HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of The Royal Highland Hotel

3 star Hotel | 18 Academy Street, Inverness, Scotland IV1 1LG

88.5% Overall Rating

71 out of 78 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (28/03/2014)

James Delargy thinks…

"Excellent location, I arrived by coach and the Inverness terminus is about 5 minutes walk away (via the railway station) . I was travelling by rail the following day and the hotel is attached to the…"

Read all The Royal Highland Hotel reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Wheelchair accessible

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

We pre-authorise cards prior to arrival to check if its valid. If the card fails the process, we shall send an email as stated in the Booking Confirmation to inform that the card is invalid and if we do not get a valid card within 48 hours of sending the mail, the booking will be automatically cancelled.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Inverness?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Inverness

Highlander Hostel
18.46 USD

Hostel 53.4% 422 reviews
The Highlander B & B
41.95 USD

Hostel 81.6% 73 reviews
Inverness Tourist Hostel
18.46 USD

Hostel 80.8% 454 reviews
Bazpackers Hostel
25.17 USD

Hostel 88.3% 1085 reviews
Inverness Student Hostel
26.01 USD

Hostel 94.3% 382 reviews
Ardgarry Guest House
53.69 USD

Guesthouse 93.0% 65 reviews
Inverness Millburn Hostel
20.13 USD

Hostel 83.0% 175 reviews
Hillview House Hostel
26.85 USD

Hostel 86.2% 47 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
88.5%

Overall Rating

71 out of 78 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'The Royal Highland Hotel'

Atmosphere
88.8%
Location
97.6%
Facilities
84.8%
Cleanliness
91.2%
Staff
80.0%
Value
87.2%
Safety
89.6%
Refine your results Showing 66 of 74 reviews 1 | 2 | 3   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Aimee Bell

Alone

City break
Shopping
Visiting friends or family

09 April 2014 Aimee would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent rooms excellent customer service overall just excellent 😄😄

Disliked: Nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

07 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Style and character

Disliked: Style and character not continued into rooms as much as I would have liked/expected.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference

05 April 2014

Liked: old style hotel

Disliked: lacking in staff, no one offered to help with luggage.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

03 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location and room size

Disliked: rigid 3pm check-in for a hotel right next to the station

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

James Delargy

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

28 March 2014 James would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location, I arrived by coach and the Inverness terminus is about 5 minutes walk away (via the railway station) . I was travelling by rail the following day and the hotel is attached to the station . The room was spotless and cleaned out each day . I was on 3rd floor and lift was always working . A very comfortable hotel with a beautiful staircase from reception/lounge area giving a nice "old worlde" atmosphere . I'd certainly have no hesitation returning.

Disliked: I got a good rate via HostelBookers , but standard rates are not such good value . Reviews about dining were mixed so I had meals outwith, but plenty of choice in Inverness, I'd recommend Riva (Italian) and the Mustard Seed, both located on the south riverside .

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Sally MacArthur

With friends / other travellers

Shopping

25 March 2014 Sally would recommend this property

Liked: This hotel is central and great for a weekend of shopping. I am a fan of older properties and love the style although it could be a bit shabby for some. Rooms were great and staff lovely. I have stayed here twice now both in single rooms - however the single I booked through this site was much better than the last room booked through a different site.

Disliked: The only thing I was annoyed with is that they offer you 'free' internet but once you are there it is in fact 45 minutes free, then you pay

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

MARILYN AITKEN

Alone

Shopping

17 March 2014 MARILYN would recommend this property

Liked: The central location and friendly atmosphere within the hotel

Disliked: There was nothing to dislike

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Martin O'Neill

Alone

Business / conference

11 March 2014 Martin would recommend this property

Liked: Location and value for money

Disliked: Nothing all good

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Murdo MacLeod

Alone

Visiting friends or family

13 February 2014 Murdo would recommend this property

Liked: a nice hotel very clean and in a great location with character

Disliked: Nothing

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break

08 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Televisions in rooms were suitable for receiving teletext on BBC channels. Many hotels provide televisions that can only get analogue teletext which is useless because analogue television changed to digital 2 years ago. This hotel is one of the few that has televisions that can get digital teletext on BBC channels. Well, done. Location very good because it's next door to Inverness Railway Station, 2 minutes walk from Inverness Bus Station and 2 minutes walk from large indoor shopping centre. The city centre location makes it unsuitable for motorists due to no parking nearby.

