We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Piura hostels

Reviews of Hotel San José

2 star Hotel | Av. Grau 1737, Piura, Peru --

75.8% Overall Rating

34 out of 45 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (01/09/2014)

Stefan Krieger thinks…

"It was the cheapest option in the area. Ere was cable TV and the showers had hot water. They serve a breakfast."

Read all Hotel San José reviews

Facilities

  • Car Parking
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 4.00

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Piura?

Contact us directly

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 19/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 19/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
75.8%

Overall Rating

34 out of 45 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hotel San José'

Atmosphere
64.8%
Location
69.6%
Facilities
73.6%
Cleanliness
78.4%
Staff
84.8%
Value
71.2%
Safety
88.0%
Refine your results Showing 30 of 35 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Stefan Krieger

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

01 September 2014 Stefan would recommend this property

Liked: It was the cheapest option in the area. Ere was cable TV and the showers had hot water. They serve a breakfast.

Disliked: The room is not really comfortable, it all feels a little dusty. It gets noisy in the night. They tried to charge us more on arrival, even though we presented the confirmation of hostelbookers.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

23 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Helpful staff, offers laundry services, and secure.

Disliked: No air conditioning, but there's a fan. Breakfast is average for hostel.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Fred Crouch

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

28 May 2014 Fred would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were brilliant, they could not do enough for you. They go out of their way to make sure everything is ok. 10/10

Disliked: NADA.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Constantin Lozhkin

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break

07 April 2014

Liked: Friendly staff. Not left without breakfast, although I came after. Pretty clean room.

Disliked: Not Specified true location on the map. It is 2 times farther from the airport. Although the address is correct. Shabby room, although quite clean. At first I was charged the full amount for the room, not including paid an advance on HostelBookers.com. The morning after my treatment I returned the overpaid amount. Accommodation could be cheaper.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

26 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Only stayed one night, but the owner was very helpful, helped us book our bus tickets, wifi was very good and there is a tv in the room. Had free water.

Disliked: Breakfast was very average, one scrambled egg with one bread bun.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Thomas Hoffmann

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

17 October 2013 Thomas would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly staff. Made us breakfast one hour after the official breakfast time and helped us with the bus connection.

Disliked: It was very loud in the morning (8 am), which sounded like cleaning.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Jennifer Klein

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

29 September 2013 Jennifer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean and comfortable beds; We arrived at 10PM and left at 6:30AM, and the front desk guy asked us when we'd like to have our breakfast. I thought surely we couldn't have it at 6AM, but he said "No problem!" I was thrilled to get to take advantage of the free breakfast before we had to head out again. There is a delicous, cheap Chinese place across the street that was packed at 10:30PM on an Saturday night. Close (5 minutes) to where most of the buses arrive; Taxi to airport was 10 soles and took around 20 minutes.

Disliked: Shower could have been warmer; Instant coffee

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

James Smith

Alone

Work / volunteering

17 March 2013

Liked: Breakfast was good.

Disliked: I booked a Single with private bathroom for one night for $25 and paid a 10% deposit. But when I arrived at Hotel San Jose at 12 Noon the day I was to check in, I was shown instead to a room containing two double beds. The manager told me later that a group of Canadian students had checked in and scooped up all the single rooms with private baths, hence the hotel’s upgrade for me to a larger room. But when I returned to the desk to pay the $22.50 I still owed on my bill, the manager told me I would be charged 70 soles because of the ‘upgrade’ and that I should be grateful because my room usually cost 100 soles. I disputed the higher fee. I had booked a single private just the night before and paid 10% down and if the hotel management saw fit to give my single room away to someone else, then I should not be charged for any upgrade. I had not requested an upgrade, and my single room should have been ready and waiting for me. Finally the manager said she would charge me just the $22.50 I owed, but to show her vindictiveness she told me she was going to disconnect the AC from my room. Which she did within 10 minutes of my returning to the room. So I was stuck in an uncomfortably hot, stuffy room the entire night. Not even a room fan. Thumbs down on Hotel San Jose.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Mojca Fakin

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

09 January 2013 Mojca would recommend this property

Liked: nice clean and quite okay positioned.

Disliked: would prefer being closer to the center

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

02 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This property is now a hotel, no longer a hostel. But we got in for the hostel price and also got free breakfast included! Staff are helpful and really friendly. Good breakfast and terrific natural Peruvian coffee. Wow.

Disliked: Nothing not to like.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

09 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Such great and friendly staff. The rooms were complete and comfortable.

Disliked: It's quite far from the airport and bus terminal.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Extremely friendly and helpful staff and great location.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Shannon Ryan

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Romantic getaway
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

06 December 2011

Liked: it seemed secure, the room was large enough for two people (which some aren't even if they are said to for two people)

Disliked: it was loud, on a bad side of town, the receptionist couldn't find our booking and i'm pretty sure we saw a couple leave the room we were given.. because we had to wait 10 minutes for him to "clean up"

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Michael COLE

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday

11 November 2011 Michael would recommend this property

Liked: I thought the staff were very friendly and helpfull. The rooms were very clean and the hot water was nice.

Disliked: We could not use our wifi for some reason.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Christopher Crawford

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 November 2011 Christopher would recommend this property

Liked: Bathroom was very clean. Staff in the morning were very friendly and helpful. Made sure I got in a taxi outside when I left.

Disliked: It was a bit far to walk anywhere however it was easy enough to get a

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Easy to find.

Disliked: ...

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Yanick Delafoge

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

24 September 2011 Yanick would recommend this property

Liked: Good for one night stay. Good internet connection.

Disliked: A bit far from downtown.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Emma McIntosh

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

25 August 2011 Emma would recommend this property

Liked: Very helpful and lovely staff. A very good breakfast!

Disliked: It was quite far out of town but perfect for us as we were just stopping over for one night before crossing the border to Ecuador.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Zachary Bailey

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

27 July 2011 Zachary would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was very helpful.

Disliked: It was a short taxi ride for plaza de armas.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

17 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Property was extremely clean and the staff very friendly and helpful. We had an amazing breakfast in the morning which was included in the price. The staff were friendly booking our taxi to the bus station. We happened to arrive just as a convention was about to start. The women who we met were very curious about our time in Peru and were also very friendly. All in all a very friendly place.

Disliked: n/a

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Sebastien Aymeric

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

11 April 2011 Sebastien would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly staff who went out of their way to help us out with printing bus tickets.

Disliked: The place lacks charm but has all the basics and staff make up for it.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Deborah Melnik

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

01 April 2011 Deborah would recommend this property

Liked: Marcia and her sister are lovel ladies who run this place - very helpful and accomodating. Simple place, clean and close to everything. Restaurants next door and across the street - walking distance to downtown attractions.

Disliked: All good.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

16 January 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: An OK hostel, but a bit far from the centre of the town

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

21 June 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Safe place to stay in a rough looking town. Owner was very helpful and friendly.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Jack Buchanan

12 September 2008 Jack would recommend this property

Liked: Really helpful and friendly couple that runs it!

Disliked: Jack left no negative feedback.


See all Piura hostels