We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of AAE Rey Don Jaime Hotel

2 star Hotel | Carrer de Jaume I, 11, Barcelona, Spain 08002

72.7% Overall Rating

397 out of 505 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (10/07/2014)

"It has the perfect location in the heart of the old town of Barcelona. The staff is super friendly, we arrived at ten in the morning and the room was already ready for us."

Read all AAE Rey Don Jaime Hotel reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Please Note: Barcelona is a busy city with many festivals and holidays. We try to honour all our bookings, and periodically we find guests that never show up even after paying a booking deposit on sites like this. If you have booked a group or extended stay we will charge an additional deposit on your credit card used here. You will see a charge as "AAE Hotel" appear on your credit card statement and also receive an email from us that will show the balance due with the reduction taken out. Please look for emails from AAE Hotels if you have booked a holiday period, with a group, or have booked an extended stay (over 4 days). Cancellations made within 2 days prior to arrival will incur a charge of the first night’s stay. Please note: For reservations arriving from 1st of Nov 2012 a tourist tax of 0.72€ per person per night with a will apply for the first 7 nights.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Barcelona?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Barcelona

AAE Annex Hotel
48.06 USD

Hotel 2 star 76.2% 151 reviews
Hostal Layetana
16.43 USD

Guesthouse 66.7% 17 reviews
Equity Point Gothic
9.30 USD

Hostel 83.8% 664 reviews
Hostal NITZS BCN
20.24 USD

Guesthouse 89.3% 24 reviews
Itaca Hostel & Apartments
17.71 USD

Hostel 92.3% 471 reviews
No 5 Barcelona Apartments
27.41 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Albergue New York
10.12 USD

Hostel 78.6% 641 reviews
Confortel Almirante
51.49 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
72.7%

Overall Rating

397 out of 505 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'AAE Rey Don Jaime Hotel'

Atmosphere
61.6%
Location
96.0%
Facilities
58.4%
Cleanliness
69.6%
Staff
71.2%
Value
74.4%
Safety
77.6%
Refine your results Showing 293 of 387 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Klavs Møller Hansen

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

20 December 2010 Klavs Møller would recommend this property

Liked: Close to the center of the city, we enjoyed that we could get home in a few minutes, without any problems...

Disliked: no comments...

20.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday

11 December 2010

Liked: I don't like it at all!!!!!!!!!

Disliked: no introduction about the facilities. the reception is not 24hrs running and the front door is controlled by doorman who is not on his position. I ring the door bell to ask him open the door for 15mins standing on the street. There is only one key for twin room. If one people locked the door outside, the other one can not leave the room even her ask for help for 3hrs. There are no introduction about how to call out with the room telephone. So you can't call the service or ask for help. The room is not clean. There are dust at the corner behind the door.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Samantha Mason

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

08 December 2010 Samantha would recommend this property

Liked: Great location - easy walking distance from everything and right next to a Metro. It was on a very main street but as soon as you walk inside it feels very safe and secure. We had a 3 bed room overlooking the main street which was fairly clean, and the towles were changed daily. The best thing is having your own room and bathroom (and great view) for the same price it costs to stay in a 14 bed dorm in a Hostel. We had a great time!

Disliked: It is not a youth hostel and because everyone has private rooms, you don´t meet any other travelers. There could have been more information about Barcelona offered at the front desk. No Air con (would be very hot in summer) and there was lots of noise from the street.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jelmer van Ast

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference

06 December 2010 Jelmer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is great. The room was clean and of reasonable size (which was exactly what we needed). The bathroom was clean and modern. The room had a lot of character with two balconies and view onto a lovely street. For a double-bed room, 4 nights, we consider the price of less than 200 euro very cheap.

Disliked: It was very noisy. The balcony doors didn't close well, so there was always noise from the busy inner-city street below.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Sightseeing & culture
Shopping

12 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's located very close to Plaza Catalunya, about 5-3 minutes of walking. It's very clean(Twin Private Ensuite), bathroom provides hot water 24/7, there is a supermarket nearby, as well as some souvenir shops and bars.

