HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of AAE Rey Don Jaime Hotel

2 star Hotel | Carrer de Jaume I, 11, Barcelona, Spain 08002

75.8% Overall Rating

381 out of 484 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (03/04/2014)

"Good location with sights nearby & metro station just metres away for everything else"

Read all AAE Rey Don Jaime Hotel reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Please Note: Barcelona is a busy city with many festivals and holidays. We try to honour all our bookings, and periodically we find guests that never show up even after paying a booking deposit on sites like this. If you have booked a group or extended stay we will charge an additional deposit on your credit card used here. You will see a charge as "AAE Hotel" appear on your credit card statement and also receive an email from us that will show the balance due with the reduction taken out. Please look for emails from AAE Hotels if you have booked a holiday period, with a group, or have booked an extended stay (over 4 days). Cancellations made within 2 days prior to arrival will incur a charge of the first night’s stay. Please note: For reservations arriving from 1st of Nov 2012 a tourist tax of 0.72€ per person per night with a will apply for the first 7 nights.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Barcelona?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Barcelona

AAE Annex Hotel
52.55 USD

Hotel 2 star 75.0% 149 reviews
Hostal Layetana
20.75 USD

Guesthouse 68.2% 7 reviews
Equity Point Gothic
14.52 USD

Hostel 81.9% 648 reviews
Hostal NITZS BCN
23.97 USD

Guesthouse 89.1% 23 reviews
Itaca Hostel & Apartments
20.61 USD

Hostel 90.2% 462 reviews
Albergue New York
21.75 USD

Hostel 76.0% 633 reviews
Confortel Almirante
56.30 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated
A & A Arco Youth Hostel
16.60 USD

Hostel 85.3% 217 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
75.8%

Overall Rating

381 out of 484 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'AAE Rey Don Jaime Hotel'

Atmosphere
67.2%
Location
98.4%
Facilities
63.2%
Cleanliness
72.0%
Staff
76.0%
Value
78.4%
Safety
75.2%
Refine your results Showing 285 of 367 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12   Next
Reset filter
88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Sam Pourzand

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

06 July 2011 Sam would recommend this property

Liked: Workers were very helpful.Whenever I asked for a place they explain the location for me completely. The location of hotel was good and it was about 20 minutes walking to beach.

Disliked: It was a bit noisy outside which I think other hotels in the same area have the same problem.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

Family Holiday
Romantic getaway
Shopping

04 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: To noice, we can hear people speaking from next room

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

27 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: No hairdryer. No new towels on final three days. Faulty internet connection.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

As a family with children

Sightseeing & culture

13 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location. Kept very clean.

Disliked: Noisy neighbors at times til very late.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Christine Perkal

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

26 May 2011 Christine would recommend this property

Liked: The property was very well located in the old quarter and within walking distance of the Ramblas and metro

Disliked: Our room was above a busy street and had a shuttered window which had to be closed to stop the noise so we had no natural light while we were inside.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

22 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was not too expensive, and its location was good.

Disliked: It was not too clean nor quality like. No breakfast available. There was no window in my room nor in the bathroom, but the thing there was was a huge cockroach. The main reception man did not speak English too much.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

15 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Would really recommend this place for someone who wants cheap accommodation. If you want a perfect spot, that is clean, and don't care about noise, it's perfect. Very welcoming and helpful staff, but good if you know a bit of Spanish. We will come back for sure.

Disliked: Sometimes a bit noisy, but not that much.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

11 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This AAE Rey Don Jaime Hotel is very close to Jaime I metro station, just 20 meters away. This is the only advantage. They accept credit cards.

Disliked: The price does not include breakfast. The price they charged, it should include breakfast. I booked for private single ensuite, but it is very ordinary. Not very lucrative. I stayed for two nights, but for one day they did not give soap and others.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jayne Bailey

With my spouse / partner

City break

09 May 2011 Jayne would recommend this property

Liked: Location and room

Disliked: On arrival the man on Reception was unhelpful and only spoke Spanish. I was told that all rooms were full and my Reservation had been cancelled. I had to wait until 21.45 when another man came and found us a room thankfully.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

01 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location. Staff is friendly.

