HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of AAE Annex Hotel

2 star Hotel | Carrer de Jaume I, 8, (Check in across street at, AAE Rey Don Jaime Hotel) Barcelona, Spain 08002

76.2% Overall Rating

123 out of 151 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (27/08/2013)

O B thinks…

"The room was very central, just 5 minutes walking from the Ramblas and 100 mt from the Metro. The single room i booked was quite small (enough for a single person, though) but it had indoor bathroom…"

Read all AAE Annex Hotel reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 5.06

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

NOTE: You need to Check In at the AAE REY DON JAIME, across the street. The Reception is 24h at Rey Don Jaime. All changes or cancels MUST be made via e-mail to bookings@aaereservations.com. No exceptions. Cancellations made within 2 days prior to arrival will incur a charge of the first night’s stay. Please note: For reservations arriving from 1st of Nov 2012 a tourist tax of XX€ per person per night with a will apply for the first 7 nights.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Barcelona?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Barcelona

AAE Rey Don Jaime Hotel
26.55 USD

Hotel 2 star 72.7% 505 reviews
Hostal Layetana
16.43 USD

Guesthouse 66.7% 17 reviews
Equity Point Gothic
9.30 USD

Hostel 83.8% 664 reviews
Hostal NITZS BCN
24.67 USD

Guesthouse 89.3% 24 reviews
No 5 Barcelona Apartments
33.74 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Itaca Hostel & Apartments
18.98 USD

Hostel 92.3% 471 reviews
Albergue New York
15.18 USD

Hostel 78.6% 641 reviews
SHS APARTMENT & HOTEL IN BARCELONA, S.L.
28.46 USD

Guesthouse 87.6% 6 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
76.2%

Overall Rating

123 out of 151 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'AAE Annex Hotel'

Atmosphere
64.8%
Location
98.4%
Facilities
52.8%
Cleanliness
80.8%
Staff
72.8%
Value
80.8%
Safety
83.2%
Refine your results Showing 78 of 115 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4   Next
Reset filter
45.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Danielle Mcarthur

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

28 October 2013

Liked: Location

Disliked: Everything except location

42.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

07 October 2013

Liked: its location

Disliked: not maintained,and did not feel secure.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

O B

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Events / festivals
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

27 August 2013 O would recommend this property

Liked: The room was very central, just 5 minutes walking from the Ramblas and 100 mt from the Metro. The single room i booked was quite small (enough for a single person, though) but it had indoor bathroom with shower, closet with strong-box, and a small balcony with a view on the street, TV, and Cleaning service everyday. The hotel is basically an apartament which has been divided in several hotel rooms; As the reception is in the front building, you receive your building's keys and you're free to enter and exit as you please (this could be good for those who want privacy). Quite a good choice for the price it is, considered that 2 years ago i payed just 10 euros less per day for only a bed in a 14 beds room of a hostel, in the same location.

Disliked: - Unfortuately the AC didnt work (they placed a fan in the room, but it wasn't the same). - the internet did not work, during the fifteen days of my stay, despite repeated requests for repair. I understand that it was August, but if you offer a service it should at least work. They gave me the permission to use the network of the other hotel, but it was not the same as using it in the room, also the network of the other hotel worked poorly. However, i appreciate the fact that the staff was very kind and cooperative.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

26 July 2013

Liked: Location is very good and the shower & bathroom were good

Disliked: Stuffy, no fresh air, much much too small

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture

25 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean and quiet room, very good located, 24 hours reception desk, good security (guests have their own key to the main entrance)

Disliked: There was no Air Conditioning in my room which made the nights to a nightmare. It was super hot and I had trouble to sleep.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

27 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellant location. Clean,comfortable and quiet. Very good value for a city centre location.

Disliked: First impression was not very good as it is a shared entrance.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Manuela Zanescu

As a family with children

Family Holiday

18 April 2013 Manuela would recommend this property

Liked: The hotel placement is great.

Disliked: Manuela left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals

19 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the good location of the hotel being in the centre, very close to la Rambla, metro, ...also appreciated that it was not noisy at all during the night, not sure whether this was the situation for other rooms as well but mine was oriented to the backyard..

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Carol Williams

With friends / other travellers

City break
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

09 October 2012 Carol would recommend this property

Liked: We loved the fact that it was so central to many things and gave us a real taste of the Spanish way of life! There was a tapas bar around the corner, a coffee shop just along the street where we ate breakfast so cheaply and everything within walking distance. The tour bus was also a great success and well, we would LOVE to come again! We also loved the balcony from our room that we could look out from to the street below. Just wonderful!

Disliked: Only that we were unable to make a cup of tea in the morning! But we loved going out to breakfast, it was such a change and made for a relaxing start to the day.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Relaxation/spa

25 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: locations its good

Disliked: kind of old building

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

John Bell

Alone

Relaxation/spa

16 May 2011 John would recommend this property

Liked: It is in a very central location and the room I had was very quiet... OK there is some noise within and outside the building, but it is Barcelona.

Disliked: There is nothing which I found objectionable, but I suggested to the staff that they might put a note in each room regarding small details like wifi password and times of check out.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

26 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great location, walking distance from metro and La Rambla street.

Disliked: the toilet flush was not working properly and air-conditioning system was down! Also, the tv went blank every 5 mins and I had to switch it on and off again frequently to get the channels.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife

24 August 2010

Liked: Just the location

Disliked: I got there after a 12 hour trip and the shower screen in the room was broken and they just told me that I can not take a shower!! After an hour they changed my room. They did not give me a tv remote and when I asked for it they just said sorry we can't find the remote for tv set in your room. Floor and shower was covered by dust and long hair.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

10 November 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The bed was nice and the sheets clean and soft, and the decor and colors were nice, but the bathroom wasn't cleaned very well and the walls were dirty, I wouldn't say it was a good deal for a hotel, they should probably charge hostel prices.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

21 August 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Not only is this property in the heart of Barcelona's gothic district, it is a clean and very modern hotel. It's also great value for money! A lovely place to stay when in Barcelona!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

20 August 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: average

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Christopher Beedham

04 August 2009 Christopher would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms were amazing, sweet balcony amazing bathroom exactly what was needed after a week at a festival... a little bit pricey tho but looking back worth the extra money

Disliked: Christopher left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Danielle Wright

25 June 2009 Danielle would recommend this property

Liked: The trip was really good, the hotel was also good, apart from noise of running/flushing water all night. Would take ear plugs next time! All in all pleased with the stay and would do again in the future.

Disliked: Danielle left no negative feedback.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 20%

Tuan Tran

02 January 2009

Liked: central location, friendly staff and relativley clean

Disliked: Tuan left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

13 November 2008 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

12 November 2008

Liked: location

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 20%

Customer review

10 November 2008

Liked: It's in the center of Barcelona...

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

John Tore Kirkeroed

02 November 2008 John Tore would recommend this property

Liked: Location, shower and free internet

Disliked: John Tore left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Helen Plant

30 October 2008 Helen would recommend this property

Liked: location

Disliked: Helen left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

30 October 2008 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It is in the centre of Barcelona and the room was cleaned every dayalso every day clean towels,that's very nice!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.