We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Park View House Hotel

3 star Hotel | 14 Hermitage Place, Edinburgh, Scotland EH6 8AF

74.5% Overall Rating

58 out of 77 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (14/11/2013)

"The room was spacious and comfortable. The beds were very good. Breakfast was OK and the hotel was quiet. Towels were provided, tee and coffee as well."

Read all Park View House Hotel reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Internet / Wi-Fi

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Cancellation policy 7 days prior to arrival date apart from high season like July august easter hogmanay and rugby weekend where we require 21 days notice for any cancellations and amendments. August, New Year and Rugby Weekends strictly minimum stay of 3 nights. One child per room under the age of 2 are free and extra children have to pay 50% of the per person charge. PLEASE NOTE THERE IS A £20.00 BOOKING FEE DIRECT FROM THE HOTEL (NON REFUNDABLE) TO VERIFY CARD AND WILL BE DEDUCTED FROM FINAL BALANCE OWED ON ARRIVAL.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Edinburgh?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Edinburgh

The Merith House Hotel
26.00 USD

Hotel 3 star 72.3% 136 reviews
5 The Sandaig
50.77 USD

Hotel 4 star 88.3% 22 reviews
ADELPHI HOTEL
15.71 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Containers Hostels
8.11 USD

Hostel 70.8% 17 reviews
Large luxury 4 bedroom central apartment
54.43 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Edinburgh House Hotel
20.15 USD

Hotel 3 star 79.4% 84 reviews
Lyncliff Hotel
71.49 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
Panmure Court
89.36 USD

Apartment 82.3% 5 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
74.5%

Overall Rating

58 out of 77 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Park View House Hotel'

Atmosphere
72.8%
Location
68.8%
Facilities
68.0%
Cleanliness
81.6%
Staff
76.8%
Value
77.6%
Safety
76.0%
Refine your results Showing 43 of 58 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

22 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location, decent rooms, good breakfast, parking, helpful staff

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

19 November 2013

Liked: ...

Disliked: ....

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

14 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The room was spacious and comfortable. The beds were very good. Breakfast was OK and the hotel was quiet. Towels were provided, tee and coffee as well.

Disliked: Very unfriendly welcome and throughout the stay. No heater in the bathroom.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

18 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Quiet location overlooking park. On main Bus routes, Beds very comfortable. Off-street secure parking

Disliked: Would have preferred a cooked breakfast option

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

As a family with children

Sightseeing & culture

04 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: friendliness

Disliked: nothing special

37.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

31 May 2013

Liked: toilet is clean. room was warm. free wifi.

Disliked: breakfast was terrible. furniture was in bad state (difficulty opening closets and doors). soap dispenser could not dispense soap. housekeeping did not include vacuuming rooms. fire alarm rang for 2 out of 3 nights stayed.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

18 May 2013

Liked: quiet at night(very nice to sleep well), and there is a park very near(right across the road) from hotel.

Disliked: location(from edinbourgh station, 20mins, by bus(1.5 pound))

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Annie Jordan

With my spouse / partner

City break

07 April 2013 Annie would recommend this property

Liked: it was quite and comfortable. No curfue as front door key was also your room key ( special kind ) continental breakfast buffet was standard but one was able to stock up for a good day of walking etc. tv in room and free wifi. Bathroom was clean and shower powerfull. Would most likely stay again.

Disliked: Annie left no negative feedback.

34.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

kevin jones

As a family with children

Visiting friends or family

05 September 2012

Liked: nothing

Disliked: already said in previous section. we didn't even stay for the breakfast.couldn't wait to get out.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

31 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It has beautiful view on the park. The hotel is located in, let's say, stylish bulding. The interior of it is nice and sunny. It has great location in the meaning that you have a quiet of suburbs and good comunication of a city. Everywhere is near in fact, even by walk. It takes half an hour or little more.

Disliked: Well, I do not have any comments :)

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

30 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was fine, was very clean and our room was beautiful in general. The atmosphere was nice,made you feel like at home.

Disliked: The staff was average, they weren't rude but they also weren't super nice, the view from our window was showing garbage outside and another building roof.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

26 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff was SO nice! great!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

katie shemwell

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

29 February 2012 katie would recommend this property

Liked: Cheap and good value for what it is. Perfect for us...

Disliked: Needs a full breakfast in the morning. (I'm on holiday)

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Renee Michaud

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

27 February 2012 Renee would recommend this property

Liked: Everything was very clean and comfortable. You could tell that it had been recently renovated and it looked good. I would stay there again.

Disliked: The room was a little small and the shower is a bit crazy but neither of those were dealbreakers.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

mahnaz esmaeilzadeh

With friends / other travellers

Relaxation/spa

22 January 2012 mahnaz would recommend this property

Liked: facilities and nice staff

Disliked: mahnaz left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Graham Clark

Alone

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

12 October 2011 Graham would recommend this property

Liked: I was able to leave my car outside and use the bus, just a few mins from city centre. There is free on street parking and free wi-fi. The place was very clean, and staff were friendly. Breakfast was mainly just cofffee, cereal and toast, nothing cooked, but enough for me. Leith is a good location to stay, with plenty of shops, pubs and restaurants and easy access to the city centre.

Disliked: My room was at the front and had some noise from traffic, but not enough to keep me awake.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

19 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location. Value for money.

Disliked: Hot water not all day.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

05 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very friendly staff

Disliked: staff did not accept mail that was addressed to us despite prior confirmation via email

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

maureen neilsen

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

14 June 2011 maureen would recommend this property

Liked: the staff were fantastic,nothing was too much trouble,extened our stay by another week,location perfect peaceful and quiet,room huge loved it

Disliked: nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

17 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Price was good, could walk into city centre,everything worked well. 24 hour hot water. Secure parking, very good breakfast included.

Disliked: very little

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Relaxation/spa

03 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cameron was helpful, knowledgeable about the area and cheerful.

Disliked: Smokers on the front door steps. When the catering staff were also seen smoking on the doorstep the question of hygenie had to be considered.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

24 April 2011

Liked: ...the bed was confortable..

Disliked: i had to wait a lot of time for breakfast and later breakfast ws shit. The second day dont change towells and nothing but i am paying the same.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

25 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: Facilities

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Matthew Cox

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

07 October 2010 Matthew would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, large clean room & bathroom. Easy bus access to town, train & coach station.

Disliked: The included breakfast was limited. With one tea/coffee, 2 slices of pre cooked toast, cereal, juice & yogurt.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

28 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Wifi in room, plenty on offer for breakfast, large, clean, spacious room with en-suite bathroom

Disliked: none