HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Hotel Marnix City Centre

2 star Hotel | marnixstraat 382, Amsterdam, Netherlands 1016xx

65.9% Overall Rating

878 out of 1593 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (19/03/2014)

"I was staying in this hostel for two nights with my friends. As our goal in Amsterdam was to see the city and to have fun, we needed a hostel only to sleep, to have a shower ant to store our luggages, so we were there…"

Read all Hotel Marnix City Centre reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

The Marnix hotel does not charge you in advance. Our cancellation policy dictates 48 hours advanced notification prior to arrival. Cancellation need to be done by e-mail. Cancellation by phone will not be accepted. IMPORTANT: Our check-in desk will close at 21.00, but if you expect to check-in later than that, please notify us. Otherwise we can't guarantee that your room/bed will be available anymore. Prices are without citytax.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Amsterdam

Quentin Hotel
55.59 USD

Hotel 3 star 76.6% 11 reviews
International Budget Hostel
38.67 USD

Hostel 71.3% 209 reviews
Amsterdam Hostel Leidseplein
38.99 USD

Hostel 75.7% 195 reviews
Stayokay Vondelpark
35.64 USD

Hostel 91.5% 2263 reviews
Golden Bear
39.68 USD

Hotel 1.5 star 87.6% 3 reviews
Alexander Guestrooms
61.87 USD

Guesthouse 87.3% 235 reviews
Amsterdam hostel Orfeo
40.34 USD

Hostel 72.3% 497 reviews
Amsterdam Hostel uptown
39.00 USD

Hostel 67.9% 73 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 26/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 26/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
65.9%

Overall Rating

878 out of 1593 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hotel Marnix City Centre'

Atmosphere
60.0%
Location
85.6%
Facilities
54.4%
Cleanliness
63.2%
Staff
68.0%
Value
66.4%
Safety
64.0%
Refine your results Showing 839 of 997 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 33 | 34   Next
Reset filter
68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Zara Kwan

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

27 May 2014 Zara would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, the place seemed fairly clean.

Disliked: Large dorm rooms with a rather slamming door.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife

06 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location was great and there's a piano and a guitar for all to use!

Disliked: Not brilliant mattresses but if you're just there for the weekend with friends you're not going to be sleeping much anyway!

28.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Shane Delaney

With friends / other travellers

City break

05 May 2014

Liked: Wifi, hot water and location

Disliked: Poor condition. Loud noises. Lack of information provided about the city. Poor value for money.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Kyrylo Shavaran

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

05 April 2014

Liked: good location

Disliked: small rooms

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

29 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was cheap

Disliked: I seen a small mouse in the hallway where someone had parked a pram

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

19 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I was staying in this hostel for two nights with my friends. As our goal in Amsterdam was to see the city and to have fun, we needed a hostel only to sleep, to have a shower ant to store our luggages, so we were there only at night for a few hours. But we liked this hostel. It was clean, staff was friendly and helpful.

Disliked: There is no wifi in the rooms, only in the loby.

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

02 March 2014

Liked: location

Disliked: - Shower tap can not be regulated (just super hot of freezing cold water), weak spout - Water in the shower doesn't drain and the shower tray leaks so you get wet feet going into the bathroom or to the toilet - noisy & thin-walled - sarcastic desk employees regarding the price going up @ additional booking - sagged mattresses

77.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife

11 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Safe and secure. Good Location. Nice bar opposite!

Disliked: On one of the days the hot water in the shower was not running! not happy.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

HIROKI OHASHI

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

11 February 2014 HIROKI would recommend this property

Liked: Good price. Although there were not kitchen, there were microwave, pot, and toaster, you can make some food.

Disliked: The building was old, but it was cleaned up.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Antonio Tavares

Alone

Work / volunteering

04 January 2014 Antonio would recommend this property

Liked: .

Disliked: .

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

10 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were helpfull

Disliked: Small room

74.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

20 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Atmosphere and location and staff

Disliked: We had to change the rooms during our stay, dirty pillows, broken shower, the cards didnt work sometimes

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 July 2013

Liked: The location proximity to Leidesplein.

