We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Porto hostels
See all Porto hotels

Reviews of Hotel Rex

2 star Hotel | Praça da Républica 117, Porto, Portugal 4050-497

85.0% Overall Rating

446 out of 480 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (17/02/2014)

"honest description about the hotel. no bad surprises. price of a hostal and quality of hotel! there are a lot of free public parking during the weekends infront of the hotel in case you have a car. but if you prefer,…"

Read all Hotel Rex reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Fax
  • Laundry service
  • Wake-up calls
  • Bar(s)
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Pets allowed
  • Television room
  • Cot / crib

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 4.43

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

**Parking is EUR 5 per day

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Porto?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Porto

Oporto Sky Hostel
15.18 USD

Hostel 96.5% 267 reviews
Mira Daire Residencial Hotel
88.55 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Gz Hostel
18.98 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Residencial Marfim
15.81 USD

Guesthouse 78.4% 9 reviews
Eden House | Porto Hostel
11.39 USD

Hostel 90.1% 216 reviews
Paraíso Apartament
15.81 USD

Apartment 86.7% 3 reviews
Look at Me Lofts&Studios
12.35 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Living Almada Apartments Porto
18.98 USD

Apartment Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/11/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/11/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
85.0%

Overall Rating

446 out of 480 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hotel Rex'

Atmosphere
83.2%
Location
84.0%
Facilities
75.2%
Cleanliness
84.8%
Staff
93.6%
Value
91.2%
Safety
83.2%
Refine your results Showing 287 of 329 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

Business / conference
Family Holiday

05 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Large rooms Location Family friendly Athmosferic Transport links

Disliked: Breakfast is expensive by Portuguese standards Minibar didn´t work Satff somking at the entrance shower run hot or cold

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

17 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: honest description about the hotel. no bad surprises. price of a hostal and quality of hotel! there are a lot of free public parking during the weekends infront of the hotel in case you have a car. but if you prefer, they have their own parking 5 euros per day. restaurants, cafeterias and supermarket in the same block. clean, big, tidy bedroom. very helpfull recepcionist.

Disliked: a bit far from the tourist points if you wish just to walk, but manageable.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Artur Swiatek

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

06 May 2013 Artur would recommend this property

Liked: excellent rooms and very friendly staff

Disliked: there is no kitchen

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Karel Hudec

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

15 September 2012 Karel would recommend this property

Liked: Old-style building and furniture.

Disliked: Karel left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

04 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: wonderful and large rooms and very friendly staff. parking near the hotel.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

05 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was extremely helpful and the location ist phenomenal. It has a high value for its price.

Disliked: The Hotel is quite old and the rooms don`t leave the best impression.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

17 June 2012

Liked: The location was fine.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

28 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great place and view. It was very clean. Breakfast (yummy!) was included. Man at the reception was very friendly and could really speak english, german and spanish, what was very helpfull.

Disliked: None

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

21 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is very good. The room we had was spacious and clean (it was cleaned daily, in fact we could not stop them from changing the towels). The breakfast was included and it was enough to keep you full until lunch, even if it did not have a great variety. Altogether it was excellent value for money.

Disliked: Our room was located right near the entrance and overlooking the street, so it was quite noisy at times, either from incoming neighbours or from the passing cars.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

17 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I like everything about it!The stuff is really helpful and kind,the rooms are enormous and clean,bathroom too.Everything was exellent!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

19 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Sehr cooles Ambiente

Disliked: Ûnbequeme Betten

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

21 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The building is an old house (XIX c.) and the inside decoration takes you to the atmosphere of XIX c.

Disliked: the localization is far from the railway station

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

24 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: An interesting property - probably not for everyone due to it's antique look. Breakfast was simple with tasty fresh rolls and croissants. The staff were very helpful and allowed me to print my airline boarding pass and also offered to mail my postcards when I asked about stamps (it was a saturday and he thought I might not be able to find somewhere selling stamps before I took my flight.) They also solved a problem with my room quickly when I told them about it (a shower head that broke when it fell to the floor of the bath).

