We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of The St Enoch Hotel

Hotel | 42-44 Howard Street, Glasgow, Scotland G1 4EE

69.9% Overall Rating

111 out of 140 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (26/01/2015)

Sharon Hughes thinks…

"All of the staff were really friendly; when I arrived at 6:00pm, I was chatting with the girls on reception for a while, the guy on the desk when I came back at 3:00am gave me a friendly hello and…"

Read all The St Enoch Hotel reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Express check-in / out
  • Wake-up calls
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Pets allowed

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Arrivals between 18thJuly-6th Aug 2014,both days inclusive will be immediately charged for all nightsbooked are non-refundable and cannot be cancelled. Invalid card will invalidate booking. Your booking is an acceptance of our terms and conditions. Group booking policy will be applicable for any booking more than 9 pax. Under this policy 10% payment at point of reservation and full payment for all rooms and nights booked will be required at least 6 weeks before the actual check-in date. This will be non -refundable and non-transferable. If the payment criteria are not met then this may invalidate your reservation. Your booking with us is an acceptance of our terms and conditions.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Glasgow?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Glasgow

Euro Hostel Glasgow
17.84 USD

Hostel 77.9% 1778 reviews
Merchant City Inn
34.20 USD

Hotel 2.5 star 85.7% 10 reviews
The Victorian House Hotel
27.27 USD

Hotel 3 star 84.8% 114 reviews
McLays Guest House
26.02 USD

Hostel 79.0% 1191 reviews
Charing Cross Guest House
28.25 USD

Hostel 78.5% 278 reviews
Ibis Budget Glasgow
20.81 USD

Hotel 83.8% 38 reviews
Bluesky Hostel
16.35 USD

Hostel 71.0% 1403 reviews
Glasgow Youth Hostel
22.30 USD

Hostel 87.8% 316 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/03/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/03/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
69.9%

Overall Rating

111 out of 140 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'The St Enoch Hotel'

Atmosphere
54.4%
Location
95.2%
Facilities
57.6%
Cleanliness
64.0%
Staff
78.4%
Value
72.0%
Safety
68.0%
Refine your results Showing 120 of 139 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5   Next
Reset filter
85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

25 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location was great right next to Glasgow Central Railway Station and located next to major high street and shops. I liked the little breakfast bag left outside the room in the morning.

Disliked: The only thing that I would have to say is the noise. The walls aren't that thick so you can hear people in next door rooms and above and below you.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Maria Courtney

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

20 July 2014 Maria would recommend this property

Liked: Wasn't there long enough to comment! :)

Disliked: Wasn't there long enough to comment.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Nathan Nichols

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

17 July 2014 Nathan would recommend this property

Liked: Free breakfast was a bonus!

Disliked: Was just slightly too cramped in the rooms and left luggage wasn't too secure.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals
Work / volunteering

14 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was nice and close to the city centre so easy to get around. The guy on reception was cheerful and friendly even though he was on the night shift. Bed was comfy and shower was good.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Carol Greig

Alone

Work / volunteering

28 June 2014

Liked: The room was clean and the bed was made. The receptionist was very welcoming and helpful.

Disliked: No seating/relaxing area outside of the room. The TV in the room was really only viewable by the bunk bed right in front of it and not the 3rd bunk bed furthest away. However, it was cheap accommodation which was all that I really wanted.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

14 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing location! It was better than we expected based on the reviews. The rooms are a little cramped (I think our floor was slanted) and the bunk beds are a little wobbly. Only one outlet. It's fine if you know everyone in the room; it's a little tight if you're sharing your dorm with strangers. The tea station looked a little sketchy, but we used it ok; just rinsed the mugs with boiling water (kettle in the room) and stayed away from the creamers. Got the free breakfast bags every morning, which was weird but nice. Wasn't surprised, they told us about them at check in so it must be something they're trying to do regularly now? It's just cereal and juice--make sure you don't let the milk sit outside your room for too long. 15% off at Hootenanny, the bar next door, which was great! Good food

Disliked: I guess mostly the slanted floor. And the wobbly bunks, but it was ok when I got the opportunity to switch to a bottom one. Overall, disliked little things, but wasn't enough to really dislike the hotel as a whole, especially at that price and location!

