We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of The Royal Highland Hotel

3 star Hotel | 18 Academy Street, Inverness, Scotland IV1 1LG

91.7% Overall Rating

81 out of 89 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (05/09/2014)

Joanne Morrison thinks…

"Great old building, couldnt hear anything from next room eg. shower or toilet flushing etc. warm, comfortable room. I got a room at the back and had a really peaceful stay :)"

Read all The Royal Highland Hotel reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Wheelchair accessible

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

We pre-authorise cards prior to arrival to check if its valid. If the card fails the process, we shall send an email as stated in the Booking Confirmation to inform that the card is invalid and if we do not get a valid card within 48 hours of sending the mail, the booking will be automatically cancelled.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Inverness?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Inverness

Highlander Hostel
24.43 USD

Hostel 57.1% 450 reviews
The Highlander B & B
40.71 USD

Hostel 86.5% 88 reviews
Inverness Tourist Hostel
16.28 USD

Hostel 85.9% 475 reviews
Bazpackers Hostel
27.68 USD

Hostel 82.2% 1124 reviews
Inverness Student Hostel
25.24 USD

Hostel 87.8% 400 reviews
Ardgarry Guest House
32.57 USD

Guesthouse 93.0% 65 reviews
Inverness Youth Hostel
19.54 USD

Hostel 80.8% 179 reviews
Hillview House Hostel
27.68 USD

Hostel 84.0% 71 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
91.7%

Overall Rating

81 out of 89 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'The Royal Highland Hotel'

Atmosphere
91.2%
Location
96.8%
Facilities
88.0%
Cleanliness
94.4%
Staff
87.2%
Value
89.6%
Safety
94.4%
Refine your results Showing 77 of 85 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4   Next
Reset filter
85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Ian Jones

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

11 September 2014 Ian would recommend this property

Liked: location,old world charm,good bathroom

Disliked: corridors depressing-dingy,need updating

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Joanne Morrison

Alone

City break
Shopping

05 September 2014 Joanne would recommend this property

Liked: Great old building, couldnt hear anything from next room eg. shower or toilet flushing etc. warm, comfortable room. I got a room at the back and had a really peaceful stay :)

Disliked: I couldn't get the tele to go on, but got help!!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

30 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It has old world charm but the facilities are still up to date despite the period features throughout the hotel. The room was clean, fresh and the bathroom was modern and the furniture was old style but not old fashioned and suited the room perfectly.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

18 August 2014

Liked: Nice lounge and downstairs area. Good location.

Disliked: Room tiny. Staff fairly friendly, but service not enthusiastic considering price. Food poor- awful overcooked duck swimming(!) in brown gravy. Breakfast room quite gloomy; depressing packets of cereal etc This hotel was not cheap.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Merryn Mcinerney

Alone

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

24 May 2014 Merryn would recommend this property

Liked: Safety and cleanliness, it's had a friendly atmosphere also was made to feel comfortable

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
Visiting friends or family

12 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: On arrival asked if room was quiet, told no and immediately swapped to excellent very quiet room. Reception staff all extremely nice and helpful. Had booked single, got great twin room. Coffee, hot chocolate, bottled water, biscuits all replaced daily. Huge tv and superb shower! Even an umbrella in wardrobe...shows how much it rains! Didn't eat or drink in hotel so can't comment on that. Perfect location for train and town centre

Disliked: Thought modern art did not match the grandeur of the staircase!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Shopping

10 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location, close to all amenities, lovely spacious room.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Seonaid MacKay

Alone

Business / conference
Work / volunteering

08 May 2014 Seonaid would recommend this property

Liked: The location is perfect as i travelled without my car. Breakfast was lovely and hot

Disliked: none

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

08 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is excellent.

Disliked: It feels a tad tired. I arrived very early and was fine with leaving my luggage, however the staff just hand you a key to a room so you are left to your own devices. And anyone who wants to store luggage has access. I wasn't even asked my name or if I had a reservation.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

30 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really nice decor and atmosphere, convenient location and excellent value for money.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

21 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is great, and the property is maintained to a very high standard.

Disliked: I booked room only, but fancied breakfast in the morning - I thought £9.99 was a bit pricey

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Aimee Bell

Alone

City break
Shopping
Visiting friends or family

09 April 2014 Aimee would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent rooms excellent customer service overall just excellent 😄😄

Disliked: Nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

07 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Style and character

Disliked: Style and character not continued into rooms as much as I would have liked/expected.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference

05 April 2014

Liked: old style hotel

Disliked: lacking in staff, no one offered to help with luggage.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

03 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location and room size

Disliked: rigid 3pm check-in for a hotel right next to the station

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

James Delargy

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

28 March 2014 James would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location, I arrived by coach and the Inverness terminus is about 5 minutes walk away (via the railway station) . I was travelling by rail the following day and the hotel is attached to the station . The room was spotless and cleaned out each day . I was on 3rd floor and lift was always working . A very comfortable hotel with a beautiful staircase from reception/lounge area giving a nice "old worlde" atmosphere . I'd certainly have no hesitation returning.

Disliked: I got a good rate via HostelBookers , but standard rates are not such good value . Reviews about dining were mixed so I had meals outwith, but plenty of choice in Inverness, I'd recommend Riva (Italian) and the Mustard Seed, both located on the south riverside .

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Sally MacArthur

With friends / other travellers

Shopping

25 March 2014 Sally would recommend this property

Liked: This hotel is central and great for a weekend of shopping. I am a fan of older properties and love the style although it could be a bit shabby for some. Rooms were great and staff lovely. I have stayed here twice now both in single rooms - however the single I booked through this site was much better than the last room booked through a different site.

Disliked: The only thing I was annoyed with is that they offer you 'free' internet but once you are there it is in fact 45 minutes free, then you pay

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

MARILYN AITKEN

Alone

Shopping

17 March 2014 MARILYN would recommend this property

Liked: The central location and friendly atmosphere within the hotel

Disliked: There was nothing to dislike

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Martin O'Neill

Alone

Business / conference

11 March 2014 Martin would recommend this property

Liked: Location and value for money

Disliked: Nothing all good

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Murdo MacLeod

Alone

Visiting friends or family

13 February 2014 Murdo would recommend this property

Liked: a nice hotel very clean and in a great location with character

Disliked: Nothing

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break

08 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Televisions in rooms were suitable for receiving teletext on BBC channels. Many hotels provide televisions that can only get analogue teletext which is useless because analogue television changed to digital 2 years ago. This hotel is one of the few that has televisions that can get digital teletext on BBC channels. Well, done. Location very good because it's next door to Inverness Railway Station, 2 minutes walk from Inverness Bus Station and 2 minutes walk from large indoor shopping centre. The city centre location makes it unsuitable for motorists due to no parking nearby.

Disliked: Climbing up the stairs. Lift only goes as far as the third floor, but my room was on floor three-and-a-half. so I had to struggle carrying luggage up half a flight of steps. This hotel is therefore unsuitable for elderly or disabled.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Shopping

08 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location and value for money

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

14 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Close to the town and very comfortable

Disliked: nil

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jens Ludders

Alone

Business / conference

27 October 2013 Jens would recommend this property

Liked: Central location with pleasant bar and restaurant

Disliked: Being advised at 14h50 that check-inn was not before 15h00

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ian Robertson

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

22 October 2013 Ian would recommend this property

Liked: Very comfortable and relaxing. Convenient for Inverness and the train station

Disliked: Only minor issue was not able to check in till 3:00 pm, but not really a problem.