We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Hospedaje Casco Viejo

Hotel | Calle 8a con Ave. A, casa 8-31, San Felipe, Panama City, Panama 1000

82.1% Overall Rating

145 out of 185 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (09/06/2015)

"Friendly and helpful staff, nice spacious private room, good location, kitchen area, book exchange, Wifi, good atmosphere."

Read all Hospedaje Casco Viejo reviews

Facilities

  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • Wheelchair accessible

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 25.00

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Panama City?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Panama City

Panamericana Hostel
12.00 USD

Hostel 78.9% 109 reviews
Stanford Hotel
19.50 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Voyager Int'l Hostel, Panama
13.50 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Hostel Mamallena
13.00 USD

Hostel 80.6% 20 reviews
Los Faroles Hostel & Guesthouse
15.00 USD

Guesthouse 77.1% 4 reviews
Villa Vento Surf
15.00 USD

Guesthouse 92.3% 17 reviews
Hostel Siriri
16.00 USD

Hostel 83.9% 11 reviews
Los Mostros 2
16.00 USD

Hostel Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 04/09/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 04/09/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
82.1%

Overall Rating

145 out of 185 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hospedaje Casco Viejo'

Atmosphere
72.0%
Location
96.8%
Facilities
70.4%
Cleanliness
77.6%
Staff
89.6%
Value
82.4%
Safety
85.6%
Refine your results Showing 125 of 147 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

09 June 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly and helpful staff, nice spacious private room, good location, kitchen area, book exchange, Wifi, good atmosphere.

Disliked: The only thing which was a problem was that our food kept dissapearing from the fridge! Not the hostels fault, just some other guests who liked the look of our food :) Other than that, a great place to stay. If you are looking for somewhere to stay in Panama City with a picturesque location I recommend here.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

09 June 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cheap, good location

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

17 May 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice private room Good WiFi Nothing special, but also nothing really bad :-)

Disliked: Working noise because of renovation (also house next door) Common area just plastic tables and chairs, but enough to sit, eat and talk ;)

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Jeranne Koekkoek

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

03 March 2015

Liked: location is perfect good value for money this place has huge potential but has to be cleaner, renovated and invest in the rooms a bit more

Disliked: really warm room with no windows, 1 fan wasnt enough lights in room TL light, really bad for atmosphere and plastic cheap chairs in rooms

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Tobias Ingold

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

26 February 2015 Tobias would recommend this property

Liked: Lication war super

Disliked: Die bauarbeiten im nachbargebäude starteten um 9 uhr, ausschlafen war nicht!

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

07 February 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location is brilliant. Good basic hostel. I've stayed in various hostels around Panama City and this location is by far my favorite

Disliked: Lack of bathroom facilities. Obviously renovating - hopefully will be a great place when finished. Currently is loud at times due to the work men During the day.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 January 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Atmosphere and staff

Disliked: Nothing

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Catherine Prenter

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

06 January 2015 Catherine would recommend this property

Liked: Great location. Cheap price. Room freshly painted, it was fine for the price.

Disliked: Noisy, particularly from outside noise, loud music blaring throughout the night.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Randall Obando

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Sightseeing & culture

04 January 2015 Randall would recommend this property

Liked: Hostel is located right in Casco Viejo; where you are up to a nice night walk, plus the area is lively by day. It's also very secure, you'd find policemen walking around all day round, since the Presidential House is located there. Booked a private room with priv. bathroom, found it clean, comfy bed; it was quiet at night; staff helped with a few questions - Good value for the money.

Disliked: Social area is small, so not much of an atmosphere at the hostel - Kitchen area is limited, breakfast was not good, skipped it.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

trish flaster

As a family with children

Family Holiday

24 December 2014

Liked: location and price

Disliked: lack of ventilation

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

11 October 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Located right in Casco Veijo.

Disliked: Needs better ventilation in rooms.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

01 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: Comunal spaces undeveloped

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Barbara Stiel

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

30 June 2014 Barbara would recommend this property

Liked: Very good, central location. To get there from the airport take the local bus outside towards Albrook, costs a bit more than 1$. But jump of the bus right after it leaves the coast-line in the city. Cross-over to the fishmarket and walk up the coast, same direction as the bus was driving before, until you reach the Calle 8a. In my opinion it's really not far to walk and you don't have to walk through "dangerous" parts of the city :) Because we were there for one night and day only (stop-over) they offered us a private tour with a english-speaking taxi-driver for 35$/person. And i was really worth it. Otherwise we would have not seen that much of Panama in only a few hours.

Disliked: Barbara left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

02 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Property was ass described, nothing more or less! It was quiet at night and next to a church so not a lot of noise outside either. The location was great, not to far from the new Metro and our room, number 2 had a huge window. We mostly were gone throughout the day but nothing was moved or bothered when we got back and staff were very friendly and helpful! It is what you see online, no frills, but cheap!

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

02 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It´s super economical! Panama in comparison to Costa Rica is cheap but in comparison to Ecuador is super expensive! This hostel I think was fairly priced! Staff were very helpful and the hostel was exactly as it was described!

Disliked: Nothing

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Vladimir Koudela

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

26 February 2014 Vladimir would recommend this property

Liked: good value for the money

Disliked: Vladimir left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Darren Sanderson

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

04 January 2014 Darren would recommend this property

Liked: Good location in the old town.

Disliked: Cooking facilities were poor,cooker was inadequate.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tom Egg Stimson

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

23 September 2013 Tom Egg would recommend this property

Liked: Good hostel

Disliked: Tom Egg left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Tomasz Ulman

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

29 June 2013 Tomasz would recommend this property

Liked: the location is great, just in the heart of Old Panama City - loved it

Disliked: kitchen facilities are very limited and there is no lounge area as such but nevertheless it is a nice place to stay.

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

29 May 2013

Liked: nothing!!

Disliked: small dirty roo ms. the staff was everything except helpfull.. they didn t want to help us by finding a taxi or even told us about breakfast that was included in the price.. our room was leaking water all over the place.. the worst hostel ever.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

22 May 2013

Liked: Was good for a couple because for double room it is nearly the same cost as two dorm beds.

Disliked: Was a leak from the roof and soaked our computer, also booked in a double bed and got two singles.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

07 May 2013

Liked: good wifi

Disliked: Very noisy and dirty. Staff were not helpful at all. No screens on windows/above door and no mozzie nets, got bitten a lot. Thought bedbase was going to collapse

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Edward Wightwick

As a family with children

Events / festivals
Family Holiday
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

14 April 2013 Edward would recommend this property

Liked: Its location

Disliked: The room was gloomy and the wash facilities a bit grubby. The office staff seemed confused about the room we had booked and how many nights we were staying.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

07 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location. Cheap. Basic breakfast included.

Disliked: No internet even though listed on Hostelbooker, had clearly not been working for a while, not down just when we were there. Able to use wifi at sister hostel around the corner, but should not list as having wifi when it doesn't. Regularly no water in upstairs bathrooms, and not really enough bathrooms for the amount of beds.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Of all the hostels I've been in panama and Costa Rica this has the nicest beds

Disliked: It's not the most social place but for a decent hostel to rest at, it did the job. Clean and easy.