We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of The Royal Highland Hotel

3 star Hotel | 18 Academy Street, Inverness, Scotland IV1 1LG

90.9% Overall Rating

86 out of 94 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (08/04/2015)

"Friendly staff,very helpful and one of the best showers I have ever had in a hotel room- just superb"

Read all The Royal Highland Hotel reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Wheelchair accessible

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

We pre-authorise cards prior to arrival to check if its valid. If the card fails the process, we shall send an email as stated in the Booking Confirmation to inform that the card is invalid and if we do not get a valid card within 48 hours of sending the mail, the booking will be automatically cancelled.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Inverness?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Inverness

Highlander Hostel
22.66 USD

Hostel 58.6% 452 reviews
The Highlander B & B
37.77 USD

Hostel 86.5% 89 reviews
Inverness Tourist Hostel
22.66 USD

Hostel 89.3% 483 reviews
Bazpackers Hostel
24.17 USD

Hostel 86.3% 1134 reviews
Inverness Student Hostel
23.42 USD

Hostel 88.1% 405 reviews
Ardgarry Holiday House
30.22 USD

Apartment 93.0% 65 reviews
Inverness Youth Hostel
18.13 USD

Hostel 81.5% 181 reviews
Hillview House Hostel
25.68 USD

Hostel 85.3% 76 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/04/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/04/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
90.9%

Overall Rating

86 out of 94 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'The Royal Highland Hotel'

Atmosphere
89.6%
Location
95.2%
Facilities
86.4%
Cleanliness
93.6%
Staff
88.0%
Value
89.6%
Safety
93.6%
Refine your results Showing 82 of 90 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4   Next
Reset filter
88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break

08 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Televisions in rooms were suitable for receiving teletext on BBC channels. Many hotels provide televisions that can only get analogue teletext which is useless because analogue television changed to digital 2 years ago. This hotel is one of the few that has televisions that can get digital teletext on BBC channels. Well, done. Location very good because it's next door to Inverness Railway Station, 2 minutes walk from Inverness Bus Station and 2 minutes walk from large indoor shopping centre. The city centre location makes it unsuitable for motorists due to no parking nearby.

Disliked: Climbing up the stairs. Lift only goes as far as the third floor, but my room was on floor three-and-a-half. so I had to struggle carrying luggage up half a flight of steps. This hotel is therefore unsuitable for elderly or disabled.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Shopping

08 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location and value for money

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

14 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Close to the town and very comfortable

Disliked: nil

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jens Ludders

Alone

Business / conference

27 October 2013 Jens would recommend this property

Liked: Central location with pleasant bar and restaurant

Disliked: Being advised at 14h50 that check-inn was not before 15h00

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ian Robertson

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

22 October 2013 Ian would recommend this property

Liked: Very comfortable and relaxing. Convenient for Inverness and the train station

Disliked: Only minor issue was not able to check in till 3:00 pm, but not really a problem.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

28 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was excellent. The breakfast was really good. I really liked the old fashioned ambiance.

Disliked: I only had my iPhone with me and trying to get the hotel wifi was a nightmare. I gave up in the end and found a nearby cafe where it was very simple.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Helen Manton

Alone

Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

16 July 2013 Helen would recommend this property

Liked: Close to train station and central inverness Old building - lots of tartan

Disliked: expensive breakfast

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Shopping

03 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: clean comfortable and very suitable if you are travelling alone as you don't feel alone, there is plenty of seating around the large lounge/reception area which is lovely & very relaxing, there are staff members around this area and in the bar, this is a very nice alternative to being in your bedroom the whole time.

Disliked: No internet access in the bedroom and would have felt a bit more secure with a better lock on the inside of the door but the room was in the older part of the hotel and was being revamped (not a complaint) so maybe there will be a better lock when it is completely finished.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

05 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location. Clean tidy. Comfotable. Staff generally friendly

Disliked: Aggressive night porter. No Internet except in reception

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Lynda Bathgate

Alone

Business / conference

05 June 2013 Lynda would recommend this property

Liked: Clean and bright. Checked in just after 3pm but was able to leave bag all day.

