HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Huaraz hostels

Reviews of Alpes Huaraz

Hotel | Jr. Ladislao Meza ·112, Huaraz, Peru -

87.7% Overall Rating

38 out of 43 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (11/07/2014)

"Nice little garden area and bar. We stayed in 6 bed dorm that was a good size with ensuite. They have lockers that fit a small day sack. Incredibly friendly and helpful staff too."

Read all Alpes Huaraz reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Huaraz?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Huaraz

Albergue Churup Hostel
60.00 USD

Hostel 93.7% 20 reviews
La Casa de Zarela
15.00 USD

Guesthouse 86.4% 4 reviews
Olaza's Guest House
19.00 USD

Guesthouse 92.9% 51 reviews
HOTEL GALAXIA
11.00 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
Andes Warak
12.99 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Hatun Wasi Hostel
9.00 USD

Hostel 87.8% 32 reviews
Hostal Quintana
15.00 USD

Guesthouse 74.9% 5 reviews
Andescamp Lodge
7.50 USD

Apartment 76.6% 5 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
87.7%

Overall Rating

38 out of 43 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Alpes Huaraz'

Atmosphere
84.0%
Location
87.2%
Facilities
85.6%
Cleanliness
85.6%
Staff
89.6%
Value
88.0%
Safety
93.6%
Refine your results Showing 38 of 42 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

11 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice little garden area and bar. We stayed in 6 bed dorm that was a good size with ensuite. They have lockers that fit a small day sack. Incredibly friendly and helpful staff too.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

18 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good breaky and hang out area

Disliked: Not a massive fan on the tours they sell - no English spoken & a lot of shopping/restaurant filler with not a lot of time on location

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Yuval Shamir

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

22 May 2014 Yuval would recommend this property

Liked: The breakfast and the private rooms.

Disliked: 20 seconds of uphill..

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

19 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It has a beatiful garden, its neatly arranged.

Disliked: It has a bar that becomes very loud in nights. There are at least 6 or 7 people on reception at any time and that's really annoying, but only two or three speak english. At the time we were there an elder lady came and started telling us, the guest, what to do in the common room. Also her husband was pretty annoying and at the end the receptionist aked me to pay for all things that I've payed to all the other employees. They obviously are just spending time there and waiting for money to come. I really had a negative experience and if I ever again visit Peru, this hostel won't see me again.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

17 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: friendly staff, nice patio area, cutest cats

Disliked: Our private room was in the patio area which made it kinda loud at night when people rang the bell and got in late. The kitchen is very small, not too well equipped and a little filthy.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Alison krafen

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

07 October 2013 Alison would recommend this property

Liked: nice chill out for a few days or even for a month or more. The staff here is great, especially Dany and Robert, always helpful and nice. They are used to receiving trekkers so when you leave for a few days, you can always arrange to come back at the hostel afterwars. No problem! The courtyard is convivial, and the terrasse on top gives you an amazing view of Huaraz and the mountains surronding the city. You also have access to WIFI, computers, a laundry service and to a nice kitchen.

Disliked: some traveller are no to nice

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Comfy beds, hot showers and the staff are really helpful with info and booking tours. I was ill during my stay and they even offered to drive me to the hospital clinic.

Disliked: Kitchen is small and not very well equiped. The fridge for guest use is in the bar/lounge area 2 floors below the kitchen.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

18 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked that it was about a five minute walk from the main streets as it was nice and quiet. Breakfast was okay and you could add eggs for cheap but the service was super slow as they were full. Younger son who works the days (and speaks the best English) was really helpful. Booked tours to Chavin, Laguna 69 and glacier tour all with their office and prices were fair. Water was super hot as well. All in all, it was nice.

Disliked: Only one of the staff speaks English thoroughly. The Dad (who has the night shift) accused us of leaving without paying when we were going on our Laguna 69 tour early in the morning. I explained that we we returning and spending another night which resolved it but him shining his head torch (the power was out) in my face like an interrogation was not appreciated at all.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

michael moore

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

23 June 2013 michael would recommend this property

Liked: hostal very clean, quiet, the owners can help you a lot for doing trekking and everything. I terasa, internet free, hot water 24h, bar, kitchen, video cinema, agency de treking. You will have fun in this place and you should comming here.

Disliked: iam traveling and having fun !! I cant be to fussy when the service is all right

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

richard fox

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 June 2013 richard would recommend this property

Liked: what can you ask better for 20 soles dorm ,good breacfast ,comfortable and clean bed,hot shower and the most important nice and reliable people ..... they even helpme to get my new passport and they call to my embasy for me

Disliked: thank you to the stuff

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

thalia erdan

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

23 June 2013 thalia would recommend this property

Liked: When I asked around in Lima where to stay in this Huaraz area, more than a few people recommended H0stal Alpes Huaraz. I took their advice and was extremely glad that I did. The proprietors and staff were extremely friendly and helpful regarding the surrounding areas and what to do (mountain biking, camping, hiking), and I could tell that they genuinely cared about my comfort. They even have gear for you to rent for your excursions. I especially enjoyed the living room/hangout/fireplace area, which made me feel like I was in someone's home, in what is called "The Alps of Peru." Only stayed a few days, but next time I will stay longer.

