We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Park View House Hotel

3 star Hotel | 14 Hermitage Place, Edinburgh, Scotland EH6 8AF

73.7% Overall Rating

60 out of 79 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (10/08/2015)

Gregory Wells thinks…

"Nice guesthouse in Leith, just a short while aways from the centre of Edinburgh. Very convenient"

Read all Park View House Hotel reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Internet / Wi-Fi

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Cancellation Policy Once a booking has been made and security such as a credit card number or deposit has been given to reserve the room, then it means that we have a 'confirmed reservation'. PLEASE NOTE: A £20.00 BOOKING FEE WILL BE CHARGED BY THE HOTEL (NON REFUNDABLE) TO V ERIFY CARD DETAILS THIS WILL BE DEDUCTED FROM AMOUNT OWED ON ARRIVAL IF NOT CANCELLED. Should you wish to cancel this confirmed reservation for whatever reason, we then reserve the right to charge you for the full amount of the stay, unless 7 days notice is given prior to the morning of the arrival date and for reservations during high season - such as Christmas, New Year, Easter, bank Holidays, Rugby International or World Cup, Festival, Fringe or Tattoo, then we shall require 28 full days notice from the morning of the arrival date. If it is a Large Booking with guests over 10 we require First nights Payment in advance, If more than one nights stay then we require first nights payment to secure booking and and 28 days prior to arrival 50% of the whole stay charge should be made. Check In You may check into your room from 14.00 on the day of arrival. All guests arriving after the 21:00 check in time must advise a member of staff on their time of arrival, otherwise there will be a late check in fee of £10 per hour. To avoid the late fee please advise members of staff on time of arrival otherwise this will be added on top of your remaining balance and will be charged on check in. There is someone in the hotel 24/7 but not at front desk 24/7 this charge enables us to pay for a staff member to stay on front desk until the guest arrives. Thank you. Check Out Check out time is 10.00 Monday to Friday and 10.30 Saturday and Sunday CHILDREN: Please note that there is a one child under 2 years that is free of charge, if require more than one child under 2 years of age then a 50% of the per person rate will become payable. ages from 3-5 is 50% rate of the per person charge and ages over 5 become full rate. An additional fee will apply when paying by credit card.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Edinburgh?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Edinburgh

The Merith House Hotel
27.70 USD

Hotel 3 star 74.5% 137 reviews
ADELPHI HOTEL
24.23 USD

Guesthouse 53.6% 4 reviews
Containers Hostels
12.29 USD

Hostel 75.2% 25 reviews
Large luxury 4 bedroom central apartment
30.77 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Edinburgh House Hotel
31.39 USD

Hotel 3 star 79.0% 87 reviews
Lyncliff Hotel
67.70 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
Panmure Court
84.63 USD

Apartment 82.9% 6 reviews
Edinburgh Central Youth Hostel
32.31 USD

Hostel 89.0% 378 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/08/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/08/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
73.7%

Overall Rating

60 out of 79 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Park View House Hotel'

Atmosphere
72.8%
Location
68.0%
Facilities
66.4%
Cleanliness
80.8%
Staff
76.8%
Value
76.0%
Safety
75.2%
Refine your results Showing 45 of 60 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Gregory Wells

With friends / other travellers

City break

10 August 2015 Gregory would recommend this property

Liked: Nice guesthouse in Leith, just a short while aways from the centre of Edinburgh. Very convenient

Disliked: TV in room had a bad signal

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife

02 January 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were particularly friendly and helpful, they honestly made our stay most enjoyable.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

22 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location, decent rooms, good breakfast, parking, helpful staff

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

19 November 2013

Liked: ...

Disliked: ....

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

14 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The room was spacious and comfortable. The beds were very good. Breakfast was OK and the hotel was quiet. Towels were provided, tee and coffee as well.

