We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of La Seguiriya

1 star Hotel | C/ Las Peñas, 12, Alhama de Granada, Spain 18120

97.1% Overall Rating

26 out of 26 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (16/10/2012)

Patricia Thomas thinks…

"This is a lovely , cosy . older dwelling, that is full of character and charm. With the added surprise view of the gorge of Alhama to the back. The rooms are very comfortable and very clean.( There…"

Read all La Seguiriya reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Restaurant
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Alhama de Granada?

Contact us directly

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
97.1%

Overall Rating

26 out of 26 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'La Seguiriya'

Atmosphere
100.0%
Location
97.6%
Facilities
91.2%
Cleanliness
99.2%
Staff
100.0%
Value
94.4%
Safety
97.6%
Refine your results Showing 21 of 26 reviews
Reset filter
88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

21 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location, friendly staff, interesting room and a great terrace.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Patricia Thomas

With friends / other travellers

City break

16 October 2012 Patricia would recommend this property

Liked: This is a lovely , cosy . older dwelling, that is full of character and charm. With the added surprise view of the gorge of Alhama to the back. The rooms are very comfortable and very clean.( There are only six. ) The hosts ,Paco and Lola, were lovely. They made us feel so welcome with their warmth and generosity.Not to mention Lola's very good cooking. We are planing on returning next year. A true find.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

27 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Absolutely everything was good: the room was ample (including a funky 70s-see-through shower) and the hotel as a whole well-decorated and clean. But the best part was the service: it was very affordable and un-faultable. We even were given pretty much a whole bottle of wine and a ton of tapas for free. The hosts were lovely. The view is incredible. We will definitely be returning (it's worth a return trip just for this place!).

Disliked: Nada!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

21 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere in this lovely building.

Disliked: Some facilities were a bit basic (no door between the ensuite and the bedroom) but we went there for the character!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

29 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cosy place, nice room, friendly staff, great view of the gorge.

Disliked: Our room had no door between the room and the bathroom. Even though we are a couple who have been together for six years, we still prefer some privacy in the bathroom.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals
Family Holiday
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

12 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great hotel with a lot of rural character. Excellent location to explore the area. We arrived in the middle of summer and found the room cool and confortable (no air-con) - However, as with rural hotels in mountainous locations it could be cold in the middle of winter. Rooms were very clean and confortable. Free parking on the street. The food was fantastic and the views form the restaurant incredible! The owner is very friendly and knowledgeable – he recommended us the best Flamenco show at the Alhambra (Granada) with Eva Yerbabuena! We will go back to this hotel.

Disliked: N/A

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Stuart Smith

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

13 June 2011 Stuart would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic position overlooking the gorge. Paco, the owner, couldn't be more friendly and welcoming. If it's a typical Spanish hospederia you are looking for, rather than an impersonal hotel, this is the place for you! Also Alhama is a lovely place - will definitely want to return here.

Disliked: No dislikes!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Relaxation/spa

22 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: La casa es preciosa y los dueños encantadores!!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

CAROL LEE

19 March 2010 CAROL would recommend this property

Liked: It took a little while to find but actually it 's quite easy when you know where to go! Make for the town square and find the tourist information bureau/policia. Imagine coming out of that office and bearing left.Take your first left up a cobbled street then turn right -and there it is on your left.In Summer you can sit on the verandah overlooking the gorge but we couldnt do that as the owner was carrying out improvements to the verandah. Paco is a lovely man and not as silly as Basil Fawlty but at times we thought of Fawlty Towers! Even when we were the only ones for breakfast he seemd to pace from one kitchen to another (there seemed to be 2 places where food was kept and walked past us about 4 times before he would bring us the next course! Don't expect an English style breakfast! Or any choice! We got fruit juice and a nice pot of tea but no cereal.It was boiled egg plus a mixture of cheese, ham, toast and yoghurt. It was ample though. We also ate there for dinner (it seemed to be the only place open anyway in March) and that was very good. I did ask if he had some nice red wine and he proudly brought some of his own "brew" which was like sherry so not really what I wanted -but great if you like sherry! As we were having breakfast the builders were working on the terrace and as there was only one access to the house they were having to walk through the diningroom with cement and long pieces of piping etc so we were almost having to duck as they passed - but all added to the amusement! Paco's wife Lola didnt spend much time with us but she seemed nice. When we arrived we were greeted by their charming daughter and led upstairs .Much to my delight there were 2 cats on the settees on the landing but don't worry if you don't like cats -they were soon banished to other quarters! It was a bit of a culture shock in Alhama as they don't seem to have heeded the smoking ban anywhere and Lola was smoking upstairs on the landing whilst on her computer -but luckily there was no smell of smoke in our room. The bars also stilll allowed smoking and there were a couple that we avoided because they were too smoky. For anyone not that interested in an evening meal and more interested in just having a drink then we found that every time we had a drink (and the drinks were very cheap) we were served large tapas helpings, which actually were quite filling. We had 2 lovely walks along the gorge, which is just a few yards away from the hotel. One day we turned right after the church which is in a beautiful location overlooking the gorge and ended up after 30 minutes at El Chorro.Next day we decided to walk to the Thermal Springs -about an hours walk at the most -but it took 3 attempts to get on the right track! So you need to get a map from the tourist office and take the Camino de Granada which starts 5 minutes from the office where there is a big carpark. See the old bricked up church on your left high up and keep walking. I think you can get to it by turning left at the gorge but because of all this Winter's rain the river was too high in one place and we couldnt cross it to get past. But because the river was full it made the gorge walks more beautiful. We stayed 2 nights and because we were the only tourists in the town that was enough. But I would STRONGLY recommend this town and also this hotel to anyone wanting to do a little tour of Andalucia. From there we drove to our favourite resort of Nerja , the end of a lovely weeks break.

