We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Hotel De Mallemoolen

1 star Hotel | Warmoesstraat 7, Amsterdam, Netherlands 1012 HT

83.1% Overall Rating

544 out of 679 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (25/08/2014)

Batuhan Ibrahim Ünaldi thinks…

"Classic Dutch houses, i love it :) Friendly staff. Clean enough. Nice location. Breakfast included."

Read all Hotel De Mallemoolen reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Amsterdam

Hotel De Koopermoolen
54.40 USD

Hotel 2 star 77.4% 192 reviews
Hotel Old Quarter
33.21 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Hostel The Globe
15.18 USD

Hostel 69.8% 1283 reviews
Hotel The Globe Centre
27.83 USD

Hotel 1 star 79.8% 199 reviews
Amsterdam Cribs / Red Light B&B
44.28 USD

Hostel 92.0% 34 reviews
The Greenhouse effect
56.93 USD

Hotel 2 star 88.0% 398 reviews
Hostel Croydon
12.65 USD

Hostel 65.0% 409 reviews
AmsterdamGuest House
44.28 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
83.1%

Overall Rating

544 out of 679 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hotel De Mallemoolen'

Atmosphere
78.4%
Location
97.6%
Facilities
71.2%
Cleanliness
76.8%
Staff
94.4%
Value
80.8%
Safety
82.4%
Refine your results Showing 423 of 474 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 16 | 17   Next
Reset filter
88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

21 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location, staff and being in a fantastic city.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Hazel Kelly

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife
Shopping

19 August 2010 Hazel would recommend this property

Liked: Location was great: Could walk to anywhere I wanted to visit. The hotel was clean and as a single girl staying there I felt safe. Didn't have any trouble sharing the shower/toilet facilities. Staff were always friendly and helpful. The breakfast spread was also a good bonus!

Disliked: My room was very small as I was on the top floor with the slanted ceilings, but it certainly done the job. They weren't joking about the stairs either! (though, thankfully I didn't have masses of luggage ).

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

13 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were friendly and the location was awesome - right in the middle of the red light district.

Disliked: The staircase is very narrow to get up with a huge backpack!

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

11 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, free breakfast, good value room. clean. good location. on suit shower.

Disliked: toilet wasnt on the same floor as the room.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

10 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very well located

Disliked: The stairs almost killed me, my room looked like a narrow corridor

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa

09 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Done its job nothing more. Safe secure good location and friendly staff

Disliked: no oppourtunity to meet other people. defeats point of travelling

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Adriana Matsufuji

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year

28 July 2010 Adriana would recommend this property

Liked: EXCELENT LOCATION!

Disliked: only one bathroom, and it was on the lower floor

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Backpacking / gap year
City break

28 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The receptionist was very helpful and internet and breakfast was included. There was also places to leave our luggage.

Disliked: When we arrived early we were told our room wasn't ready and to come back between 12 and 1 which is reasonable but when we returned we were given the keys but our room was still not clean. However, they sorted this out immediately and there were no more problems.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

João Ferreira

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year

26 July 2010 João would recommend this property

Liked: The location is great. Near the train station and the city center.

Disliked: Lack of young people when i stayed there.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife

21 July 2010

Liked: Just its proximity to the Railway station.

Disliked: The staircase, the fact that there's no elevator, no toilet in the rooms, toilet only on the ground floor.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Sightseeing & culture

17 July 2010

Liked: Giant window, great TV, excellent breakfast. Friendly, helpful staff. Free internet. We arrived at 7am, and they let us check in early, which was much-appreciated.

Disliked: Bathrooms were tiny, smelly, and moldy - felt slimy and gross. Steep, narrow staircases. Had to give key to reception when we left, so we felt like we couldn't come and go as we pleased. Building needs repair.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife
Shopping

16 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We liked it

Disliked: the noise of the city

71.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

07 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the location is brilliant!! right in the middle of the red light district!! the 24 hr reception means u can come home at any time wit no curfew. Very relaxed atmosphere and breakfast is good!

Disliked: we were in the attic and there was no air conditioning or vans! the heat was almost unbearable sometimes even with windows open!!. not suitable for anyone with trouble walking as the stairs are as steep as ladders!!

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Yi Zhang

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Partying / nightlife

01 July 2010 Yi would recommend this property

Liked: got a ensuit instead of the normal room. the room is small but okay to stay. Quite good location and warm heart staff.

