HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Regent House Hotel

3 star Hotel | 3-5 Forth Street, Edinburgh, Scotland EH1 3JX

81.3% Overall Rating

35 out of 38 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (06/01/2014)

Margaret O'Donnell thinks…

"The property is very well situated for the centre of town in a nice quiet street. I was attending a works party so it was an ideal location for me and is close to both the train and bus stations. I…"

Read all Regent House Hotel reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 33.22

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Cancellations/modifications made within 7 days of arrival or no shows will be charged 100% of the total reservation. Cancellations/modification made before 7 days upon arrival will be charged with 1 night. If the booking is made just for 1 night the total amount will be charged. An administration charge of £20 fee applies to all cancellations and no shows. All cancellations must be made in writing. In the peak season (New Year/Marathon/Rugby/Festival in August) 21 days cancellation policy applies and 100% will be charged, 1 night if you cancel before 21 days." Refundable security deposit is required upon check-in for the apartment. Please note that the property does not accept bookings for parties in the apartment. The hotel is entitled to charge the guest if they breach the “no parties in the flat” policy or if they damaging any items in the flat. The peak season (New Year/Marathon/Rugby/Special Events/Festival in August):

A 21 day cancellation policy applies unless 100% is charged. We advise all guests to insure against financial losses due to cancellation. All cancellations must be made in writing.

All credit /debit cards shall be pre authorized and must be valid for time of stay or shall be deemed invalid.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Edinburgh?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Edinburgh

St James Craig Court
74.74 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Ballantrae Hotel
49.41 USD

Hotel 3 star 83.9% 11 reviews
Haggis Hostels
29.90 USD

Hostel 89.5% 56 reviews
Princes Street East Backpackers
18.27 USD

Hostel 82.5% 280 reviews
Edinburgh Central Youth Hostel
37.78 USD

Hostel 84.2% 360 reviews
Caravel Guest House
49.83 USD

Guesthouse 86.7% 3 reviews
ALLGIRLZ (female only hostel)
13.29 USD

Hostel 95.1% 22 reviews
St Christopher's Inn - Edinburgh
16.44 USD

Hostel 85.7% 731 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
81.3%

Overall Rating

35 out of 38 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Regent House Hotel'

Atmosphere
75.2%
Location
92.8%
Facilities
73.6%
Cleanliness
80.0%
Staff
80.0%
Value
80.8%
Safety
86.4%
Refine your results Showing 26 of 37 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Margaret O'Donnell

Alone

Partying / nightlife

06 January 2014 Margaret would recommend this property

Liked: The property is very well situated for the centre of town in a nice quiet street. I was attending a works party so it was an ideal location for me and is close to both the train and bus stations. I had a single room which was well equipped with TV, toiletries, shower and welcome tray

Disliked: nothing

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

James Davies

As a family with children

City break
Sightseeing & culture

03 January 2014 James would recommend this property

Liked: Great location and positioning for exploring Edinburgh. This was amongst the cheapest accommadation I could find for New Year and I certainly wasn't dissappointed. The staff were helpful and friendly and nothing seemed too much trouble. The facilities in the room are basic but certainly adequate for the price, it grades a 2 star and I've stayed in much worse.

Disliked: Parking is a bit a nightmare around the area but there is an NCP near by but it's rather expensive. However this soundly necessarily stop me staying here again.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Visiting friends or family

22 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location and due to this would recommend others to stay but not to expect much of the guest house.

Disliked: The "tatty" decor, ill fitting windows, poor breakfast on offer.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

sarah moorcroft

With my spouse / partner

City break

05 December 2013 sarah would recommend this property

Liked: the room was huge and very clean and attractive, the bathroom was clean and functional. The staff were friendly. the room was warm-we even turned the heating off dispite the very cold December weather. there is a electric heater provided for when the heating was turned off during the day. There was a modern tv with freeview and a dvd player and a kettle, cups and tea coffee and milk.

Disliked: the door was a bit difficult to unlock

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference

04 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Basic accommodation, but for the price exactly what was expected. Brilliant location 2 minutes away from The Playhouse and 10 minutes walk from Edinburgh Waverley. I stayed in a twin room on the second floor along with my colleague- it was clean, comfortable and well kept.

Disliked: The breakfast was basic; continental with meats, cheeses and pastries which were not of great quality. Cereals and toast also available. Good enough for the price though.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Demian Jose Freiberg Schutt

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

23 March 2013 Demian Jose would recommend this property

Liked: Breakfast was very good. Room was big, there was also kettle with everything to do urself coffe, tea, etc.

