We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Arena Hotel

2.5 star Hotel | 131 Beach Road, Auckland, New Zealand 1010

85.3% Overall Rating

13 out of 14 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (04/12/2013)

"Arena Hotel provided us with the ultimate Auckland experience. The kind Hotel Management only took us to one wrong room before showing us to our actual room. And what a room it was. First impressions are important…"

Read all Arena Hotel reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Restaurant
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Fax
  • Photocopying

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Auckland?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Auckland

City Travellers Auckland
16.51 USD

Hostel 72.3% 37 reviews
The Station Backpackers
13.87 USD

Hostel 74.5% 36 reviews
Jucy Snooze (Prev. Aspen House)
17.39 USD

Hotel 2 star 79.8% 133 reviews
Nomads Fat Camel
13.87 USD

Hostel 72.0% 328 reviews
Frienz.com Backpackers Accommodation Auckland
15.85 USD

Hostel 82.9% 155 reviews
Nomads Auckland Backpackers
14.53 USD

Hostel 82.5% 470 reviews
Queen Street Backpackers
15.19 USD

Hostel 72.7% 14 reviews
Base Auckland
18.49 USD

Hostel 74.5% 352 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 27/07/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 27/07/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
85.3%

Overall Rating

13 out of 14 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Arena Hotel'

Atmosphere
77.1%
Location
88.6%
Facilities
77.1%
Cleanliness
77.1%
Staff
95.7%
Value
95.7%
Safety
85.7%
Refine your results Showing 9 of 14 reviews
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals

17 April 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location and value for money

Disliked: Stairs hadnt been Vacumed in a long time but room was clean,

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Daniel Fitzpatrick

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

16 March 2015 Daniel would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: The staff were very helpful and friendly.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Katarina Redfern

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals

13 September 2014 Katarina would recommend this property

Liked: Close to Vector Arena

Disliked: Not enough sugar sachets

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

04 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location to vector arena

Disliked: Shower needed cleaning , very low water pressure, Note. Have answered no to if hostel bookers was promoted but I honestly don't know cos didn't look

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Catalin George Hincu

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

22 June 2014 Catalin George would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, friendly staff, very good value for money

Disliked: Catalin George left no negative feedback.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

04 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Arena Hotel provided us with the ultimate Auckland experience. The kind Hotel Management only took us to one wrong room before showing us to our actual room. And what a room it was. First impressions are important and the half-filled rubbish bin certainly provided us with a good one. Plenty of space left for us to dispose of anything we wished! Shout out to the previous occupants for being so considerate. The television had not yet been switched over to Freeview. A good reminder of days gone by. The static and low volume made watching repeats of New Zealand's Got Talent a real treat. The remote came with a blob of jam which was great as it forced us to get up and change the channel. Who needs Wii Fit when you have that? The bedding only had minimal stains and the pillows didn't smell overwhelming bad. This made for an excellent sleep. The carpet looked like it had been vacuumed at least once in the last three months. Will probably last through to the New Year before it requires another. The bathroom was a highlight. Of the two nights we stayed, we were lucky enough to have one semi-warm shower each. The mould that featured on all walls reminded us how fickle life is. Once upon a time, we were all just small organisms! It was a hot weekend so thankfully the window couldn't fully close. This was excellent when drunk revellers were loitering on the streets. We felt like we were really part of the big city life. While milk, tea and coffee were not provided, the cupboards and fridge did come with an unusual smell that more than made up for it. Who needs a kettle when you have a musty aroma? Once we were able to leave our room/paradise, we ventured out and explored the rest of the hotel (see photos). We were fortunate enough to witness renovation/demolition magic in process. Many of the rooms were out of order (the doors were kept wide open - we can only assume this was to invite guests in and make them feel like part of the process). The hallways were filled with rubble and debris. We discovered that obstacle courses are fun at any age. The lobby provided us with multiple choices for seating in an arrangement that most would call post-modernism. Overall, the enigma that is the Arena Hotel was an experience that should not be missed. Book now - you probably won't get a disease (we didn't!).

Disliked: Nothing. It all was an experience.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

18 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: single room with bathroom for a really reasonalbe price.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

priscilla lee

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

16 November 2013 priscilla would recommend this property

Liked: a bit further out than the central locations and old building but lovely mattress service and very good value for price

Disliked: old building and maybe a bit thin walled

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Jude Marks

As a family with children

Events / festivals

18 March 2013 Jude would recommend this property

Liked: Close and convenient to Vector Arena, 2-3 minutes walk. Had everything that was needed, including a good size fridge, and access to a kitchen! Definitely value for money!

Disliked: Was reasonably run down, but I didn't expect much more as I was more interested in price and value for money, which is what I achieved, and would stay again.