HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Hotel Carlos V

1 star Hotel | Plaza de los Campos 4 - 4ª, Granada, Spain 18009

90.9% Overall Rating

161 out of 165 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (03/06/2014)

Jeni Oborn thinks…

"Modern attractive good-sized room with comfy beds and great view across to the cathedral, and great location very near lots of tempting eateries!"

Read all Hotel Carlos V reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Fax
  • Café
  • Internet access in public areas

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 8.08

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Granada?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Granada

Hostal Costa Azul
24.68 USD

Guesthouse 89.0% 150 reviews
Hostal Navas 14
20.20 USD

Guesthouse 91.0% 253 reviews
Al-Andalus Hostel
18.85 USD

Hostel 89.7% 42 reviews
Hotel Molinos
23.23 USD

Hotel 1 star 84.9% 53 reviews
hostelVita
21.54 USD

Hostel 89.5% 3 reviews
Hotel Carmen
45.44 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
HOTEL PUERTA DE LAS GRANADAS
34.54 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Hotel Juan Miguel
25.58 USD

Hotel 3 star 84.0% 83 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
90.9%

Overall Rating

161 out of 165 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hotel Carlos V'

Atmosphere
82.4%
Location
92.8%
Facilities
86.4%
Cleanliness
98.4%
Staff
88.0%
Value
95.2%
Safety
92.8%
Refine your results Showing 134 of 144 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jeni Oborn

With friends / other travellers

Work / volunteering

03 June 2014 Jeni would recommend this property

Liked: Modern attractive good-sized room with comfy beds and great view across to the cathedral, and great location very near lots of tempting eateries!

Disliked: Jeni left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

sandra bell

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

08 August 2013 sandra would recommend this property

Liked: It was a fantastic place, much grander than it looked from the photos, in a wonderful old building. The staff were very helpful and spoke good English. The shared balcony had a great view over the city. The rooms were modern and clean.

Disliked: sandra left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

julie barlow

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

07 March 2013 julie would recommend this property

Liked: Located close to many nice restaurants and bars, convenent to transport and an easy walk to most of Granada's main attractions

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

19 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean. Very close to city centre. Very friendly staff.

Disliked: Signal of wifi was slightly weak in my room but perfect in lobby.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday

06 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Average room and services, nothing to rave about, but nothing detrimental either. Location is within walking distance to everything (Alhambra & Albayzin).

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

12 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice place in good location.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Daniel Burdman

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 August 2012 Daniel would recommend this property

Liked: Good hotel for a very reasonable price, big single room, centrally located.

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Anna Vichnevetskaia

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

16 May 2012 Anna would recommend this property

Liked: The location was perfect, right in the centre of malaga and close to the bus stop that takes you to the Alhambra (also possible to walk, but a bit of a hike going up the mountain). The hotel is very clean, in a nice building, has a great terrace to have breakfast on in the morning or just hang out on. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The room was also great, clean, nothing special, but convienient and comfortable.

Disliked: For someone who is looking for more of a party atmosphere, this is not the place to stay.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

01 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I absolutely loved my stay here! The staff was very helpful and friendly. There is an adorable terrace where my mom and I ate breakfast at every morning. They have a computer with internet available from 9AM to 11PM. The room and the bathroom were both a good size and the price was great.

Disliked: I would have liked the option to have breakfast included since it is only pay by the item. Or at least free coffee in the morning would have been nice, since it was 1 euro for a tiny cup of machine coffee.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

20 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked almost everything, you feel like you are in the hostel of 4 stars not only one. Great for couples.

Disliked: Noise, isolation is not good, also only one computer in the loby

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

21 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Calm place, nice view of the city and the mountains

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

25 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean hotel. Good location. The room is spacious and comfortable. Air-con works great. The receptionist was kind and friendly.