Disliked: The room is just small.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Ivee Tan

27 June 2010 Ivee would recommend this property

Liked: It was easy enough to find, very near the train station, which was perfect for us since we wanted to take a day trip out to Den Haag, so it was really convenient for us. As most people have mentioned, there are steep stairs, but also it is very narrow, about three feet wide, and it was a bit of a problem lugging our luggages around, though we were lucky that we were on the first floor, cant imagine if we were on a higher floor and there was no lift. It was really near the red light district, but due to the high volume of tourists in the red light district, it really isn't that dangerous. We booked a private double room, which, to be honest, was nothing more than just a room with two feet of space on the right and front of the bed, a sink, a tiny bedside drawer up to mid-calf, and a chair tucked in the corner since there was no space else for it to be. There was also a little tv, which was great for us to watch the World Cup when we decided to stay indoors (since it rained a couple of days and we didn't feel like heading out). The receptionists were really quite helpful, and the internet in the computer downstairs was slow, but tolerable. No internet in the rooms, though. The sheets felt a little dirty, though it could have also just been the general atmosphere in the area and our mind playing tricks on us. Great continental breakfast spread, though, you can really eat your fill with sliced cheese, various hams, cereal, milk, bread, spreads, hard-boiled eggs and a coffee machine. Would only recommend it if you really want a place to stay near the red light district, near the train station, don't want to worry about breakfast, and don't mind feeling like the sheets are a little.... iffy. Though I would think there would be places more value-for-money, you'd just gotta book them early enough (we booked this place because we it was a last minute decision to travel to Amsterdam, and most of the other cheaper places recommended by our friends were fully booked)

Disliked: Ivee left no negative feedback.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

17 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the place is ok. NO WIRELESS. close to coffee shops and clubs. the public areas smell really good, amsterdam.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Jose Guimaraes

16 June 2010 Jose would recommend this property

Liked: It's a very nice place for budget travellers, but i recommend arriving low on expectations, so you won't get somehow disappointed. However, the price/location ratio are excellent, as well as the staff, very helpful and always smiling :) I recommend the hostel owners to pay a little more attention to details, as overall cleaning/hygiene of rooms and bathrooms.

Disliked: Jose left no negative feedback.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

14 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: our room was tiny with space only for bed and sink. there wasn't any cupboard nor hallstand, just a chair where to put our clothes.in my opinion, don't go there if you plan to stay more than 2-3 days...on the positive side, they offer a good breakfast, free internet access and it is located in a central position.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 20%

FOTIOS PYRGOS

14 June 2010

Liked: ONLY GOOD LOCATION

Disliked: FOTIOS left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

13 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Brilliant location- right in the heart of Amsterdam

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

07 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: average

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

07 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The only good thing about this hotel is the loaction and the breakfast. The breakfast was really excellent with eggs, ham and cheese. The hotel looks quite shabby and the room is quite dark. It doesn't feel very clean and the toilets are quite old looking

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

03 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good spot usually stay other side of town, but gave it a shot, and will be back. cheers-

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Roger Rota

01 June 2010 Roger would recommend this property

Liked: Very convenient location for what i wanted to do. Centrally located for anything you wanted.

Disliked: Roger left no negative feedback.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Raymond Vincent Sandoval

31 May 2010

Liked: As Amsterdam is rather expensive, I guess I could not expect more for 65 euros/night for a single room at a hostel (the property also runs what it claims is a 3-star hotel). My room was very small, dinghy, and rather noisy if you get a room facing the street or near the stairs. If your room is next to the flight of stairs, as mine was, you will clearly hear it when people climb up and down the stairs. The shared toilet was not clean. The first flight of stairs is extremely steep and long, so don't even think about bringing anything bigger than cabin baggage to your room. I was able to stay at Ibis City Centre Hotel in The Hague for as low as 59 euros/night (13 euros extra for buffet breakfast) by booking 20 days in advance. I would have gladly paid this amount to stay at Ibis Hotel, a proper 3-star hotel, and take the 45-minute train to Amsterdam from The Hague rather than stay in Hotel de Mallemoolen. But if time and distance to the train station and airport are issues, take note that Hotel de Mallemoolen is very conveniently located to Amsterdam Central Station.

Disliked: Raymond Vincent left no negative feedback.