HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Hostel Cocosbeach

Hotel | av.larco 1500 huanchaco, Trujillo, Peru 044

82.2% Overall Rating

37 out of 44 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (14/12/2013)

Tatsiana Lapata thinks…

"The location is good, near the main street and ocean, it is easy to find. Clean and big room, friendly staff speaking in English."

Read all Hostel Cocosbeach reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Currency Exchange
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 7.00
  • Breakfast USD 2.00
  • Towel USD 1.50

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Trujillo?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Trujillo

B&B Orrego
14.00 USD

Hostel 45.7% 3 reviews
Residencial Munaywasi
13.00 USD

Guesthouse 91.1% 64 reviews
Portada del Sol
21.70 USD

Hostel 73.3% 6 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/08/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/08/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
82.2%

Overall Rating

37 out of 44 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostel Cocosbeach'

Atmosphere
69.6%
Location
82.4%
Facilities
75.2%
Cleanliness
84.8%
Staff
88.0%
Value
86.4%
Safety
88.8%
Refine your results Showing 38 of 44 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tatsiana Lapata

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

14 December 2013 Tatsiana would recommend this property

Liked: The location is good, near the main street and ocean, it is easy to find. Clean and big room, friendly staff speaking in English.

Disliked: On weekends there is a little bit noisy.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Agnieszka Maria Urbas

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

14 December 2013 Agnieszka Maria would recommend this property

Liked: The location of the hostel is awesome! Directly at the most beautiful beach, you only have to cross the street to get to the beach. The rooms are nice, well equipped and very clean. The bathroom has hot water and is really nice. There is also very good internet access in the room. My room had a TV and a table, yes and generally I was very happy with the room! For peruvian standards (and I have visited a lot of peruvian cities now as I travelled all over Perú in the last weeks) it is a very nice and clean room :) I liked it! I also appreciated how helpful and friendly the staff was. They always tood their time to answer all my questions and help me with whatever help I needed. There are also a lot of surfing schools around, a lot of other hostels and restaurants. Everything you need is around.

Disliked: The food in the restaurant is bad and there is no vegetarian food at all. But there are a lot of restaurants around (even one vegetarian only 3 min. walking away) so this was not a real problem for me.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Cecile Van Thiel

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 November 2013 Cecile would recommend this property

Liked: It was quite

Disliked: Cecile left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

cassidy dellorto-blackwell

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

23 September 2013 cassidy would recommend this property

Liked: The place is pretty nice and quiet. I think we were the only people there. It´s set kind of down the beach away from where most of the hostels are and there isn´t much going on around there. It worked for us for a night and they held onto our bags until we caught a night bus outta town.

Disliked: There was a little confusion about breakfast prices, but it was fine. Also, my friend had her laundry done and it came back not really clean, but they washed it again at no charge.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

gaston delucca

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

11 June 2013 gaston would recommend this property

Liked: near the beach, tv, wifi.

Disliked: no much people i his moment of the year, but is the same for all the town

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

18 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: That it is located opposite the beach

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Sightseeing & culture

24 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great cheap place, friendly staff, nice beds.

Disliked: a bit of a walk down the beach but not terribly far I guess. rooftop needs more chairs. This is not really a party hostel.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nghia Truong

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

06 December 2012 Nghia would recommend this property

Liked: Listen to the waves. Location: away from the noisy touristic chaos. Clean, simple rooms. The owner speaks fluent English (better than me) and he is resourceful in guiding the surrounding places.

Disliked: This place is like a guesthouse with no common areas. The main floor is used as a restaurant/ bar and guests stay in rooms on the second and third floors.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

12 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff are very helpful and friendly. Its location on the beach is fantastic, and the dorm rooms, complete with cable TV,Wifi, and private bathrooms, were very good.

