HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of AAE Rey Don Jaime Hotel

2 star Hotel | Carrer de Jaume I, 11, Barcelona, Spain 08002

75.8% Overall Rating

381 out of 484 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (03/04/2014)

"Good location with sights nearby & metro station just metres away for everything else"

Read all AAE Rey Don Jaime Hotel reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Please Note: Barcelona is a busy city with many festivals and holidays. We try to honour all our bookings, and periodically we find guests that never show up even after paying a booking deposit on sites like this. If you have booked a group or extended stay we will charge an additional deposit on your credit card used here. You will see a charge as "AAE Hotel" appear on your credit card statement and also receive an email from us that will show the balance due with the reduction taken out. Please look for emails from AAE Hotels if you have booked a holiday period, with a group, or have booked an extended stay (over 4 days). Cancellations made within 2 days prior to arrival will incur a charge of the first night’s stay. Please note: For reservations arriving from 1st of Nov 2012 a tourist tax of 0.72€ per person per night with a will apply for the first 7 nights.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Barcelona?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Barcelona

AAE Annex Hotel
52.44 USD

Hotel 2 star 75.0% 149 reviews
Hostal Layetana
20.71 USD

Guesthouse 70.7% 8 reviews
Equity Point Gothic
14.49 USD

Hostel 81.9% 648 reviews
Hostal NITZS BCN
23.92 USD

Guesthouse 89.1% 23 reviews
Itaca Hostel & Apartments
20.57 USD

Hostel 90.2% 462 reviews
Albergue New York
21.70 USD

Hostel 76.0% 633 reviews
Confortel Almirante
56.18 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated
A & A Arco Youth Hostel
16.57 USD

Hostel 85.3% 217 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
75.8%

Overall Rating

381 out of 484 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'AAE Rey Don Jaime Hotel'

Atmosphere
67.2%
Location
98.4%
Facilities
63.2%
Cleanliness
72.0%
Staff
76.0%
Value
78.4%
Safety
75.2%
Refine your results Showing 285 of 367 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12   Next
Reset filter
71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

27 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location of the hotel is really good, 3 min walk from la rambla and plaza reial.

Disliked: No airconditioner, but a fan, can still be hot at nights.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Deni Belokonska

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

25 July 2012 Deni would recommend this property

Liked: friendly atmosphere, location

Disliked: -

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Ella Guthrie

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

19 July 2012 Ella would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing location! I couldnt quite believe how amazing it was, so convenient and close to the metro station which makes it so easy to get to and from the airport and so close to the gothic area! we had a balcony in our room which made the trip. it was so beautiful and had an amazing view.

Disliked: obviously considering the price there are bound to be some things wrong with it. the room is small and simple and the shower wasnt very good and the bathroom wasnt stylish or anything but it did the job perfectly well and im not someone whos fussy about that but if you were id suggest otherwise. Its also quite noisy but bening in a central location one must expect that.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

09 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location, very friendly staff, 24 hour access, no noise from other rooms.

Disliked: There is some noise from the street, but it isn't that bad. Afterall, it is the heart of Barcelona!

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

25 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Su ubicacion, se camina en unos 10 minutos hacia plaza cataluya y hacia donde finaliza la rambla en el mar, es centrico entre esos dos puntos.

Disliked: El escandalo cuando quieres dormir, esta en una calle muy transitada y el bullicio llega a la habitacion las 24 hrs del dia.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

15 June 2012

Liked: Only the location is good.

Disliked: Dark, make u down.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

SIMONE GARCIA LEAL

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

13 June 2012 SIMONE would recommend this property

Liked: A localizaao e o atendimento

Disliked: Quarto muito quente

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

07 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Ottima posizione, quartiere gotico molto caratteristico e sicuro. La Rambla é a due passi... Come anche la fermata della metro. Le camere sono ben pulite e modeste.

Disliked: Non offrono il servizio di prima colazione. L'arredamento lascia molto a desiderare, letti piccoli e in stanza non c'è il condizionatore. Purtroppo si sentono numerosi rumori dalla strada e tra una stanza e l'altra.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

16 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It is really central, and really really good value for where it is in expensive Barcelona. We were really lucky and had a gorgeous little balcony looking over the street.

Disliked: In mid summer it would be really hot, there is a fan but not particularly strong and if you leave the balocny doors open, it could be quite noisy, but very atmospheric!