Disliked: The receptionist didn't know English at all, it was very hard to communicate with them, nearly impossible. Also when we arrived at the hotel, it took around 15-20 minutes until the receptionist opened the door for us.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife

02 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hotel is right near a train station, close to alot of shops and within walking distance to the beach and the central plaza of the historic district

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife

02 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: we had no idea it was actually an apartment but we really lucked out...perfect spot...soooo much room. full kitchen and bathroom and plenty of room to invite other people over too

Disliked: no free breakfast OR wifi -- not the property's fault though it was hostelbookers fault for falsely advertising it

25.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Ethelbjorn Borg

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
City break
Sightseeing & culture

27 October 2010

Liked: This hotel is appaling - Do not go there! They are misleading travellers with the information and pictures shown on this website!

Disliked: We hated everything! The hotel is very old and overheated, is directly above a very noisy street (you can't sleep because you need to leave the window open because of the heat) and the staff will lock the front door without warning meaning you cannot get in or out even if you need to go to the airport! The staff is very rude and unfriendly, cannot speak any English and does not care less about their guests!

42.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Helle Andreasen

As a family with children

City break
Family Holiday
Shopping

26 October 2010

Liked: The location.

Disliked: See nr. 2

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

As a family with children

Family Holiday

25 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location was good

Disliked: It was very different than the pictures in internet.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Marcia Taylor

As a family with children

Family Holiday
City break

22 October 2010 Marcia would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing high ceilings, great location

Disliked: The fellow at the desk was not unfriendly, but the difficulty in communicating in English dissuaded me from asking for recommendations and information. Awesome location also meant that the Saturday night life was rather loud outside the window.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Adam Amborski

As a family with children

Family Holiday

21 October 2010 Adam would recommend this property

Liked: Location is perfect, in the heart of the Barcelona old town, unless you want to sleep long in silence - there are noises from the street both late in the night and early in the morning. We had clean towels, changed regularly, and clean bathroom.

Disliked: The room was painted grey and a quite dirty, what made the first impression rather bad. Dirty linen on one bad has been changed upon our request. The problem of the town is no information on the buses and trams except on the stops. Even the tourist information points have no map of the system (which I think is very convenient - and you can see more than from a subway train). I think it would be nice to have such information in the hotel.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break

10 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location is good! but the facilities shall increase , like guestroom shall able to call operator - reception , hot water. Their most susprise is the housekeeping, mix our used towel twice. not change daily

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

JANICE YEW

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
City break
Sightseeing & culture

10 October 2010 JANICE would recommend this property

Liked: Free wi-fi was good.

Disliked: Not all staff were multi-lingual which was difficult. Did not receive or find any information on the all you can eat breakfast. Did not like having to hand key into reception each time we left the hotel. Hotel room felt really unfriendly and cold - not very warming at all.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Shopping

06 October 2010

Liked: location

Disliked: reception staff rude and not helpful wifi internet connection not working

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Marjolaine Roy

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

01 October 2010 Marjolaine would recommend this property

Liked: La gentillesse du personnel et la sécurité des lieux.

Disliked: La chambre était trop petite.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife

17 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the locations was very good and staff was very friendly and kind

Disliked: very small rooms and bad view from window, towels werent changed every day

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

nadisha madgavkar

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

07 September 2010 nadisha would recommend this property

Liked: good location...nice enough rooms...

Disliked: nadisha left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Romantic getaway
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

02 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean room with a great balcony with a view over the bustling streets of Barcelona.

Disliked: Lack of breakfast

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

30 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very close to Metro station

Disliked: NA

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Richard Wagner

With my spouse / partner

City break

11 August 2010 Richard would recommend this property

Liked: Location is perfect, however because of this it was noisy (we stayed there on the week-end and in the high season.

Disliked: We missed the aircondition, and it was too hot

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Visiting friends or family

04 August 2010

Liked: in the center of the town for low price

Disliked: no breakfast or..

74.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Ben Parks

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

26 July 2010 Ben would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: No air-con

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

26 July 2010

Liked: position

Disliked: price ,no climatised,no breakfast

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

23 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We had the corner room and had two balconies to ourselves.

Disliked: Because there is no A/C, we had to sleep with the balcony doors open. Our room was quite loud due to the bustling street noises. You get used to the noise on the second night, but I would not recommend this hotel for light sleepers traveling in the hotter months.