HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of AAE Rey Don Jaime Hotel

2 star Hotel | Carrer de Jaume I, 11, Barcelona, Spain 08002

79.2% Overall Rating

392 out of 497 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (10/07/2014)

"It has the perfect location in the heart of the old town of Barcelona. The staff is super friendly, we arrived at ten in the morning and the room was already ready for us."

Read all AAE Rey Don Jaime Hotel reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Please Note: Barcelona is a busy city with many festivals and holidays. We try to honour all our bookings, and periodically we find guests that never show up even after paying a booking deposit on sites like this. If you have booked a group or extended stay we will charge an additional deposit on your credit card used here. You will see a charge as "AAE Hotel" appear on your credit card statement and also receive an email from us that will show the balance due with the reduction taken out. Please look for emails from AAE Hotels if you have booked a holiday period, with a group, or have booked an extended stay (over 4 days). Cancellations made within 2 days prior to arrival will incur a charge of the first night’s stay. Please note: For reservations arriving from 1st of Nov 2012 a tourist tax of 0.72€ per person per night with a will apply for the first 7 nights.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Barcelona?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Barcelona

AAE Annex Hotel
51.01 USD

Hotel 2 star 76.2% 151 reviews
Hostal Layetana
20.14 USD

Guesthouse 67.7% 13 reviews
Equity Point Gothic
25.38 USD

Hostel 82.2% 657 reviews
Hostal NITZS BCN
28.20 USD

Guesthouse 89.1% 23 reviews
Itaca Hostel & Apartments
37.59 USD

Hostel 92.3% 468 reviews
No 5 Barcelona Apartments
35.81 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Albergue New York
25.51 USD

Hostel 80.3% 638 reviews
Confortel Almirante
81.97 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
79.2%

Overall Rating

392 out of 497 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'AAE Rey Don Jaime Hotel'

Atmosphere
69.6%
Location
99.2%
Facilities
67.2%
Cleanliness
78.4%
Staff
79.2%
Value
83.2%
Safety
77.6%
Refine your results Showing 292 of 380 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12   Next
Reset filter
82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

28 July 2014

Liked: Location

Disliked: Reception there Were not helpful.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

23 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location close to all nice sites. Nice staff.

Disliked: No air conditioner

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

10 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It has the perfect location in the heart of the old town of Barcelona. The staff is super friendly, we arrived at ten in the morning and the room was already ready for us.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Monica Strøm

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

01 July 2014 Monica would recommend this property

Liked: It had a great location, and the single room was really nice!

Disliked: There were some problems communicating with the staff, since they did not speak English.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Chris Leach

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife

17 June 2014 Chris would recommend this property

Liked: Great location with friendly staff.

Disliked: For some people it could be considered noisy with a busy street below and slightly better air con would be welcomed. But I was able to sleep easily and comfortably every night.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

24 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is perfect. You get a 2 star hotel 5-10 minutes walk to most of Barcelonas best attractions.

Disliked: The Wi-Fi was bad

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Samantha Doyle

With my spouse / partner

City break
Events / festivals
Romantic getaway
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

13 May 2014 Samantha would recommend this property

Liked: Proximity to metro stations,attraction & restaurants

Disliked: Samantha left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Rolf Nilsson

With my spouse / partner

City break

14 April 2014 Rolf would recommend this property

Liked: location, near too interesting things. near to old city

Disliked: The bathroom was not good, mildew odor and moisture in the strips

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

03 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location with sights nearby & metro station just metres away for everything else

Disliked: Rooms small, no proper windows; just heavy shutters straight onto balcony

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Sofiya Dimitrova

Alone

Visiting friends or family

14 January 2014 Sofiya would recommend this property

Liked: Location is great, room are clean and price is fair.

Disliked: The rooms are not well isolated, it's very noisy inside. Rooms are small and condition of the furniture is not very good, but maybe for the price is worth it. Staff speak some languages, but we have to leave our keys all the time, which is not very conviniant.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

23 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: Room too hot, couldn't turn radiator down so had to open balcony door for ventilation

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

18 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location

Disliked: The smell in toilet

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife

20 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is so good for the price. The rooms were really nice, easily as good as any 3 star hotel i've stayed in. Facilities are basic in the hotel as you would expect there is a common room where we had pre drinks and a good laugh with other travellers but thats about it. Also we had a TV in our room, may sound basic but this place cost the same place as our hostel in Amsterdam which was like prison (Maggy's Guesthouse just don't go there ever for any reason)

Disliked: Not much really I mean its just a simple no thrills place to stay only bad thing is be prepared for the City AND Tourist tax which adds like 10% or something. So just make sure you have a bit extra money i cant remember exactly look it up its the same for the whole of Barcelona though

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

11 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the room, the location

Disliked: 1. that when you went out of the room, the key needed to be left @ reception (even if the hotel was not responsible for the values that you had in the room) 2. that you needed to ring the bell in order to get in the hotel, as the door could only be opened from inside

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

serpil koçak

As a family with children

Partying / nightlife

25 July 2013 serpil would recommend this property

Liked: location and their friendship

Disliked: nothing

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Katherine Lancelot

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

18 June 2013 Katherine would recommend this property

Liked: Room was very large with big windows and ornate ceilings, had own bathroom.

Disliked: No other hostel amenities or common spaces, much more like a hotel. Ultra-tight security at front desk a bit annoying, no other guests allowed in the room.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kartina Puji Nurjanni

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

05 June 2013 Kartina Puji would recommend this property

Liked: a nice place and location to stay

Disliked: the location, can go to las ramblas on foot

48.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

As a family with children

Family Holiday

27 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Прекрасное место расположения. Практически до всех основных достопримечательностей Барселоны можно дойти пешком. Круглосуточный ресепшн.

Disliked: Это ночлежка. Под окнами круглосуточная громкая жизнь. В щели в окнах, сильно дует, а также звукоизоляции практически нет. Тесно. Кровати стоят рядом и ничем не отгорожены.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Bonnie Parker

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

20 April 2013 Bonnie would recommend this property

Liked: The property is a traditional old Spanish building. Beautiful! Lots of balconies.

Disliked: They ask you to leave your key at reception when you go out.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

01 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location.

Disliked: Wifi does not work in the bedroom and staffs are very rude when you ask about the wifi the answer from the receptionist is on my computer it works.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

11 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the facilities inside the room is complete and clean

Disliked: wifi was not work at all.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

19 February 2013

Liked: Location but as said below there is a strong indication that I was not treated honestly with the HotelBookers prearranged payment

Disliked: According to your instructions (Ref # 19811-8400905) I should pay the balance of 170.42 CAD on arrival but they charged me 200.37 CAD claiming that a tax has been added. I wrote them an email for clarification but they still insisted that the taxes are resposible for that. Based on your invoice they added 6% for the claimed tax and based on their invoice they added 10% of the claimed tax which constitutes additional contradiction. Could you please investidate this case for me?

71.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

05 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location!

Disliked: We got a very small and plain room! There is no reality between the pictures on the advertisement and the room you get.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

29 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean

Disliked: Small

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Katharina Roßleben

Alone

Events / festivals
Shopping
Visiting friends or family

03 October 2012 Katharina would recommend this property

Liked: It's very central and you can walk easy to the beach or for shoppinh at Porta de l'Angel, i've lived in Barcelona so i know it yet, but if you want to go sightseeing it"s perfect, because the metro station is only few meters away. You have free wifi and the staff is kind, for a hotel with two stars there's nithing to declare about, it may not be clean like in a 5 star hotel, but depends on what you expect, i expected less and was surprised, it was a nice stay here and i'm coming back.

Disliked: Katharina left no negative feedback.