We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of The Victorian House Hotel

3 star Hotel | 212 Renfrew Street, Glasgow, Scotland G3 6TX

84.1% Overall Rating

100 out of 111 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (19/01/2014)

"the staff let me stay in a double room on my own the day I meant to check into a single room when my travel buddy left earlier."

Read all The Victorian House Hotel reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Glasgow?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Glasgow

McLays Guest House
43.45 USD

Hostel 81.7% 1188 reviews
Charing Cross Guest House
26.07 USD

Hostel 78.4% 275 reviews
Bluesky Hostel
17.92 USD

Hostel 62.4% 1396 reviews
Euro Hostel Glasgow
16.29 USD

Hostel 78.1% 1754 reviews
Ibis Budget Glasgow
30.14 USD

Hotel 82.3% 36 reviews
The St Enoch Hotel
22.27 USD

Hotel 72.1% 121 reviews
Glasgow Youth Hostel
37.47 USD

Hostel 88.7% 308 reviews
Merchant City Inn
40.32 USD

Hotel 2.5 star 85.7% 10 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
84.1%

Overall Rating

100 out of 111 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'The Victorian House Hotel'

Atmosphere
76.0%
Location
88.0%
Facilities
80.8%
Cleanliness
81.6%
Staff
87.2%
Value
88.8%
Safety
86.4%
Refine your results Showing 72 of 77 reviews 1 | 2 | 3   Next
Reset filter
68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Vai Yeng Chiew

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

01 April 2014 Vai Yeng would recommend this property

Liked: The breakfast was included and it is warm and hearty!

Disliked: The location is slightly far from the train station and there is no elevator in the building, therefore if you're holding a bigger piece of luggage, you'll have to carry it all the way to your room.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

19 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: big clean rooms

Disliked: breakfast times

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

19 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the staff let me stay in a double room on my own the day I meant to check into a single room when my travel buddy left earlier.

Disliked: breakfast closes at 8:45am

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife

03 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Room was bright, clean and very large. The beds were comfortable and the we really enjoyed the breakfast.

Disliked: Only problem was that it was a bit hard to find if you didn't know where to look for it.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Shopping

03 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: near the city centre

Disliked: breakfast was tasteless

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Gary Hamilton

With my spouse / partner

Business / conference

29 November 2012 Gary would recommend this property

Liked: We liked the breakfast area, was well laid out and presented as well as a very healthy and perfectly cooked breakfast. The Staff were also very friendly and most helpful

Disliked: Nothing

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

28 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was clean and it looked lovely. The room was warm and cosy, the bed was very comfortable and the pillows were so comfy, me and my fiancee had a brilliant sleep. I usually worry when i go to hotels incase they're dirty and dusty ( slight OCD) but i was very surprised and how clean The Victorian House Hotel was, i had no problems with the cleanliness at all. The man at reception was friendly too, i would definatlety go again it was great for the price!

Disliked: The only thing i dislike was going outside to smoke because it was freezing outside but most places are the same nowadays so really they're was nothing i disliked.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

23 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: awesome!!!!

Disliked: zero

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Diana Crawford

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 September 2012 Diana would recommend this property

Liked: I had a really nice single room that wasn't too small. Bed was comfy. Breakfast was good too.

Disliked: My shower, although good, went a bit cold at one stage. But that is my only tiny negative thing.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

23 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I had a really nice stay at this property. The staff were very helpful and the room really pretty and cozy. It was quiet and just a very nice place to spend a night.

Disliked: Some of the windows are a bit dodgy, and the heating was on full blast in my room when I came in..

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tristan Tham

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 July 2012 Tristan would recommend this property

Liked: extremely clean!

Disliked: old showers

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Saylee Sholapurkar

With my spouse / partner

Visiting friends or family

02 March 2012 Saylee would recommend this property

Liked: good value for money...very clean....close to the station...nice breakfast.

Disliked: nothing...everything was good.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Renee Michaud

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

27 February 2012 Renee would recommend this property

Liked: The location was good - close to everything but not too loud.

Disliked: The room had a big window which was nice but it let alot of cold air in.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

03 January 2012

Liked: The tiny television worked and they gave you a bar of soap.

Disliked: The hospital smell in the stairwell leading up to the rooms, the dirty utensils (pre-used coffee cups, glasses and spoons) in the room, the ridiculously loud toilet (so loud the cistern and bathroom door vibrates) that keeps you up at night and the really terrible breakfast on offer in the morning.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Petr Vaclavik

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

29 August 2011 Petr would recommend this property

Liked: Very good value for money. Would stay again. You get what you pay for.

Disliked: Unfriendly bloke serving brekfest, but maby he just had a bad day..

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

27 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: central . night porter service. good breakfast.friendly helpful staff

Disliked: a bit shabby . my room -6- smelled of drains , and shower leaked. the cup for tea in my room was not clean.felt a bit like a youth hostel . definitely not 3 star as displayed outside.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

22 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything! value for money is very good. Big, clean room. Helpful staff and big tasty breakfast.

Disliked: nothing.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Malcolm Wield

With my spouse / partner

Visiting friends or family

03 July 2011 Malcolm would recommend this property

Liked: Really clean, recently decorated, friendly and no fussiness. Out of the 4 reception staff we met over the 3 days we stayed, only the male one was self important.

Disliked: We had Room 2 downstairs, The room was nice, clean and spacious but immediately next to a staff area and broom cupboard. Staff arrived at 0630 and were noisy with clatter, chat and doors banging. The strong smell of cleaning fluid on arrival was not too pleasant either. The area outside the French windows could do with a clean up.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Visiting friends or family

10 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: - the great breakfast - 24/7 reception - near to the city but really quiet

Disliked: waiting to be seated for the breakfast

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

02 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice, on the hill, just a few min walk from city centre. Bright. I had a lovely attic room, but no lift, so not fit for your mother!

Disliked: End March, the heating wasn't on, so while it wasn't cold, the room was on the chilly side in the AM. Ensuite smelled alittle damp, but very clean.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

29 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Different

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

08 April 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good breakfast

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

05 April 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location is good, breakfast is really good, I stayed here only one night . bed room including bathroom is clean, heating system is excellant . It's warm..but my duvet cover is not clean. it make me upset so I couldn't sleep well.I I hope they change it. it takes me 10min from central station to this place. it's really close to the art of school.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

01 January 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The breakfast!!!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

Customer review

22 November 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.