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Bo Kyung Jun

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 June 2014 Bo Kyung would recommend this property

Liked: close to market, main street, coach station and so on.. free snacks and towel It was pretty clean. surely value for money

Disliked: Bo Kyung left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

05 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Private bathroom, 24 hr reception, free morning breakfast

Disliked: older, no elevator, room/bathroom could have been cleaner no hooks clothes/towel in bathroom

71.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

29 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: St Enoch is in such a central location, it's value for location alone! The facilities were fine if a little old and the breakfast bag outside the door in the morning was a nice surprise!

Disliked: The bathroom door clangs against the final bunk

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Luise Michael

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

21 May 2014 Luise would recommend this property

Liked: Location! So close to the Main Street of shops, tescos, bus stop, subway.

Disliked: Run down building and rooms. However it was adequate for my short stay!

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

emma dolphin

Alone

Business / conference

21 May 2014 emma would recommend this property

Liked: It's cheap. Friendly staff (who remember you!!!)

Disliked: Very basic and something is always broken

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

15 May 2014

Liked: Location

Disliked: Tired decor, shabby and not very clean.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

14 May 2014

Liked: It's cheap and in an excellent location

Disliked: The quality is pretty much what you should expect for something that cheap in such a good location.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Mark Curran

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

13 May 2014 Mark would recommend this property

Liked: Location is excellent. Right beside good bars and pubs around St. Enoch and Central station and approx 10-15 min walk to Bath Street and Sauchiehall Street.

Disliked: Could do with updating beds and maybe showers.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

09 May 2014

Liked: Close to city centre

Disliked: Beds were horrible, very noisey. The Private Bathroom door opened less than half a meter away and would hit the poor girls bed staying closest. Not enough power points.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

03 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Couldn't ask for a better location..

Disliked: Just that it was quite dirty. I'm not normally one to complain but yeah.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture

29 April 2014

Liked: The front desk staff was helpful in establishing where a free wifi connection could be found, and check-in was without any hassle. Complementary toiletries and a the breakfast bag were a nice touch. Very good location.

Disliked: The hostel had definitely seen better days: bedframes were creaking and shaking with slightest movement, making sleeping in a shared room a very unenjoyable experience; most things in the bathroom were in disrepair. Lack of a common room (or kitchen, for that matter) leaves you with two options, either stay in your room or go on town - for example, to the hostel-promoted pub next door. In short, didn't get very much sleep and spent most of my time away from the hostel.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Joe Kevin Qualey

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 April 2014 Joe Kevin would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: None

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Kwang Siong Tan

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

24 April 2014

Liked: Good location, good price

Disliked: the bed make a lot of noise

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

sarah Groth

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 April 2014

Liked: it was close the the train station. THAT IS IT, NOTHING ELSE

Disliked: Own unclean it was, the no internet, they just told me to go to their pub next door, i had to buy food which was horrible AND the internet did not work there either!

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

12 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location.

Disliked: Very old, noisy floor, small dust falling inside the bathroom if someone walking on the top floor, room no 6 is located above "BIFTIKI" a food take away joint and the exhaust from the food joint is leaking in the room badly.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Emily Homolka

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 April 2014 Emily would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, friendly staff, clean and quiet, great price. Breakfast was left outside the room, which was a nice surprise!

Disliked: All good

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

07 April 2014

Liked: It is very centrally located. The "breakfast" if you're not hungry in the morning (consists of rice crispees, milk and apple juice)

Disliked: Staff is not helpful. Strange smell, noise from aircon is constant, VERY shaky bunk beds (and I have tried quite a few. I only stayed for one night, which was fine, but I would have chosen another place to stay if I had been in Glasgow longer.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

David Roode

Alone

Work / volunteering

13 March 2014 David would recommend this property

Liked: Great location. relatively clean for a budget hotel. they left a breakfast bag (cereal, milk, juice, etc.) outside my door every morning which I thought was very nice!

Disliked: wifi wasn't working and room wasn't anything fancy. if you are happy with a simple place to crash and aren't picky, it's fine but don't expect a whole lot more. staff were very friendly and helpful though. I would stay there again

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Krystof Semelka

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

13 March 2014 Krystof would recommend this property

Liked: I booked a dorm but was put in an ensuite double room... what I also like were the tea & coffee making facilities in the room

Disliked: Krystof left no negative feedback.