We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of The St Enoch Hotel

Hotel | 42-44 Howard Street, Glasgow, Scotland G1 4EE

72.1% Overall Rating

98 out of 121 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (04/08/2014)

"I must say this is my very first experience of staying in a shared room. I stayed at St Enochs because it was perfectly situated for the subway and train. The staff were brilliant and very friendly, and couldn't do…"

Read all The St Enoch Hotel reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Express check-in / out
  • Wake-up calls
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Pets allowed

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Arrivals between 18thJuly-6th Aug 2014,both days inclusive will be immediately charged for all nightsbooked are non-refundable and cannot be cancelled. Invalid card will invalidate booking. Your booking is an acceptance of our terms and conditions. Group booking policy will be applicable for any booking more than 9 pax. Under this policy 10% payment at point of reservation and full payment for all rooms and nights booked will be required at least 6 weeks before the actual check-in date. This will be non -refundable and non-transferable. If the payment criteria are not met then this may invalidate your reservation. Your booking with us is an acceptance of our terms and conditions.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Glasgow?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Glasgow

Euro Hostel Glasgow
29.37 USD

Hostel 78.1% 1754 reviews
Merchant City Inn
40.38 USD

Hotel 2.5 star 85.7% 10 reviews
The Victorian House Hotel
39.97 USD

Hotel 3 star 84.1% 111 reviews
McLays Guest House
38.08 USD

Hostel 81.7% 1188 reviews
Charing Cross Guest House
32.09 USD

Hostel 78.4% 275 reviews
Ibis Budget Glasgow
30.18 USD

Hotel 82.3% 36 reviews
Bluesky Hostel
17.95 USD

Hostel 62.4% 1396 reviews
Glasgow Youth Hostel
32.63 USD

Hostel 88.7% 308 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 19/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 19/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
72.1%

Overall Rating

98 out of 121 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'The St Enoch Hotel'

Atmosphere
54.4%
Location
94.4%
Facilities
59.2%
Cleanliness
64.0%
Staff
84.8%
Value
78.4%
Safety
69.6%
Refine your results Showing 102 of 121 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5   Next
Reset filter
65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Kwang Siong Tan

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

24 April 2014

Liked: Good location, good price

Disliked: the bed make a lot of noise

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

sarah Groth

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 April 2014

Liked: it was close the the train station. THAT IS IT, NOTHING ELSE

Disliked: Own unclean it was, the no internet, they just told me to go to their pub next door, i had to buy food which was horrible AND the internet did not work there either!

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

12 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location.

Disliked: Very old, noisy floor, small dust falling inside the bathroom if someone walking on the top floor, room no 6 is located above "BIFTIKI" a food take away joint and the exhaust from the food joint is leaking in the room badly.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Emily Homolka

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 April 2014 Emily would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, friendly staff, clean and quiet, great price. Breakfast was left outside the room, which was a nice surprise!

Disliked: All good

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

07 April 2014

Liked: It is very centrally located. The "breakfast" if you're not hungry in the morning (consists of rice crispees, milk and apple juice)

Disliked: Staff is not helpful. Strange smell, noise from aircon is constant, VERY shaky bunk beds (and I have tried quite a few. I only stayed for one night, which was fine, but I would have chosen another place to stay if I had been in Glasgow longer.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

David Roode

Alone

Work / volunteering

13 March 2014 David would recommend this property

Liked: Great location. relatively clean for a budget hotel. they left a breakfast bag (cereal, milk, juice, etc.) outside my door every morning which I thought was very nice!

Disliked: wifi wasn't working and room wasn't anything fancy. if you are happy with a simple place to crash and aren't picky, it's fine but don't expect a whole lot more. staff were very friendly and helpful though. I would stay there again

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Krystof Semelka

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

13 March 2014 Krystof would recommend this property

Liked: I booked a dorm but was put in an ensuite double room... what I also like were the tea & coffee making facilities in the room

Disliked: Krystof left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

10 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The price £12.50 and location right in the city centre. Nice touch to have tea and coffee making facilities provided in the room and to leave breakfast bags outside the door in the morning.