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

28 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent staff - went way above and beyond trying to help us with travel arrangments, local information, taxis. Plus heaps of assistance when we lost our passports. Private room comfortable and clean, shower always hot, free towels, internet is good and you can access in the rooms not just common areas. You can hear the waves at night too which is nice. Not far from restaurants and bars.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff are very helpful and friendly. Its location on the beach is fantastic, and the dorm rooms, complete with cable TV and private bathrooms, were very good.

Disliked: Unfortunately you have to pay 5s/ for breakfast which is just the standard bread and jam affair, and there is no kitchen to cook your own food. However there are plenty of restaurants about.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

17 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was very friendly and helpful, the location at the beach but still close to Trujillo with public transport, free Internet service and the terrace with the beautiful view

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

02 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: clean, convenient, on the beach, good food

Disliked: no cover on the duvet

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

08 February 2012

Liked: location and private bathroom adjoining the dorms.

Disliked: This hostels appears to be quite uncomfortable. there aren´t any lookers and the breakfast, which is not included, is not so good.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Leigh Henderson

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

11 January 2012 Leigh would recommend this property

Liked: Good location away from main area. Good price, nice clean beds, good view from balcony and the staff were very friendly and helpful

Disliked: not much, bathroom could have been cleaned more often, but the rest of accomadation was fine

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

05 August 2011

Liked: Wifi ih the room.

Disliked: Had a strange feeling to the place. There was a soccer team staying while we were there and they were very noisy. The shower was luke warm at best.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

June Arber

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 August 2011 June would recommend this property

Liked: This is not a backpackers hostel. This is a guest house run by a Peruvian family. I loved the tranquility and being able to hear the waves from my bedroom. There is a great terrace for relaxing overlooking the sea. So far it is my favourite place I have stayed but that is personal taste. If you want the full on backpacker party vibe then this won't be for you.

Disliked: Nothing and I do wonder what some people expect for the their 10 bucks. Oh and I am NOT a novice traveller! ;)

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing

16 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the big balcony

Disliked: no room with a view to the beach, difficult door to open and loud

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Brian Twigger

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

24 May 2011 Brian would recommend this property

Liked: Carlos and his family and staff run an excellent hostal. Large clean rooms, excellent food and a well stocked drinks fridge. Carlos is a mine of useful local information, including tours of the local archaeological treasures. Nothing is too much trouble.

Disliked: No complaints at all.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Brian Crooke

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Romantic getaway

12 May 2011 Brian would recommend this property

Liked: Great balcony with view of the sea. May as well have been a private balcony as there was no one else using it. We stayed for a week and the owner had no problem allowing us check out at 8 pm on our final day before we caught a night bus to Lima

Disliked: Nothing....it's nice and quiet but that's a good thing in my opinion

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

30 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: cable tv, nice staff, good beds, good value

Disliked: some wrong informations by the owner, location not so good, expensive breakfast

40.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

Chris Frampton

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

22 April 2011

Liked: Very little

Disliked: Pretty much everything

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 February 2011

Liked: The terrace overlooks the sea,so good for sunsets.

Disliked: I didn`t like the dorm room-the decor was very dated and it is literally just a few beds. The bathroom wasn`t very well cleaned. I didn`t get the friendliest of welcomes when I arrived, but most of the staff are actually helpful and friendly. I just didn`t click with the atmosphere of the hostel unfortunately.

25.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Romantic getaway

17 February 2011

Liked: Um.....nothing springs to mind, ooo actually leaving.

Disliked: 1) The room was very shabby and unclean we found a dirty stain on one of the bed sheets (a raised stain) 2) The toilet door was faulty (which the hostel owner denied) and resulted in one member of our party becoming stuck for over an hour. 3) Dirty Sock in shower 4) When we complained we had to insist on a new room and the staff were very rude/unhelpful 5) No toilet paper

The property's response is...

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

23 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Was on the beach front, has a nice terrace and the chaps are flexible and helpful. Room was big if a bit basic, bathroom reasonable size with decent water pressure.

Disliked: Very quiet. Room not cleaned during the stay so we had to leave the bin outside the door. No duvet cover but we just used our sleeping bags.