Disliked: Climbing up the stairs. Lift only goes as far as the third floor, but my room was on floor three-and-a-half. so I had to struggle carrying luggage up half a flight of steps. This hotel is therefore unsuitable for elderly or disabled.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Shopping

08 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location and value for money

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

14 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Close to the town and very comfortable

Disliked: nil

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jens Ludders

Alone

Business / conference

27 October 2013 Jens would recommend this property

Liked: Central location with pleasant bar and restaurant

Disliked: Being advised at 14h50 that check-inn was not before 15h00

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ian Robertson

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

22 October 2013 Ian would recommend this property

Liked: Very comfortable and relaxing. Convenient for Inverness and the train station

Disliked: Only minor issue was not able to check in till 3:00 pm, but not really a problem.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

28 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was excellent. The breakfast was really good. I really liked the old fashioned ambiance.

Disliked: I only had my iPhone with me and trying to get the hotel wifi was a nightmare. I gave up in the end and found a nearby cafe where it was very simple.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Helen Manton

Alone

Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

16 July 2013 Helen would recommend this property

Liked: Close to train station and central inverness Old building - lots of tartan

Disliked: expensive breakfast

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Shopping

03 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: clean comfortable and very suitable if you are travelling alone as you don't feel alone, there is plenty of seating around the large lounge/reception area which is lovely & very relaxing, there are staff members around this area and in the bar, this is a very nice alternative to being in your bedroom the whole time.

Disliked: No internet access in the bedroom and would have felt a bit more secure with a better lock on the inside of the door but the room was in the older part of the hotel and was being revamped (not a complaint) so maybe there will be a better lock when it is completely finished.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

05 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location. Clean tidy. Comfotable. Staff generally friendly

Disliked: Aggressive night porter. No Internet except in reception

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Lynda Bathgate

Alone

Business / conference

05 June 2013 Lynda would recommend this property

Liked: Clean and bright. Checked in just after 3pm but was able to leave bag all day.

Disliked: Reception staff paid attention to own mobile phone rather than customers, which was a shame or else I would have provided a better review.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference

29 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location and character

Disliked: parts needed upgraded

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

27 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location of the hotel was a godsend - arriving off the train at post midnight it was a dream to walk off the train straight into the hotel. The foyer is gorgeous and the rooms comfortable and well apointed. Good breakfast and the staff were efficient.

Disliked: Keep your shower doors closed, seriously!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Maureen Smith

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

08 May 2013 Maureen would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, sumptious old fashioned decor with lots of character

Disliked: Would not recommend the restaurant. The service was poor and required several attemps to get it right. Waiter tried to tell me the Zinfandel was the same as the Pinot Noir I had ordered. The seafood passata starter was was overcooked and The "medallions of beef fillet" main were not fillet. (£ 22) We got 20% food discount as residents making the food bill about £55 for 2 for 2 courses. Definitely not quality food. The coffee took so long to come after 3 times of asking that we were refunded the cost of it.. The decor was not in charcter with the rest of the hotel and felt a bit downmarket

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Shopping

29 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It is lovely old fashioned hotel. Central position. You can still get smoking rooms if you want them>

Disliked: Only eight parking spaces.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

karelia wilkinson

With my spouse / partner

Shopping

27 November 2012 karelia would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were very friendly and helpful. We had our dog with us and she was given sausages and a bolw of water by the staff and made very welcome.

Disliked: Slight noise from the nearby train station...depends which room you are in.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tracey Steel

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

08 November 2012 Tracey would recommend this property

Liked: Location was perfect rooms clean and well equipped

Disliked: Tracey left no negative feedback.