Disliked: The bunks are lightweight and hence move when climbing up to the top bunk or turning over in your sleep. The all female dorm is located right above live music in the pub below so don't expect an early nights sleep!

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

03 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The surprise small free breakfast in the morning was really nice! Also, it was super inexpensive to stay in the dorm-style room! It was very convenient to the transit (train station and subway)

Disliked: Though it was clean, my mattress wasn't terribly comfortable. The atmosphere really is like a hotel, not so much like a hostel, which isn't too bad...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Siobhan Vetier

With friends / other travellers

City break

02 March 2014 Siobhan would recommend this property

Liked: Location was close to everything, the staff were friendly and helpful and the little breakfast left at our door was cute

Disliked: Only thing was the shower pressure but it was still a good temperature.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Neil McClelland

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

01 March 2014 Neil would recommend this property

Liked: See above

Disliked: Neil left no negative feedback.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 February 2014

Liked: Almost nothing, except the staff were nice.

Disliked: Everything. Difficult to find, very cramped, not very clean - I found food in my bed, so the sheets obviously had not been changed or washed since the last guest. Rooms have almost no space to move, especially if there are other guests present. The free "breakfast" is a miniature box of cereal and a tiny bottle of milk. Wifi is patchy at best. Bathrooms small and not very clean. I booked two nights but left after the first rather than stay.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the front desk staff was helpful at all hours,,,friendly and pleasant the boxed breakfast left outside the door was nice as well as clean towels daily and free coffee and tea...the location was perfect right in the centre of town

Disliked: wish there was a lift...but staff helped with the luggage

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Wilawan Pankeaw

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

07 January 2014 Wilawan would recommend this property

Liked: Hostel with lovely breakfast.

Disliked: Wilawan left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Valentina VASILYEVA

Alone

Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

02 January 2014 Valentina would recommend this property

Liked: nice beds, central location and good price

Disliked: there should offer hair dryer.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

13 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was warm, welcoming and comfortable!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

01 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location!

Disliked: We forgot the room number , our key fitted another room which was strange. Bathroom wasn't very clean but the rest of the room was. Friendly staff , great location!

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

25 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly staff. Liked that it had hotel amenities for the price of a hostel. Loved the location!

Disliked: Bathrooms could use some updating but overall was a good place to stay.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

SAJAL KUMAR SARKAR

Alone

Work / volunteering

28 October 2013 SAJAL KUMAR would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent welfare

Disliked: smoking not permitted anywhere

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Sarah Rutherford

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

27 October 2013 Sarah would recommend this property

Liked: the location was fab, plus the rooms were kept clean with fresh towels every day (also liked how they left breakfast in a bag outside the door)

Disliked: it wasn't the most asthetically pleasing, but hey what can you expect for the price, it was clean and great location, all that really matters!

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

16 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: Broken bed in room no.5

80.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

HSIAO-HSUAN CHEN

Alone

Work / volunteering

15 October 2013 HSIAO-HSUAN would recommend this property

Liked: I read some of the reviews before my stay and I wAs kind of worried before visiting the hotel( I stayed in a 6bed female dorm) cause I read some bad comments. However the truth is the room is really clean And the bed was nice as well, though the shower room was old. so it does not look nice... But overall it's a lot better than other hostels that I've stayed in Edinburgh or London. GreG value of money.

Disliked: HSIAO-HSUAN left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Kashyap Todi

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

15 October 2013 Kashyap would recommend this property

Liked: If you're on a tight budget, it is an extremely cheap place in the heart of the city. You get what you pay for—a bed and basic facilities. They have free WiFi, something that the YHA hostels usually don't offer. Also, putting little breakfast bags, on the door, in the morning is a nice gesture!

Disliked: My bed was quite uncomfortable.. The bathroom could have been a tad nicer.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

mandy singer

With friends / other travellers

Shopping

13 October 2013 mandy would recommend this property

Liked: Really nice and friendly staff. Quiet and room felt private. Excellent value for money and a great location.

Disliked: It was a little shabby, but for price we paid was a palace :)

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

13 October 2013

Liked: Was quiet and location was perfect! Staff were really helpful and nice

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.