HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of The Royal Highland Hotel

3 star Hotel | 18 Academy Street, Inverness, Scotland IV1 1LG

90.4% Overall Rating

78 out of 85 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (24/05/2014)

Merryn Mcinerney thinks…

"Safety and cleanliness, it's had a friendly atmosphere also was made to feel comfortable"

Read all The Royal Highland Hotel reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Wheelchair accessible

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

We pre-authorise cards prior to arrival to check if its valid. If the card fails the process, we shall send an email as stated in the Booking Confirmation to inform that the card is invalid and if we do not get a valid card within 48 hours of sending the mail, the booking will be automatically cancelled.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Inverness?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Inverness

Highlander Hostel
25.34 USD

Hostel 53.4% 433 reviews
The Highlander B & B
42.24 USD

Hostel 82.2% 81 reviews
Inverness Tourist Hostel
26.19 USD

Hostel 85.4% 471 reviews
Bazpackers Hostel
28.72 USD

Hostel 85.1% 1108 reviews
Inverness Student Hostel
27.88 USD

Hostel 89.9% 392 reviews
Ardgarry Guest House
33.79 USD

Guesthouse 93.0% 65 reviews
Inverness Youth Hostel
33.79 USD

Hostel 81.8% 176 reviews
Hillview House Hostel
30.41 USD

Hostel 87.5% 63 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/08/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/08/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
90.4%

Overall Rating

78 out of 85 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'The Royal Highland Hotel'

Atmosphere
90.4%
Location
97.6%
Facilities
85.6%
Cleanliness
93.6%
Staff
84.0%
Value
89.6%
Safety
92.0%
Refine your results Showing 73 of 81 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3   Next
Reset filter
80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Lynda Bathgate

Alone

Business / conference

05 June 2013 Lynda would recommend this property

Liked: Clean and bright. Checked in just after 3pm but was able to leave bag all day.

Disliked: Reception staff paid attention to own mobile phone rather than customers, which was a shame or else I would have provided a better review.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference

29 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location and character

Disliked: parts needed upgraded

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

27 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location of the hotel was a godsend - arriving off the train at post midnight it was a dream to walk off the train straight into the hotel. The foyer is gorgeous and the rooms comfortable and well apointed. Good breakfast and the staff were efficient.

Disliked: Keep your shower doors closed, seriously!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Maureen Smith

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

08 May 2013 Maureen would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, sumptious old fashioned decor with lots of character

Disliked: Would not recommend the restaurant. The service was poor and required several attemps to get it right. Waiter tried to tell me the Zinfandel was the same as the Pinot Noir I had ordered. The seafood passata starter was was overcooked and The "medallions of beef fillet" main were not fillet. (£ 22) We got 20% food discount as residents making the food bill about £55 for 2 for 2 courses. Definitely not quality food. The coffee took so long to come after 3 times of asking that we were refunded the cost of it.. The decor was not in charcter with the rest of the hotel and felt a bit downmarket

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Shopping

29 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It is lovely old fashioned hotel. Central position. You can still get smoking rooms if you want them>

Disliked: Only eight parking spaces.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

karelia wilkinson

With my spouse / partner

Shopping

27 November 2012 karelia would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were very friendly and helpful. We had our dog with us and she was given sausages and a bolw of water by the staff and made very welcome.

Disliked: Slight noise from the nearby train station...depends which room you are in.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tracey Steel

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

08 November 2012 Tracey would recommend this property

Liked: Location was perfect rooms clean and well equipped

Disliked: Tracey left no negative feedback.

37.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Jérémy SILVESTRIS

With my spouse / partner

City break

06 November 2012

Liked: The big stairs in the groundfloor.

Disliked: We had an handicapped room! And the staff is not friendliess at all.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

loraine reid

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

24 September 2012 loraine would recommend this property

Liked: Staff very welcoming. The Royal Highland is in a fantastic location. Didn't eat in the restuarant but it looked lovely and was busy during our over night stay. Would definetly recommend this hotel to friends and family or to anyone looking for a hotel in a great location in Inverness. Thank you hostelbookers also for having the best deal on this hotel on the internet.

Disliked: Not a single thing.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

10 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very handy for the town. Right outside the train station and a taxi rank.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Visiting friends or family

06 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Central Location

Disliked: Lack of nearby parking

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Marta Bruschi

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

13 August 2012 Marta would recommend this property

Liked: the hotel is clear, and in a good position, near the centre. besides, it s very beautiful

Disliked: nothing to declare

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

09 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: excellent location. large heated room. well stocked hospitality tray.very comfy beds. loads of hot water and toiletries.

Disliked: needed updating and decoration but this did noy spoil our stay.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Charlie Towler

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals

02 August 2012

Liked: Convenient for city centre and train station Above average breakfast

Disliked: Had a tired feel to it ; it looks like amateurs did all repairs eg sealant in bathroom unfinished, just straight from gun cracks in tiling, again siliconed with no finish. Broken mirror light in bathroom. Ferrule around shower hose at wall hanging off. Numerous paintwork blemishes,scuffs and scrapes. We also were put into a single room but it was changed promptly to a double once the error was pointed out

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

William Walker

With my spouse / partner

City break

18 July 2012 William would recommend this property

Liked: Very impressed loads of character great room and food good. Could not fault this hotel or the staff and would use again.

Disliked: William left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

mecheri sundaram

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

16 July 2012

Liked: close to the train station.

Disliked: Even with confirmation and deposit paid,they gave away my room on the first nightto someone else(probably big tour company) and moved me to a different hotel.I did not like this since i have a painful knee and booked Royal Highland for staying next to the train station.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

robert j marsden

With my spouse / partner

Visiting friends or family

22 May 2012 robert j would recommend this property

Liked: the wife loves this place and booking through your firm was so easy for old gits like us .thanks again bob and phyllis marsden

Disliked: robert j left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Paul Southall

Alone

Visiting friends or family

09 May 2012 Paul would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, good clean rooms and all with a distinctly Scottish theme..

Disliked: Nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

MICHAEL EVANS

Alone

Visiting friends or family

05 March 2012 MICHAEL would recommend this property

Liked: The location

Disliked: all ok ..

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Gary Wright

Alone

Events / festivals

27 February 2012 Gary would recommend this property

Liked: Price and location to railway station.

Disliked: Gary left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

13 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very central location - literally right on your left when you leave the station, and the hotel has quite a nice charm to it. Breakfast is very good as well. The restaurant which forms part of the hotel has excellent food but isn't exactly cheap.

Disliked: The room looked old with creaking floorboards. The plumbing didn't exactly work very well, and some of the furniture was damaged. Staff weren't able to find our booking, but were otherwise efficient.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

20 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Absolutely perfect in every way, great price for a central and top class hotel full of character - highly reccomended !

Disliked: Nothing to dislike

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

20 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Central location, right next door to the station - very convenient for catching an early train.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Work / volunteering

04 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The clean rooms, comfortable bed, clean bathroom, good breakfast, well mannered and friendly staff.

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jan Witkamp

Alone

Visiting friends or family

31 October 2011 Jan would recommend this property

Liked: center of inverness just a hop away from bus and train stations

Disliked: of course for that amount of money you get the room n the attic, never mind, it is still clean and ok