HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of AAE Rey Don Jaime Hotel

2 star Hotel | Carrer de Jaume I, 11, Barcelona, Spain 08002

77.0% Overall Rating

381 out of 485 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (03/04/2014)

"Good location with sights nearby & metro station just metres away for everything else"

Read all AAE Rey Don Jaime Hotel reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Please Note: Barcelona is a busy city with many festivals and holidays. We try to honour all our bookings, and periodically we find guests that never show up even after paying a booking deposit on sites like this. If you have booked a group or extended stay we will charge an additional deposit on your credit card used here. You will see a charge as "AAE Hotel" appear on your credit card statement and also receive an email from us that will show the balance due with the reduction taken out. Please look for emails from AAE Hotels if you have booked a holiday period, with a group, or have booked an extended stay (over 4 days). Cancellations made within 2 days prior to arrival will incur a charge of the first night’s stay. Please note: For reservations arriving from 1st of Nov 2012 a tourist tax of 0.72€ per person per night with a will apply for the first 7 nights.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Barcelona?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Barcelona

AAE Annex Hotel
52.43 USD

Hotel 2 star 75.0% 149 reviews
Hostal Layetana
20.70 USD

Guesthouse 68.9% 10 reviews
Equity Point Gothic
14.49 USD

Hostel 81.5% 649 reviews
Hostal NITZS BCN
23.92 USD

Guesthouse 89.1% 23 reviews
Itaca Hostel & Apartments
20.56 USD

Hostel 90.2% 462 reviews
Albergue New York
21.74 USD

Hostel 76.0% 633 reviews
Confortel Almirante
56.17 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated
A & A Arco Youth Hostel
16.56 USD

Hostel 85.3% 217 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
77.0%

Overall Rating

381 out of 485 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'AAE Rey Don Jaime Hotel'

Atmosphere
68.8%
Location
98.4%
Facilities
63.2%
Cleanliness
72.8%
Staff
78.4%
Value
80.8%
Safety
76.8%
Refine your results Showing 285 of 367 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12   Next
Reset filter
91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Rolf Nilsson

With my spouse / partner

City break

14 April 2014 Rolf would recommend this property

Liked: location, near too interesting things. near to old city

Disliked: The bathroom was not good, mildew odor and moisture in the strips

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

03 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location with sights nearby & metro station just metres away for everything else

Disliked: Rooms small, no proper windows; just heavy shutters straight onto balcony

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Sofiya Dimitrova

Alone

Visiting friends or family

14 January 2014 Sofiya would recommend this property

Liked: Location is great, room are clean and price is fair.

Disliked: The rooms are not well isolated, it's very noisy inside. Rooms are small and condition of the furniture is not very good, but maybe for the price is worth it. Staff speak some languages, but we have to leave our keys all the time, which is not very conviniant.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

23 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: Room too hot, couldn't turn radiator down so had to open balcony door for ventilation

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

18 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location

Disliked: The smell in toilet

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife

20 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is so good for the price. The rooms were really nice, easily as good as any 3 star hotel i've stayed in. Facilities are basic in the hotel as you would expect there is a common room where we had pre drinks and a good laugh with other travellers but thats about it. Also we had a TV in our room, may sound basic but this place cost the same place as our hostel in Amsterdam which was like prison (Maggy's Guesthouse just don't go there ever for any reason)

Disliked: Not much really I mean its just a simple no thrills place to stay only bad thing is be prepared for the City AND Tourist tax which adds like 10% or something. So just make sure you have a bit extra money i cant remember exactly look it up its the same for the whole of Barcelona though

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

11 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the room, the location

Disliked: 1. that when you went out of the room, the key needed to be left @ reception (even if the hotel was not responsible for the values that you had in the room) 2. that you needed to ring the bell in order to get in the hotel, as the door could only be opened from inside

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

serpil koçak

As a family with children

Partying / nightlife

25 July 2013 serpil would recommend this property

Liked: location and their friendship

Disliked: nothing

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Katherine Lancelot

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

18 June 2013 Katherine would recommend this property

Liked: Room was very large with big windows and ornate ceilings, had own bathroom.

