HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of AAE Rey Don Jaime Hotel

2 star Hotel | Carrer de Jaume I, 11, Barcelona, Spain 08002

79.1% Overall Rating

394 out of 499 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (10/07/2014)

"It has the perfect location in the heart of the old town of Barcelona. The staff is super friendly, we arrived at ten in the morning and the room was already ready for us."

Read all AAE Rey Don Jaime Hotel reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Please Note: Barcelona is a busy city with many festivals and holidays. We try to honour all our bookings, and periodically we find guests that never show up even after paying a booking deposit on sites like this. If you have booked a group or extended stay we will charge an additional deposit on your credit card used here. You will see a charge as "AAE Hotel" appear on your credit card statement and also receive an email from us that will show the balance due with the reduction taken out. Please look for emails from AAE Hotels if you have booked a holiday period, with a group, or have booked an extended stay (over 4 days). Cancellations made within 2 days prior to arrival will incur a charge of the first night’s stay. Please note: For reservations arriving from 1st of Nov 2012 a tourist tax of 0.72€ per person per night with a will apply for the first 7 nights.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Barcelona?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Barcelona

AAE Annex Hotel
50.03 USD

Hotel 2 star 76.2% 151 reviews
Hostal Layetana
19.76 USD

Guesthouse 67.1% 14 reviews
Equity Point Gothic
20.74 USD

Hostel 82.1% 661 reviews
Hostal NITZS BCN
24.36 USD

Guesthouse 89.3% 24 reviews
Itaca Hostel & Apartments
30.16 USD

Hostel 91.8% 470 reviews
No 5 Barcelona Apartments
35.12 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Albergue New York
19.76 USD

Hostel 79.7% 640 reviews
Confortel Almirante
53.60 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/08/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/08/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
79.1%

Overall Rating

394 out of 499 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'AAE Rey Don Jaime Hotel'

Atmosphere
70.4%
Location
98.4%
Facilities
67.2%
Cleanliness
78.4%
Staff
79.2%
Value
82.4%
Safety
77.6%
Refine your results Showing 293 of 382 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12   Next
Reset filter
80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Katharina Roßleben

Alone

Events / festivals
Shopping
Visiting friends or family

03 October 2012 Katharina would recommend this property

Liked: It's very central and you can walk easy to the beach or for shoppinh at Porta de l'Angel, i've lived in Barcelona so i know it yet, but if you want to go sightseeing it"s perfect, because the metro station is only few meters away. You have free wifi and the staff is kind, for a hotel with two stars there's nithing to declare about, it may not be clean like in a 5 star hotel, but depends on what you expect, i expected less and was surprised, it was a nice stay here and i'm coming back.

Disliked: Katharina left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Natalie Shorter

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

24 September 2012 Natalie would recommend this property

Liked: It was an amazing location, right near the metro, we walked to the beach and La Rambla most days and good night life down some of the surrounding small alleys. We had a room with a balcony over the back street, but we didn't have a problem with noise or heat at night like some other people have said but we stayed in Spetember, still late 20's at night but a lot cooler then peak summer.

Disliked: Natalie left no negative feedback.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

09 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was in the gothic district and close to the metro station

Disliked: The bathroom floor had hair all over it from the previous guests. It would have been nice if it had been vacuumed before we checked in. There was no air conditioning.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

03 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: There was a helpful person at the desk at all times who controled the entry. The location was good.

Disliked: Because of the central location there was a lot of noise at night, especially on football nights, but it's not anything the hostel has control over.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

28 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is great and the room was clean. It is more than enough for travellers like us, who discover the city by day and enjoyed the nightlife afterwards.

Disliked: I did not enjoy the lack of windows. It is a bit depressing. Luckily it was our second stay there and the room this time was much larger. I guess the rooms are limited for rooms with two twin beds with private bathrooms.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

28 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was far better than we imagined. It is very close to the metro station Jaume 1. The room was always clean, which cannot be said about the other hostels I have seen.

Disliked: During our first stay there the room they gave us was not like the pictures. It had no real window except the wooden window/gate towards the creepy apartment shaft. The ceiling was very low. But since we only intended to sleep there, it was more than enough. We got what we paid for. Our second visit was much better, which I will review later.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Franziska Kühl

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

26 August 2012 Franziska would recommend this property

Liked: The location of the Hostel is great. The beach, as well es the Rambla and the bus station are easy to reach by foot. You are totaly in the middle of the happening. Furthermore, 24 hours a day someone of the employees is in house and contacable. Even the charwoman is doing a good job.

