We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Hotel De Mallemoolen

1 star Hotel | Warmoesstraat 7, Amsterdam, Netherlands 1012 HT

80.2% Overall Rating

561 out of 699 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (25/08/2015)

"The location is superb. Near to the main hub and red light district is just streets away."

Read all Hotel De Mallemoolen reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Please Note: We will pre-authorise this first night on your card after booking. This is just a 'pre autorisation' and not a debit. If your credit-card is not valid we will require an alternative card. Failure to contact us with an alternative card may result in your booking being cancelled.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Amsterdam

Hotel De Koopermoolen
59.26 USD

Hotel 2 star 79.2% 197 reviews
Hostel Meeting Point
24.60 USD

Hostel 79.3% 4 reviews
Hotel Old Quarter
40.53 USD

Hostel 74.3% 10 reviews
Hostel The Globe
22.36 USD

Hostel 73.5% 1334 reviews
Hotel The Globe Centre
35.78 USD

Hotel 1 star 77.8% 203 reviews
Amsterdam Cribs / Red Light B&B
39.13 USD

Hostel 92.2% 38 reviews
The Greenhouse effect
50.31 USD

Hotel 2 star 87.4% 400 reviews
Hostel Croydon
22.36 USD

Hostel 63.4% 435 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/08/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/08/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
80.2%

Overall Rating

561 out of 699 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hotel De Mallemoolen'

Atmosphere
73.6%
Location
96.8%
Facilities
70.4%
Cleanliness
69.6%
Staff
92.0%
Value
76.0%
Safety
83.2%
Refine your results Showing 434 of 494 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 17 | 18   Next
Reset filter
80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife

14 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great location

Disliked: toilettes

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Shopping

06 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

06 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location.

Disliked: The breakfast- there was no toaster so we had to have sandwiches instead of toast!

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

05 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: it's a nice place to know, very amsterdam-like construction. the room had a good size and the bathrooms were relatively clean.

Disliked: it smelled like tobacco a bit, sometimes the bathrooms were a bit unclean. the guy that stayed at the front desk at night was not as nice as the one that stayed during the day.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

03 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great Location

Disliked: Expensive, Small Bedroom

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife

30 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice and proper hostel. Close to nightlife :-) Really nice and helpful staff!

Disliked: Located in the middle of a street with coffee shops and bars why there is some noise from the street.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

28 August 2010

Liked: Close to the Centraal Station

Disliked: I booked a single room in Mallemoolen but was given a double in Koopelmoolen, their sister hotel. That would be ok if the double room had a window which it had not.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife

28 August 2010

Liked: location was good

Disliked: Rooms are very very small it just take a double bed,thats all. Also showes and wc are not clean enough.Finally ı rent a safe in this hotel but the battery of the safe finished so i wait for 2 hours to open it...

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Shaun Andriske

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

26 August 2010 Shaun would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were very helpful and we could leave our luggage there all day after we checked out.

Disliked: It wasn't the cleanest hostel I have stayed at, and the stairs were quite dangerous, especially carrying luggage up and down the 4 tiny flights

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Michelle Reid

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

26 August 2010 Michelle would recommend this property

Liked: EVERY THING - we had an up grade which was a lovely treat... location was amazing staff were really friendly, brekfast in the morning was nice, every thing was spotless and you were left alone to your own devices.... wicked stay

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Martin Larsen

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Shopping

22 August 2010 Martin would recommend this property

Liked: As the Hotel was overbooked, we got moved to a 3 start hotel just next door. The friendly staff showed us the way and everything was done with ease.The location, whether or not we would had stayed at the 1 start or the 3 star hotel is absolutely amazing.

Disliked: It is more a hotel than a hostel, don't go there to get the "hostel atmosphere"

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

21 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location, staff and being in a fantastic city.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Hazel Kelly

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife
Shopping

19 August 2010 Hazel would recommend this property

Liked: Location was great: Could walk to anywhere I wanted to visit. The hotel was clean and as a single girl staying there I felt safe. Didn't have any trouble sharing the shower/toilet facilities. Staff were always friendly and helpful. The breakfast spread was also a good bonus!

Disliked: My room was very small as I was on the top floor with the slanted ceilings, but it certainly done the job. They weren't joking about the stairs either! (though, thankfully I didn't have masses of luggage ).

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

13 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were friendly and the location was awesome - right in the middle of the red light district.

Disliked: The staircase is very narrow to get up with a huge backpack!

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

11 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, free breakfast, good value room. clean. good location. on suit shower.

Disliked: toilet wasnt on the same floor as the room.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

10 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very well located

Disliked: The stairs almost killed me, my room looked like a narrow corridor

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa

09 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Done its job nothing more. Safe secure good location and friendly staff

Disliked: no oppourtunity to meet other people. defeats point of travelling

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Adriana Matsufuji

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year

28 July 2010 Adriana would recommend this property

Liked: EXCELENT LOCATION!

Disliked: only one bathroom, and it was on the lower floor

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Backpacking / gap year
City break

28 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The receptionist was very helpful and internet and breakfast was included. There was also places to leave our luggage.

Disliked: When we arrived early we were told our room wasn't ready and to come back between 12 and 1 which is reasonable but when we returned we were given the keys but our room was still not clean. However, they sorted this out immediately and there were no more problems.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

João Ferreira

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year

26 July 2010 João would recommend this property

Liked: The location is great. Near the train station and the city center.

Disliked: Lack of young people when i stayed there.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife

21 July 2010

Liked: Just its proximity to the Railway station.

Disliked: The staircase, the fact that there's no elevator, no toilet in the rooms, toilet only on the ground floor.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Sightseeing & culture

17 July 2010

Liked: Giant window, great TV, excellent breakfast. Friendly, helpful staff. Free internet. We arrived at 7am, and they let us check in early, which was much-appreciated.

Disliked: Bathrooms were tiny, smelly, and moldy - felt slimy and gross. Steep, narrow staircases. Had to give key to reception when we left, so we felt like we couldn't come and go as we pleased. Building needs repair.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife
Shopping

16 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We liked it

Disliked: the noise of the city

71.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

07 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the location is brilliant!! right in the middle of the red light district!! the 24 hr reception means u can come home at any time wit no curfew. Very relaxed atmosphere and breakfast is good!

Disliked: we were in the attic and there was no air conditioning or vans! the heat was almost unbearable sometimes even with windows open!!. not suitable for anyone with trouble walking as the stairs are as steep as ladders!!

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Yi Zhang

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Partying / nightlife

01 July 2010 Yi would recommend this property

Liked: got a ensuit instead of the normal room. the room is small but okay to stay. Quite good location and warm heart staff.

Disliked: The room is just small.