We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Northumberland Hotel

3 star Hotel | 31-33 Craigmiller Park, Newington, Edinburgh, Scotland EH16 5PE

75.9% Overall Rating

84 out of 103 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (03/05/2015)

"The staff at this hotel were very friendly and made our stay even more enjoyable."

Read all Northumberland Hotel reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Conference / meeting room(s)
  • Fax
  • Photocopying
  • Late check-out
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Wake-up calls
  • Bar(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Cot / crib
  • Infant bed
  • High chair

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room USD 10.96
  • Breakfast USD 11.75

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Please note that after booking you will receive our e mail address. You’ll need to send your card security code of the card you used when booking (this is the last 3 digits number on the back of your card) in order to fully secure your booking. Failure to do so may result in losing your reservation.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Edinburgh?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Edinburgh

McGregors Guest House
34.85 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
MW Town House
61.09 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Blacket Garden Flat
109.65 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Thrums Hotel
48.95 USD

Hotel 3 star 81.5% 15 reviews
BLOSSOM HOUSE
52.87 USD

Guesthouse 75.2% 13 reviews
Cloudberry Apartment
49.77 USD

Apartment 100.0% 3 reviews
Pollock Halls- Edinburgh First
59.92 USD

Hotel 2 star 86.6% 96 reviews
Argyle Backpackers
23.50 USD

Hostel 87.1% 1148 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/07/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/07/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
75.9%

Overall Rating

84 out of 103 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Northumberland Hotel'

Atmosphere
69.6%
Location
78.4%
Facilities
68.8%
Cleanliness
70.4%
Staff
81.6%
Value
76.0%
Safety
86.4%
Refine your results Showing 85 of 97 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alexandra Fenech

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

25 June 2015 Alexandra would recommend this property

Liked: Friendliness and very good location with easy access to City Centr

Disliked: A bit of a better breakfast choice

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

03 May 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff at this hotel were very friendly and made our stay even more enjoyable.

Disliked: The shower facilities could be improved.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

27 December 2014

Liked: The location is good. There are many buses leaving from the nearby stop which take you straight into the centre of Edinburgh

Disliked: Parking is not secure, it's open to anyone. The bed is terrible; the matrass is far too hard. The room was not vacuumed during the 5 days we stayed and the bed wasn't made up daily. We have a habit to leave the bed neatly, but opened so it can air. It was not redone, simply closed. Upon arrival no one responded to the bell, I had to call two telephone numbers before I reached anyone. The shower was terrible. The amount of water barely made it to the level of a gentle spring shower.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

john Calleja

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

27 May 2014 john would recommend this property

Liked: FOR THE PRICE ITS VERY GOOD VALUE

Disliked: NOTHING

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

As a family with children

Events / festivals

22 April 2014

Liked: Location

Disliked: Noisy - I have never stayed anywhere that has been so noisy - people banging on doors, shouting etc Parties on Friday and Saturday so noisy on the street

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Julie Sharp

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

24 March 2014 Julie would recommend this property

Liked: The location was good bus outside onto town but as there was 4 of us we took a taxi which was reasonable. The parking was safe behind the hotel, the room was clean and bed comfortable .

Disliked: Julie left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

03 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I loved the staff. Everyone we encountered was super helpful and friendly.

Disliked: When leaving we had to leave our luggage at the hotel and it was an additional cost.

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Stanley Iles

As a family with children

Family Holiday

10 July 2013

Liked: The male manager is a good man and ready to help you the best he could.

Disliked: paying for internet that doesn't work.Dirty linen, dirty and smelly carpets, dirty bathroom,broken toilet seat, broken window, small cramped room,never dared to each breakfast there because of very poor hygiene,

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

wendi walker

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

28 May 2013 wendi would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly and helpful. Norman made us feel very welcome and we would definitely return

Disliked: plumbing a little noisy and toilet door stuck a bit. Telephone plug was broken.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Wilfried Gonidec

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

23 February 2013 Wilfried would recommend this property

Liked: A lot of work must have been done as everything looks new. There is a bus stop next to the hotel with many buses going to the town center. The staff was very nice.