Disliked: #1 One of the staff seemed unfriendly when I asked him whether I could use the SD card reader available at the computer terminal. He vehemently stated that it wouldnt work. #2 Steep stairs #3Very cramped room with a small basin #4Very dangerous high double decker beds with no railings or ladder

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

11 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: That the staff were really positive, welcoming and helpful with any queries we had. The hostel was exactly what we needed, had a young fun vibe to it and was in a great location but still cheap and cheerful. Also, we were 3 girls and although it may have just been good luck for us but we had a shower in our private room when other private rooms didn't whixh we were grateful to the hostel for as we were not expecting to have our own shower.

Disliked: Nothing

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Brittany Cracknell

With my spouse / partner

City break

05 June 2013

Liked: Good location.

Disliked: I had valuables stolen from a locked room. Staff we're no help. Infact one guy was really quite rude. DO NOT LEAVE YOUR THINGS IN THE ROOMS - NOTHING IS SAFE.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

30 May 2013

Liked: the bathroom is fine

Disliked: mice in the trash bin cockroach can be found in the hostel

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

roberto nieto

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

25 May 2013 roberto would recommend this property

Liked: Enjoyable place to stay. Good Value in downtown Amsterdam.

Disliked: roberto left no negative feedback.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Tsz Shan Cheung

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

25 May 2013 Tsz Shan would recommend this property

Liked: The bed is quite comfy and quite close to tram station.

Disliked: Without hot shower.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Annegret Morof

With my spouse / partner

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

24 May 2013 Annegret would recommend this property

Liked: It is located very central.

Disliked: Annegret left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

12 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This property was great. The beds were super comfortable. We were located in a relatively safe area that was a short walk from several different tram stations and from a small hub of activity.

Disliked: We only had one key for our room, which was kind of inconvenient because we split up into different groups during the day so that everyone was satisfied with their stay and could do what they wanted to do. Also, we were told that WiFi would work in our room, but it really didn't. We had to go downstairs to the lobby to get a consistent connection. Also, the door was really hard to open. The keys were ancient and it took us a long time to figure it out.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

jane gorst

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

11 May 2013

Liked: clean bedding and friendly receptionist.

Disliked: room very cramped, common areas in poor condition, shared bathroom door doesn't shut properly and didn't lock. no mirror in room or bathroom. no light in room.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Claudio Puggioni

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

07 May 2013

Liked: Not much except the staf was helpful.

Disliked: No elevators, very narrow and steep stairs, tiny room and no shelves, totallt noisy every night from other guests, doors slamming constantly, laughing and banging on walls each night until 3am. No fridge in room, no safe. I ordered a hotel and got a glorified back packer room for the cost of a 5 star hotel in other cities of Europe. Had to pay for breakfast every morning. At tese prices it should have been,included. Not happy.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Erland Skotte

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals

04 May 2013 Erland would recommend this property

Liked: Location,location,location..... Cheap & clean

Disliked: No bathroom in the rom

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

10 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good location, you can take a bus from and to the airport

Disliked: i didn't feel safe.i booked a bed in a mixed room, it was only 2 guys and me.one of them was very creepy, if it wasn't for the other guy, i wouldn't have stayed there

42.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

07 April 2013

Liked: The airport bus goes right past it. Can't miss it.

Disliked: My room had no heat at all. The temperature was below 9 degrees. I couldn't sleep all night. Three times I walked across the street to the lobby to tell the staff. First they moved me to a room on the fourth floor which also had no heat at all. I used a thermometer to check the room temperatures to verify my claims. The third time I walked back to the office to tell them that the second room also had no heat, they told me that there were 25 other guests who had not complained of being cold. However, the same staff member also slipped up by telling me that he had given out portable heaters to a number of other guests, so apparently I was not alone in having a broken heating system after all. The next day I spoke to the manager, who seemed concerned and promised me a portable heater the second night if I stayed, but when I returned that evening there was no heater. Again I went across the street and had two different staff members this time call the manager. The manager finally moved me yet again to a different floor (keep in mind that each time I changed floors I was lugging a 20 kg suitcase and repacking). This final room did have heat and no other problems. I have stayed in hostels in Asia for far less money that showed far more concern for their customers. It is one thing to forget an extra towel or something, but to have no concern for a customer being unable to sleep all night because of near freezing temperatures is inexcusable.