HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of New Happy Hotel

2 star Hotel | 9, Lor 10 Geylang, Singapore, Singapore 399042

73.3% Overall Rating

26 out of 41 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (09/08/2014)

Robert Kingscott thinks…

"We walked from Kellang station to the hotel. We found buses much better to travel as they stop nearer the hotel than the MRT station. The receptionist and manager were extremely helpful and even took…"

Read all New Happy Hotel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Wake-up calls

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Singapore?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Singapore

Ideal Backpackers Hostel
17.26 USD

Hostel 67.4% 50 reviews
Wow Hostels
15.69 USD

Hostel 73.5% 126 reviews
Traveller@SG
13.33 USD

Hostel 89.7% 184 reviews
Mercury Backpackers Hostel
17.65 USD

Hostel 76.5% 94 reviews
Coziee Lodge
16.86 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
GUSTI Bed & Breakfast Singapore
17.26 USD

Hostel 91.2% 11 reviews
Hostel Lah
19.61 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Backpacker's Hostel @ The Little Red Dot
12.55 USD

Hostel 80.7% 206 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
73.3%

Overall Rating

26 out of 41 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'New Happy Hotel'

Atmosphere
70.4%
Location
68.0%
Facilities
64.8%
Cleanliness
67.2%
Staff
86.4%
Value
76.8%
Safety
79.2%
Refine your results Showing 37 of 39 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Robert Kingscott

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

09 August 2014 Robert would recommend this property

Liked: We walked from Kellang station to the hotel. We found buses much better to travel as they stop nearer the hotel than the MRT station. The receptionist and manager were extremely helpful and even took us to a nearby doctors clinic when one of us was ill. Fresh bottles of water each day was a bonus too!

Disliked: Robert left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Pauline Carson

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

09 July 2014 Pauline would recommend this property

Liked: The people were very friendly and helpful. Bed comfortable and really cheap for one night stay. Loved the local food fare on offer in the vicinity.

Disliked: Bathroom a bit past it.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Neil Menzie

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

06 June 2014 Neil would recommend this property

Liked: Customer service area food

Disliked: Hard find train station

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Family Holiday
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Shopping

26 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Price reasonable and valuable .

Disliked: Air-con not enough cool.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Henry Gunawan

With my spouse / partner

Visiting friends or family

07 January 2014 Henry would recommend this property

Liked: I like Staying at New Happy Hoteld

Disliked: 15 mnt walk frm mrt

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tuan Dao

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

25 November 2013 Tuan would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly and helpful: they showed us everything so we can go around everywhere and by any mode of transport. More impresively when we need some ice, the manager himselve went to buy and bring to the room for us!

Disliked: Tuan left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Aditya Sinha

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

22 November 2013 Aditya would recommend this property

Liked: The room was fine if a bit small. There was cable tv and free drinking water. Location is good for numerous restaurants and only 5-10 mins from the metro. We were seeing a concert at the Singapore indoor arena and it was a 25 minute walk away.

Disliked: You have to realise that this hotel is in the red light district. There are prostitutes around the hotel but they didn't approach or talk to us at all and we didn't feel unsafe. It seems a bit like soho in the 80s!

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alethea Sheehan

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

14 November 2013 Alethea would recommend this property

Liked: Booked based on price. Very cheap. The staff were extremely helpful and friendly.

Disliked: Didn't have a bar fridge so we couldn't keep drinks cold but we weren;t in the hotel much anyway.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

bram armunanto

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping
Visiting friends or family

09 October 2013 bram would recommend this property

Liked: Quiet is good

Disliked: Nothing

42.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Pentti Laulajainen

Alone

Events / festivals
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

28 September 2013

Liked: quiet.

Disliked: Far from MRT.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

15 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The manager was great and drove us to find a doctor urgently on the night we arrived.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

13 March 2013

Liked: The man on reception was friendly and helpful

Disliked: It was in the red light area (apparantly)

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Benazir Rakhmaniah

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

28 January 2013 Benazir would recommend this property

Liked: The staffs were so helpfull and friendly. My husbandb and I had a pleasure time here. The room was so so,not bad and not so good. For us,the room wasnt that small, I still have some places to put my stuffs .Quiet clean. And ofcourse the free wifi was the plus for the hotel service. For type of budget hotel it's good.

Disliked: The room service wasnt do daily,maybe you should ask them instead. Thats why at our last day at this hotel,the whole corridor at fifth floor was full of bad fragrance, due to other room's garbage which not beling cleaned from last night. Check in time was different from the web,its 2.30 pm, not 2 pm.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

30 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: inner city

Disliked: nothing,every think is OK

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

26 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It is quiet to sleep at night.

Disliked: A little bit far from MRT Stations

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Eric Doohan

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

03 August 2012 Eric would recommend this property

Liked: Firstly, on arrival, and throughout, all the staff were genuinely friendly. At times, language was a minor hick-up, but even then all effort was made to answer questions and full-fill requests. The hostel was located only a short walk( 5 mins) from the MRT ( didn't have a lot of time to get to know the bus system, which would have made mobility even more convenient....but foot is the best method to take in the way of life)and the CBD and all other locations are easy to get to from there.From the moment you walk out the door, there are miles of good eateries, offering a variety of excellent and authentic foods at very affordable prices. The streets feel very safe at night and everybody you encounter is helpful and friendly...even though we spoke none of the local language, somebody was always found to assist as best they could. So, sit back and have a Tiger or Chinese tea with really good Dim Sum....hard to beat. It was a very pleasant three day break away from work in Australia. Thankyou for all this. Eric and Sabine

Disliked: The rooms were comfortable and clean, fairly basic, but not a problem because you don't travel that far to sit in a room and watch TV....there's too much to see outside! I suppose the only thing I could pick up on is that it would be nice if the room had a small bar-fridge to store milk for coffee,fruit or other perishables and cold water for the night. Not an absolute neccessity, but convenient for longer stays than three days. Otherwise, all else was within expectations and we wouldn't have any problems with staying there again. Oh! Maybe just a little more storage space...a small hanging cupboard with a few drawers?

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Huixian Cai

With my spouse / partner

City break

02 July 2012 Huixian would recommend this property

Liked: Small yet cosy, better than expected

Disliked: A bit noisy but still tolerable

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Paterno Jr Pormento

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

14 December 2011 Paterno Jr would recommend this property

Liked: I like the room, small but nice & clean...

Disliked: none so far.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

16 November 2011

Liked: Very little

Disliked: Dirty, very simple rooms.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

13 November 2011

Liked: there is nothing that i like about this property.

Disliked: its noisy at night and the room that i was allocated was not clean. the property from the outside looks nice but when u enter the rooms it looks like its not been maintained properly.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Shopping

04 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: price

Disliked: dirty

48.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

09 July 2011

Liked: Good free wifi

Disliked: VERY DIRTY......All sorts of hairs on the bed, enough said

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

10 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It have free wifi in the room.

Disliked: Small room.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

christopher black

With my spouse / partner

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

02 May 2011 christopher would recommend this property

Liked: Nice staff. Priced reasonably for Singapore. Interesting area. Not far from MRT Solid walls so very little internal noise Loads of cheap drinking and eating places nearby Local nightlife was interesting to observe and not intrusive Sensible daily rate to extend our stay by a couple of days

Disliked: Lack of hanging space

34.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

linzi howson

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

09 October 2010

Liked: nothing

Disliked: it was not clean, they rent rooms for 1hour to men and prostitutes, your bags are left near the door so anyone can take them security is very poor, they couldnt find our booking so called us at 1am to come down and pay instead of waiting till the morning, the staff were not very helpful