Disliked: The only annoying thing if you want to spend a day at hostel is that the Tv worked half time of the week.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

30 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Central location and very quiet rooms even though the hotel is located in a very busy area!

Disliked: On arrival the staff were not friendly at all and it seemed we had interupted

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

27 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location of the hotel is really good, 3 min walk from la rambla and plaza reial.

Disliked: No airconditioner, but a fan, can still be hot at nights.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Deni Belokonska

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

25 July 2012 Deni would recommend this property

Liked: friendly atmosphere, location

Disliked: -

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Ella Guthrie

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

19 July 2012 Ella would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing location! I couldnt quite believe how amazing it was, so convenient and close to the metro station which makes it so easy to get to and from the airport and so close to the gothic area! we had a balcony in our room which made the trip. it was so beautiful and had an amazing view.

Disliked: obviously considering the price there are bound to be some things wrong with it. the room is small and simple and the shower wasnt very good and the bathroom wasnt stylish or anything but it did the job perfectly well and im not someone whos fussy about that but if you were id suggest otherwise. Its also quite noisy but bening in a central location one must expect that.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

09 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location, very friendly staff, 24 hour access, no noise from other rooms.

Disliked: There is some noise from the street, but it isn't that bad. Afterall, it is the heart of Barcelona!

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

25 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Su ubicacion, se camina en unos 10 minutos hacia plaza cataluya y hacia donde finaliza la rambla en el mar, es centrico entre esos dos puntos.

Disliked: El escandalo cuando quieres dormir, esta en una calle muy transitada y el bullicio llega a la habitacion las 24 hrs del dia.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

15 June 2012

Liked: Only the location is good.

Disliked: Dark, make u down.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

SIMONE GARCIA LEAL

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

13 June 2012 SIMONE would recommend this property

Liked: A localizaao e o atendimento

Disliked: Quarto muito quente

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

07 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Ottima posizione, quartiere gotico molto caratteristico e sicuro. La Rambla é a due passi... Come anche la fermata della metro. Le camere sono ben pulite e modeste.

Disliked: Non offrono il servizio di prima colazione. L'arredamento lascia molto a desiderare, letti piccoli e in stanza non c'è il condizionatore. Purtroppo si sentono numerosi rumori dalla strada e tra una stanza e l'altra.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

16 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It is really central, and really really good value for where it is in expensive Barcelona. We were really lucky and had a gorgeous little balcony looking over the street.

Disliked: In mid summer it would be really hot, there is a fan but not particularly strong and if you leave the balocny doors open, it could be quite noisy, but very atmospheric!

57.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Family Holiday
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

11 March 2012

Liked: Good location. It's a budget hotel so best if you are traveling with family / partner ( no common room / bar) Good value for money

Disliked: Slept in past check in. Had some guy barge in and tell me he'd call the cops. A bad ending to an otherwise awesome stay. Would have recommended but after that I'd say go elsewhere - there's nothing worse than being treated like a criminal when you pay good money for accomodation.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Samantha Doyle

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

05 March 2012 Samantha would recommend this property

Liked: Proximity to all facilities, attractions and transport links.

Disliked: Extremely noisy group in the room below.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Meng Wei Hsieh

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

11 January 2012 Meng Wei would recommend this property

Liked: location is very good

Disliked: There is no hair dryer can borrow

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Emily Deakin

With my spouse / partner

City break
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

05 January 2012 Emily would recommend this property

Liked: Great location. Very close to the ramblas where there are lots of great shops and restaurants.

Disliked: One female member of the staff was not very forthcoming. She was on the phone when I came to the desk to ask her if I could get my money out of the safe and she tutted, sighed, told her friend she would call back and was rather rude with me. The rest of the staff were very friendly though.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Bahar Alizadeh Sabour

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

01 January 2012 Bahar would recommend this property

Liked: it was good over all. no breakfast but no big deal! there were zillions of cafes next to it

Disliked: Bahar left no negative feedback.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Elina Pavlova

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

03 November 2011 Elina would recommend this property

Liked: The location is great. Near to the Cathedral and very close to a metro stop. There was a balcony. The staff was friendly and we had no troubles at all.

Disliked: The bathroom is very small and it's really hard to turn around in it. The room is also small and not very clean. It's little bit noisy but as i said the location is great. Watch about the tax fee which is not included in the price.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Andriy Yefimov

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

16 October 2011

Liked: vending machine in the lobby

Disliked: prices determinated without 8% VAT. You should be ready to pay additional amount (they take the money when you check-out). Noisily

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

10 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location!

Disliked: Only one key to the door, A bit noisy outside at night.