HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Grand Hotel Central

Hotel | Kruiskade 12, 3012 EH, Rotterdam, Netherlands 3012 EH

79.1% Overall Rating

106 out of 125 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (08/06/2013)

"This hotel is an old hotel and has some very nice wood work in the bar and pool room areas. A classic hotel of the 20's and 30's with renovations added through the years. Hotel started service I was told in 1917. It…"

Read all Grand Hotel Central reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Internet access in public areas

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Rotterdam?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Rotterdam

Hostel de Mafkees
16.83 USD

Hostel 81.9% 18 reviews
King Kong Hostel
26.26 USD

Hostel 91.0% 7 reviews
Eurohotel Centrum
36.02 USD

Hotel 3 star 83.0% 22 reviews
Hostel Ani & Haakien
23.56 USD

Hostel 94.7% 50 reviews
Hostel Room Rotterdam
23.56 USD

Hostel 92.8% 845 reviews
Stayokay Rotterdam
26.70 USD

Hostel 82.7% 142 reviews
Hotel Turkuaz Rotterdam
37.03 USD

Hotel 3 star 59.2% 14 reviews
Hotel Baan
35.47 USD

Hotel 2 star 76.9% 53 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 26/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 26/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
79.1%

Overall Rating

106 out of 125 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Grand Hotel Central'

Atmosphere
71.2%
Location
92.8%
Facilities
73.6%
Cleanliness
71.2%
Staff
79.2%
Value
82.4%
Safety
83.2%
Refine your results Showing 82 of 99 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4   Next
Reset filter
85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Tessa Buckens

Alone

Business / conference

17 November 2013 Tessa would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: Old

82.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Sofiya Gancheva

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

02 September 2013 Sofiya would recommend this property

Liked: breakfast was fantastic, free wi fi

Disliked: very noisy in the room during the night - there is a disco right in front of the hotel, toilets are strange and difficult to flush sometimes

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

jorge de alba rulfo hecht

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

27 June 2013 jorge would recommend this property

Liked: best hotel i ever been. breakfast is great. rooms were clean.

Disliked: my room smelled like fresh paint

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

08 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This hotel is an old hotel and has some very nice wood work in the bar and pool room areas. A classic hotel of the 20's and 30's with renovations added through the years. Hotel started service I was told in 1917. It survived WW I and WW II, a amazing feat in itself and to still be in operation at a low price. Elevator is an older generation but still whisper quiet. Service and the people - very nice group of people, all do well. Breakfast is always fresh, timely and with a smile - nice start to any day. Location is great with Rotterdam Centrum within walking distance, shopping - everywhere around it, museums nearby, City Hall, Metro, Trams, night life, et al. A nice stay. Rooms are basic but so is the price. Clean and simple. Not a 5 Star but you didn't pay for 5 Star either. Location is good enough, there are 5 Stars around it, says something - in Real Estate - Location, Location, Location. If looking for a resort, then the resort is the destination. Rooms to "work out of and to travel from - worth it".

Disliked: Just some aspects need some maintenance on the facility itself. It is what it is, also why the price is what it is. They have been doing some changes compared to notes I read about it on line. Door locks are now the electronic card key type with built in dead bolt. That was an issue for some one in the past. The complain some one had on the smells in the corridor - a case of limited ventilation. Lower floors, was not prevalent but was on the upper levels. Not in the rooms though. Still, a good value and good location.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

YIHANG JIA RUBING WANG

With friends / other travellers

Relaxation/spa

26 May 2013 YIHANG JIA would recommend this property

Liked: comfortable room and perfect breakfast

Disliked: YIHANG JIA left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

26 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location & Breackfast

Disliked: rooms were not too glamorous, expected the rooms to be more modern and classier

68.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Zeljka Hecimovic

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

19 April 2013 Zeljka would recommend this property

Liked: it's close to station. breakfast is great

Disliked: there is no comedy central channel in the room. towels smells funny.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

19 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very close shops for tourists (expensive goods). Delicious breakfasts. Free Internet. Commodious room (twin room). Not far is tram station.

