HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Merchant City Inn Hotel

52 Virginia Street, Glasgow, Scotland

Atmosphere 77%

Cleanliness 88%

Facilities 72%

Location 95%

Safety 85%

Staff 85%

Value 80%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cots available
  • Direct Dial Telephone
  • Hair Dryers
  • Housekeeping
  • Luggage Storage
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast 3.78USD

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 14:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Glasgow?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 77%

Cleanliness 88%

Facilities 72%

Location 95%

Safety 85%

Staff 85%

Value 80%

Showing 1-7 of 7 reviews

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Dec 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Liked: The staffs of the hotel are friendly and helpfull. Also the staff at the recepcion is cheerful and good-humored. ( Sunny :) )

Disliked: Floor makes so much noise when you walk in the room. Also you can hear the floor noises from the next rooms.

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 Jul 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Great location, friendly staff, helpful on tips of what to do

Customer would recommend this property

66% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
66% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Jul 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: They hold your luggage prior to check in.

Disliked: The spiral stairs.

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 May 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Visiting friends or family

Liked: Convenient location

Disliked: Very noisy

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 Sep 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Visiting friends or family

Liked: Excellent hotel, clean rooms, powerful shower, quirky staircase, breakfast buffet very nice had cooked breakfast also for extra £3.00 god value for money. Only one small problem lighting in room could have been better rather subdued not good for applying make up for those of us with bad eyesight

Disliked: Nothing A.okay place to stay

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 May 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife

Liked: central location 1pm check in and staff were very helpful

Disliked: 10.30am check out and last breakfast was 9.30am. would have been nice to have a chance to stay longer

Customer would recommend this property

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Apr 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Business / conference

Liked: The location was perfect, just a few minutes from Georges Square and Argyll Street. The bathroom and in particular the shower was really good, including thermostat to set the water temperature.Continental breakfast was included (bread, jam, cereals, juice) and there was a supplement of £3 for Scottish breakfast.

Disliked: The hotel has lots of things to improve:- The bedroom was very noisy. My bedroom was on the street, 2nd floor, and near some bars so people talked and shouted nearly the whole night, every night, under the window. Fortunately I had ear plugs, otherwise I wouldn't have slept.- There is no lift, and steps are quite steep, so I would not recommend it for people having heavy luggage or finding it hard to use stairs. Although I was asked whether I needed help to go upstairs with my suitcase. - The bed was not the most comfortable and I could feel the springs in my back- Out of 5 lamps, only 2 were working (I did not ask reception about it though)- The wifi was not working in the bedroom, only in the reception and breakfast area- Technology didn't seem to work well: the machine wouldn't take any of my credit cards when I arrived; then when it worked, it asked me to pay in euros however I have a UK card in pounds... But it worked in the end.- Although it was clean, I could see that the bedroom was done very quickly during the day: the sheets where just pulled over the bed, very roughly, I had a tea but the tea bag wasn't replaced...

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 Aug 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The old building.

Customer would recommend this property

63% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
63% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 Mar 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Quaint rooms, breakfast, tea & coffee in room

Disliked: No wifi

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Aug 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Events / festivals

Liked: having stayed before with my pipe band perfect for logistics and getting to see the city and meeting friendly people thank for the memoriesnothing

Disliked: nothing

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability