HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of The Royal Highland Hotel

3 star Hotel | 18 Academy Street, Inverness, Scotland IV1 1LG

88.9% Overall Rating

72 out of 79 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (28/03/2014)

James Delargy thinks…

"Excellent location, I arrived by coach and the Inverness terminus is about 5 minutes walk away (via the railway station) . I was travelling by rail the following day and the hotel is attached to the…"

Read all The Royal Highland Hotel reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Wheelchair accessible

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

We pre-authorise cards prior to arrival to check if its valid. If the card fails the process, we shall send an email as stated in the Booking Confirmation to inform that the card is invalid and if we do not get a valid card within 48 hours of sending the mail, the booking will be automatically cancelled.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Inverness?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Inverness

Highlander Hostel
18.48 USD

Hostel 53.4% 422 reviews
The Highlander B & B
42.00 USD

Hostel 81.6% 73 reviews
Inverness Tourist Hostel
22.68 USD

Hostel 81.1% 455 reviews
Bazpackers Hostel
25.20 USD

Hostel 88.3% 1085 reviews
Inverness Student Hostel
26.04 USD

Hostel 94.3% 382 reviews
Ardgarry Guest House
53.75 USD

Guesthouse 93.0% 65 reviews
Inverness Millburn Hostel
20.16 USD

Hostel 83.0% 175 reviews
Hillview House Hostel
26.88 USD

Hostel 86.3% 48 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
88.9%

Overall Rating

72 out of 79 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'The Royal Highland Hotel'

Atmosphere
88.8%
Location
97.6%
Facilities
85.6%
Cleanliness
92.8%
Staff
80.0%
Value
87.2%
Safety
90.4%
Refine your results Showing 67 of 75 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tracey Steel

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

08 November 2012 Tracey would recommend this property

Liked: Location was perfect rooms clean and well equipped

Disliked: Tracey left no negative feedback.

37.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Jérémy SILVESTRIS

With my spouse / partner

City break

06 November 2012

Liked: The big stairs in the groundfloor.

Disliked: We had an handicapped room! And the staff is not friendliess at all.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

loraine reid

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

24 September 2012 loraine would recommend this property

Liked: Staff very welcoming. The Royal Highland is in a fantastic location. Didn't eat in the restuarant but it looked lovely and was busy during our over night stay. Would definetly recommend this hotel to friends and family or to anyone looking for a hotel in a great location in Inverness. Thank you hostelbookers also for having the best deal on this hotel on the internet.

Disliked: Not a single thing.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

10 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very handy for the town. Right outside the train station and a taxi rank.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Visiting friends or family

06 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Central Location

Disliked: Lack of nearby parking

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Marta Bruschi

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

13 August 2012 Marta would recommend this property

Liked: the hotel is clear, and in a good position, near the centre. besides, it s very beautiful

Disliked: nothing to declare

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

09 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: excellent location. large heated room. well stocked hospitality tray.very comfy beds. loads of hot water and toiletries.

Disliked: needed updating and decoration but this did noy spoil our stay.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Charlie Towler

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals

02 August 2012

Liked: Convenient for city centre and train station Above average breakfast

Disliked: Had a tired feel to it ; it looks like amateurs did all repairs eg sealant in bathroom unfinished, just straight from gun cracks in tiling, again siliconed with no finish. Broken mirror light in bathroom. Ferrule around shower hose at wall hanging off. Numerous paintwork blemishes,scuffs and scrapes. We also were put into a single room but it was changed promptly to a double once the error was pointed out

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

William Walker

With my spouse / partner

City break

18 July 2012 William would recommend this property

Liked: Very impressed loads of character great room and food good. Could not fault this hotel or the staff and would use again.

Disliked: William left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

mecheri sundaram

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

16 July 2012

Liked: close to the train station.

Disliked: Even with confirmation and deposit paid,they gave away my room on the first nightto someone else(probably big tour company) and moved me to a different hotel.I did not like this since i have a painful knee and booked Royal Highland for staying next to the train station.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

robert j marsden

With my spouse / partner

Visiting friends or family

22 May 2012 robert j would recommend this property

Liked: the wife loves this place and booking through your firm was so easy for old gits like us .thanks again bob and phyllis marsden

Disliked: robert j left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Paul Southall

Alone

Visiting friends or family

09 May 2012 Paul would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, good clean rooms and all with a distinctly Scottish theme..

Disliked: Nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

MICHAEL EVANS

Alone

Visiting friends or family

05 March 2012 MICHAEL would recommend this property

Liked: The location

Disliked: all ok ..

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Gary Wright

Alone

Events / festivals

27 February 2012 Gary would recommend this property

Liked: Price and location to railway station.

Disliked: Gary left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

13 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very central location - literally right on your left when you leave the station, and the hotel has quite a nice charm to it. Breakfast is very good as well. The restaurant which forms part of the hotel has excellent food but isn't exactly cheap.

Disliked: The room looked old with creaking floorboards. The plumbing didn't exactly work very well, and some of the furniture was damaged. Staff weren't able to find our booking, but were otherwise efficient.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

20 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Absolutely perfect in every way, great price for a central and top class hotel full of character - highly reccomended !

Disliked: Nothing to dislike

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

20 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Central location, right next door to the station - very convenient for catching an early train.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Work / volunteering

04 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The clean rooms, comfortable bed, clean bathroom, good breakfast, well mannered and friendly staff.

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jan Witkamp

Alone

Visiting friends or family

31 October 2011 Jan would recommend this property

Liked: center of inverness just a hop away from bus and train stations

Disliked: of course for that amount of money you get the room n the attic, never mind, it is still clean and ok

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

martin cuthbertson

With my spouse / partner

Business / conference

28 October 2011 martin would recommend this property

Liked: nice and clean good breakfast

Disliked: rooms above a busy road main bus route no double glazing very noisy

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

rick salter

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

20 October 2011 rick would recommend this property

Liked: Room was spacious with good bathroom. Breakfast was very, very good - worth it for the stay alone. Buffet style and high quality.

Disliked: Limited parking, staff were bit dour on reception. Because we had booked on-line were told could not tell if wanted a twin or double, but the twin was exchanged for a double no problem.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Diane Chambers

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

14 October 2011 Diane would recommend this property

Liked: It has a very grand sweeping staircase! The staff are great and the location is right next to the train station. They even laid berakfast on an hour earlier for the marathon runners.

Disliked: The attached restaurant is very small and if you don't book you will have no chance of eating. They don't start serving dinner until 6pm

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

10 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Bargain price we paid for the room. £25/pppn with breakfast! 20% voucher off the ASH restaurant they gave us was good it as well. Good breakfast.

Disliked: Although on the website it says parking is available, in reality it is very limited. Only 9 spaces! Otherwise, it is £4/day to park at the multistory carpark a few mins away from the hotel.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

19 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Proximity to train station, restaurant on-site, historic building

Disliked: Nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife

05 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hotel is in a great location, very central. Train station is right next door. I stayed in a double room, it was very large and a nice view, although my friends who also stayed in a double, their room was much smaller. The was a great selection of breakfast items to choose from, very enjoyable. I enjoyed my stay at this hotel and wish i had stayed an extra night.

Disliked: Nothing.