HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of The St Enoch Hotel

Hotel | 42-44 Howard Street, Glasgow, Scotland G1 4EE

72.2% Overall Rating

91 out of 110 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (14/07/2014)

"It was nice and close to the city centre so easy to get around. The guy on reception was cheerful and friendly even though he was on the night shift. Bed was comfy and shower was good."

Read all The St Enoch Hotel reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Express check-in / out
  • Wake-up calls
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Pets allowed

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Arrivals between 18thJuly-6th Aug 2014,both days inclusive will be immediately charged for all nightsbooked are non-refundable and cannot be cancelled. Invalid card will invalidate booking. Your booking is an acceptance of our terms and conditions. Group booking policy will be applicable for any booking more than 9 pax. Under this policy 10% payment at point of reservation and full payment for all rooms and nights booked will be required at least 6 weeks before the actual check-in date. This will be non -refundable and non-transferable. If the payment criteria are not met then this may invalidate your reservation. Your booking with us is an acceptance of our terms and conditions.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Glasgow?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Glasgow

Euro Hostel Glasgow
42.43 USD

Hostel 83.4% 1738 reviews
Merchant City Inn
148.08 USD

Hotel 2.5 star 83.9% 8 reviews
McLays Guest House
91.65 USD

Hostel 80.6% 1187 reviews
Charing Cross Guest House
33.94 USD

Hostel 78.4% 275 reviews
Ibis Budget Glasgow
20.37 USD

Hotel 81.7% 35 reviews
Bluesky Hostel
28.29 USD

Hostel 58.5% 1376 reviews
QUEENS PARK BUDGET HOTEL
424.30 USD

Hotel 76.9% 287 reviews
Glasgow Youth Hostel
42.43 USD

Hostel 88.0% 307 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
72.2%

Overall Rating

91 out of 110 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'The St Enoch Hotel'

Atmosphere
56.0%
Location
94.4%
Facilities
61.6%
Cleanliness
60.8%
Staff
82.4%
Value
81.6%
Safety
68.8%
Refine your results Showing 94 of 109 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4   Next
Reset filter
74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

03 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The surprise small free breakfast in the morning was really nice! Also, it was super inexpensive to stay in the dorm-style room! It was very convenient to the transit (train station and subway)

Disliked: Though it was clean, my mattress wasn't terribly comfortable. The atmosphere really is like a hotel, not so much like a hostel, which isn't too bad...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Siobhan Vetier

With friends / other travellers

City break

02 March 2014 Siobhan would recommend this property

Liked: Location was close to everything, the staff were friendly and helpful and the little breakfast left at our door was cute

Disliked: Only thing was the shower pressure but it was still a good temperature.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Neil McClelland

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

01 March 2014 Neil would recommend this property

Liked: See above

Disliked: Neil left no negative feedback.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 February 2014

Liked: Almost nothing, except the staff were nice.

Disliked: Everything. Difficult to find, very cramped, not very clean - I found food in my bed, so the sheets obviously had not been changed or washed since the last guest. Rooms have almost no space to move, especially if there are other guests present. The free "breakfast" is a miniature box of cereal and a tiny bottle of milk. Wifi is patchy at best. Bathrooms small and not very clean. I booked two nights but left after the first rather than stay.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the front desk staff was helpful at all hours,,,friendly and pleasant the boxed breakfast left outside the door was nice as well as clean towels daily and free coffee and tea...the location was perfect right in the centre of town

Disliked: wish there was a lift...but staff helped with the luggage

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Wilawan Pankeaw

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

07 January 2014 Wilawan would recommend this property

Liked: Hostel with lovely breakfast.

Disliked: Wilawan left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Valentina VASILYEVA

Alone

Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

02 January 2014 Valentina would recommend this property

Liked: nice beds, central location and good price

Disliked: there should offer hair dryer.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

13 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was warm, welcoming and comfortable!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

01 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location!

Disliked: We forgot the room number , our key fitted another room which was strange. Bathroom wasn't very clean but the rest of the room was. Friendly staff , great location!

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

25 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly staff. Liked that it had hotel amenities for the price of a hostel. Loved the location!

