HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Hospedaje Casco Viejo

Hotel | Calle 8a con Ave. A, casa 8-31, San Felipe, Panama City, Panama 1000

72.5% Overall Rating

128 out of 165 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (30/06/2014)

Barbara Stiel thinks…

"Very good, central location. To get there from the airport take the local bus outside towards Albrook, costs a bit more than 1$. But jump of the bus right after it leaves the coast-line in the…"

Read all Hospedaje Casco Viejo reviews

Facilities

  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • Wheelchair accessible

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 25.00

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Panama City?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Panama City

Panamericana Hostel
12.00 USD

Hostel 79.9% 102 reviews
Magnolia Inn
15.00 USD

Guesthouse 97.6% 7 reviews
Stanford Hotel
38.50 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Hostel Mamallena
13.00 USD

Hostel 82.1% 12 reviews
Los Faroles Hostel & Guesthouse
20.00 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Villa Vento Surf
15.00 USD

Guesthouse 92.1% 13 reviews
Hostel Siriri
16.00 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Los Mostros 2
13.00 USD

Hostel Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/08/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/08/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
72.5%

Overall Rating

128 out of 165 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hospedaje Casco Viejo'

Atmosphere
66.4%
Location
88.0%
Facilities
64.0%
Cleanliness
68.0%
Staff
74.4%
Value
74.4%
Safety
72.0%
Refine your results Showing 113 of 127 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5   Next
Reset filter
85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Barbara Stiel

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

30 June 2014 Barbara would recommend this property

Liked: Very good, central location. To get there from the airport take the local bus outside towards Albrook, costs a bit more than 1$. But jump of the bus right after it leaves the coast-line in the city. Cross-over to the fishmarket and walk up the coast, same direction as the bus was driving before, until you reach the Calle 8a. In my opinion it's really not far to walk and you don't have to walk through "dangerous" parts of the city :) Because we were there for one night and day only (stop-over) they offered us a private tour with a english-speaking taxi-driver for 35$/person. And i was really worth it. Otherwise we would have not seen that much of Panama in only a few hours.

Disliked: Barbara left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

02 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Property was ass described, nothing more or less! It was quiet at night and next to a church so not a lot of noise outside either. The location was great, not to far from the new Metro and our room, number 2 had a huge window. We mostly were gone throughout the day but nothing was moved or bothered when we got back and staff were very friendly and helpful! It is what you see online, no frills, but cheap!

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

02 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It´s super economical! Panama in comparison to Costa Rica is cheap but in comparison to Ecuador is super expensive! This hostel I think was fairly priced! Staff were very helpful and the hostel was exactly as it was described!

Disliked: Nothing

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Vladimir Koudela

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

26 February 2014 Vladimir would recommend this property

Liked: good value for the money

Disliked: Vladimir left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Darren Sanderson

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

04 January 2014 Darren would recommend this property

Liked: Good location in the old town.

Disliked: Cooking facilities were poor,cooker was inadequate.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tom Egg Stimson

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

23 September 2013 Tom Egg would recommend this property

Liked: Good hostel

Disliked: Tom Egg left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Tomasz Ulman

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

29 June 2013 Tomasz would recommend this property

Liked: the location is great, just in the heart of Old Panama City - loved it

Disliked: kitchen facilities are very limited and there is no lounge area as such but nevertheless it is a nice place to stay.

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

29 May 2013

Liked: nothing!!

Disliked: small dirty roo ms. the staff was everything except helpfull.. they didn t want to help us by finding a taxi or even told us about breakfast that was included in the price.. our room was leaking water all over the place.. the worst hostel ever.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

22 May 2013

Liked: Was good for a couple because for double room it is nearly the same cost as two dorm beds.