Disliked: Sound proofing was bad. It was cool in the room.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Shawn Cohen

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

08 April 2013 Shawn would recommend this property

Liked: really central, clean, staff were okay, room was a good size, free tea with a kettle

Disliked: nothing really

48.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

11 March 2013

Liked: Location and Breakfast

Disliked: Inept lobby staff, and bad flooding in the bathroom

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

17 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hotel is right in the centre of Rotterdam and really close to the train station!

Disliked: nothing

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

07 October 2012

Liked: Breakfast was fantastic. Huge spread. Nostelgic feeling staying in a monument building. Room was spacious.

Disliked: Toilet floor was soapy. Furniture in the room was run-down. Bed had a broken leg. Electric current flowing through water in the toilet, couldn't bathe!

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

James FASSBENDER

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

24 July 2012 James would recommend this property

Liked: Majority of the staff was very nice and helpful.

Disliked: One extremely unprofessional and rude worker during the breakfast actually struck me in the arm for accidentally leaving the bread in the toaster too long. Unfortunately I didn't catch her name.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

AMILIA MUHAMAD NOR

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

29 May 2012 AMILIA would recommend this property

Liked: It's location and the breakfast menu

Disliked: the room

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Sarah Praet

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

13 November 2011 Sarah would recommend this property

Liked: Het karakter, de locatie (echt midden in het stad, leuk om te winkelen of een feestje te bouwen).

Disliked: De enkele beglazing (lawaai 's nachts),. De kamer was ook redelijk oud en hier en daar afgeleefd.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Josef Brehovský

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

25 October 2011 Josef would recommend this property

Liked: Old style hotel, looks good. Location.

Disliked: Nuilding need little facelift from iutside.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Ingrid Orbes

As a family with children

Sightseeing & culture

20 September 2011

Liked: location

Disliked: roadworks in front of the window

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

14 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: a very authentic feeling of a old time grand hotel in a great price, service was great and also liked the big breakfast. great place overall.

Disliked: i can't think of a thing.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

KIM WAI HO

As a family with children

Family Holiday

14 August 2011 KIM WAI would recommend this property

Liked: The location and staff are excellent. A few steps to Metro station and train station. The breakfast provides different kinds of fruits, I like it.

Disliked: no washing service provided

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

dean jackson

Alone

Visiting friends or family

27 July 2011 dean would recommend this property

Liked: Value for money compared to almost all rotterdam hotels. Great location, spacious room, comfortable bed. Recommended

Disliked: Nothing, just remember it is not a hostel though. If your looking to party then this isnt the place

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

11 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location and a reasonable price for quality.

Disliked: Nothing

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

BURTAY LÜLCI

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals
Visiting friends or family

26 February 2011

Liked: it's clean, cheap and well located. Breakfast is good as well...

Disliked: Staff made a mistake while we are staying. We booked 2 days and they entered us just one day. So on our second night we couldn't enter the room. They corrected their fault immidiately. That was good but when we are checking out they told us to pay 120 € extra. We explained the mistake they made and they corrected the mistake again. Nothing serious but be careful about that kind of things.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Isaiah Grieger

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Family Holiday

05 December 2010 Isaiah would recommend this property

Liked: close to train station and very in the centre of the city everything can be walked from this location, the website details on how to find the place was very accurate and handy, the breakfast which was included ws fantastic by far on of the best i have ever been offered.

Disliked: they had just painted many of the rooms when we stayed so everything smelt like paint and the elevator broke at the time so getting luggage up and down stairs was a night mare

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Barbara Mansour

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

08 November 2010 Barbara would recommend this property

Liked: It was close to the train station and shopping. There were bars and cafes also just behind the hotel. The room had a TV. Breakfast was also included in the price and for a free breakfast it very nice with a large selection of foods.

Disliked: The heating in the room was up way too high. We had to sleep with the windows wide open, which wasn't such a huge problem but it would be more convenient if the room temp could be controled by room occupants. The lift in the hotel was out of order so lugging your bags up four flights of stairs was not easy.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

01 November 2010

Liked: friendly staff, location

Disliked: extremely dirty: stainess on the floor and table, cigarette leftover in drawer, cigarette smell, BUGS IN BED