HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Casa de Avila Hotel

3 star Hotel | Avenida San Martín116, Vallecito, Arequipa, Peru .

96.3% Overall Rating

164 out of 168 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (20/12/2013)

Lisa Evans thinks…

"Staff is so friendly, helpful, and polite!! They were all wonderful. Very clean, comfortable, very pleasant grounds. Excellent breakfast. Easy walking distance to much of Arequipa."

Read all Casa de Avila Hotel reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Games room
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 6.00

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Arequipa?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Arequipa

Arequipay Backpackers Downtown
7.02 USD

Hostel 92.6% 76 reviews
Wayra River
7.50 USD

Hostel 89.5% 31 reviews
hostel-arequipa
10.00 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Hostal Real San Felipe
16.00 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
The Point Arequipa Hostel
7.50 USD

Hostel 91.4% 11 reviews
Posada Misti House
9.00 USD

Guesthouse 78.3% 87 reviews
Portal La Merced Hostel
9.00 USD

Hostel 92.4% 12 reviews
La Estela De Oro
14.00 USD

Hostel Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
96.3%

Overall Rating

164 out of 168 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Casa de Avila Hotel'

Atmosphere
96.8%
Location
95.2%
Facilities
94.4%
Cleanliness
96.8%
Staff
97.6%
Value
96.8%
Safety
96.8%
Refine your results Showing 130 of 150 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6   Next
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

16 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Courtyard was great. Staff were wonderful, very friendly and helpful. was a very safe and clean place. Great for organizing taxi to airport and for wake up calls.

Disliked: nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

David Tilton

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

14 November 2011 David would recommend this property

Liked: Beautiful courtyard, clean, free internet, good location

Disliked: Got into a slight tiff about the 10% Hostelbookers' deposit paying for part of the room when checking in but after verifying, she saw that I didn't have to pay the full amount.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

tiziana pelagatti

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

20 August 2011 tiziana would recommend this property

Liked: hostal molto caratteristico con un bel giardino all'interno. personale molto gentile e disponibile.

Disliked: nulla

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Work / volunteering

25 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I loved everything from location to the helpful friendly staff. Beautiful garden to relax in.

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

06 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Casa de Avila was the best hostel of our trip to Peru. Located in a very safe and nice area close to plaza de armas (10 min walking), the staff is really very friendly and helpful, the breakfast is great, they arranged us transportation for us from/to the airport, they have a nice garden with a turtle living there, tv with many channels. El mejor hostal de nuestro viaje al Perú. Está situado en un barrio muy seguro y bonito cerca de la plaza de armas (10 minutos a pie). Las recepcionistas son muy simpáticas y nos ayudaron en todo momento con cualquier consulta que tuvimos, nos recogieron del aeropuerto, el desayuno es realmente bueno, tienen un bonito jardín con una tortuga que vive allí, disponen de tv por cable con muchos canales.

Disliked: Nothing. Nada.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

27 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was clean and peaceful, near the center

Disliked: no complaints

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Joseph Glover

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

22 May 2011 Joseph would recommend this property

Liked: great location and internal courtyard. 5 soles and you can get some massive pancakes for breakfast!

Disliked: Nothing

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

20 May 2011

Liked: Nice please with a nice garden, friendly stuff, but those details (below) spoil the experience and I wouldn't recommend it.

Disliked: The walls in anex ("normal rooms") are like paper, we've been waken up in the middle of the night by someone talking with his cellphone! It was like he was in our room! We upgraded to "superior"...one wall normal, another paper like...they limit you for 1 cup of coffee and juice for breakfast (they tell you on the card that if you take more, you will have to pay for it!), eggs etc extra, service painfully slow.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

14 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The big garden

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Michael Mckenzie

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

24 April 2011 Michael would recommend this property

Liked: Quiet guest house near the plaza. Great warm showers!

Disliked: nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Katherine Bell

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

26 February 2011 Katherine would recommend this property

Liked: The staff are really helpful and speak English. We booked our tour to the Colca Canyon and our bus to Cusco with them. The room was really clean and there was always hot water. The location is great, just a short walk from the Plaza.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Stephen Cunningsworth

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 January 2011 Stephen would recommend this property

Liked: Beautiful property, very comfortable rooms, wonderfully friendly and helpful staff. A great garden for chilling out and sunbathing. Good location, very safe and secure. A great place to learn Spanish, although I did not take lessons. I was only meant to stay for three nights but extended my stay by more than a week, partly because I did not want to leave Casa de Avila.

