We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Hotel De Mallemoolen

1 star Hotel | Warmoesstraat 7, Amsterdam, Netherlands 1012 HT

80.2% Overall Rating

561 out of 699 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (25/08/2015)

"The location is superb. Near to the main hub and red light district is just streets away."

Read all Hotel De Mallemoolen reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Please Note: We will pre-authorise this first night on your card after booking. This is just a 'pre autorisation' and not a debit. If your credit-card is not valid we will require an alternative card. Failure to contact us with an alternative card may result in your booking being cancelled.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Amsterdam

Hotel De Koopermoolen
59.00 USD

Hotel 2 star 79.2% 197 reviews
Hostel Meeting Point
33.40 USD

Hostel 75.1% 7 reviews
Hotel Old Quarter
41.75 USD

Hostel 74.3% 10 reviews
Hostel The Globe
24.49 USD

Hostel 74.1% 1336 reviews
Hotel The Globe Centre
30.06 USD

Hotel 1 star 77.8% 203 reviews
Amsterdam Cribs / Red Light B&B
38.96 USD

Hostel 92.2% 38 reviews
The Greenhouse effect
50.09 USD

Hotel 2 star 87.4% 400 reviews
Hostel Croydon
22.26 USD

Hostel 62.2% 436 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 04/09/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 04/09/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
80.2%

Overall Rating

561 out of 699 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hotel De Mallemoolen'

Atmosphere
73.6%
Location
96.8%
Facilities
70.4%
Cleanliness
69.6%
Staff
92.0%
Value
76.0%
Safety
83.2%
Refine your results Showing 434 of 495 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 17 | 18   Next
Reset filter
71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Ivee Tan

27 June 2010 Ivee would recommend this property

Liked: It was easy enough to find, very near the train station, which was perfect for us since we wanted to take a day trip out to Den Haag, so it was really convenient for us. As most people have mentioned, there are steep stairs, but also it is very narrow, about three feet wide, and it was a bit of a problem lugging our luggages around, though we were lucky that we were on the first floor, cant imagine if we were on a higher floor and there was no lift. It was really near the red light district, but due to the high volume of tourists in the red light district, it really isn't that dangerous. We booked a private double room, which, to be honest, was nothing more than just a room with two feet of space on the right and front of the bed, a sink, a tiny bedside drawer up to mid-calf, and a chair tucked in the corner since there was no space else for it to be. There was also a little tv, which was great for us to watch the World Cup when we decided to stay indoors (since it rained a couple of days and we didn't feel like heading out). The receptionists were really quite helpful, and the internet in the computer downstairs was slow, but tolerable. No internet in the rooms, though. The sheets felt a little dirty, though it could have also just been the general atmosphere in the area and our mind playing tricks on us. Great continental breakfast spread, though, you can really eat your fill with sliced cheese, various hams, cereal, milk, bread, spreads, hard-boiled eggs and a coffee machine. Would only recommend it if you really want a place to stay near the red light district, near the train station, don't want to worry about breakfast, and don't mind feeling like the sheets are a little.... iffy. Though I would think there would be places more value-for-money, you'd just gotta book them early enough (we booked this place because we it was a last minute decision to travel to Amsterdam, and most of the other cheaper places recommended by our friends were fully booked)

Disliked: Ivee left no negative feedback.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

17 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the place is ok. NO WIRELESS. close to coffee shops and clubs. the public areas smell really good, amsterdam.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Jose Guimaraes

16 June 2010 Jose would recommend this property

Liked: It's a very nice place for budget travellers, but i recommend arriving low on expectations, so you won't get somehow disappointed. However, the price/location ratio are excellent, as well as the staff, very helpful and always smiling :) I recommend the hostel owners to pay a little more attention to details, as overall cleaning/hygiene of rooms and bathrooms.

