HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of The Grassmarket Hotel

2 star Hotel | 94-96 Grassmarket, Edinburgh, Scotland EH1 2JR

84.5% Overall Rating

10 out of 12 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (02/05/2013)

Lizza Lane thinks…

"I liked the quirkiness of the rooms, and the facilities on offer- from real china mugs for your tea/coffee to help with navigating my way around Edinburgh."

Read all The Grassmarket Hotel reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Conference / meeting room(s)
  • Bicycle hire
  • Dry cleaning
  • Laundry service
  • Room service (limited hours)
  • Internet access in public areas

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Edinburgh?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Edinburgh

Castle Rock Hostel
21.10 USD

Hostel 90.2% 1912 reviews
Kick Ass Hostels
14.61 USD

Hostel 87.8% 73 reviews
City Centre Hostel Apartments
24.34 USD

Hostel 70.6% 164 reviews
Budget backpackers
14.61 USD

Hostel 90.2% 1809 reviews
Portsburgh Square
40.57 USD

Apartment 86.7% 3 reviews
Unite 4 - Chalmers Street
69.78 USD

Apartment 79.8% 13 reviews
Malone's Old Town Hostel
19.47 USD

Hostel 92.7% 7 reviews
Cowgate Tourist Hostel
19.23 USD

Hostel 72.8% 292 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
84.5%

Overall Rating

10 out of 12 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'The Grassmarket Hotel'

Atmosphere
76.7%
Location
95.0%
Facilities
78.3%
Cleanliness
83.3%
Staff
85.0%
Value
83.3%
Safety
90.0%
Refine your results Showing 9 of 12 reviews
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lizza Lane

Alone

City break
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

02 May 2013 Lizza would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the quirkiness of the rooms, and the facilities on offer- from real china mugs for your tea/coffee to help with navigating my way around Edinburgh.

Disliked: Nothing, I want to live there!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

chase senner

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

14 November 2012 chase would recommend this property

Liked: overall was an amzing accommadation.

Disliked: chase left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kristaps Ancans

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

05 January 2012 Kristaps would recommend this property

Liked: Awesome location. Just ~5 minutes from the castle and Brew Dog bar :)

Disliked: No WiFi access :(

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Wanessa Costa Lima

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals

03 January 2012

Liked: Secure, they always give you the key and ask your name. They changed the towels every day. The room was warm all the time. They have coffees and biscuits in the room.

Disliked: The breakfast they offer is poor and is in a pub where smells beer. The carpets on the rooms are very dirt.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

umawadee nuansaeng

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

23 April 2011 umawadee would recommend this property

Liked: The room that I stayed was beautiful, comfortable and clean. All staffs are very nice. I would recommend this hotel to my friends surely.

Disliked: The hotel is far from train station, I had to catch a taxi to the hotel. But it was OK for my big luggage ! However, the hotel is near the castle, I like that it is able to walk to many places easily.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Visiting friends or family

16 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Hotel was in a good location.

Disliked: Blankets need to be a bit bigger, had to use my sleeping bag so I didn't expose my arse when I rolled over.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

07 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location, it's perfect to visit the town center

Disliked: The heater of our room was a removable and really smal, so the room was always really cold.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Kylie Berndt

11 February 2010 Kylie would recommend this property

Liked: Loved the food at the pub right next door,big spacious rooms with good heating and lovely staff.

Disliked: Kylie left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

08 November 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: clean comfortable staFF FRIENDLY

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.