Disliked: some other guests in the hostel are dont clean up after they use the kitchen

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

kayla morrow

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

23 June 2013 kayla would recommend this property

Liked: Really comfortable beds, nice little garden, breakfast included and everything for a good price. Just a 5 minute walk from the main square. There is an agency in the hostel which offers tours for good prices. For sure the best place to go when you are in Huaraz!

Disliked: they wrer to nice

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

10 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Breakfast was good. Coffee, juice, bread, tea,... was all fine. Recomendations/Help to book tours.

Disliked: You should ask if the tour is definitely booked. Stayed at 6.00 a.m. at the reception without tour :/

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

26 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good breakfast. Helpful staff. After we did the Santa Cruz trek we were able to wait in the hostel until our bus and also use the shower facilities ( 5soles with towel provided).

Disliked: Kitchen for guest use is very small and not very well equipped. We also booked our santa cruz trek with them and while we really enjoyed it there were a couple of things that were a bit annoying. Mainly the fact that we were promised an English speaking guide but as 8 of the 10 people in our group were going on horseback instead if hiking, the guide stayed with them the whole time. We did the trekking either with the chef ( who while really nice and helpful, had little English) or on our own after being told to just follow another group to show us the way by our guide. The guide also left a night early as those on horseback were on a three day trip whereas we were four. He also assured us before he left that we would still be picked up and dropped back to the hostel after the trek. This turned out to be untrue as the chef later told us we would have to get public transport back. Luckily we ended up hitching a ride back to town with one of the other tours but I was still annoyed at the fact we had essentially been left there.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

19 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The beds are comfortable, it is located reasonably centrally and the hostal is nice. The people running the hostal are friendly and helpful. We booked the Laguna 69 tour with the hostal and had a good day. They only provide transport but in my opinion it would be difficult to get there independently. The trail is easy to follow and you don't need a guide.

Disliked: The breakfast is poor - a couple of pieces of stale bread with a scraping of butter/ jam and one cup of coffee. Not unusual in South America, but this was one of the worse ones.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

09 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were very helpful and the prices they offered for tours were very similar to other tour office prices. Very good breakfast and only a few extra sole if you wanted eggs with it. Kitchen is well equiped although a bit small.

Disliked: They have a really nice bar, but doesn´t fulfil it´s potential. You have to go to find someone to buy a drink, cos noone is ever behind the bar and the fridge is not turn on, so the beer is not cold. It could be a really nice place to hang out after a hard day´s hike if the managment utilised it more. The staff are very helpful but a little bit too serious.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Olivia Cocker

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

03 May 2013 Olivia would recommend this property

Liked: Really clean, great breakfast and helpful staff.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

David Roberts

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

30 April 2013 David would recommend this property

Liked: The location. Central but away from noise of the busy streets. The staff were very friendly, with nothing too much trouble. They made it a welcoming place,somewhere you would recommend to anyone. The breakfast is substantial, the water always hot (make sure you turn on the hot water fully as powered by gas) and the place immaculate. They can arrange pretty much any tour you might want to do and offer advice. I asked about a 1day trip at 9pm during the staff´s dinner and they enquired and confirmed the trip within 20mins. Finally,again, the staff are so friendly and helpful, that I wish I was staying longer!

Disliked: Nothing.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Perucha Hutagaol

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

16 April 2013 Perucha would recommend this property

Liked: I have been traveling for 2 months in Peru, and Alpes Huaraz is the best hostel in Peru! The room is clean, the bed is comfy, shower is hot. There's TV with cable in the room, real outside window, and free excellent breakfast! The staffs are friendly and helpful, especially Roberto. It's really worth the value!

Disliked: The road to the hostel is steep. It's quite tiring to "climb", especially Huaraz is located at 3100 masl.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

25 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location a few minutes walk to bus terminals and town centre but in a quiet street for a good nights sleep. Beautiful hostel with good facilities, helpful staff and competitive tour deals. I was allowed to check in early in the morning after a night bus which was very convenient. Safe and sociable vibe even though it is low season. Good quality healthy small breakfast for free.

Disliked: No lockers in rooms but many medium size lockers at reception which is less convenient but probably safer.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Greg Morley

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 October 2012 Greg would recommend this property

Liked: ingLocation Service Hotwater

Disliked: Nothing

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Barry Jones

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 September 2012 Barry would recommend this property

Liked: Hot showers, early check in, secure lockers, very clean, good location within 5 mins walk to centre of town and good breakfast

Disliked: Barry left no negative feedback.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

johana saldana

With a large group / tour

City break
Sightseeing & culture

03 July 2012

Liked: the breakfast

Disliked: The staff is not friendly, if you come back late in they take a while to open the door. the climate is cold and the hot water didn't work!

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Anaïs Haché

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 June 2012 Anaïs would recommend this property

Liked: They offered very useful tourist information as well as helped me book a trekking tour.

Disliked: nothing

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

oded fossfeld

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

18 June 2012 oded would recommend this property

Liked: owner is very kind. efficient travel agency. wifi in rooms. kitchen facilities. good atmosphere.

Disliked: On and off hot shower. Laundry service is not that good. steep climb from city center.


See all Huaraz hostels