Disliked: CAROL left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

04 January 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the place is well designed, clean and very pleasant

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alan Stopher

19 November 2009 Alan would recommend this property

Liked: Like staying at home.Only slight downside was that Lola who is the cook in the excellent restaurant was away for all but one evening of our stay so there were no restaurant meals.

Disliked: Alan left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Jonathan Marson

12 July 2009 Jonathan would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing room with own balcony and a fantastic view. Food in the restaurant was excellent. Lovely atmosphere and the owner was most helpful. Wished we had stayed longer! Bicycle friendly!

Disliked: Jonathan left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

09 June 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The owner was great, welcoming and helpful.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

18 April 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Loved the hotel,food superb, staff delightful. actually the best food we had in spin!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alison Glasier

17 April 2009 Alison would recommend this property

Liked: Everything. Paco and Lola are the most welcoming and accommodating of hosts, the room was great with a view over the gorge to die for as well as a private balcony with sun beds. The food was excellent: we had two breakfasts and two dinners there and prices reasonable. Paco couldn't have been more helpful and even taxi-ed us to the airport and let us keep our room until the last possible minute. We will go back!

Disliked: Alison left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Frans-Bauke van der Meer

18 November 2008 Frans-Bauke would recommend this property

Liked: Wonderful personal atmosphere with a fabulous view. If only we could talk spanish with the owner, a retired flamenco singer and great character. A great place for a one or 2-night stopover.

Disliked: Frans-Bauke left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Niels Hvidkjær Høeg

02 November 2008 Niels Hvidkjær would recommend this property

Liked: we fell like guests in a spanish home

Disliked: Niels Hvidkjær left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Patricia Mercier

18 May 2008 Patricia would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly and helpful. Maestro de Flamenco! Essence of Moorish history everywhere. Lots of sporting activities for younger people too. Roman baths nearby.

Disliked: Patricia left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Vera Schiecke

11 April 2008 Vera would recommend this property

Liked: Our room was nice and equipped with a TV. We had a great view from our room. IMPORTANT: breakfast IS included in the price. And it is an excellent breakfast (first a small fruit plate, than some toasted bread with a boiled egg, butter, jam, sometimes cheese or a muffin and orange juice). We looked forward to our free gourmet breakfast each morning and it was actually served and prepared by the super friendly owner. He also let us take as much fruit as we wanted to our little hiking trips. La Seguiriya is not a hostel though, so don't expect to see very much young people (we are both 25 and were the youngest couple there) or kitchen facilities.Alhama is a lovely little town with great hiking oportunities. Hardly any tourists, beautiful place. Check out the tourist office for hiking maps. It can be hard to find a place to have dinner sometimes though (especially on Mondays) but they have a grocery store in the centre.In sum: I fully recommend staying at la Seguiriya!

Disliked: Vera left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

david saville

08 April 2008 david would recommend this property

Liked: A beautiful old building located in splendid place. Great room, lovely relaxed atmosphere. Genial host.

Disliked: david left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Andrew Brickman

03 March 2008 Andrew would recommend this property

Liked: Charm and hospitality of the owner, who made us feel at home and gave us exceptional service. He even helped us phone our daughter in another town in Spain, and got us a flamenco concert recommendation in our next town. Room=10, views=10, food=10, eager to stay there again. Thanks, Sr. Paco!

Disliked: Andrew left no negative feedback.