HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Hotel De Mallemoolen

1 star Hotel | Warmoesstraat 7, Amsterdam, Netherlands 1012 HT

82.1% Overall Rating

530 out of 663 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (10/07/2013)

mark quinn thinks…

"I appreciated the convenient location very much. It took three/four minutes to get to from central station.The room was quite adequate for my needs and quite clean. The staff were pleasant and…"

Read all Hotel De Mallemoolen reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Amsterdam

Hotel De Koopermoolen
69.10 USD

Hotel 2 star 79.4% 186 reviews
Hotel Old Quarter
62.19 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Hostel The Globe
27.64 USD

Hostel 71.0% 1234 reviews
Hotel The Globe Centre
34.55 USD

Hotel 1 star 82.4% 193 reviews
Amsterdam Cribs / Red Light B&B
55.28 USD

Apartment 92.0% 32 reviews
The Greenhouse effect
62.19 USD

Hotel 2 star 86.7% 391 reviews
Hostel Croydon
26.26 USD

Hostel 85.7% 371 reviews
Dam Hotel
34.55 USD

Hotel 2 star 66.1% 312 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
82.1%

Overall Rating

530 out of 663 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hotel De Mallemoolen'

Atmosphere
75.2%
Location
99.2%
Facilities
72.0%
Cleanliness
80.0%
Staff
92.8%
Value
71.2%
Safety
84.0%
Refine your results Showing 415 of 458 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 16 | 17   Next
Reset filter
74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

João Ferreira

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year

26 July 2010 João would recommend this property

Liked: The location is great. Near the train station and the city center.

Disliked: Lack of young people when i stayed there.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife

21 July 2010

Liked: Just its proximity to the Railway station.

Disliked: The staircase, the fact that there's no elevator, no toilet in the rooms, toilet only on the ground floor.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Sightseeing & culture

17 July 2010

Liked: Giant window, great TV, excellent breakfast. Friendly, helpful staff. Free internet. We arrived at 7am, and they let us check in early, which was much-appreciated.

Disliked: Bathrooms were tiny, smelly, and moldy - felt slimy and gross. Steep, narrow staircases. Had to give key to reception when we left, so we felt like we couldn't come and go as we pleased. Building needs repair.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife
Shopping

16 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We liked it

Disliked: the noise of the city

71.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

07 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the location is brilliant!! right in the middle of the red light district!! the 24 hr reception means u can come home at any time wit no curfew. Very relaxed atmosphere and breakfast is good!

Disliked: we were in the attic and there was no air conditioning or vans! the heat was almost unbearable sometimes even with windows open!!. not suitable for anyone with trouble walking as the stairs are as steep as ladders!!

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Yi Zhang

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Partying / nightlife

01 July 2010 Yi would recommend this property

Liked: got a ensuit instead of the normal room. the room is small but okay to stay. Quite good location and warm heart staff.

Disliked: The room is just small.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Ivee Tan

27 June 2010 Ivee would recommend this property

Liked: It was easy enough to find, very near the train station, which was perfect for us since we wanted to take a day trip out to Den Haag, so it was really convenient for us. As most people have mentioned, there are steep stairs, but also it is very narrow, about three feet wide, and it was a bit of a problem lugging our luggages around, though we were lucky that we were on the first floor, cant imagine if we were on a higher floor and there was no lift. It was really near the red light district, but due to the high volume of tourists in the red light district, it really isn't that dangerous. We booked a private double room, which, to be honest, was nothing more than just a room with two feet of space on the right and front of the bed, a sink, a tiny bedside drawer up to mid-calf, and a chair tucked in the corner since there was no space else for it to be. There was also a little tv, which was great for us to watch the World Cup when we decided to stay indoors (since it rained a couple of days and we didn't feel like heading out). The receptionists were really quite helpful, and the internet in the computer downstairs was slow, but tolerable. No internet in the rooms, though. The sheets felt a little dirty, though it could have also just been the general atmosphere in the area and our mind playing tricks on us. Great continental breakfast spread, though, you can really eat your fill with sliced cheese, various hams, cereal, milk, bread, spreads, hard-boiled eggs and a coffee machine. Would only recommend it if you really want a place to stay near the red light district, near the train station, don't want to worry about breakfast, and don't mind feeling like the sheets are a little.... iffy. Though I would think there would be places more value-for-money, you'd just gotta book them early enough (we booked this place because we it was a last minute decision to travel to Amsterdam, and most of the other cheaper places recommended by our friends were fully booked)

