We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of AAE Rey Don Jaime Hotel

2 star Hotel | Carrer de Jaume I, 11, Barcelona, Spain 08002

69.0% Overall Rating

410 out of 521 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (04/01/2015)

"The location of the hotel is the best. It is very close to the metro station and is only one station away to the beach."

Read all AAE Rey Don Jaime Hotel reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Please Note: Barcelona is a busy city with many festivals and holidays. We try to honour all our bookings, and periodically we find guests that never show up even after paying a booking deposit on sites like this. If you have booked a group or extended stay we will charge an additional deposit on your credit card used here. You will see a charge as "AAE Hotel" appear on your credit card statement and also receive an email from us that will show the balance due with the reduction taken out. Please look for emails from AAE Hotels if you have booked a holiday period, with a group, or have booked an extended stay (over 4 days). Cancellations made within 2 days prior to arrival will incur a charge of the first night’s stay. Please note: For reservations arriving from 1st of Nov 2012 a tourist tax of 0.72€ per person per night with a will apply for the first 7 nights.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Barcelona?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Barcelona

AAE Annex Hotel
42.19 USD

Hotel 2 star 76.2% 151 reviews
Equity Point Gothic
18.55 USD

Hostel 88.2% 672 reviews
Hostal NITZS BCN
23.69 USD

Guesthouse 89.4% 25 reviews
Itaca Hostel & Apartments
30.99 USD

Hostel 92.8% 477 reviews
No 5 Barcelona Apartments
97.18 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Albergue New York
17.77 USD

Hostel 80.3% 649 reviews
Confortel Almirante
79.41 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated
A & A Arco Youth Hostel
16.66 USD

Hostel 83.7% 222 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 04/07/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 04/07/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
69.0%

Overall Rating

410 out of 521 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'AAE Rey Don Jaime Hotel'

Atmosphere
57.6%
Location
92.8%
Facilities
54.4%
Cleanliness
67.2%
Staff
68.0%
Value
68.0%
Safety
75.2%
Refine your results Showing 297 of 403 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12   Next
Reset filter
74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Bahar Alizadeh Sabour

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

01 January 2012 Bahar would recommend this property

Liked: it was good over all. no breakfast but no big deal! there were zillions of cafes next to it

Disliked: Bahar left no negative feedback.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Elina Pavlova

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

03 November 2011 Elina would recommend this property

Liked: The location is great. Near to the Cathedral and very close to a metro stop. There was a balcony. The staff was friendly and we had no troubles at all.

Disliked: The bathroom is very small and it's really hard to turn around in it. The room is also small and not very clean. It's little bit noisy but as i said the location is great. Watch about the tax fee which is not included in the price.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Andriy Yefimov

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

16 October 2011

Liked: vending machine in the lobby

Disliked: prices determinated without 8% VAT. You should be ready to pay additional amount (they take the money when you check-out). Noisily

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

10 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location!

Disliked: Only one key to the door, A bit noisy outside at night.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Tersia Vermaak

As a family with children

Family Holiday

15 September 2011

Liked: The cleaning ladies were friendly and helped me carry my luggage down 3 flights of stairs when the elevator broke and the reception chap just grunted at me.

Disliked: The reception service is the worst I have come accross in 10 years of extenisve travel, very unfriendly and very unhelpful. One admitted to me that he was actively encouraged not to become too friendly or encourage relationships with guests. When we arrived, he told me he couldnt find my booking and that was it goodbye, fortunately I had the booking confirmation in my phone and he had to grudgingly book me in. The room was ok but boiling hot and the street below the hotel is busy until 6am and then the walls are very thin so no sleep for two nights. I would have had a better nights sleep on the beach.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Aurelia Deflandre

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

10 September 2011

Liked: Obviously, this is a cheap hostel, so for the location, which is great, you can't really complain too much. Though I really have to say that what seems to be the manager (older man) is the most unfriendly person I have ever met travelling. He assured me at first that I didn't have a booking, didn't speak english (spanish and some french), and then completely ignored us. The rest of the staff is average let's say but don't expect too much from them. The description is not really accurate but then again for the price and since you don;'t really spend so much time there, it is interesting value for money. Another point : it was impossible to reach the hotel by phone.

