HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of 5 The Sandaig

4 star Hotel | 5 East Hermitage Place, Leith Links, Edinburgh, Scotland EH6 8AA

89.5% Overall Rating

18 out of 19 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (20/11/2013)

Philip Laight thinks…

"The rooms were decorated very tastefully and were to a very high standard. The staff were very welcoming and extremely helpful and friendly. We had a fantastic breakfast and served by a lovely…"

Read all 5 The Sandaig reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Wake-up calls
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Television room
  • High chair

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Should you wish to cancel or amend this reservation (for whatever reason) our cancellation policy is as follows: 0 - 7 days = 100% of total booking 7-14 days 100% of first night 14 + days 10% of full booking The first night's deposit will be charged on booking by the establishment. Amendments to bookings are charges at 10% of full reservation All cancellations must be made in writing and acknowledged by us for refund purposes

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Edinburgh?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Edinburgh

The Merith House Hotel
57.56 USD

Hotel 3 star 71.9% 132 reviews
Park View House Hotel
60.94 USD

Hotel 3 star 74.5% 77 reviews
ADELPHI HOTEL
33.30 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Containers Hostels
10.14 USD

Hostel 100.0% 3 reviews
Large luxury 4 bedroom central apartment
96.50 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Edinburgh House Hotel
46.84 USD

Hotel 3 star 79.4% 84 reviews
Lyncliff Hotel
93.11 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
Panmure Court
93.11 USD

Apartment 83.6% 4 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
89.5%

Overall Rating

18 out of 19 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend '5 The Sandaig'

Atmosphere
89.5%
Location
85.3%
Facilities
88.4%
Cleanliness
91.6%
Staff
91.6%
Value
90.5%
Safety
89.5%
Refine your results Showing 15 of 19 reviews
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Philip Laight

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

20 November 2013 Philip would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms were decorated very tastefully and were to a very high standard. The staff were very welcoming and extremely helpful and friendly. We had a fantastic breakfast and served by a lovely waitress who ensured we had everything we need. The restaurants/bars were just a short walk away. We would definitely stay here if we visit Edinburgh again.

Disliked: Nothing to dislike

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

10 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very lovely place and very nice people!

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

22 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly convenient - close to bus route - quiet - clean excellent breakfast!

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

13 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This place is absolutely amazing. Everything from the friendliness of the staff to the great rooms to the spot on perfect breakfast is just superb. There is nothing about this place that we didn't like. Would recommend it to anyone and def stay here again.

Disliked: Nothing.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tania Teng

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

07 January 2013 Tania would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent decor. Warm and personalised service.

Disliked: Tania left no negative feedback.

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Simon Woodward

As a family with children

Family Holiday

19 November 2012

Liked: Not meeting Marina in person.

Disliked: WARNING! They charged my credit card the full cost of the room without my authorisation immediately on booking. On questioning over the phone Marina was extremely difficult and stated that my room will not be confirmed even after I had paid the deposit!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

05 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hotel was wonderfully warm and homely, beautifully decorated.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals

02 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent property, friendly and helpful, good breakfast, quiet area.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lisa Ogden

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

01 October 2012 Lisa would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were very helpful and nothing was too much trouble and the breakfast was superb.

Disliked: Absolutely nothing!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

11 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was really friendly and the rooms were beautiful. They let you feel to be in historical Scotland. The breakfast was also fantastic. We had a choice of different menus and you can choose two-courses. I can really reconment this b&b to everybody!!

Disliked: Everything was perfect

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

marie kelly

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

17 February 2012 marie would recommend this property

Liked: excellent service the breakfast menu was outstanding and tasted beautiful. the room was gorgeous with great attention to detail. i would definately reccomend to a friend and stay again.

Disliked: marie left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Helen Shann

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

08 February 2012 Helen would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms are a good size for what you pay and nicely kept every day. There's a good selection for breakfast and it's fresh and yum. Opposite a big park and there's a bus right outside the door which takes you into the city. Friendly staff and comfortable beds. I would definitely recommend!

Disliked: Bit of a nuisance how the internet is only in the lounge (and not your room)

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Trevor Langford

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

08 January 2012 Trevor would recommend this property

Liked: Full of gorgeous charm, interior decoration was superb and done to a very high quality. The breakfast choices and quality were outstanding, best breakfast at a guest house I have ever had, they even give you a packed breakfast if you have an early checkout. All members of staff were incredibly helpful and friendly, they are the type of people to remember you in two years time when you definitely go back. Bathroom facilities were clean, modern and the shower was wonderful.

Disliked: The only negative was the location if you wanted somewhere close to the hustle and bustle of Edinburgh, but as the bus stop was almost directly out the front door it wasn't an issue to get into town and back again.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

15 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great variety of breakfast and friendliness of staff!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

05 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: PERFECT! Very very clean, friendly staff who are veery helpful, amazing breakfast! I will be staying again next time I visit. I was worried that the location may be too far away from the city centre, but there is buses that run all the time which made it no problem at all. If anything the location was wonderful, quiet and across the road from a beautiful park.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.