Disliked: Very unfriendly welcome and throughout the stay. No heater in the bathroom.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

18 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Quiet location overlooking park. On main Bus routes, Beds very comfortable. Off-street secure parking

Disliked: Would have preferred a cooked breakfast option

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

As a family with children

Sightseeing & culture

04 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: friendliness

Disliked: nothing special

37.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

31 May 2013

Liked: toilet is clean. room was warm. free wifi.

Disliked: breakfast was terrible. furniture was in bad state (difficulty opening closets and doors). soap dispenser could not dispense soap. housekeeping did not include vacuuming rooms. fire alarm rang for 2 out of 3 nights stayed.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

18 May 2013

Liked: quiet at night(very nice to sleep well), and there is a park very near(right across the road) from hotel.

Disliked: location(from edinbourgh station, 20mins, by bus(1.5 pound))

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Annie Jordan

With my spouse / partner

City break

07 April 2013 Annie would recommend this property

Liked: it was quite and comfortable. No curfue as front door key was also your room key ( special kind ) continental breakfast buffet was standard but one was able to stock up for a good day of walking etc. tv in room and free wifi. Bathroom was clean and shower powerfull. Would most likely stay again.

Disliked: Annie left no negative feedback.

34.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

kevin jones

As a family with children

Visiting friends or family

05 September 2012

Liked: nothing

Disliked: already said in previous section. we didn't even stay for the breakfast.couldn't wait to get out.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

31 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It has beautiful view on the park. The hotel is located in, let's say, stylish bulding. The interior of it is nice and sunny. It has great location in the meaning that you have a quiet of suburbs and good comunication of a city. Everywhere is near in fact, even by walk. It takes half an hour or little more.

Disliked: Well, I do not have any comments :)

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

30 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was fine, was very clean and our room was beautiful in general. The atmosphere was nice,made you feel like at home.

Disliked: The staff was average, they weren't rude but they also weren't super nice, the view from our window was showing garbage outside and another building roof.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

26 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff was SO nice! great!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

katie shemwell

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

29 February 2012 katie would recommend this property

Liked: Cheap and good value for what it is. Perfect for us...

Disliked: Needs a full breakfast in the morning. (I'm on holiday)

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Renee Michaud

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

27 February 2012 Renee would recommend this property

Liked: Everything was very clean and comfortable. You could tell that it had been recently renovated and it looked good. I would stay there again.

Disliked: The room was a little small and the shower is a bit crazy but neither of those were dealbreakers.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

mahnaz esmaeilzadeh

With friends / other travellers

Relaxation/spa

22 January 2012 mahnaz would recommend this property

Liked: facilities and nice staff

Disliked: mahnaz left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Graham Clark

Alone

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

12 October 2011 Graham would recommend this property

Liked: I was able to leave my car outside and use the bus, just a few mins from city centre. There is free on street parking and free wi-fi. The place was very clean, and staff were friendly. Breakfast was mainly just cofffee, cereal and toast, nothing cooked, but enough for me. Leith is a good location to stay, with plenty of shops, pubs and restaurants and easy access to the city centre.

Disliked: My room was at the front and had some noise from traffic, but not enough to keep me awake.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

19 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location. Value for money.

Disliked: Hot water not all day.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

05 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very friendly staff

Disliked: staff did not accept mail that was addressed to us despite prior confirmation via email

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

maureen neilsen

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

14 June 2011 maureen would recommend this property

Liked: the staff were fantastic,nothing was too much trouble,extened our stay by another week,location perfect peaceful and quiet,room huge loved it

Disliked: nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

17 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Price was good, could walk into city centre,everything worked well. 24 hour hot water. Secure parking, very good breakfast included.

Disliked: very little

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Relaxation/spa

03 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cameron was helpful, knowledgeable about the area and cheerful.

Disliked: Smokers on the front door steps. When the catering staff were also seen smoking on the doorstep the question of hygenie had to be considered.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

24 April 2011

Liked: ...the bed was confortable..

Disliked: i had to wait a lot of time for breakfast and later breakfast ws shit. The second day dont change towells and nothing but i am paying the same.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

25 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: Facilities