HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Hotel De Mallemoolen

1 star Hotel | Warmoesstraat 7, Amsterdam, Netherlands 1012 HT

84.9% Overall Rating

544 out of 678 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (25/08/2014)

Batuhan Ibrahim Ünaldi thinks…

"Classic Dutch houses, i love it :) Friendly staff. Clean enough. Nice location. Breakfast included."

Read all Hotel De Mallemoolen reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Amsterdam

Hotel De Koopermoolen
64.34 USD

Hotel 2 star 76.9% 191 reviews
Hotel Old Quarter
34.47 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Hostel The Globe
28.89 USD

Hostel 68.7% 1281 reviews
Hotel The Globe Centre
36.76 USD

Hotel 1 star 79.8% 199 reviews
Amsterdam Cribs / Red Light B&B
45.96 USD

Hostel 92.1% 33 reviews
The Greenhouse effect
59.09 USD

Hotel 2 star 88.0% 398 reviews
Hostel Croydon
22.32 USD

Hostel 62.7% 402 reviews
AmsterdamGuest House
32.83 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
84.9%

Overall Rating

544 out of 678 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hotel De Mallemoolen'

Atmosphere
79.2%
Location
99.2%
Facilities
73.6%
Cleanliness
80.0%
Staff
94.4%
Value
84.0%
Safety
84.0%
Refine your results Showing 423 of 473 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 16 | 17   Next
Reset filter
91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

29 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were lovely and very helpful, breakfast was nice and the location was great.

Disliked: Lift only carried one person at a time and the stairs were very steep.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Paul Doyle

Alone

Business / conference

01 December 2010

Liked: What did I like about this property?..... that it was centally located. But nothing else.

Disliked: These guys must have celebrated when they were somehow awarded a 1 star for the 'hotel'! The room (#3) wasn't soundproofed to block out the loud stomping that other guests’ produced passing by (no, not outside -inside!) so whenever people walk past the room you'll be disturbed. The bed’s mattress is thin and soft. It seems that in an attempt to qualify for the 1 star they needed to include a tv in every room. –so room 3 has a tv on a wall bracket jutting out awkwardly in a stupid position It's tiny. It’s musty. Not just the room, but the tiny shower ‘room’ & the bathroom –which is more of a toilet in a cupboard. There seems to be an issue with not opening windows and allowing fresh air from outside to rush through the place. It’s badly needed. The tiny window in my room was nine feet off the ground (yep, like in jail) and difficult to open –I didn’t want to break it by forcing too much so I left it closed for 4 days! My bathroom at home is bigger than the room and I thought I had a small bathroom. It feels like a punishment to stay there. It's not comfortable, it's not relaxing. It's purely utilitarian. Put it this way... if you want a roof over your head but you don't want a dorm and you're on a budget then this place could be alright. To leave the hotel you must shut the door behind you and go next door to leave your keycard. To get back to your room you have to do the reverse and the reason you can't just leave with the key yourself is that you have to go to the reception anyway to get them to buzz you in. This is a stupid system that suits only the hotel -if you forget something you must make this stupid trip into the reception, ask for the keycard, go stand outside & wait for the girl behind the desk to wake up from her hibernation to buzz you in. Loads of times I was standing there in the cold waving up at the security camera outside hoping to catch her attention -and you think to yourself, "but she just handed me the keycard a second ago and she knows she has to buzz me in!" so you go back in again and then the penny drops on her face. “Ah, sorry” Once or twice, ye don't mind -every second time it starts to annoy you. They'll hold onto your luggage (for free) after you’ve checked out which is always handy. Breakfast (nothing to get excited about) is free (well, they couldn't charge for it!). Location for me was perfect -right at the bottom of Warmoestraat, 10 sec from Greenhouse Effect & Hill Street Blues, 4/5mins from Centraal Stn. This place could 'look' a lot better -they could take the depressing-ness away with some funky bright colours. €200/€300 of paint would turn the place around. The room was like something from one of those industrial boys’ schools or borstals from 1950s Ireland and it didn't have to be so depressing looking. I think tourists forgive the weird shaped rooms, the steep stairs, the quaint, funny differences that Amsterdam’s city centre hotels are burdened with but you can't help but think the room was designed by Josef Fritzl. One last point -I enquired weeks before I arrived if I could pay in full, they said no, but that I could do it at the desk when I arrived. I said that I wouldn't have the credit card with me so it wouldn't be possible. They said no, no, no, don't worry you'll be asked how you wish to pay and as we'll already have the CC details just tell them that you want to pay that way (even though you don't have it). Are you sure? "Yes, of course" Really? "YES!" Guess what happened when I arrived? Yep! So if I didn't happen to have an emergency €150 I would have been screwed. Despite the fact that this was their mistake, the woman behind the desk, like those nodding dogs, kept smiling & blinking vacantly at me in that really exasperating way and asked me for evidence that this happened!! I didn't wanna start off my trip like that, ye know, so I just let it be. But that's the kind of place it is. Better to know what to expect rather than be unpleasantly surprised, ye know, “Forewarned…“etc. etc.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Melanie Green

With friends / other travellers

City break

01 December 2010 Melanie would recommend this property

Liked: The receptionist is so lovely, friendly, funny and so so helpful!