Disliked: Too much noise from the street and not enough toilet paper.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Renzo Olita

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

19 October 2012 Renzo would recommend this property

Liked: I like the location.

Disliked: Nothing

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals

07 October 2012

Liked: the bed was clean and George the concierge was a lovely man.

Disliked: No hot water, had to have a cold shower berfore going to a dinner dance! Whatever you do don't accept the room beside the reception. We were awakened by the door ringing at 3am and noisy clients who shouted their way up to their room, then we heard every conversation from 7.30am, home today absolutely shattered.

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Kalyan Aravapalli

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

25 September 2012

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: Everything: It's just awful...the pictures don't look the same. It was not clean at all. Th ebathroom not at all good. It has a very very dull appearance.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday

21 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: we could easily walk or bus to and from the main city attractions ,rooms were spacious and warm and we found the beds very comfortable. Also car parking at rear and free wifi made it very useful to stay here.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Business / conference
City break
Events / festivals
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

05 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Attractive place with a lovely breakfast room and a good breakfast, the bed was comfortable and clean, ensuite bathroom and shower was useful, nice service, lock and chain on bedroom door so felt secure.

Disliked: Window was a bit broken, once opened we couldn't close it, so was bathroom door, you could only slide it closed and couldn't lock it, room was a bit small but overall a nice place! Also quite a walk from the city centre but was on a long street of hotels so not more than most other places.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Business / conference
City break

05 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Free wifi, great breakfast, friendly and helpful staff that went the extra mile.

Disliked: Shower is a little tatty, but did the job. Situated out of the centre of town, but there are frequent and cheap buses, and it's close to the university buildings we were visiting.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

02 May 2012

Liked: nice clean room, very nice guy at reception on arrival

Disliked: breakfast would need a bit tlc

42.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Lucy Dodds

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

06 January 2012

Liked: Great Location lots of public transport available

Disliked: Did not have a comfortable relaxing stay at all Staff mucked up the room order and had to swap rooms twice to fit us in The room was unclean, Pubic hair in the bed, Filthy Carpets, Hand marks all over the walls. Heating was off all night only came on for 2 or 3 hours in the morning, no hot water in the afternoon. Toilet overflowed. Wireless was not free had to pay £3.00 Card security number was filed away when i emailed it so kept getting phone calls from staff asking for it over the phone when i had already sent it! UNORGANISED have stayed in cleaner hostels. Ended up staying in the Galadriel Guest House just down the road even though i had to pay for the hotel i was not happy with. The Galadriel was run by a lovely family you get treated like absolute royalty had no complaints the whole time i was there! BEAUTIFUL

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

CHRIS FORRESTER

With my spouse / partner

City break
Visiting friends or family

22 November 2011 CHRIS would recommend this property

Liked: good buffet breakfast, help yourself ! Good location, a couple of hundred metres from top end 5 star hotels. Parking easy. Good value...it was cheaper than some hostels !

Disliked: we arrived at 23.20 and a 21st birthday party continued to 23.50 underneath our room.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jay Ghatak

With my spouse / partner

City break
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

14 November 2011 Jay would recommend this property

Liked: Felicities for the price.

Disliked: Location (~ 3 km far from station where no food shop is there) and adamant in breakfast timings (sat and sunday starts from 8 am, did not offer anything before 8 am) , no restaurant in dinner time.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

30 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The familiar enviroment. It's very clean and it's very easy to get there if you got a car!

Disliked: The breakfeast finishes too early and they don't have a proper restaurant (they should, because it's a little bit far from any supermarket or restaurant)!

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Matthew Adams

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

31 August 2011 Matthew would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff; very close to Peffermill sports centre; very accommodating of last-minute alterations to guest numbers (adding extras)

Disliked: Breakfast didn't start until 8; only 1 key each per room of 4 people; rooms at the same price did differ vastly in size

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

22 August 2011

Liked: Very helpful staff. Good-sized and quiet room.

Disliked: Visible dirt on the valance on the beds. Expensive considering how basic it is.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

22 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: price, breakfast, close to bus stop

Disliked: a bit far to get walking from city center

71.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

25 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very good value for money, nice old building

Disliked: bathroom smelled a little bit of mould (but only a little bit :-))