Disliked: Bathrooms could use some updating but overall was a good place to stay.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

SAJAL KUMAR SARKAR

Alone

Work / volunteering

28 October 2013 SAJAL KUMAR would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent welfare

Disliked: smoking not permitted anywhere

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Sarah Rutherford

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

27 October 2013 Sarah would recommend this property

Liked: the location was fab, plus the rooms were kept clean with fresh towels every day (also liked how they left breakfast in a bag outside the door)

Disliked: it wasn't the most asthetically pleasing, but hey what can you expect for the price, it was clean and great location, all that really matters!

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

16 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: Broken bed in room no.5

80.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

HSIAO-HSUAN CHEN

Alone

Work / volunteering

15 October 2013 HSIAO-HSUAN would recommend this property

Liked: I read some of the reviews before my stay and I wAs kind of worried before visiting the hotel( I stayed in a 6bed female dorm) cause I read some bad comments. However the truth is the room is really clean And the bed was nice as well, though the shower room was old. so it does not look nice... But overall it's a lot better than other hostels that I've stayed in Edinburgh or London. GreG value of money.

Disliked: HSIAO-HSUAN left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Kashyap Todi

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

15 October 2013 Kashyap would recommend this property

Liked: If you're on a tight budget, it is an extremely cheap place in the heart of the city. You get what you pay for—a bed and basic facilities. They have free WiFi, something that the YHA hostels usually don't offer. Also, putting little breakfast bags, on the door, in the morning is a nice gesture!

Disliked: My bed was quite uncomfortable.. The bathroom could have been a tad nicer.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

mandy singer

With friends / other travellers

Shopping

13 October 2013 mandy would recommend this property

Liked: Really nice and friendly staff. Quiet and room felt private. Excellent value for money and a great location.

Disliked: It was a little shabby, but for price we paid was a palace :)

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

13 October 2013

Liked: Was quiet and location was perfect! Staff were really helpful and nice

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Holly Vesledahl

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

07 October 2013 Holly would recommend this property

Liked: We absolutely loved the location of this hotel. It was just walking minutes from the main city centre. The beds were very comfortable and we appreciated that they brought us our breakfast to our room in the morning for free.

Disliked: The rooms need to be updated a little bit, specifically the bathrooms. The shower was hard to figure out. The walls had some damage to them and need to be repaired but other than that everything was good.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

23 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good value for money, good location. Great to have 24 hour reception and to be able to enter building at any time - you only need a key for the room, and reception is in view of the front door. Shower was good, despite how it looked.

Disliked: It says on the site that it's recently refurbished; they've clearly spent all of the refurb money on the reception area and left the dorm rooms, which are rather unappealing. I was on a top bunk and the frame was made of lightweight, thin metal. This meant that the ladder had come partly unattached and both bunks wobbled every time I climbed up it. Every time I moved in bed, it creaked loudly. The breakfast is minimal - a small variety pack box of cereal in a paper bag with just enough milk to fill it, plus a small carton of fruit juice.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

21 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I stayed in the hostel in double bedroom with my girlfriend. We expected bad conditions, but we were pleasantly surprised by the electric pot, tv, free wi-fi and the light breakfast left by the door every morning. Also the bed was very comfortable. Friendly staff. Overall great experience for the value.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

K Thomson

Alone

Business / conference
City break

17 September 2013 K would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly and helpful desk staff. Good location. Easy, free & safe parking nearby.

Disliked: Showers very weak - a very fine low pressure spray. No kitchen or communal area.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Kolby St Germain

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

05 August 2013

Liked: We got a 4 bed private room for fairly cheap. The staff was fairly nice. We also go free coffee, tea and biscuits, however, one of the biscuit packets was already open.

Disliked: The bathroom was extremely small, and the shower head barely put out any water whatsoever. There were about 6 flies in the room when we got in as well. We're talking huge loud flies. Also the wifi didn't work when we got there, but we were given a breakfast gift bag to compensate for this.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

05 August 2013

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: It wasn't very clean or well looked after. The bathroom was falling apart and our group decided to wait until the next place to shower. The whole building has sunk in places so the bunks are almost falling over. It's very outdated so if you are looking for clean modern accommodation this is not the place.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jenny Hall

Alone

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

27 July 2013 Jenny would recommend this property

Liked: Recommended :) friendly staff, good location, clean and quiet, really appreciated the breakfast packs in the morning and coffee/tea making facilities in rooms!

Disliked: Jenny left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

john harland

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

25 July 2013 john would recommend this property

Liked: Great price location and the staff very polite and helpfull many thanks

Disliked: john left no negative feedback.