Disliked: Reception staff paid attention to own mobile phone rather than customers, which was a shame or else I would have provided a better review.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference

29 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location and character

Disliked: parts needed upgraded

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

27 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location of the hotel was a godsend - arriving off the train at post midnight it was a dream to walk off the train straight into the hotel. The foyer is gorgeous and the rooms comfortable and well apointed. Good breakfast and the staff were efficient.

Disliked: Keep your shower doors closed, seriously!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Maureen Smith

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

08 May 2013 Maureen would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, sumptious old fashioned decor with lots of character

Disliked: Would not recommend the restaurant. The service was poor and required several attemps to get it right. Waiter tried to tell me the Zinfandel was the same as the Pinot Noir I had ordered. The seafood passata starter was was overcooked and The "medallions of beef fillet" main were not fillet. (£ 22) We got 20% food discount as residents making the food bill about £55 for 2 for 2 courses. Definitely not quality food. The coffee took so long to come after 3 times of asking that we were refunded the cost of it.. The decor was not in charcter with the rest of the hotel and felt a bit downmarket

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Shopping

29 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It is lovely old fashioned hotel. Central position. You can still get smoking rooms if you want them>

Disliked: Only eight parking spaces.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

karelia wilkinson

With my spouse / partner

Shopping

27 November 2012 karelia would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were very friendly and helpful. We had our dog with us and she was given sausages and a bolw of water by the staff and made very welcome.

Disliked: Slight noise from the nearby train station...depends which room you are in.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tracey Steel

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

08 November 2012 Tracey would recommend this property

Liked: Location was perfect rooms clean and well equipped

Disliked: Tracey left no negative feedback.

37.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Jérémy SILVESTRIS

With my spouse / partner

City break

06 November 2012

Liked: The big stairs in the groundfloor.

Disliked: We had an handicapped room! And the staff is not friendliess at all.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

loraine reid

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

24 September 2012 loraine would recommend this property

Liked: Staff very welcoming. The Royal Highland is in a fantastic location. Didn't eat in the restuarant but it looked lovely and was busy during our over night stay. Would definetly recommend this hotel to friends and family or to anyone looking for a hotel in a great location in Inverness. Thank you hostelbookers also for having the best deal on this hotel on the internet.

Disliked: Not a single thing.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

10 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very handy for the town. Right outside the train station and a taxi rank.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Visiting friends or family

06 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Central Location

Disliked: Lack of nearby parking

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Marta Bruschi

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

13 August 2012 Marta would recommend this property

Liked: the hotel is clear, and in a good position, near the centre. besides, it s very beautiful

Disliked: nothing to declare

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

09 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: excellent location. large heated room. well stocked hospitality tray.very comfy beds. loads of hot water and toiletries.

Disliked: needed updating and decoration but this did noy spoil our stay.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Charlie Towler

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals

02 August 2012

Liked: Convenient for city centre and train station Above average breakfast

Disliked: Had a tired feel to it ; it looks like amateurs did all repairs eg sealant in bathroom unfinished, just straight from gun cracks in tiling, again siliconed with no finish. Broken mirror light in bathroom. Ferrule around shower hose at wall hanging off. Numerous paintwork blemishes,scuffs and scrapes. We also were put into a single room but it was changed promptly to a double once the error was pointed out

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

William Walker

With my spouse / partner

City break

18 July 2012 William would recommend this property

Liked: Very impressed loads of character great room and food good. Could not fault this hotel or the staff and would use again.

Disliked: William left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

mecheri sundaram

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

16 July 2012

Liked: close to the train station.

Disliked: Even with confirmation and deposit paid,they gave away my room on the first nightto someone else(probably big tour company) and moved me to a different hotel.I did not like this since i have a painful knee and booked Royal Highland for staying next to the train station.