Disliked: Was a leak from the roof and soaked our computer, also booked in a double bed and got two singles.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

07 May 2013

Liked: good wifi

Disliked: Very noisy and dirty. Staff were not helpful at all. No screens on windows/above door and no mozzie nets, got bitten a lot. Thought bedbase was going to collapse

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Edward Wightwick

As a family with children

Events / festivals
Family Holiday
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

14 April 2013 Edward would recommend this property

Liked: Its location

Disliked: The room was gloomy and the wash facilities a bit grubby. The office staff seemed confused about the room we had booked and how many nights we were staying.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

07 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location. Cheap. Basic breakfast included.

Disliked: No internet even though listed on Hostelbooker, had clearly not been working for a while, not down just when we were there. Able to use wifi at sister hostel around the corner, but should not list as having wifi when it doesn't. Regularly no water in upstairs bathrooms, and not really enough bathrooms for the amount of beds.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Of all the hostels I've been in panama and Costa Rica this has the nicest beds

Disliked: It's not the most social place but for a decent hostel to rest at, it did the job. Clean and easy.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

21 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice atmosphere and relaxed character...good location...

Disliked: Not much...

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

11 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, no fuss.

Disliked: Very noisy, we had the room #1 behind reception, so heard everything and every time front door buzzed open.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

02 October 2012

Liked: Good location

Disliked: Breakfast was below average. Whilst not terribly dirty dust from the construction work going on in the district would cover floors etc. The floors weren't cleaned regularly. We were there for 1 week and not once did our room floor get swept. Felt slightly uncomfortable as there were locals staying long term there, and they took over communal areas with their jewellery making or juggling practising or music playing. Which would of been fine except this was a constant. Doesn't seem to be place for travellers.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

06 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: In a good part of the old Panama city which will be great once all of the construction and refurbishments of the streets are finished. Has a kitchen and breakfast included which is always a plus.

Disliked: Very simple rooms (double private). Just a bed with a fan basically. Nothing wrong with it but nothing special either. The whole place could do with a clean and socialising wasn't easy because the common areas are just a bit too small.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Karol Markosky

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

13 August 2012 Karol would recommend this property

Liked: Cheap, good location

Disliked: No screens in the windows and the rooms got very hot at night. If you need a place to crash for the night its fine, but I wouldn't plan on staying there a while.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 July 2012

Liked: Mabel, the person at the Front Desk was wonderful. I like the fact that there is free wi-fi and no fee for lockers and bags.

Disliked: There is construction going on under the windows. The repaving the street and they begin at 7:30am. Not the hostel's fault. The bathroom in the dorm is awfully small. No way to seat on the toilet the right way as the wall in front it too close. :) There are no glass windows or moskitoes nets.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

01 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: it's in the middle of the beautyful old town. lots of restaurants and bars around and a lot in walking distance.

Disliked: at the moment everything is being rebuild so all looks like a construction zone. but when all its done its gonna be really nice around there. there are a few bars around, so you might have some party people at the hostel and the stuff is not doing anything about it. thats a bit sad.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

MEI YING WONG

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

24 June 2012

Liked: Here I gave special thanks to the manager ( receptionist at day time) who helped me call to Avianca Airline to check the delivery of my luggage to his hotel all the day.

Disliked: The toilet at the second floor has no water for flussing . I told about it to the receptionist but he did not check it. There was no hot shower as well. The first day I turned the tap on that broken at once. While staying there for two days, I just went downstairs for bathing Here I gave comment to the overnight staff at the reception. She did not pay attention well to guests´simple request such as call a taxi etc.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

28 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Would be a great property for the money spent f they added aircon for rooms. Staff very helpful and welcoming.

Disliked: No A/C option and noisy room next to kitchen.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Beth Whitley

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 May 2012 Beth would recommend this property

Liked: Has a kitchen and free wifi

Disliked: Very uncomfy beds

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Breakfast was provided and showers were good.

Disliked: No common room so it's harder to meet people

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Luke Flanagan

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

21 April 2012 Luke would recommend this property

Liked: Great location in the old town close to everything and very cheap. The rooms were kept pretty clean and the staff very friendly.

Disliked: Not a great common area or internet connection (in rooms)