HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Northumberland Hotel

3 star Hotel | 31-33 Craigmiller Park, Newington, Edinburgh, Scotland EH16 5PE

76.6% Overall Rating

82 out of 100 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (24/03/2014)

Julie Sharp thinks…

"The location was good bus outside onto town but as there was 4 of us we took a taxi which was reasonable. The parking was safe behind the hotel, the room was clean and bed comfortable ."

Read all Northumberland Hotel reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Conference / meeting room(s)
  • Fax
  • Photocopying
  • Late check-out
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Wake-up calls
  • Bar(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Cot / crib
  • Infant bed
  • High chair

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room USD 11.95
  • Breakfast USD 12.80

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Please note that after booking you will receive our e mail address. You’ll need to send your card security code of the card you used when booking (this is the last 3 digits number on the back of your card) in order to fully secure your booking. Failure to do so may result in losing your reservation.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Edinburgh?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Edinburgh

Alba Hills Guest House
51.20 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
McGregors Guest House
50.64 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Abcorn Guest House
51.20 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
MW Town House
68.27 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Tania guest house
51.20 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Blacket Garden Flat
102.41 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Thrums Hotel
50.78 USD

Hotel 3 star 82.9% 14 reviews
BLOSSOM HOUSE
59.74 USD

Guesthouse 75.2% 13 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
76.6%

Overall Rating

82 out of 100 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Northumberland Hotel'

Atmosphere
71.2%
Location
77.6%
Facilities
68.0%
Cleanliness
72.8%
Staff
82.4%
Value
76.8%
Safety
87.2%
Refine your results Showing 82 of 94 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4   Next
Reset filter
82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

john Calleja

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

27 May 2014 john would recommend this property

Liked: FOR THE PRICE ITS VERY GOOD VALUE

Disliked: NOTHING

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

As a family with children

Events / festivals

22 April 2014

Liked: Location

Disliked: Noisy - I have never stayed anywhere that has been so noisy - people banging on doors, shouting etc Parties on Friday and Saturday so noisy on the street

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Julie Sharp

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

24 March 2014 Julie would recommend this property

Liked: The location was good bus outside onto town but as there was 4 of us we took a taxi which was reasonable. The parking was safe behind the hotel, the room was clean and bed comfortable .

Disliked: Julie left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

03 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I loved the staff. Everyone we encountered was super helpful and friendly.

Disliked: When leaving we had to leave our luggage at the hotel and it was an additional cost.

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Stanley Iles

As a family with children

Family Holiday

10 July 2013

Liked: The male manager is a good man and ready to help you the best he could.

Disliked: paying for internet that doesn't work.Dirty linen, dirty and smelly carpets, dirty bathroom,broken toilet seat, broken window, small cramped room,never dared to each breakfast there because of very poor hygiene,

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

wendi walker

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

28 May 2013 wendi would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly and helpful. Norman made us feel very welcome and we would definitely return

Disliked: plumbing a little noisy and toilet door stuck a bit. Telephone plug was broken.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Wilfried Gonidec

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

23 February 2013 Wilfried would recommend this property

Liked: A lot of work must have been done as everything looks new. There is a bus stop next to the hotel with many buses going to the town center. The staff was very nice.

Disliked: Too much noise from the street and not enough toilet paper.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Renzo Olita

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

19 October 2012 Renzo would recommend this property

Liked: I like the location.

Disliked: Nothing

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals

07 October 2012

Liked: the bed was clean and George the concierge was a lovely man.

Disliked: No hot water, had to have a cold shower berfore going to a dinner dance! Whatever you do don't accept the room beside the reception. We were awakened by the door ringing at 3am and noisy clients who shouted their way up to their room, then we heard every conversation from 7.30am, home today absolutely shattered.

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Kalyan Aravapalli

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

25 September 2012

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: Everything: It's just awful...the pictures don't look the same. It was not clean at all. Th ebathroom not at all good. It has a very very dull appearance.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday

21 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: we could easily walk or bus to and from the main city attractions ,rooms were spacious and warm and we found the beds very comfortable. Also car parking at rear and free wifi made it very useful to stay here.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Business / conference
City break
Events / festivals
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

05 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Attractive place with a lovely breakfast room and a good breakfast, the bed was comfortable and clean, ensuite bathroom and shower was useful, nice service, lock and chain on bedroom door so felt secure.

