HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of The St Enoch Hotel

Hotel | 42-44 Howard Street, Glasgow, Scotland G1 4EE

83.3% Overall Rating

73 out of 85 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (08/04/2014)

Emily Homolka thinks…

"Great location, friendly staff, clean and quiet, great price. Breakfast was left outside the room, which was a nice surprise!"

Read all The St Enoch Hotel reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Express check-in / out
  • Wake-up calls
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Pets allowed

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Group booking policy will be applicable for any booking more than 9 pax. Under this policy 10% payment at point of reservation and full payment for all rooms and nights booked will be required at least 6 weeks before the actual check-in date. This will be non -refundable and non-transferable. If the payment criteria are not met then this may invalidate your reservation. Your booking with us is an acceptance of our terms and conditions.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Glasgow?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Glasgow

Euro Hostel Glasgow
16.79 USD

Hostel 81.9% 1703 reviews
Merchant City Inn
44.77 USD

Hotel 2.5 star 84.0% 5 reviews
McLays Guest House
29.38 USD

Hostel 80.2% 1178 reviews
Ibis Budget Glasgow
23.00 USD

Hotel 81.8% 33 reviews
Bluesky Hostel
20.14 USD

Hostel 82.1% 1348 reviews
QUEENS PARK BUDGET HOTEL
14.10 USD

Hotel 74.2% 278 reviews
Glasgow Youth Hostel
30.22 USD

Hostel 87.1% 301 reviews
Beersbridge Lodge
33.57 USD

Hostel 82.3% 207 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 19/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 19/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
83.3%

Overall Rating

73 out of 85 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'The St Enoch Hotel'

Atmosphere
75.2%
Location
96.8%
Facilities
72.8%
Cleanliness
74.4%
Staff
91.2%
Value
88.8%
Safety
84.0%
Refine your results Showing 75 of 85 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3   Next
Reset filter
91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

21 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I stayed in the hostel in double bedroom with my girlfriend. We expected bad conditions, but we were pleasantly surprised by the electric pot, tv, free wi-fi and the light breakfast left by the door every morning. Also the bed was very comfortable. Friendly staff. Overall great experience for the value.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

K Thomson

Alone

Business / conference
City break

17 September 2013 K would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly and helpful desk staff. Good location. Easy, free & safe parking nearby.

Disliked: Showers very weak - a very fine low pressure spray. No kitchen or communal area.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Kolby St Germain

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

05 August 2013

Liked: We got a 4 bed private room for fairly cheap. The staff was fairly nice. We also go free coffee, tea and biscuits, however, one of the biscuit packets was already open.

Disliked: The bathroom was extremely small, and the shower head barely put out any water whatsoever. There were about 6 flies in the room when we got in as well. We're talking huge loud flies. Also the wifi didn't work when we got there, but we were given a breakfast gift bag to compensate for this.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

05 August 2013

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: It wasn't very clean or well looked after. The bathroom was falling apart and our group decided to wait until the next place to shower. The whole building has sunk in places so the bunks are almost falling over. It's very outdated so if you are looking for clean modern accommodation this is not the place.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jenny Hall

Alone

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

27 July 2013 Jenny would recommend this property

Liked: Recommended :) friendly staff, good location, clean and quiet, really appreciated the breakfast packs in the morning and coffee/tea making facilities in rooms!

Disliked: Jenny left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

john harland

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

25 July 2013 john would recommend this property

Liked: Great price location and the staff very polite and helpfull many thanks

Disliked: john left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

KIT SIONG Yong

As a family with children

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

20 July 2013 KIT SIONG would recommend this property

Liked: Very good location. Just few minutes walk to the city center. Simple but nice breakfast was sent to our front door during morning.

Disliked: The hotel was old. The price could be lower with this quality.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

30 June 2013

Liked: Location is very good.

Disliked: Our room was awful. Knowing that it was very cheap we did not expect any luxury. The bunk beds were fine, and we had a tv and our own bathroom. However, the cleanliness was just catastrophic! I know it is a budget hotel, but come on, at least clean the bathroom before you let new guests into the room! The sink was full of stains and the shower had hair and all kinds of stuff blocking the drain. I wanted to personally complain the morning after we arrived, however the guy at the reception looked so unwelcoming and frustrated I did not dare to talk to him.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Thierry Hart

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

24 June 2013 Thierry would recommend this property

Liked: Value for money in City-centre

Disliked: Thierry left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

14 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I love the St Enoch. It's brilliant value for money, really central, comfy beds, and there's an entertaining squint-ness to the whole place (floors, walls, lampshades, you name it :D) Staff are always helpful, plus you get a free little breakfast left at your door, and biscuits in the rooms. Ace.

