HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Barcelona City Hotel (Hotel Universal)

1 star Hotel | Aragó, 281. 2º 1ª, Barcelona, Spain 08009

84.6% Overall Rating

39 out of 42 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (03/06/2014)

"It was in a great location. Right beside the station and a short walk from Plaça Catalunya. I have stayed in Barcelona many times, but this was the best, location wise and the price was great. The staff were extremely…"

Read all Barcelona City Hotel (Hotel Universal) reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Express check-in / out
  • Late check-out
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Cot / crib

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Please note: For reservations arriving from 1st of Nov 2012 a tourist tax of 0.75€ per person per night which will apply for the first 7 nights. Please note. The hotel will charge a deposit of 10% of the remaining balance on you card, right after making the reservation to guarantee your booking. Failure to fulfil this payment will result in your booking being cancelled. This deposit is non-refundable.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Barcelona?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Barcelona

Ona Paseo de Gracia Hostel
17.71 USD

Guesthouse 94.5% 29 reviews
Equity Point Centric
9.30 USD

Hostel 85.1% 2590 reviews
LENIN HOSTAL
18.98 USD

Hostel 77.9% 283 reviews
Agua alegre Hostel
29.98 USD

Hostel 69.0% 7 reviews
Barcelona Central Garden Hostel
17.58 USD

Hostel 97.7% 1572 reviews
Que Tal hostel
25.30 USD

Hostel 83.4% 11 reviews
Art City Hostel
15.05 USD

Hostel 94.2% 157 reviews
The Hipstel
9.49 USD

Hostel 78.1% 290 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
84.6%

Overall Rating

39 out of 42 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Barcelona City Hotel (Hotel Universal)'

Atmosphere
71.2%
Location
94.4%
Facilities
75.2%
Cleanliness
86.4%
Staff
94.4%
Value
81.6%
Safety
88.8%
Refine your results Showing 35 of 42 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

30 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location

Disliked: too high price

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

03 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was in a great location. Right beside the station and a short walk from Plaça Catalunya. I have stayed in Barcelona many times, but this was the best, location wise and the price was great. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. I will use this hotel again.

Disliked: There are very few things I disliked. The air conditioning played up on the last night and the room was fairly basic. But with the location, staff, cleanliness and free wifi, it didn't matter.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

03 March 2014

Liked: Close to Metro station Passeig de Gracia

Disliked: Basic,very small hotel.Breakfast everyday the same,in the reception area with small table and chair.Not comfortable to eat breakfast there.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Johanna Borg

Alone

Business / conference

12 January 2014 Johanna would recommend this property

Liked: Superb location, clean

Disliked: A bit noisy

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

10 September 2013

Liked: The location was very good and the staff friendly

Disliked: The decor was a bit grubby - peeling paint and stained chair! It wasn't really value for money

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Andrey Lazarov

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

15 April 2013 Andrey would recommend this property

Liked: Everything, its location - and that was my 2nd time in it :)

Disliked: noise from the street

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

esther villegas

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

10 April 2013 esther would recommend this property

Liked: the friendliness and the cleanliness of the place

Disliked: we like the place but in the morning it was to noisy people going to their errands and you can hear them from the room

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

20 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything, really. Location, staff, cleanliness, facilities, security and value all score very high.

Disliked: If you wanted to be picky you could say the room was small and the water for the shower wasn't piping hot all the time, but that's it.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

19 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere.

Disliked: I was expecting something better.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Deborah Broadhead

Alone

City break

13 November 2012 Deborah would recommend this property

Liked: I just caught a train from the airport to directly in front of the hotel. The hotel is based just off one of the main roads with easy access to main Barcelona. I received a friendly, warm & helpful welcome. The room was clean & tidy. The staff were polite and forthcoming with any information . Their knowledge of the area helped make my visit to Barcelona unforgettable. I would really recommend this hotel if you are looking for a hotel in the centre but at an acceptable price.

