reviews 1 | 2 | 3   Next
Reset filter
60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

mohammed alkhalifah

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 August 2014

Liked: was big

Disliked: far from tarragona

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

13 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location was excellent.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

16 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

19 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location is really great, not far train station and beach. The staff was helpful - my girlfriend needed iron, so I asked at reception and they brought straight away. The room was clean, good breakfast included. Great value for money! I would really recommend it!

Disliked: One night it was noisy outside, but other night was quite.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing

31 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Close to the train station

Disliked: Had no character

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

janine horton

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

20 July 2011 janine would recommend this property

Liked: Clean and comfortable

Disliked: A good walk to town and tourist sites

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

09 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location extremely close to the train station; quiet room; AC, TV, very clean. Definitely recommend it.

Disliked: Hard to find at first, but otherwise no complaints.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Damien Ferland

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

26 May 2011

Liked: Good shower head.

Disliked: Apparently they've never heard of bed bugs before.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Berker Kozan

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

22 May 2011 Berker would recommend this property

Liked: location was perfect.

Disliked: Walls were too thin, there were no english tv channels.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

05 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was nice :)

Disliked: Everything was OK

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Business / conference
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

27 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nice and clean rooms, very good prices, close to the train station and to the centre

Disliked: there is no elevator

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

21 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The property was in a great location: around the corner from the train station, within walking distance to La Rambla with all the shops, and a nice walk to the mall.

Disliked: Nothing; however, be mindful that some of the other guests may not be mature enough to stay in the hotel without "adult" supervision. A group of 30-something year old men decided it would be humorous to call our room and knock on our door at 2:30 in the morning. This obviously had nothing to do with the hostel itself, but unfortunately, it did not make our trip anymore pleasant.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Edwin Rivera

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

08 April 2011 Edwin would recommend this property

Liked: It's a Hotel. Don't expect to meet up with other travelers on the premises. We saw some old ladies playing a game of cards in the lobby. Thats as fun as it gets in the hotel; however you are barely going to spend anytime there anyway, so it's perfect to spend the night.

Disliked: Not much. We barely spent any time in our hotel. Everything is clean, so no worries.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

28 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very good location, friendly staff

Disliked: -

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

31 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very close to the train station, clean, helpful staff, able to get in at any time as someone is at the desk 24 hours.

Disliked: They put us in room 101, the first room on the first floor at the centre of everything (TV room, kitchen, breakfast room) and so it was VERY noisy in the morning. Ask for a room away from the centre if you want quiet. Also, the shower didn't drain.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

YEVHENIYA MARTYNYUK

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

01 November 2010 YEVHENIYA would recommend this property

Liked: It was claen, with all the average facilities one need. And there was good and free breakfast. We didn't think it would be at all.

Disliked: Nothing. Everything was ok.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Romantic getaway

08 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Perfect location for the train station and for exploring the beautiful city of Tarragona. Great staff and superb cleanliness - just what we needed.

Disliked: no comment

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Sightseeing & culture

14 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Goede ontvangst, net gebouw. Voldoende ruime kamers.

Disliked: -

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

22 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location

Disliked: Staffs are friendly but they just want to get your deposit to their hands. When you are staying your last night, and you need to quit the hostel at the early morning, of course you want to do the check out and get the deposit back in the evening, before sleeping. But staff force you to get out at the last night, especially they meet you with the girls in the hostel to get you out the last night, just not to pay ypur deposit. They are very clever.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

14 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Self-service laundry (7 euros); very close to train station; air-conditioning; very helpful staff

Disliked: Thin walls especially near the breakfast room. In our room the window was to the inner yard and very near to the other apartments, so it was impossible to open the curtains. Breakfast buffet costs 5 euros but it's not worth it. The hotel isn't very charming and it's a bit far from the city centre, still walking distance though.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Krystyna Jozefowicz

21 June 2010 Krystyna would recommend this property

Liked: Hotel was nice, well placed - close to the train and bus stations. Also close to the sea. The room was bit small.

Disliked: Krystyna left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

James Kerr

26 May 2010 James would recommend this property

Liked: We arrived into town late on the night of our arrival and the hotel had a 24 hour reception so that was perfect. The rooms were ten times nicer than others I have stayed in for the same price elsewhere. The location was perfect for us as it is 30 seconds walk from the train station and only two minutes walk from the centre of town itself. Staff were really helpful when we arrived late giving us advice on where the best place to grab something to eat and drink was. Overall it was the perfect place to spend our time in Tarragona!

Disliked: James left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Terry Tully

01 April 2010 Terry would recommend this property

Liked: very convenient location to railway station; walking distance downtown and sights of interest; nice, quiet room; very nice breakfast; helpful

Disliked: Terry left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Darusz Koza

04 March 2010 Darusz would recommend this property

Liked: It's close to the train and city center

Disliked: Darusz left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Eric C Wong

24 February 2010 Eric C would recommend this property

Liked: Good location by the train station. However, it was also negative when comes to quietness that it was noisy till almost 2 am in the morning, with youngsters still hanging around, chatting, laughing and screaming at the peak of their voice

Disliked: Eric C left no negative feedback.