Disliked: Window was a bit broken, once opened we couldn't close it, so was bathroom door, you could only slide it closed and couldn't lock it, room was a bit small but overall a nice place! Also quite a walk from the city centre but was on a long street of hotels so not more than most other places.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Business / conference
City break

05 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Free wifi, great breakfast, friendly and helpful staff that went the extra mile.

Disliked: Shower is a little tatty, but did the job. Situated out of the centre of town, but there are frequent and cheap buses, and it's close to the university buildings we were visiting.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

02 May 2012

Liked: nice clean room, very nice guy at reception on arrival

Disliked: breakfast would need a bit tlc

42.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Lucy Dodds

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

06 January 2012

Liked: Great Location lots of public transport available

Disliked: Did not have a comfortable relaxing stay at all Staff mucked up the room order and had to swap rooms twice to fit us in The room was unclean, Pubic hair in the bed, Filthy Carpets, Hand marks all over the walls. Heating was off all night only came on for 2 or 3 hours in the morning, no hot water in the afternoon. Toilet overflowed. Wireless was not free had to pay £3.00 Card security number was filed away when i emailed it so kept getting phone calls from staff asking for it over the phone when i had already sent it! UNORGANISED have stayed in cleaner hostels. Ended up staying in the Galadriel Guest House just down the road even though i had to pay for the hotel i was not happy with. The Galadriel was run by a lovely family you get treated like absolute royalty had no complaints the whole time i was there! BEAUTIFUL

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

CHRIS FORRESTER

With my spouse / partner

City break
Visiting friends or family

22 November 2011 CHRIS would recommend this property

Liked: good buffet breakfast, help yourself ! Good location, a couple of hundred metres from top end 5 star hotels. Parking easy. Good value...it was cheaper than some hostels !

Disliked: we arrived at 23.20 and a 21st birthday party continued to 23.50 underneath our room.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jay Ghatak

With my spouse / partner

City break
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

14 November 2011 Jay would recommend this property

Liked: Felicities for the price.

Disliked: Location (~ 3 km far from station where no food shop is there) and adamant in breakfast timings (sat and sunday starts from 8 am, did not offer anything before 8 am) , no restaurant in dinner time.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

30 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The familiar enviroment. It's very clean and it's very easy to get there if you got a car!

Disliked: The breakfeast finishes too early and they don't have a proper restaurant (they should, because it's a little bit far from any supermarket or restaurant)!

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Matthew Adams

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

31 August 2011 Matthew would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff; very close to Peffermill sports centre; very accommodating of last-minute alterations to guest numbers (adding extras)

Disliked: Breakfast didn't start until 8; only 1 key each per room of 4 people; rooms at the same price did differ vastly in size

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

22 August 2011

Liked: Very helpful staff. Good-sized and quiet room.

Disliked: Visible dirt on the valance on the beds. Expensive considering how basic it is.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

22 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: price, breakfast, close to bus stop

Disliked: a bit far to get walking from city center

71.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

25 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very good value for money, nice old building

Disliked: bathroom smelled a little bit of mould (but only a little bit :-))

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Paul Torzel

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

17 July 2011 Paul would recommend this property

Liked: Clean and descent price

Disliked: Far from city center

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

08 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Room was fairly big, location was decent only a 5-10 min bus ride into the old city. Although the shower looked like a prison shower, there was decent water pressure.

Disliked: Breakfast was a bit too early and finished too early, almost as if to deter guests from having it. Wifi you had to pay, but was weak and slow.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

22 June 2011

Liked: The hotel made a mess of our booking, took our money in advance and didn't have rooms available for our second night. Once they realised their mistake, though, the staff were very helpful and found us alternative accommodation for the second night.

Disliked: No hot water when we got up after the one night we stayed there. The hotel manager was very apologetic as he came out of the boiler rooms, covered in dust. I think we were just unlucky that everything went wrong at the hotel that weekend.