HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Ballantrae Hotel

3 star Hotel | 8 York Place, Edinburgh, Scotland EH1 3HP

83.9% Overall Rating

9 out of 11 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (31/07/2011)

"There was lots of bad reviews but we found the staff nice, location great and room and facilities perfect for our needs, we didn't have any complaints in terms of our stay :)"

Read all Ballantrae Hotel reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wake-up calls
  • Bar(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Cot / crib
  • High chair

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

If you cancel up to 3 days before the date of your arrival and before 2.00 pm local time, no fee will be charged. If you cancel later or in case of no show, the full amount of your reservation will be charged. Please note that, as a deposit, the first night of your stay will be charged to credit/debit card provided on the day of the booking. There is a 2% surcharge on credit card transaction Special Events Policy (eg. Tattoo, Hogmanay, Rugby fixtures) - Please note for special events the full payment is required on the 1st date of the month of arrival. Booking may be cancelled up to 7 days before the date of your arrival and before 2.00 pm local time. If you cancel your booking after 7 days no refund will be given.”

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Edinburgh?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Edinburgh

ALLGIRLZ (female only hostel)
25.46 USD

Hostel 95.9% 18 reviews
Princes Street East Backpackers
18.67 USD

Hostel 81.4% 278 reviews
Haggis Hostels
37.34 USD

Hostel 89.5% 56 reviews
Caravel Guest House
50.92 USD

Guesthouse 86.7% 3 reviews
St James Craig Court
76.37 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Regent House Hotel
50.58 USD

Hotel 3 star 81.3% 38 reviews
City Stay Edinburgh.
16.97 USD

Apartment 79.2% 19 reviews
St Christopher's Inn - Edinburgh
18.50 USD

Hostel 84.6% 721 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
83.9%

Overall Rating

9 out of 11 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Ballantrae Hotel'

Atmosphere
85.5%
Location
94.6%
Facilities
74.6%
Cleanliness
81.8%
Staff
92.7%
Value
70.9%
Safety
87.3%
Refine your results Showing 9 of 9 reviews
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Cathy O'Neill

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

05 January 2014 Cathy would recommend this property

Liked: Location and friendly

Disliked: Needs bit up dating in hallway

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

07 August 2011

Liked: It was very central to what we wanted to do

Disliked: the stairs, no self catering, the price, no laundry facilities

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

31 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: There was lots of bad reviews but we found the staff nice, location great and room and facilities perfect for our needs, we didn't have any complaints in terms of our stay :)

Disliked: Nothing

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

giselle hobbs

With friends / other travellers

City break

26 October 2010 giselle would recommend this property

Liked: This hotel is perfctly comfortable and has a bit of character. because they were full for the first 2 nights of our stay, we were upgraded to their 4 star sister hotel around the corner, which was fantastic! huge, luxurious etc. The Ballantrae was very good for the price. No idea why some of the other reviewers are a bit negative! I am generally quite fussy and would definitely stay there again.

Disliked: I wish there was a list.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

14 March 2010

Liked: The staff were exceptionally pleasant and helpful, and the central location is obviously ideal for the visitor

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Thorsten Kahl

26 October 2009 Thorsten would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice hotel in a perfect location to discover Edinburgh! Great stay!

Disliked: Thorsten left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

12 March 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: we loved the atmosphere,close proximity to Princes street,friendly staff who made us feel right at home and offered us a varirty of services

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

02 November 2008 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location and staff

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Bjarne M. Jensen

29 March 2008 Bjarne M. would recommend this property

Liked: The personal attitude of the staff, that they liked to chat.

Disliked: Bjarne M. left no negative feedback.