Disliked: Room was really really cold. Outside was snowing and inside I must stay with two sweaters. Staff was not helpful in telling you about things to do or see... not local people so they did not know anything about the city. They have no map for tourist (in fact in Edinmburgh is very difficult to find a city map, only one than is sold in touristic office...but really small, only of city center). They could have entered the room some time and organize things a little bit, or refill coffe and other stuff.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

29 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: convient for city centre, staff friendly and helpful

Disliked: nil

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 April 2012

Liked: Conveniently located and the property was secure

Disliked: The shower was cold and didn't drain well, the bathroom window didn't shut all the way and so the bathroom itself was uncomfortably cold, the bathroom also had no curtains over the windows so the shower could be viewed from neighboring properties.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Gary Green

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

24 March 2012 Gary would recommend this property

Liked: Breakfast was ok, was more than the basic continental style.

Disliked: Decor is a little dated, staff were difficult to deal with in regards to making changes to our booking through Hostelbookers as the manager only makes the decisions. Staff were not aware of Hostelbookers cancellation poilicy.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

20 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hotel is within walk-able distance of all of Edinburgh's attractions - especially to the new district with bars and restaurants, however the road itself is quiet. The rooms were clean, beds were freshly made everyday, and the breakfast was an additional bonus with a variety of things to choose from. Staff seemed very friendly and professional (although we did not have any specific problems to ask them). It felt safe and quite homely.

Disliked: The photos make this property look smarter than it actually is - the decor is quite dated and shabby in places, rather than vintage chic (as it may look in photos). However I did look for the cheapest option in central Edinburgh so I really cant complain!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

12 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good breakfast, staff very friendly and helpful. Hotel in an excellent location and good room sizes.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

16 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice hotel, extremely cheap for what you get. I was surprised about this place. It is exactly in the center of Edinburgh and you can walk to everything quite easily. Shops and bars around the corner. It is a not a main street, so no noise and traffic infront of the window. Staff and rooms are brilliant, very friendly, clean. Breakfast is very good as well. I would highly recommend this place.

Disliked: nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Mario Matias Urbieta

With my spouse / partner

Relaxation/spa

28 November 2011 Mario Matias would recommend this property

Liked: The hotel adopts the traditional Edimburg style of building then this is part of the city landscape. Inside, the room was really nice and the staff was very kind with every done request. The included breakfast was realy good also.

Disliked: A little detail in the bathroom. Due to that the shower was not fixed (allowing to be handled by yourself), when it was stated in its rest-place in a bar, it constantly fell to the bottom of the bar requiring a constant lifting when taking a shower.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

14 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I loved the atmosphere, the cosy room breakfast was served, the very comfy bed, the friendly staff and the high level of cleanliness of the hotel.

Disliked: Nothing.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

29 August 2011

Liked: It's like staying in trenches during the war it has brought me and my friends closer. I'm sure if your a middle aged sex tourist looking for cheap hookers and dodgy looking guys peddling all manor of class A drugs this hotel has them in abundance.

Disliked: see above there's more but can't be bothered to scribble them down!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

25 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, just a 5-10 minute walk to the Royal Mile. Great breakfast. Good value for money.

Disliked: Carpets could have done with a good vacuum.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

13 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely breakfast and mostly very friendly staff. Room has character and it was a nice, quiet street although still close to centre of things

Disliked: bathroom a little lacking in space to put things. Not all plug fixtures worked.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

31 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: how the room was decorated and variety of breakfast

Disliked: location, in reference to old city

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

25 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location of this property was superb. It was within walking distance of the Royal Mile, Edinburgh Castle, and Arthur's Seat. There were also nice pubs and restaurants right on the door step of this hotel. The continental breakfast surprised me, it was quality.

Disliked: I didn't think that the staff were very friendly and the kettle in my room didn't work. Other than that it was quality.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

13 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Frienly Atmosphere and good breadfast

Disliked: that most of the places in Edinburgh, do not have lift

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

07 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, nice ensuite.

Disliked: Very basic- no shampoos, toothpaste etc.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

07 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was good and close to the middle of town.

Disliked: N/A

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

13 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location (10 minute walk to the very center of the town) Cheap Quite friendly staff Breakfast was OK. Buffet-type. Includes scrambled egg, different sorts of bread, cherios, juices, cheese and sausages. Not bad, not great.

Disliked: No dislikes really. Looks like it does on the pictures above. You get what you pay for. Definitely worth a stay if you're looking for budget-but-still-OK accomodation in edinburgh!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Frank Dienst

24 May 2010 Frank would recommend this property

Liked: A bit inconvenient ... I had to share the room with another person though I booked a single room due to overbooking ... and I had to pay the full price!

Disliked: Frank left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Frank Dienst

24 May 2010 Frank would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the very friendly staff ...

Disliked: Frank left no negative feedback.