Disliked: Jose left no negative feedback.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

14 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: our room was tiny with space only for bed and sink. there wasn't any cupboard nor hallstand, just a chair where to put our clothes.in my opinion, don't go there if you plan to stay more than 2-3 days...on the positive side, they offer a good breakfast, free internet access and it is located in a central position.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 20%

FOTIOS PYRGOS

14 June 2010

Liked: ONLY GOOD LOCATION

Disliked: FOTIOS left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

13 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Brilliant location- right in the heart of Amsterdam

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

07 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: average

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

07 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The only good thing about this hotel is the loaction and the breakfast. The breakfast was really excellent with eggs, ham and cheese. The hotel looks quite shabby and the room is quite dark. It doesn't feel very clean and the toilets are quite old looking

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

03 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good spot usually stay other side of town, but gave it a shot, and will be back. cheers-

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Roger Rota

01 June 2010 Roger would recommend this property

Liked: Very convenient location for what i wanted to do. Centrally located for anything you wanted.

Disliked: Roger left no negative feedback.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Raymond Vincent Sandoval

31 May 2010

Liked: As Amsterdam is rather expensive, I guess I could not expect more for 65 euros/night for a single room at a hostel (the property also runs what it claims is a 3-star hotel). My room was very small, dinghy, and rather noisy if you get a room facing the street or near the stairs. If your room is next to the flight of stairs, as mine was, you will clearly hear it when people climb up and down the stairs. The shared toilet was not clean. The first flight of stairs is extremely steep and long, so don't even think about bringing anything bigger than cabin baggage to your room. I was able to stay at Ibis City Centre Hotel in The Hague for as low as 59 euros/night (13 euros extra for buffet breakfast) by booking 20 days in advance. I would have gladly paid this amount to stay at Ibis Hotel, a proper 3-star hotel, and take the 45-minute train to Amsterdam from The Hague rather than stay in Hotel de Mallemoolen. But if time and distance to the train station and airport are issues, take note that Hotel de Mallemoolen is very conveniently located to Amsterdam Central Station.

Disliked: Raymond Vincent left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Lee-Anne Christy

29 May 2010 Lee-Anne would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, so close to the train station and right in the thick of everything Amsterdam is famous for. Staff were fantastic, and really good value. More of a cheap hotel room than a hostel so probably not the best place to meet other travellers.

Disliked: Lee-Anne left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

21 May 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, great location, very clean and great breakfast.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

18 May 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Every time we went to claim our room key we had to verify our identity. This help put our minds at ease that no one would be getting into our room and taking our possessions.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

06 May 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

04 May 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excelent location

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Rachel neave

29 April 2010 Rachel would recommend this property

Liked: Very comfortable stay and very friendly and helpful staff. Didn't really get to meet any of the other guests aside from the evening where the fire alarm went off. All in all was a pleasant place to stay, although I don't think the location would be brilliant for older people as the street outside was very busy in the evenings and there was quite a lot of noise. Also I think we had a heard of wild buffalo staying in the upstairs rooms - it was very loud late at night with guests coming in and going out. At one point it sounded like someone was trying to open my door when actually they were heading next door. Basically, if you're a light sleeper then bring earplugs. Excellent otherwise - I reccomend making the effort to get up for breakfast.

Disliked: Rachel left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

29 April 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location was good. Close to the station and close to the red light destrict but although quiet. Reception is 24 hours open and staff is friendly.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

25 April 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location location location

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

19 April 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel was so very good located. They clean every day the rooms and change the towels, and our room had bath and shower. The staff is very kind.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

14 April 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: really good location for the price.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

10 April 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location was great. so close to central station. just a couple minutes walk. a bunch of good cafes and bars close by. clean room. friendly staff

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lukmanulhakim Abdul Majid

10 April 2010 Lukmanulhakim would recommend this property

Liked: This hotel is very closed to central station that will make your travelling very convinience. Just 5-10 minutes from central station.the room itself is pretty small with very narrow staircase that makes heart pumping to climb upstair with a large and heavy luggage.the staff at the hotel were super duper friendly which will make your impression to dutch people are very nice people. I love Amsterdam and hoping will make another visit some other time in the future.

Disliked: Lukmanulhakim left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kirsti Lehti

06 April 2010 Kirsti would recommend this property

Liked: The location was perfec for walking in the city also for travelling by train.Hotel was very peaceful. Breakfast was good. Hotel staff was helpfull and very kind !!

Disliked: Kirsti left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

28 March 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is really good - very close to Centraal railway station and close to main attractions in the center of Amsterdam. Many bars around.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.