Disliked: This did not bother me but for those wanting a classic hostel this is probably not the place for you.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

29 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Absolutely fantastic value for money. This place isn't perfect, but for such a low price we found it easy to forgive most of the drawbacks.Lovely staff, very friendly and welcoming. Secure place. Beautiful garden. We also liked that this place isn't in the noisy town centre. (It's a safe 10 minute walk.)They will do your laundry for you for five soles per kilo. Handy!

Disliked: The rooms are very basic (which didn't bother us, but would bother some people I imagine) and the shower was also poor. Hot water, but very little pressure, sometimes reduced to a trickle. No heaters in the rooms and it gets chilly at night. The wi-fi regularly cuts out (every 5 minutes or so) and even when it's on it's very slow. (This is a big negative for me, but I'm sure it wouldn't be for many.) It's quite a noisy place and you can hear the movements of many of the guests and staff. The breakfast is really lame: unpleasant bread and butter (no fresh croissants here!) and nasty coffee. You can ask for extra stuff like cheese and ham toasties, but they are not included in the room rate. Not perfect by any means, but it is cheap, secure and the staff are lovely.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

25 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff. The location. The garden.

Disliked: Rather mean and miserly on the breakfast. Anything above a hot drink, two rolls and some juice has to be paid for.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Steven McDougall

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year

01 August 2010 Steven would recommend this property

Liked: Booked to stay 3 nights ended up staying 26 nights. Spanish lessons and trips organised by the Hostel was fantastic. 3 day trip to Colca Canyon was the best we have done yet, 2 days is too short. The staff are very friendly, the garden area is a lovely place to soak up the sun. A big thanks to all the staff for making our stay so good.

Disliked: There was nothing at all that we disliked.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Robert Gwilliam

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

01 August 2010 Robert would recommend this property

Liked: Loved the garden with patio tables and sun loungers. Liked the fact you could get tea and coffe any time for free. Receptionists were extremely friendly and efficient.

Disliked: Room was a bit small and dark.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Family Holiday

24 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: 1. Its delighful inner garden, a place to relax and meet other guests away from the hustle and bustle of the city2. Friendly, helpful and efficient staff on reception. Casa de Avila must hold the record in speed of confirming bookings made through HostelBookers - we received a welcoming email from one of the receptionists within 5 minutes of booking - the same lady who welcomed us on arrival and who was obviouly expecting us.3. Good in-house travel agency that offers competitive rates for trips to the Colca Canyon which can be booked on arrival in Arequipa.4. Large breakfast room which also doubles as a computer room and common room5. Free WiFi but the signal does not reach the more distant rooms so we used a table in the common room where the signal was at full strength.6. Valuables (like our laptop) could be left in the safe at reception when we went out for the day.

Disliked: Compared to the rest of the staff, the lady in charge of breafasts and the common room was unhelpful & sullen.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Jane Black

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

20 July 2010 Jane would recommend this property

Liked: Nice staff. Pleasant courtyard. Breakfast was minimal, bread and jam. Wi-fi was slow and lumpy

Disliked: Security was poor

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

14 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely fiendly staff. Slightly away from town but only 4 blocks so away from noise of town. The majority of the tour company guides are not that friendly though!!!!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

marc squires

24 May 2010 marc would recommend this property

Liked: for me, this is about as good as some larger hostels will get - 10 out of 10, though a little more effort in the breakfast would mean 11 out of 10!

Disliked: marc left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

18 May 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: What i liked the most, was all the attentions from the staff, they really made all they could to help us in anything we needed. Thank you guys!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

03 May 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Garden was great place to hangout.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

25 April 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was clean and safe with helpful staff and only a 10min walk to the main square.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

David Hay

31 March 2010 David would recommend this property

Liked: Was a very chilled out place! Loved the large garden with tables and chairs! Standard basic breakfast and very helpful staff!

Disliked: David left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

29 March 2010

Liked: This place was very pretty but it was more of a conference/teaching venue than a hostel. In the morning, the courtyard was taken up with people having spanish lessons. There is a large conference hall there too so there are lots of people coming and going. Although there is a sign and bench to stop people from going to the rooms, it is easy just to walk past them so really we didn't feel the security was good from that respect. The breakfast was 2 bread rolls - small even by Peru's standards and the staff were a bit surly. You could buy more if you wished. Wifi was very very slow.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.