HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Merchant City Inn

2.5 star Hotel | 52 Virginia Street, Glasgow, Scotland G1 1TY

83.9% Overall Rating

7 out of 8 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (16/07/2014)

Thomas Paludetto thinks…

"Little bit expensive but very nice staff and great quality of sleeping. Good services. Helpfull. Nothing to say bad!!"

Read all Merchant City Inn reviews

Facilities

  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 5.09

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Glasgow?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Glasgow

The St Enoch Hotel
42.43 USD

Hotel 72.2% 110 reviews
Euro Hostel Glasgow
42.43 USD

Hostel 83.4% 1738 reviews
McLays Guest House
91.65 USD

Hostel 80.6% 1187 reviews
Charing Cross Guest House
33.94 USD

Hostel 78.4% 275 reviews
Tartan Lodge
134.08 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Ibis Budget Glasgow
20.37 USD

Hotel 81.7% 35 reviews
Bluesky Hostel
28.29 USD

Hostel 58.5% 1376 reviews
Onslow Guest House
101.83 USD

Guesthouse 95.0% 4 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
83.9%

Overall Rating

7 out of 8 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Merchant City Inn'

Atmosphere
82.5%
Location
95.0%
Facilities
72.5%
Cleanliness
87.5%
Staff
87.5%
Value
80.0%
Safety
82.5%
Refine your results Showing 7 of 8 reviews
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Thomas Paludetto

With a large group / tour

Backpacking / gap year

16 July 2014 Thomas would recommend this property

Liked: Little bit expensive but very nice staff and great quality of sleeping. Good services. Helpfull. Nothing to say bad!!

Disliked: The price....!

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

allison farquharson

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

04 May 2014 allison would recommend this property

Liked: central location 1pm check in and staff were very helpful

Disliked: 10.30am check out and last breakfast was 9.30am. would have been nice to have a chance to stay longer

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Marion Saul

Alone

Business / conference

28 April 2014

Liked: The location was perfect, just a few minutes from Georges Square and Argyll Street. The bathroom and in particular the shower was really good, including thermostat to set the water temperature. Continental breakfast was included (bread, jam, cereals, juice) and there was a supplement of £3 for Scottish breakfast.

Disliked: The hotel has lots of things to improve: - The bedroom was very noisy. My bedroom was on the street, 2nd floor, and near some bars so people talked and shouted nearly the whole night, every night, under the window. Fortunately I had ear plugs, otherwise I wouldn't have slept. - There is no lift, and steps are quite steep, so I would not recommend it for people having heavy luggage or finding it hard to use stairs. Although I was asked whether I needed help to go upstairs with my suitcase. - The bed was not the most comfortable and I could feel the springs in my back - Out of 5 lamps, only 2 were working (I did not ask reception about it though) - The wifi was not working in the bedroom, only in the reception and breakfast area - Technology didn't seem to work well: the machine wouldn't take any of my credit cards when I arrived; then when it worked, it asked me to pay in euros however I have a UK card in pounds... But it worked in the end. - Although it was clean, I could see that the bedroom was done very quickly during the day: the sheets where just pulled over the bed, very roughly, I had a tea but the tea bag wasn't replaced...

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Ansgar Froese

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

17 August 2013 Ansgar would recommend this property

Liked: The old building.

Disliked: Ansgar left no negative feedback.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Ashley Concini

Alone

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

25 March 2013 Ashley would recommend this property

Liked: Quaint rooms, breakfast, tea & coffee in room

Disliked: No wifi

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

DENIS OFLYNN

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

13 August 2012 DENIS would recommend this property

Liked: having stayed before with my pipe band perfect for logistics and getting to see the city and meeting friendly people thank for the memoriesnothing

Disliked: nothing

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Daniel Francis

Alone

Business / conference
Work / volunteering

22 November 2011 Daniel would recommend this property

Liked: Very good location.

Disliked: Nothing