Disliked: the seagulls outside are stupidly loud in the early morning!

62.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

14 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the supply of tea and coffee, the excellent wifi, the TV and the morning breakfast bags.

Disliked: The blind in my room didn't cover the whole window! Thee was a gap under my door which, at one end, I could fit my hand under. The shower had some mould stains around edges. These are small things which h wouldn't cost much to fix so I hope they sort this out. It didn't bother me too much as I'm very easy going but I know many folks would be put off. That said, I would stay again as the pros outweigh the cons for me.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

10 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: clean friendly staff And breakfast at door for a surprise - this is not mentioned on the website

Disliked: nil

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Karan BANSAL

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

21 May 2013 Karan would recommend this property

Liked: Hotel at the centre of Glasgow, the staff really friendly. ..

Disliked: Only thing was we had a room next to the road and being a friday night, a lot of noice from outside

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

ANNA MARIA DRIVA

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

07 May 2013 ANNA MARIA would recommend this property

Liked: colse to teh center, nice beds and surprise brakfast!!

Disliked: the bathroom was just painted when we entered the room and the first day was smelly till dry, but my general opinion is taht if you need to sleep somewhere for some nights it;s a good otion!free wifi , cornflakes milk and juice breakfast out of the door every morning, microwaves but no kitchen, and coffe maker with cups and biscuits in the room!very nice and clean sheets!

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

29 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The most important thing for me was the location of the hostel, because everything that I wanted to see in Glasgow - the city centre, the shopping centre, the Clyde Auditorium - are within walking distance. I've also liked the staff, which was very nice and helpful, and the fact that milk, cereal and juice were waiting outside the door in the morning.

Disliked: The beds are not really comfortable and they make squeaking noises whenever you shift in them - which meant that, every time someone moved in their beds, they woke everyone else in the room up...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Steven Millar

With a large group / tour

City break
Partying / nightlife

28 April 2013 Steven would recommend this property

Liked: Location, price, quality, facilities

Disliked: Nothing

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Hotel staff was friendly. tesco and shopping mall are near by this hotel. also near st enoch station.

Disliked: My room was for 2 people before. They have left 3 bunk beds there. so the room was very small. but the room was not full people. it was okay. there is no room for chilling out. ( this is a hotel though.) if you will stay one night, its okay i think. a shower room hadn't done cleaning. I guess that they don't clean it up everyday.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

sally carroll

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

22 April 2013 sally would recommend this property

Liked: very friendly and helpful. good location and nice layout

Disliked: not common area

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

07 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely staying, perfect double room and excellent value for money! Very nice the packed breakfast on the day we were leaving.

Disliked: Nothing at all. Maybe just the very rusty kettle! But the biscuits were very good :)

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

06 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: breakfast, room

Disliked: window without curtain

68.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, relatively clean, comfortable, enough space in the dorms.

Disliked: No common areas, it's not a hostel and hasn't got the atmosphere of one. They didn't have enough keys for everyone.

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Andrew Milligan

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

24 March 2013

Liked: location

Disliked: everything else

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

MISAEL DIAZ

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Shopping

20 March 2013 MISAEL would recommend this property

Liked: Friwndly staff. services and facilities are not very common in this kind of establishments. Really cheap in relation to the quality offered

Disliked: the room has a litle bad odor, but not by dirt, maybe it's a little old rugs odor

68.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals

06 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's very centrally located, beds were pretty good.

Disliked: Could be better cleaned, the toilet was leaking. It is a hotel, not an actual hostel, but that obviously doesn't have to be a bad thing, depends on what you're looking for. But there are no common areas or kitchen. The 6-bed dorm was quite small, if it would have been fully occupied I imagine it would feel very crowded.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

03 March 2013

Liked: LOCATION

Disliked: WE BOOKED TO STAY IN THE SAME ROOM. WE WERE PUT IN DIFFERENT ROOMS ON TWO DIFFERENT FLOORS. NOT ONE SHOWER ON MY LANDING.