HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of AAE Rey Don Jaime Hotel

2 star Hotel | Carrer de Jaume I, 11, Barcelona, Spain 08002

79.2% Overall Rating

392 out of 497 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (10/07/2014)

"It has the perfect location in the heart of the old town of Barcelona. The staff is super friendly, we arrived at ten in the morning and the room was already ready for us."

Read all AAE Rey Don Jaime Hotel reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Please Note: Barcelona is a busy city with many festivals and holidays. We try to honour all our bookings, and periodically we find guests that never show up even after paying a booking deposit on sites like this. If you have booked a group or extended stay we will charge an additional deposit on your credit card used here. You will see a charge as "AAE Hotel" appear on your credit card statement and also receive an email from us that will show the balance due with the reduction taken out. Please look for emails from AAE Hotels if you have booked a holiday period, with a group, or have booked an extended stay (over 4 days). Cancellations made within 2 days prior to arrival will incur a charge of the first night’s stay. Please note: For reservations arriving from 1st of Nov 2012 a tourist tax of 0.72€ per person per night with a will apply for the first 7 nights.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Barcelona?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Barcelona

AAE Annex Hotel
51.01 USD

Hotel 2 star 76.2% 151 reviews
Hostal Layetana
20.14 USD

Guesthouse 67.7% 13 reviews
Equity Point Gothic
22.56 USD

Hostel 82.2% 656 reviews
Hostal NITZS BCN
28.20 USD

Guesthouse 89.1% 23 reviews
Itaca Hostel & Apartments
37.60 USD

Hostel 92.3% 468 reviews
No 5 Barcelona Apartments
36.26 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Albergue New York
25.51 USD

Hostel 80.3% 638 reviews
Confortel Almirante
53.18 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
78.1%

Overall Rating

392 out of 496 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'AAE Rey Don Jaime Hotel'

Atmosphere
69.6%
Location
99.2%
Facilities
64.8%
Cleanliness
76.8%
Staff
79.2%
Value
82.4%
Safety
74.4%
Refine your results Showing 292 of 380 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12   Next
Reset filter
54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Aurelia Deflandre

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

10 September 2011

Liked: Obviously, this is a cheap hostel, so for the location, which is great, you can't really complain too much. Though I really have to say that what seems to be the manager (older man) is the most unfriendly person I have ever met travelling. He assured me at first that I didn't have a booking, didn't speak english (spanish and some french), and then completely ignored us. The rest of the staff is average let's say but don't expect too much from them. The description is not really accurate but then again for the price and since you don;'t really spend so much time there, it is interesting value for money. Another point : it was impossible to reach the hotel by phone.

Disliked: The staff

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

deborah holt

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

31 August 2011 deborah would recommend this property

Liked: great location and great price,

Disliked: only the colour of the walls, it makes it look very drab when its a lovely clean building with character

60.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

04 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location.

Disliked: It wasn't bad, it just wasn't very good. Basically it was clean, the people at the reception were kind, and for the most part it was good for the location. If you want to meet people, or hang out with other backpackers then this place isn't for you. There isn't a terrace or a kitchen, and I never could find the restaurant so be aware when you read the description.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Ednaldo Silva Filho

With my spouse / partner

Relaxation/spa

03 August 2011 Ednaldo would recommend this property

Liked: Good localization. In the Heart of Barcelona.

Disliked: The Elevatory is very slowly and without air condition.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

02 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location was pretty good

Disliked: Wifi was iffy

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

19 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was good. All of the facilities seemed to work well.

Disliked: It was a bit too expensive for the room you got. The rooms were extremely small and there was no air conditioning, so it was really hot.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Sightseeing & culture

09 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the location is a catcher. No breakfast is a minus, but dozens of inexpensive cafes close by!

Disliked: neighbors' noise, but only if your windows facing each other.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Sam Pourzand

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

06 July 2011 Sam would recommend this property

Liked: Workers were very helpful.Whenever I asked for a place they explain the location for me completely. The location of hotel was good and it was about 20 minutes walking to beach.

Disliked: It was a bit noisy outside which I think other hotels in the same area have the same problem.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

Family Holiday
Romantic getaway
Shopping

04 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: To noice, we can hear people speaking from next room

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

27 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: No hairdryer. No new towels on final three days. Faulty internet connection.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

As a family with children

Sightseeing & culture

13 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location. Kept very clean.

Disliked: Noisy neighbors at times til very late.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Christine Perkal

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

26 May 2011 Christine would recommend this property

Liked: The property was very well located in the old quarter and within walking distance of the Ramblas and metro

Disliked: Our room was above a busy street and had a shuttered window which had to be closed to stop the noise so we had no natural light while we were inside.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

22 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was not too expensive, and its location was good.

Disliked: It was not too clean nor quality like. No breakfast available. There was no window in my room nor in the bathroom, but the thing there was was a huge cockroach. The main reception man did not speak English too much.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

15 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Would really recommend this place for someone who wants cheap accommodation. If you want a perfect spot, that is clean, and don't care about noise, it's perfect. Very welcoming and helpful staff, but good if you know a bit of Spanish. We will come back for sure.

Disliked: Sometimes a bit noisy, but not that much.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

11 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This AAE Rey Don Jaime Hotel is very close to Jaime I metro station, just 20 meters away. This is the only advantage. They accept credit cards.

Disliked: The price does not include breakfast. The price they charged, it should include breakfast. I booked for private single ensuite, but it is very ordinary. Not very lucrative. I stayed for two nights, but for one day they did not give soap and others.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jayne Bailey

With my spouse / partner

City break

09 May 2011 Jayne would recommend this property

Liked: Location and room

Disliked: On arrival the man on Reception was unhelpful and only spoke Spanish. I was told that all rooms were full and my Reservation had been cancelled. I had to wait until 21.45 when another man came and found us a room thankfully.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

01 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location. Staff is friendly.

Disliked: nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

AHMED FARRAG

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife

28 February 2011 AHMED would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: Rooms are lacking sound proofs & the curtains are very light that they pass sun light (for people who can't sleep in any form of light)

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

simon davies

With my spouse / partner

City break

26 February 2011 simon would recommend this property

Liked: Central location - old town

Disliked: No bar, restaraunt

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Christian Scheel

With my spouse / partner

City break
Work / volunteering

19 February 2011 Christian would recommend this property

Liked: cheap, centered in the "Barree Gothic", showers good (3rd floor), secur impression (stuff occupies the entrance), clean,

Disliked: poor standard, noisy, no AC, no wifi, windows don't close well, traffic and guests noise hearable

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

14 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: quite good

Disliked: they left our room opened

80.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Sime Ercegovic

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

21 January 2011 Sime would recommend this property

Liked: friendly and helpful staff, very good location and price

Disliked: atmosphere

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

29 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location was really good.

Disliked: Lack of proper heating facilities! It was in December and very cold, the lack of heating facilities was really bad. It was not possible to go to sleep in that cold room. However, they provided several blanket for every body, it was not very helpful. I think it would be nice in summer.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

XU Wang

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

29 December 2010 XU would recommend this property

Liked: the location is very close to the metro station.

Disliked: It is some times too noisy to sleep. Because you can always hear people talking from other rooms and even from the street.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Klavs Møller Hansen

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

20 December 2010 Klavs Møller would recommend this property

Liked: Close to the center of the city, we enjoyed that we could get home in a few minutes, without any problems...

Disliked: no comments...