We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of The Royal Highland Hotel

3 star Hotel | 18 Academy Street, Inverness, Scotland IV1 1LG

88.5% Overall Rating

86 out of 95 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (08/04/2015)

"Friendly staff,very helpful and one of the best showers I have ever had in a hotel room- just superb"

Read all The Royal Highland Hotel reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Wheelchair accessible

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

We pre-authorise cards prior to arrival to check if its valid. If the card fails the process, we shall send an email as stated in the Booking Confirmation to inform that the card is invalid and if we do not get a valid card within 48 hours of sending the mail, the booking will be automatically cancelled.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Inverness?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Inverness

Highlander Hostel
22.71 USD

Hostel 58.1% 453 reviews
The Highlander B & B
37.85 USD

Hostel 86.5% 89 reviews
Inverness Tourist Hostel
22.71 USD

Hostel 89.3% 483 reviews
Bazpackers Hostel
24.22 USD

Hostel 84.9% 1135 reviews
Inverness Student Hostel
23.47 USD

Hostel 88.1% 405 reviews
Ardgarry Holiday House
30.28 USD

Apartment 93.0% 65 reviews
Inverness Youth Hostel
18.17 USD

Hostel 81.5% 181 reviews
Hillview House Hostel
25.74 USD

Hostel 85.3% 76 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 05/05/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 05/05/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
88.5%

Overall Rating

86 out of 95 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'The Royal Highland Hotel'

Atmosphere
86.4%
Location
94.4%
Facilities
84.0%
Cleanliness
92.0%
Staff
84.8%
Value
86.4%
Safety
91.2%
Refine your results Showing 83 of 91 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4   Next
Reset filter
40.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Benjamin Williams

With a large group / tour

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

26 April 2015

Liked: This hotel is well located for being close to the station

Disliked: Appauling customer service. The hotel has failed to sort out issues during the stay and afterwards accused me of being a fraud when I asked to complain to the general manager. The hotel got room bookings completely muddled. The night porter confused bar bills and overcharged orders without signing them off our room bills resulting in bar bills having to be re paid on check out. The hotel front of house staff were rude and didn't take any consideration for our concerns or issues. I would not recommend this hotel to any traveller. The room was dirty from the previous occupant. The room was noisy from the sound of the trains outside at early hours of the morning The hotel fraudulently accused our group and other customers whilst there demanding we paid more money over on check out. Following our stay a report has been submitted to trading standards. After making a complaint the hotel manager was rude and refused to offer any compensation. I was asking for a fair over view of our issues and this was not followed up.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

08 April 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff,very helpful and one of the best showers I have ever had in a hotel room- just superb

Disliked: None

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

25 January 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It`s in a central location that's easy to get to by all modes of transport,It has good internet connectivity.The breakfast choice & quality is good for the money you pay.

Disliked: Most of the hot buffet breakfast items not kept hot enough even though breakfast only started 15 minutes before I had mine.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

04 January 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: right next to the railway station - old fashioned charming hotel - comfortable, clean and hospitable

Disliked: shame the cafe in the lounge doesn't open in the evening

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

31 December 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The front desk staff were extremely friendly

Disliked: I stayed in a small and cozy room that all the amenities that I needed, however room 106 was extremely noisy. It overlooked the main street after a football game in Inverness...so noisy late into the evening. I could hear the gentleman in the next room snore, bang and yell obscenities all evening. And I could hear the couple on the other side of me like they were in the room with me. No soundproofing and as a result barely slept all night...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

20 December 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very good location

Disliked: Nothing

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Ian Jones

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

11 September 2014 Ian would recommend this property

Liked: location,old world charm,good bathroom

Disliked: corridors depressing-dingy,need updating

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Joanne Morrison

Alone

City break
Shopping

05 September 2014 Joanne would recommend this property

Liked: Great old building, couldnt hear anything from next room eg. shower or toilet flushing etc. warm, comfortable room. I got a room at the back and had a really peaceful stay :)

Disliked: I couldn't get the tele to go on, but got help!!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

30 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It has old world charm but the facilities are still up to date despite the period features throughout the hotel. The room was clean, fresh and the bathroom was modern and the furniture was old style but not old fashioned and suited the room perfectly.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

18 August 2014

Liked: Nice lounge and downstairs area. Good location.