Disliked: Wifi was very very spotty, it kept dropping every 10-20 minutes so we needed to go back to the lobby to see if it was back. Outside food is prohibited to bring into the hotel so we always needed to eat out even if there is a great supermarket downstairs.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference
City break
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

31 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great room and bathroom

Disliked: windows cannot be lock from inside

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

04 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Super helpful staff, good location, very clean. Computer for general internet access and WiFi, very safe, good value

Disliked: Nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

11 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: close to calle navas full of bars and restaurants, but basically close to everything important in Granada. Great value for money. We had room for 3 and we paid 18 euros each!!!

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

01 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: this is a great place to stay, more like a hotel than a hostel. very good value for money

Disliked: .

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Gemma Burt

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

29 August 2011 Gemma would recommend this property

Liked: So cheap and the best value for money! Rooms were at a amazing standard! Great location.

Disliked: A quiet hotel, not a party hostel, but so close to the old town that it doesn't matter. The staff show you where the free tapa places are and that's where the young people are!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

23 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was stylish, large and well equipped. It looked like a 3 star hotel. Very clean, staff very nice (able to speak english), helpful and good at showing where things are on the maps. They even booked our visit at the Alhambra for us. There was a LOVELY balcony where you could eat your breakfast or read a book and smoke.

Disliked: There was a sligtht smell of cat-piss in our room, but it wasn't worth mentioning.

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

HOE YIMING

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

23 August 2011

Liked: Hotel was quite near the central area of the city.

Disliked: NEVER, i repeat, NEVER, stay at this hotel. Honestly, this is the worst accommodation that I have booked in my life.. We had booked the Alhambra tour with them and I gave them my credit card information so that they could book it for me online. After that, I paid for my 2 nights accommodation with cash as I had a lot of Euros on me and was told I would be given the receipt later on as their printer was spoiled. All was fine until we checked out. They pressed us for payment even though we had already made payment. They had not kept any records on our payment and when I told them to checked the CCTV for evidence, they said it was not working the whole time. The girls who took my money were also "out of the city" and when we called them, they forgot everything about us, even forgetting about booking the Alhambra tour for the 3 of us Asians, something that should be quite easy to remember considering there are no other Asians in the hostel. Only one of the staff spoke "passable" english. They had cheekily requested we make another payment and they will refund us the money when they investigate. Naturally, we refused. The police were called in and we made a report at the police station. By this time, we had already missed our bus to Cordoba. Writing it off as a bad experience, we thought that was the end of it. But no, upon arriving back home a month later, I found that Hotel Carlos V had made an UNAUTHORIZED transaction on my credit card for the hotel stay. They had taken my credit card info from my Alhambra booking and charged the hotel stay to it again. I did not sign for it and the transaction date was the day I left Granada. My bank has been called up and a police report has been made for their fraudulent actions. There are cheaper and better alternatives in Granada. Choose this hotel at your own risk.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

11 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: If you´re looking for a little luxury on your travels go here, couldnt believe what we got for €19.50 the room is normally €79 a night so THANK YOU Hostelbooks!! great location as well and actual room is awesome!

Disliked: read what I liked and you tell me haha

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

fernando regalado

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

30 July 2011 fernando would recommend this property

Liked: Everything.

Disliked: No wifi on the rooms.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alexander Macavoy

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

15 July 2011 Alexander would recommend this property

Liked: Definitely worth the stay, I only paid 28 euro a night, and it should have been more like 80 euro a night, so if any one is thinking of staying here I definitely would. The staff are friendly, all speak English, internet works good, no complaints and I would definitely stay there again.

Disliked: Nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

08 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, very nice rooms

Disliked: Sometimes internet does not work if your room is far from the hall

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nicolas Tate

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

28 June 2011 Nicolas would recommend this property

Liked: Considering what we were looking for this proved luxurious to our budget :)) Happily recommend it to anyone.

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ismail Seedat

With a large group / tour

Sightseeing & culture

28 June 2011 Ismail would recommend this property

Liked: Beds, bathroom, customer service Nothing is too much for staff

Disliked: n/a