Disliked: The staff

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

deborah holt

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

31 August 2011 deborah would recommend this property

Liked: great location and great price,

Disliked: only the colour of the walls, it makes it look very drab when its a lovely clean building with character

60.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

04 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location.

Disliked: It wasn't bad, it just wasn't very good. Basically it was clean, the people at the reception were kind, and for the most part it was good for the location. If you want to meet people, or hang out with other backpackers then this place isn't for you. There isn't a terrace or a kitchen, and I never could find the restaurant so be aware when you read the description.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Ednaldo Silva Filho

With my spouse / partner

Relaxation/spa

03 August 2011 Ednaldo would recommend this property

Liked: Good localization. In the Heart of Barcelona.

Disliked: The Elevatory is very slowly and without air condition.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

02 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location was pretty good

Disliked: Wifi was iffy

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

19 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was good. All of the facilities seemed to work well.

Disliked: It was a bit too expensive for the room you got. The rooms were extremely small and there was no air conditioning, so it was really hot.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Sightseeing & culture

09 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the location is a catcher. No breakfast is a minus, but dozens of inexpensive cafes close by!

Disliked: neighbors' noise, but only if your windows facing each other.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Sam Pourzand

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

06 July 2011 Sam would recommend this property

Liked: Workers were very helpful.Whenever I asked for a place they explain the location for me completely. The location of hotel was good and it was about 20 minutes walking to beach.

Disliked: It was a bit noisy outside which I think other hotels in the same area have the same problem.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

Family Holiday
Romantic getaway
Shopping

04 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: To noice, we can hear people speaking from next room

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

27 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: No hairdryer. No new towels on final three days. Faulty internet connection.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

As a family with children

Sightseeing & culture

13 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location. Kept very clean.

Disliked: Noisy neighbors at times til very late.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Christine Perkal

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

26 May 2011 Christine would recommend this property

Liked: The property was very well located in the old quarter and within walking distance of the Ramblas and metro

Disliked: Our room was above a busy street and had a shuttered window which had to be closed to stop the noise so we had no natural light while we were inside.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

22 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was not too expensive, and its location was good.

Disliked: It was not too clean nor quality like. No breakfast available. There was no window in my room nor in the bathroom, but the thing there was was a huge cockroach. The main reception man did not speak English too much.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

15 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Would really recommend this place for someone who wants cheap accommodation. If you want a perfect spot, that is clean, and don't care about noise, it's perfect. Very welcoming and helpful staff, but good if you know a bit of Spanish. We will come back for sure.

Disliked: Sometimes a bit noisy, but not that much.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

11 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This AAE Rey Don Jaime Hotel is very close to Jaime I metro station, just 20 meters away. This is the only advantage. They accept credit cards.

Disliked: The price does not include breakfast. The price they charged, it should include breakfast. I booked for private single ensuite, but it is very ordinary. Not very lucrative. I stayed for two nights, but for one day they did not give soap and others.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jayne Bailey

With my spouse / partner

City break

09 May 2011 Jayne would recommend this property

Liked: Location and room

Disliked: On arrival the man on Reception was unhelpful and only spoke Spanish. I was told that all rooms were full and my Reservation had been cancelled. I had to wait until 21.45 when another man came and found us a room thankfully.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

01 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location. Staff is friendly.

Disliked: nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

AHMED FARRAG

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife

28 February 2011 AHMED would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: Rooms are lacking sound proofs & the curtains are very light that they pass sun light (for people who can't sleep in any form of light)

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

simon davies

With my spouse / partner

City break

26 February 2011 simon would recommend this property

Liked: Central location - old town

Disliked: No bar, restaraunt

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Christian Scheel

With my spouse / partner

City break
Work / volunteering

19 February 2011 Christian would recommend this property

Liked: cheap, centered in the "Barree Gothic", showers good (3rd floor), secur impression (stuff occupies the entrance), clean,

Disliked: poor standard, noisy, no AC, no wifi, windows don't close well, traffic and guests noise hearable