Disliked: Room tiny. Staff fairly friendly, but service not enthusiastic considering price. Food poor- awful overcooked duck swimming(!) in brown gravy. Breakfast room quite gloomy; depressing packets of cereal etc This hotel was not cheap.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Merryn Mcinerney

Alone

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

24 May 2014 Merryn would recommend this property

Liked: Safety and cleanliness, it's had a friendly atmosphere also was made to feel comfortable

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
Visiting friends or family

12 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: On arrival asked if room was quiet, told no and immediately swapped to excellent very quiet room. Reception staff all extremely nice and helpful. Had booked single, got great twin room. Coffee, hot chocolate, bottled water, biscuits all replaced daily. Huge tv and superb shower! Even an umbrella in wardrobe...shows how much it rains! Didn't eat or drink in hotel so can't comment on that. Perfect location for train and town centre

Disliked: Thought modern art did not match the grandeur of the staircase!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Shopping

10 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location, close to all amenities, lovely spacious room.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Seonaid MacKay

Alone

Business / conference
Work / volunteering

08 May 2014 Seonaid would recommend this property

Liked: The location is perfect as i travelled without my car. Breakfast was lovely and hot

Disliked: none

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

08 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is excellent.

Disliked: It feels a tad tired. I arrived very early and was fine with leaving my luggage, however the staff just hand you a key to a room so you are left to your own devices. And anyone who wants to store luggage has access. I wasn't even asked my name or if I had a reservation.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

30 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really nice decor and atmosphere, convenient location and excellent value for money.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

21 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is great, and the property is maintained to a very high standard.

Disliked: I booked room only, but fancied breakfast in the morning - I thought £9.99 was a bit pricey

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Aimee Bell

Alone

City break
Shopping
Visiting friends or family

09 April 2014 Aimee would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent rooms excellent customer service overall just excellent 😄😄

Disliked: Nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

07 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Style and character

Disliked: Style and character not continued into rooms as much as I would have liked/expected.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference

05 April 2014

Liked: old style hotel

Disliked: lacking in staff, no one offered to help with luggage.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

03 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location and room size

Disliked: rigid 3pm check-in for a hotel right next to the station

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

James Delargy

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

28 March 2014 James would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location, I arrived by coach and the Inverness terminus is about 5 minutes walk away (via the railway station) . I was travelling by rail the following day and the hotel is attached to the station . The room was spotless and cleaned out each day . I was on 3rd floor and lift was always working . A very comfortable hotel with a beautiful staircase from reception/lounge area giving a nice "old worlde" atmosphere . I'd certainly have no hesitation returning.

Disliked: I got a good rate via HostelBookers , but standard rates are not such good value . Reviews about dining were mixed so I had meals outwith, but plenty of choice in Inverness, I'd recommend Riva (Italian) and the Mustard Seed, both located on the south riverside .

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Sally MacArthur

With friends / other travellers

Shopping

25 March 2014 Sally would recommend this property

Liked: This hotel is central and great for a weekend of shopping. I am a fan of older properties and love the style although it could be a bit shabby for some. Rooms were great and staff lovely. I have stayed here twice now both in single rooms - however the single I booked through this site was much better than the last room booked through a different site.

Disliked: The only thing I was annoyed with is that they offer you 'free' internet but once you are there it is in fact 45 minutes free, then you pay

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

MARILYN AITKEN

Alone

Shopping

17 March 2014 MARILYN would recommend this property

Liked: The central location and friendly atmosphere within the hotel

Disliked: There was nothing to dislike

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Martin O'Neill

Alone

Business / conference

11 March 2014 Martin would recommend this property

Liked: Location and value for money

Disliked: Nothing all good