HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Herald House Hotel

2 star Hotel | 70-72 Grove Street, Edinburgh, Scotland EH3 8AP

86.7% Overall Rating

41 out of 43 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (14/10/2012)

Aleksandra Paprotny thinks…

"very friendly, nice and helpful staff; good location; quiet and calm place (however a bit noisy if you have a room with a window to the street); clean place; kettle + mugs in the room."

Read all Herald House Hotel reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Cot / crib

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Edinburgh?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Edinburgh

Brooks Hotel
57.30 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
City Centre Hostel
58.13 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Edinburgh Mansion Festival Hostel
66.43 USD

Hostel 67.0% 23 reviews
Light House Hostel
19.93 USD

Hostel 94.9% 169 reviews
Boutique Backpackers
14.95 USD

Hostel 71.1% 56 reviews
Summer Hostels Canal Point
548.55 USD

Apartment 87.2% 39 reviews
Phoenix West Princes Street
24.91 USD

Hostel 85.7% 6 reviews
The Hostel
14.95 USD

Hostel 77.1% 1132 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
86.7%

Overall Rating

41 out of 43 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Herald House Hotel'

Atmosphere
81.6%
Location
80.0%
Facilities
88.0%
Cleanliness
90.4%
Staff
97.6%
Value
80.0%
Safety
89.6%
Refine your results Showing 33 of 37 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Events / festivals

21 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: All of above were excellent.

Disliked: No adverse comments.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Aleksandra Paprotny

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

14 October 2012 Aleksandra would recommend this property

Liked: very friendly, nice and helpful staff; good location; quiet and calm place (however a bit noisy if you have a room with a window to the street); clean place; kettle + mugs in the room.

Disliked: only one small detail: PCs for guests could be "cleaned" from time to time, as they run very slowly and not support some browsers.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

vera schieren

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

07 May 2012 vera would recommend this property

Liked: great

Disliked: vera left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Andrea Cohane

Alone

Business / conference

15 April 2012 Andrea would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were incredibly friendly and helpful. The location was in walking distance to the Grassmarket area, and the Royal Mile. The hotel and rooms were very clean, and the room service was very prompt.

Disliked: The decor was a bit outdated.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Graham Clark

Alone

City break

23 December 2011 Graham would recommend this property

Liked: This was my second stay at Herald House. I had booked a single room, but was given a good spacious double at at the single rate. The hotel was clean and comfortable, and the staff friendly and helpful. A cooked breakfast with a good choice, now becoming a rarity at budget hotels in Edinburgh. This hotel deserves more than two stars.

Disliked: My room was at the front and there was some noise from traffic and passers by.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Matthew Bryant

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

02 November 2011 Matthew would recommend this property

Liked: Great breakfast included! Staff were very informative & helpful

Disliked: For the cost the rooms are a bit older / run-down. Plastic plants out the window aren't a good look!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

26 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The breakfast, and the attitute of staff towards clients

Disliked: In their advert, internet was free but when I got there I was told if I needed inernet service i had to pay for it

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals
Family Holiday
Visiting friends or family

10 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: My room was clean and comfortable, had all that I needed, and the staff were pleasant, and helpful. Breakfast was very good too!

Disliked: The price....£96 for 1 night was as least £40 too much...although I understand that it is Edinburgh's peak season!

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

02 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The breakfast

Disliked: thin walls

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Nathalie Vlckova

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Family Holiday
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

12 April 2011 Nathalie would recommend this property

Liked: The staff and the location.

Disliked: The halls are really small and it is too expensive for what it offers. But it was really good.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

31 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything was as described on the website! Very good!

Disliked: Nothing.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

30 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I really enjoyed staying at this hotel. The staff was very friendly and helpful and the rooms were nice and clean. The breakfast was great! The walk to the Royal Mile took about 15-20 min which was a little inconvenient, but a taxi ride was very cheap. The bus station to the airport was a short walk away. This hotel had a nice atmosphere and I would definitely stay here again! More so a hotel than a hostel. If you are looking for a nice and quiet place to stay, this is it. There weren't a lot of people hanging around, so if you are looking to meet people and party then this is probably not the place for you.

Disliked: The only thing was that it was a bit of a walk to attractions. I visited in the winter so the walk was not ideal. Summer probably would be fine though.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals

06 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The reception staff were helpful and friendly

Disliked: The bed had no sheets just a quilt and a blanket that I am sure do not get washed between guest stays.....a litlle unhygenic!!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

10 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, good value for money and hearty breakfast

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

21 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good value for money, clean and safe

Disliked: -

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

17 February 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Freundlichkeit aller Hotelmitarbeitergemütliche BettenKaffeeautomat zum Frühstück

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

08 February 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very good value for money!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

10 January 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good value for money including buffet breakfast.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

04 January 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We had a comfortable double room with a tiny ensuite. It was clean and a great place to stay. Princess street was about 15 minutes walk and Edinburgh castle about 10

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

04 January 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location and staff were the best thing. the room was a bit cold and next door to the staff cleaning room so a bit noisy in the mornings.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

03 January 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Kindness

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

15 September 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: more of a hotel service and awesome breakfast, excellent

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

23 August 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Stayed in the hotel for one night as we were going to a gig at the Fringe in the evening. Staff were very helpful - gave us directions of how to get to Grassmarket etc. It is very good value for one night's stay. Would go back again.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

27 June 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location near railway stationFriendliness of staff

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

06 June 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I found the hostel to be the best I stayed at during my travels through the UK. Service was great, front desk was very helpful to a traveler in a foreign country and the breakfast was great.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.