Disliked: No other hostel amenities or common spaces, much more like a hotel. Ultra-tight security at front desk a bit annoying, no other guests allowed in the room.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kartina Puji Nurjanni

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

05 June 2013 Kartina Puji would recommend this property

Liked: a nice place and location to stay

Disliked: the location, can go to las ramblas on foot

48.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

As a family with children

Family Holiday

27 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Прекрасное место расположения. Практически до всех основных достопримечательностей Барселоны можно дойти пешком. Круглосуточный ресепшн.

Disliked: Это ночлежка. Под окнами круглосуточная громкая жизнь. В щели в окнах, сильно дует, а также звукоизоляции практически нет. Тесно. Кровати стоят рядом и ничем не отгорожены.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Bonnie Parker

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

20 April 2013 Bonnie would recommend this property

Liked: The property is a traditional old Spanish building. Beautiful! Lots of balconies.

Disliked: They ask you to leave your key at reception when you go out.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

01 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location.

Disliked: Wifi does not work in the bedroom and staffs are very rude when you ask about the wifi the answer from the receptionist is on my computer it works.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

11 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the facilities inside the room is complete and clean

Disliked: wifi was not work at all.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

19 February 2013

Liked: Location but as said below there is a strong indication that I was not treated honestly with the HotelBookers prearranged payment

Disliked: According to your instructions (Ref # 19811-8400905) I should pay the balance of 170.42 CAD on arrival but they charged me 200.37 CAD claiming that a tax has been added. I wrote them an email for clarification but they still insisted that the taxes are resposible for that. Based on your invoice they added 6% for the claimed tax and based on their invoice they added 10% of the claimed tax which constitutes additional contradiction. Could you please investidate this case for me?

71.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

05 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location!

Disliked: We got a very small and plain room! There is no reality between the pictures on the advertisement and the room you get.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

29 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean

Disliked: Small

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Katharina Roßleben

Alone

Events / festivals
Shopping
Visiting friends or family

03 October 2012 Katharina would recommend this property

Liked: It's very central and you can walk easy to the beach or for shoppinh at Porta de l'Angel, i've lived in Barcelona so i know it yet, but if you want to go sightseeing it"s perfect, because the metro station is only few meters away. You have free wifi and the staff is kind, for a hotel with two stars there's nithing to declare about, it may not be clean like in a 5 star hotel, but depends on what you expect, i expected less and was surprised, it was a nice stay here and i'm coming back.

Disliked: Katharina left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Natalie Shorter

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

24 September 2012 Natalie would recommend this property

Liked: It was an amazing location, right near the metro, we walked to the beach and La Rambla most days and good night life down some of the surrounding small alleys. We had a room with a balcony over the back street, but we didn't have a problem with noise or heat at night like some other people have said but we stayed in Spetember, still late 20's at night but a lot cooler then peak summer.

Disliked: Natalie left no negative feedback.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

09 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was in the gothic district and close to the metro station

Disliked: The bathroom floor had hair all over it from the previous guests. It would have been nice if it had been vacuumed before we checked in. There was no air conditioning.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

03 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: There was a helpful person at the desk at all times who controled the entry. The location was good.

Disliked: Because of the central location there was a lot of noise at night, especially on football nights, but it's not anything the hostel has control over.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

28 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is great and the room was clean. It is more than enough for travellers like us, who discover the city by day and enjoyed the nightlife afterwards.

Disliked: I did not enjoy the lack of windows. It is a bit depressing. Luckily it was our second stay there and the room this time was much larger. I guess the rooms are limited for rooms with two twin beds with private bathrooms.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

28 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was far better than we imagined. It is very close to the metro station Jaume 1. The room was always clean, which cannot be said about the other hostels I have seen.

Disliked: During our first stay there the room they gave us was not like the pictures. It had no real window except the wooden window/gate towards the creepy apartment shaft. The ceiling was very low. But since we only intended to sleep there, it was more than enough. We got what we paid for. Our second visit was much better, which I will review later.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Franziska Kühl

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

26 August 2012 Franziska would recommend this property

Liked: The location of the Hostel is great. The beach, as well es the Rambla and the bus station are easy to reach by foot. You are totaly in the middle of the happening. Furthermore, 24 hours a day someone of the employees is in house and contacable. Even the charwoman is doing a good job.

Disliked: The only annoying thing if you want to spend a day at hostel is that the Tv worked half time of the week.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

30 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Central location and very quiet rooms even though the hotel is located in a very busy area!

Disliked: On arrival the staff were not friendly at all and it seemed we had interupted