HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Hotel Marnix City Centre

2 star Hotel | marnixstraat 382, Amsterdam, Netherlands 1016xx

64.5% Overall Rating

878 out of 1598 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (28/07/2014)

Michelle Garcia thinks…

"Super close to everything. Great location! Staff was very friendly and helpful as well!"

Read all Hotel Marnix City Centre reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

The Marnix hotel does not charge you in advance. Our cancellation policy dictates 48 hours advanced notification prior to arrival. Cancellation need to be done by e-mail. Cancellation by phone will not be accepted. IMPORTANT: Our check-in desk will close at 21.00, but if you expect to check-in later than that, please notify us. Otherwise we can't guarantee that your room/bed will be available anymore. Prices are without citytax.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Amsterdam

Quentin Hotel
49.97 USD

Hotel 3 star 74.9% 14 reviews
International Budget Hostel
16.43 USD

Hostel 70.7% 212 reviews
Amsterdam Hostel Leidseplein
15.17 USD

Hostel 73.1% 208 reviews
Stayokay Vondelpark
22.14 USD

Hostel 83.1% 2284 reviews
hotel vossisvondelpark
45.97 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Golden Bear
43.64 USD

Hotel 1.5 star 81.9% 6 reviews
Hotel Princess
10.12 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Alexander Guestrooms
58.19 USD

Guesthouse 87.3% 235 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
64.5%

Overall Rating

878 out of 1598 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hotel Marnix City Centre'

Atmosphere
56.8%
Location
85.6%
Facilities
55.2%
Cleanliness
62.4%
Staff
65.6%
Value
60.8%
Safety
64.8%
Refine your results Showing 843 of 1002 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 33 | 34   Next
Reset filter
40.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

08 October 2014

Liked: The bathroom was clean and renovated!

Disliked: The room was situated in another building. I think they overbooked or something because we saw other rooms who looked better. NO WIFI provided in the room. The whole carpet in the room was WET AND SMELLY. NO TOWELS the first day. UNINTERESTED STAFF and almost unfriendly. You can hear the doors of every nabour, very noisy. Also the kitchen was very poor. NO NICE ATMOSPHERE.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Asher Goldman

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

09 August 2014

Liked: Good location, comfortable beds

Disliked: No one talked to each other at all. Like at all. It was ridiculous. And there were a bunch of old people there who were at best weird and at worst creepy.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Yulia Mun

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

06 August 2014

Liked: Location Staff

Disliked: Clogged shower Electric sockets didn't work Too hot in the room

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Michelle Garcia

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

28 July 2014

Liked: Super close to everything. Great location! Staff was very friendly and helpful as well!

Disliked: A lot of money for what we stayed in. You could hear every time someone was coming in or out of their room because of how loud the doors were! Wifi didn't work in the rooms..

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Zara Kwan

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

27 May 2014 Zara would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, the place seemed fairly clean.

Disliked: Large dorm rooms with a rather slamming door.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife

06 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location was great and there's a piano and a guitar for all to use!

Disliked: Not brilliant mattresses but if you're just there for the weekend with friends you're not going to be sleeping much anyway!

28.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Shane Delaney

With friends / other travellers

City break

05 May 2014

Liked: Wifi, hot water and location

Disliked: Poor condition. Loud noises. Lack of information provided about the city. Poor value for money.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Kyrylo Shavaran

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

05 April 2014

Liked: good location

Disliked: small rooms

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

29 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was cheap

Disliked: I seen a small mouse in the hallway where someone had parked a pram

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

19 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I was staying in this hostel for two nights with my friends. As our goal in Amsterdam was to see the city and to have fun, we needed a hostel only to sleep, to have a shower ant to store our luggages, so we were there only at night for a few hours. But we liked this hostel. It was clean, staff was friendly and helpful.

Disliked: There is no wifi in the rooms, only in the loby.

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

02 March 2014

Liked: location

Disliked: - Shower tap can not be regulated (just super hot of freezing cold water), weak spout - Water in the shower doesn't drain and the shower tray leaks so you get wet feet going into the bathroom or to the toilet - noisy & thin-walled - sarcastic desk employees regarding the price going up @ additional booking - sagged mattresses

77.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife

11 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Safe and secure. Good Location. Nice bar opposite!

Disliked: On one of the days the hot water in the shower was not running! not happy.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

HIROKI OHASHI

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

11 February 2014 HIROKI would recommend this property

Liked: Good price. Although there were not kitchen, there were microwave, pot, and toaster, you can make some food.

Disliked: The building was old, but it was cleaned up.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Antonio Tavares

Alone

Work / volunteering

04 January 2014 Antonio would recommend this property

Liked: .

Disliked: .

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

10 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were helpfull

Disliked: Small room

74.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

20 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Atmosphere and location and staff

Disliked: We had to change the rooms during our stay, dirty pillows, broken shower, the cards didnt work sometimes

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 July 2013

Liked: The location proximity to Leidesplein.

Disliked: #1 One of the staff seemed unfriendly when I asked him whether I could use the SD card reader available at the computer terminal. He vehemently stated that it wouldnt work. #2 Steep stairs #3Very cramped room with a small basin #4Very dangerous high double decker beds with no railings or ladder

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

11 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: That the staff were really positive, welcoming and helpful with any queries we had. The hostel was exactly what we needed, had a young fun vibe to it and was in a great location but still cheap and cheerful. Also, we were 3 girls and although it may have just been good luck for us but we had a shower in our private room when other private rooms didn't whixh we were grateful to the hostel for as we were not expecting to have our own shower.

Disliked: Nothing

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Brittany Cracknell

With my spouse / partner

City break

05 June 2013

Liked: Good location.

Disliked: I had valuables stolen from a locked room. Staff we're no help. Infact one guy was really quite rude. DO NOT LEAVE YOUR THINGS IN THE ROOMS - NOTHING IS SAFE.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

30 May 2013

Liked: the bathroom is fine

Disliked: mice in the trash bin cockroach can be found in the hostel

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

roberto nieto

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

25 May 2013 roberto would recommend this property

Liked: Enjoyable place to stay. Good Value in downtown Amsterdam.

Disliked: roberto left no negative feedback.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Tsz Shan Cheung

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

25 May 2013 Tsz Shan would recommend this property

Liked: The bed is quite comfy and quite close to tram station.

Disliked: Without hot shower.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Annegret Morof

With my spouse / partner

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

24 May 2013 Annegret would recommend this property

Liked: It is located very central.

Disliked: Annegret left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

12 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This property was great. The beds were super comfortable. We were located in a relatively safe area that was a short walk from several different tram stations and from a small hub of activity.

Disliked: We only had one key for our room, which was kind of inconvenient because we split up into different groups during the day so that everyone was satisfied with their stay and could do what they wanted to do. Also, we were told that WiFi would work in our room, but it really didn't. We had to go downstairs to the lobby to get a consistent connection. Also, the door was really hard to open. The keys were ancient and it took us a long time to figure it out.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

jane gorst

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

11 May 2013

Liked: clean bedding and friendly receptionist.

Disliked: room very cramped, common areas in poor condition, shared bathroom door doesn't shut properly and didn't lock. no mirror in room or bathroom. no light in room.