Disliked: nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

AHMED FARRAG

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife

28 February 2011 AHMED would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: Rooms are lacking sound proofs & the curtains are very light that they pass sun light (for people who can't sleep in any form of light)

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

simon davies

With my spouse / partner

City break

26 February 2011 simon would recommend this property

Liked: Central location - old town

Disliked: No bar, restaraunt

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Christian Scheel

With my spouse / partner

City break
Work / volunteering

19 February 2011 Christian would recommend this property

Liked: cheap, centered in the "Barree Gothic", showers good (3rd floor), secur impression (stuff occupies the entrance), clean,

Disliked: poor standard, noisy, no AC, no wifi, windows don't close well, traffic and guests noise hearable

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

14 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: quite good

Disliked: they left our room opened

80.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Sime Ercegovic

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

21 January 2011 Sime would recommend this property

Liked: friendly and helpful staff, very good location and price

Disliked: atmosphere

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

29 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location was really good.

Disliked: Lack of proper heating facilities! It was in December and very cold, the lack of heating facilities was really bad. It was not possible to go to sleep in that cold room. However, they provided several blanket for every body, it was not very helpful. I think it would be nice in summer.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

XU Wang

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

29 December 2010 XU would recommend this property

Liked: the location is very close to the metro station.

Disliked: It is some times too noisy to sleep. Because you can always hear people talking from other rooms and even from the street.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Klavs Møller Hansen

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

20 December 2010 Klavs Møller would recommend this property

Liked: Close to the center of the city, we enjoyed that we could get home in a few minutes, without any problems...

Disliked: no comments...

20.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday

11 December 2010

Liked: I don't like it at all!!!!!!!!!

Disliked: no introduction about the facilities. the reception is not 24hrs running and the front door is controlled by doorman who is not on his position. I ring the door bell to ask him open the door for 15mins standing on the street. There is only one key for twin room. If one people locked the door outside, the other one can not leave the room even her ask for help for 3hrs. There are no introduction about how to call out with the room telephone. So you can't call the service or ask for help. The room is not clean. There are dust at the corner behind the door.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Samantha Mason

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

08 December 2010 Samantha would recommend this property

Liked: Great location - easy walking distance from everything and right next to a Metro. It was on a very main street but as soon as you walk inside it feels very safe and secure. We had a 3 bed room overlooking the main street which was fairly clean, and the towles were changed daily. The best thing is having your own room and bathroom (and great view) for the same price it costs to stay in a 14 bed dorm in a Hostel. We had a great time!

Disliked: It is not a youth hostel and because everyone has private rooms, you don´t meet any other travelers. There could have been more information about Barcelona offered at the front desk. No Air con (would be very hot in summer) and there was lots of noise from the street.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jelmer van Ast

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference

06 December 2010 Jelmer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is great. The room was clean and of reasonable size (which was exactly what we needed). The bathroom was clean and modern. The room had a lot of character with two balconies and view onto a lovely street. For a double-bed room, 4 nights, we consider the price of less than 200 euro very cheap.

Disliked: It was very noisy. The balcony doors didn't close well, so there was always noise from the busy inner-city street below.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Sightseeing & culture
Shopping

12 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's located very close to Plaza Catalunya, about 5-3 minutes of walking. It's very clean(Twin Private Ensuite), bathroom provides hot water 24/7, there is a supermarket nearby, as well as some souvenir shops and bars.

Disliked: The receptionist didn't know English at all, it was very hard to communicate with them, nearly impossible. Also when we arrived at the hotel, it took around 15-20 minutes until the receptionist opened the door for us.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife

02 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hotel is right near a train station, close to alot of shops and within walking distance to the beach and the central plaza of the historic district

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife

02 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: we had no idea it was actually an apartment but we really lucked out...perfect spot...soooo much room. full kitchen and bathroom and plenty of room to invite other people over too

Disliked: no free breakfast OR wifi -- not the property's fault though it was hostelbookers fault for falsely advertising it

25.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Ethelbjorn Borg

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
City break
Sightseeing & culture

27 October 2010

Liked: This hotel is appaling - Do not go there! They are misleading travellers with the information and pictures shown on this website!

Disliked: We hated everything! The hotel is very old and overheated, is directly above a very noisy street (you can't sleep because you need to leave the window open because of the heat) and the staff will lock the front door without warning meaning you cannot get in or out even if you need to go to the airport! The staff is very rude and unfriendly, cannot speak any English and does not care less about their guests!