Disliked: Ivee left no negative feedback.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

17 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the place is ok. NO WIRELESS. close to coffee shops and clubs. the public areas smell really good, amsterdam.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Jose Guimaraes

16 June 2010 Jose would recommend this property

Liked: It's a very nice place for budget travellers, but i recommend arriving low on expectations, so you won't get somehow disappointed. However, the price/location ratio are excellent, as well as the staff, very helpful and always smiling :) I recommend the hostel owners to pay a little more attention to details, as overall cleaning/hygiene of rooms and bathrooms.

Disliked: Jose left no negative feedback.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

14 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: our room was tiny with space only for bed and sink. there wasn't any cupboard nor hallstand, just a chair where to put our clothes.in my opinion, don't go there if you plan to stay more than 2-3 days...on the positive side, they offer a good breakfast, free internet access and it is located in a central position.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 20%

FOTIOS PYRGOS

14 June 2010

Liked: ONLY GOOD LOCATION

Disliked: FOTIOS left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

13 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Brilliant location- right in the heart of Amsterdam

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

07 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: average

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

07 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The only good thing about this hotel is the loaction and the breakfast. The breakfast was really excellent with eggs, ham and cheese. The hotel looks quite shabby and the room is quite dark. It doesn't feel very clean and the toilets are quite old looking

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

03 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good spot usually stay other side of town, but gave it a shot, and will be back. cheers-

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Roger Rota

01 June 2010 Roger would recommend this property

Liked: Very convenient location for what i wanted to do. Centrally located for anything you wanted.

Disliked: Roger left no negative feedback.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Raymond Vincent Sandoval

31 May 2010

Liked: As Amsterdam is rather expensive, I guess I could not expect more for 65 euros/night for a single room at a hostel (the property also runs what it claims is a 3-star hotel). My room was very small, dinghy, and rather noisy if you get a room facing the street or near the stairs. If your room is next to the flight of stairs, as mine was, you will clearly hear it when people climb up and down the stairs. The shared toilet was not clean. The first flight of stairs is extremely steep and long, so don't even think about bringing anything bigger than cabin baggage to your room. I was able to stay at Ibis City Centre Hotel in The Hague for as low as 59 euros/night (13 euros extra for buffet breakfast) by booking 20 days in advance. I would have gladly paid this amount to stay at Ibis Hotel, a proper 3-star hotel, and take the 45-minute train to Amsterdam from The Hague rather than stay in Hotel de Mallemoolen. But if time and distance to the train station and airport are issues, take note that Hotel de Mallemoolen is very conveniently located to Amsterdam Central Station.

Disliked: Raymond Vincent left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Lee-Anne Christy

29 May 2010 Lee-Anne would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, so close to the train station and right in the thick of everything Amsterdam is famous for. Staff were fantastic, and really good value. More of a cheap hotel room than a hostel so probably not the best place to meet other travellers.

Disliked: Lee-Anne left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

21 May 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, great location, very clean and great breakfast.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

18 May 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Every time we went to claim our room key we had to verify our identity. This help put our minds at ease that no one would be getting into our room and taking our possessions.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

06 May 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

04 May 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excelent location

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Rachel neave

29 April 2010 Rachel would recommend this property

Liked: Very comfortable stay and very friendly and helpful staff. Didn't really get to meet any of the other guests aside from the evening where the fire alarm went off. All in all was a pleasant place to stay, although I don't think the location would be brilliant for older people as the street outside was very busy in the evenings and there was quite a lot of noise. Also I think we had a heard of wild buffalo staying in the upstairs rooms - it was very loud late at night with guests coming in and going out. At one point it sounded like someone was trying to open my door when actually they were heading next door. Basically, if you're a light sleeper then bring earplugs. Excellent otherwise - I reccomend making the effort to get up for breakfast.

Disliked: Rachel left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

29 April 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location was good. Close to the station and close to the red light destrict but although quiet. Reception is 24 hours open and staff is friendly.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

25 April 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location location location

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.