Disliked: My room was one of the basement rooms (at the front of the property). The basement has a slight musty/damp smell that the lobby doesn't have, but I didn't find this a big problem. I am a tall person and was just able to open/close the window and the shutters as I wished. A shorter person would struggle to do this which could be a problem.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

11 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: ambiance location cleanliness and price

Disliked: breakfast. lack of variety

65.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Timothy Dart

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

07 July 2011

Liked: clean sheets/towels every day. very quiet and peaceful.

Disliked: all the power points in the room were permanently covered up to prevent use apart from the one pretty much on the ceiling which was for the TV. this is ridiculous. // wifi was an absolute joke, it was flat out even loading a single web page (and this counts for the computer terminal that you must pay to use also) // staff weren't very helpful (couldn't even provide a map, or directions to/recommendations of local services/facilities - but they were quite happy to try and get you to drink at their "bar" instead) // breakfast was crap - not even a toaster was provided // we had 3 of our 5 nights where there was nothing but cold water between 5pm and 11pm, and when asked the staff pretended to care by saying it will be fixed in 10 minutes, when clearly they weren't doing anything. // DON'T STAY HERE! EVEN IF YOU WANT THE HOTEL FEEL FOR A CHEAPER PRICE, JUST GET A PRIVATE ROOM WITH AN ENSUITE AT A HOSTEL, YOU WILL BE LOOKED AFTER BETTER AND THE FACILITIES WILL MORE THAN LIKELY BE FAR BETTER THAN THIS HOLE!

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping

20 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Best price/quality ever. Staff extremelly kind. Location is not in the center but really close to the most importatn(with the most conections) metro station (Trinidade). Of course is not a five stars but if you are looking for a cheap decent hotel, this is the place.

Disliked: Well, it was much better than I was expecting for the price, you must know that is not a five stars hotel but it was quite ok.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Romantic getaway

30 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: lovely staff

Disliked: our room woz below living room where all ppl going that way for breakfast so we could heard everything, also lots of noises from outside because we woz located on first floor which woz a ground floor

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

26 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The ceiling.

Disliked: The fact that we chose 1 big bed on hostelbookers.com, but they gave us 2 single beds together.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Sightseeing & culture

26 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: A very artistic hotel.

Disliked: A little bit of walking from the river to the hotel.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Aurimas Butkevicius

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

21 April 2011 Aurimas would recommend this property

Liked: Nice place, clean room, good location, friendly stuff

Disliked: none

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

09 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was nice and kind. The breakfast was tasty. The room and bathroom was clean. There wasn't any noise from the street (room in the 4th floor). Wifi was OK. The A/C worked - for heatig well (we stayed there in December). I can recommend.

Disliked: May be the locaiton, but finaly it wasn't so bad as we expected.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

anni yu

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

29 November 2010 anni would recommend this property

Liked: A very good and comfortable place to stay in Porto. Great breakfast and nice atmosphere.

Disliked: anni left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

As a family with children

City break

15 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: L'hôtel est bien situé : l'accès au centre ville (vieux Porto) peut se faire à pied & les transports en commun dont la ligne E du métro (Aéroport- stade foot) sont à proximité.Les chambres sont immenses & ont été aménagées dans une sorte de palais. Les plafonds moulurés valent le coup d'oeil...Le linge est changé tous les jours & le ménage fait quotidiennement.

Disliked: Les sanitaires sont un peu vieillots mais très propres. Les pièces sont tellement volumineuses qu'elles sont difficiles à chauffer. (en novembre!)

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture
Romantic getaway

15 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very good value for money!

Disliked: /

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

14 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Personal muy amable, buen precio, excelente desayuno, acogedor, bien situado

Disliked: habitacion cerca de la calle y por tanto expuesta al ruido....


See all Porto hostels
See all Porto hotels