57.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Family Holiday
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

11 March 2012

Liked: Good location. It's a budget hotel so best if you are traveling with family / partner ( no common room / bar) Good value for money

Disliked: Slept in past check in. Had some guy barge in and tell me he'd call the cops. A bad ending to an otherwise awesome stay. Would have recommended but after that I'd say go elsewhere - there's nothing worse than being treated like a criminal when you pay good money for accomodation.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Samantha Doyle

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

05 March 2012 Samantha would recommend this property

Liked: Proximity to all facilities, attractions and transport links.

Disliked: Extremely noisy group in the room below.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Meng Wei Hsieh

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

11 January 2012 Meng Wei would recommend this property

Liked: location is very good

Disliked: There is no hair dryer can borrow

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Emily Deakin

With my spouse / partner

City break
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

05 January 2012 Emily would recommend this property

Liked: Great location. Very close to the ramblas where there are lots of great shops and restaurants.

Disliked: One female member of the staff was not very forthcoming. She was on the phone when I came to the desk to ask her if I could get my money out of the safe and she tutted, sighed, told her friend she would call back and was rather rude with me. The rest of the staff were very friendly though.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Bahar Alizadeh Sabour

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

01 January 2012 Bahar would recommend this property

Liked: it was good over all. no breakfast but no big deal! there were zillions of cafes next to it

Disliked: Bahar left no negative feedback.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Elina Pavlova

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

03 November 2011 Elina would recommend this property

Liked: The location is great. Near to the Cathedral and very close to a metro stop. There was a balcony. The staff was friendly and we had no troubles at all.

Disliked: The bathroom is very small and it's really hard to turn around in it. The room is also small and not very clean. It's little bit noisy but as i said the location is great. Watch about the tax fee which is not included in the price.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Andriy Yefimov

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

16 October 2011

Liked: vending machine in the lobby

Disliked: prices determinated without 8% VAT. You should be ready to pay additional amount (they take the money when you check-out). Noisily

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

10 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location!

Disliked: Only one key to the door, A bit noisy outside at night.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Tersia Vermaak

As a family with children

Family Holiday

15 September 2011

Liked: The cleaning ladies were friendly and helped me carry my luggage down 3 flights of stairs when the elevator broke and the reception chap just grunted at me.

Disliked: The reception service is the worst I have come accross in 10 years of extenisve travel, very unfriendly and very unhelpful. One admitted to me that he was actively encouraged not to become too friendly or encourage relationships with guests. When we arrived, he told me he couldnt find my booking and that was it goodbye, fortunately I had the booking confirmation in my phone and he had to grudgingly book me in. The room was ok but boiling hot and the street below the hotel is busy until 6am and then the walls are very thin so no sleep for two nights. I would have had a better nights sleep on the beach.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Aurelia Deflandre

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

10 September 2011

Liked: Obviously, this is a cheap hostel, so for the location, which is great, you can't really complain too much. Though I really have to say that what seems to be the manager (older man) is the most unfriendly person I have ever met travelling. He assured me at first that I didn't have a booking, didn't speak english (spanish and some french), and then completely ignored us. The rest of the staff is average let's say but don't expect too much from them. The description is not really accurate but then again for the price and since you don;'t really spend so much time there, it is interesting value for money. Another point : it was impossible to reach the hotel by phone.

Disliked: The staff

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

deborah holt

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

31 August 2011 deborah would recommend this property

Liked: great location and great price,

Disliked: only the colour of the walls, it makes it look very drab when its a lovely clean building with character

60.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

04 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location.

Disliked: It wasn't bad, it just wasn't very good. Basically it was clean, the people at the reception were kind, and for the most part it was good for the location. If you want to meet people, or hang out with other backpackers then this place isn't for you. There isn't a terrace or a kitchen, and I never could find the restaurant so be aware when you read the description.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Ednaldo Silva Filho

With my spouse / partner

Relaxation/spa

03 August 2011 Ednaldo would recommend this property

Liked: Good localization. In the Heart of Barcelona.

Disliked: The Elevatory is very slowly and without air condition.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

02 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location was pretty good

Disliked: Wifi was iffy

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

19 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was good. All of the facilities seemed to work well.

Disliked: It was a bit too expensive for the room you got. The rooms were extremely small and there was no air conditioning, so it was really hot.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Sightseeing & culture

09 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the location is a catcher. No breakfast is a minus, but dozens of inexpensive cafes close by!

Disliked: neighbors' noise, but only if your windows facing each other.