Disliked: Deborah left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Jane Tyrrell

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

03 October 2012 Jane would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were friendly, went out of their way to help and all of them were fluent in English which was very useful

Disliked: There was a lot of traffic noise because it was on a main intersection but that's the price you pay for the central location

71.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals

30 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I like the location

Disliked: We got bitten by some mosquito's all over the body

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

21 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel is practically a hotel. The private rooms are alwys clean, and have a tv, awesome 24/7 hot water, and A/C. The friendly and knowledgable staff are also here 24/7, so you can talk to them any time. The location is in a good neighbourhood, and just a few blocks from the town centre, and the top of the La Rumbla, so shopping is optimal. Free wifi and a shared computer are always available too. I would reccommend this place to anyone staying in Barcelona, and we are definetly coming back here!!

Disliked: Nothing!!!!

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

01 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The property has got a great location close to the Paseig de Gracia, La Rambla and on walking distance of the HIstorical/Gothic Center. Staff members can be really enthousiastic to help you out. Good showers.

Disliked: Not all staff members are equally helpful. Foul smell from the bathroom. Little special in all.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

30 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: keine Störung von spät-kommenden Gästen.

Disliked: die Schalldämmung von Türen und Wänden ist sehr schlecht.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway

23 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location is perfect, its clean, they have wifi, staff is friendly and you get value for your money.

Disliked: Having such a central location makes it quite noisy in the morning, but I guess its better to wake up and do something than sleep when you are in Barcelona.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

18 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly staff, clean room, working wifi, perfect location.

Disliked: Canalization smelled sometimes. Not a major problem though.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

16 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location and television and Internet. It's good that they have a computer not just wifi.

Disliked: There wasa smell coming from the toilet that smelt out the whole room.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Richard Beattie

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

15 January 2012 Richard would recommend this property

Liked: The hotel was as described, and the staff were very friendly and helpful. The room was everything we needed - a comfortable bed, TV, a small balcony, and a clean bathroom with hot water. The road outside is quite busy, but the double glazing cuts out most of the sound and it didn't bother us at all. It's a short walk from Plaza Catalunya, where you can catch the tour bus and the bus to the airport. There are plenty of places to eat nearby - try Tapa Tapa and Citrus which are just around the corner on Passeig de Gracia. The hotel reception is on the second floor (took us a couple of minutes to figure that out when we got there). Buzz in on the door on the left of the building.

Disliked: The walls are quite thin and there were people in the room next to us talking loudly and laughing at unreasonable hours. That said, they stopped when I went out and spoke to them. We could also hear their bedsprings at a ridiculous hour. I believe the staff or another visitor knocked on their door after a while. Obviously this kind of thing depends on the other guests staying there, but something to bear in mind. Our room had an air conditioner/heater as described but it didn't seem to work.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

09 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were friendly and although it was a bit out of the 'buzzing' area of town, it was easy to get there, and access for the airport and the Gaudi areas was excellent. Room was clean and the balcony overlooked a nice street.

Disliked: Our room was very small for a double bed - we saw from the blueprints that it was actually meant to be a single room! There was no floor space and we couldn't even get into the wardrobe. Also a lot of traffic noise - earplugs recommended.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Olena Abrashyna

With my spouse / partner

City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

06 January 2012

Liked: the location

Disliked: our room was next to the laundry and we heard some very noisy machines working all day long up to 11 pm :( every day. although the hotel states it is smoke-free, someone has been smoking all the time and it stinked in our room the drain system in the bath is far from being perfect someone started drilling at 8 am on the 2nd of January!!! and it was hell of a noise! Like a bad dream :(

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

04 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, nice and clean room.

Disliked: Nothing.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Nitish Jha

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

28 December 2011 Nitish would recommend this property

Liked: its right in the centre amazing location and real value for money

Disliked: they should have served breakfast

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

26 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the staff were all friendly and helpful. easy to access to all landmarks and also to the airport.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

Family Holiday
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

20 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Value for money and safe... One point to note is that the hotel is not 20 meters from the metro It's abt 30meters

Disliked: None