Disliked: The wooden stairs are a bit noisy! - get some carpet!!

68.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Nihan Çiçek

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

24 November 2010 Nihan would recommend this property

Liked: The location of the hotel was great. as stated in the info, it's 2 minutes walk to red light district. and there are lots of nice coffee shops around. the hotel staff was kind and helpful, especially the guy who greeted us when we checked in. Our room was good, but let me note that we had a special room with seperate shower and toilet. That part was total luck. dont expect to have seperate shower and toilet. be prepared for shared ones.

Disliked: There was a bad smell in our room probably spreading form the floor covering, and the customer profile was a little weird but that was ok since we did not look for socializing. hotel de mallemoolen is not a youth hostel where you can party and make new friends.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Mirza Izgur

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife

23 November 2010 Mirza would recommend this property

Liked: In the heart of Amsterdam, nice breakfast, friendly staff

Disliked: Very small room, common bathroom

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

stephen gibson

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

09 November 2010 stephen would recommend this property

Liked: it was right in the heart of the red light district

Disliked: the rooms were poky and we had nowhere to hang our clothes in the room. the toilet wasn`t kept very clean for it being shared by all the other guests

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

29 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's very close to Amsterdam Centraal, so only about a 5 minute walk. The guy at the front desk was super nice, funny and helpful. The room was pretty clean, as were the facilities.

Disliked: The hotel was basically in the Red Light District (not the really seedy part) and our room reeked of pot, but neither of these things is really unexpected.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Gary Shelswell

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
City break
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

26 October 2010 Gary would recommend this property

Liked: Great Location, Very Friendly and helpfull staff

Disliked: Not any dislikes but a hint to hotel- Get a toaster for the breakfast as this would make bread far more enjoying :)

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway

25 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hotel is nearby the station and in the middle of historical centrum.

Disliked: Very small room without wardrobe.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Diego Musacchio

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa

19 October 2010 Diego would recommend this property

Liked: it is in the heart of amsterdam, just 2 blocks away from the main train station and near the red light district.

Disliked: the stairs are very small and if you are carrying a large bag y will be in trouble to get into the second floor.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

13 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the breakfast was really good, wide variety of different food, good quality coffee served in kitchen, everyday cleaning in the room, quiet during the night ideal for resting

Disliked: lack of toilets, the room was stinking

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa

03 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: staffs

Disliked: the staircases are too long and slanting

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

21 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: 24 hour reception was good, opp great chinese restaurant. great view from our top floor room and breakfast was included which was brill a nice spread.

Disliked: A little noisy at night but the xecellent location more than made up for it. You also has tp hand your key in every time you went out which was a bit of a pain

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

16 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendliness of the staff and an excellent location.

Disliked: Could hear a lot of noise from outside the hotel as well as people walking and talking outside the room.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife

14 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great location

Disliked: toilettes

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Shopping

06 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

06 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location.

Disliked: The breakfast- there was no toaster so we had to have sandwiches instead of toast!

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

05 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: it's a nice place to know, very amsterdam-like construction. the room had a good size and the bathrooms were relatively clean.

Disliked: it smelled like tobacco a bit, sometimes the bathrooms were a bit unclean. the guy that stayed at the front desk at night was not as nice as the one that stayed during the day.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

03 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great Location

Disliked: Expensive, Small Bedroom

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife

30 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice and proper hostel. Close to nightlife :-) Really nice and helpful staff!

Disliked: Located in the middle of a street with coffee shops and bars why there is some noise from the street.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

28 August 2010

Liked: Close to the Centraal Station

Disliked: I booked a single room in Mallemoolen but was given a double in Koopelmoolen, their sister hotel. That would be ok if the double room had a window which it had not.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife

28 August 2010

Liked: location was good

Disliked: Rooms are very very small it just take a double bed,thats all. Also showes and wc are not clean enough.Finally ı rent a safe in this hotel but the battery of the safe finished so i wait for 2 hours to open it...

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Shaun Andriske

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

26 August 2010 Shaun would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were very helpful and we could leave our luggage there all day after we checked out.

Disliked: It wasn't the cleanest hostel I have stayed at, and the stairs were quite dangerous, especially carrying luggage up and down the 4 tiny flights

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Michelle Reid

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

26 August 2010 Michelle would recommend this property

Liked: EVERY THING - we had an up grade which was a lovely treat... location was amazing staff were really friendly, brekfast in the morning was nice, every thing was spotless and you were left alone to your own devices.... wicked stay

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Martin Larsen

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Shopping

22 August 2010 Martin would recommend this property

Liked: As the Hotel was overbooked, we got moved to a 3 start hotel just next door. The friendly staff showed us the way and everything was done with ease.The location, whether or not we would had stayed at the 1 start or the 3 star hotel is absolutely amazing.

Disliked: It is more a hotel than a hostel, don't go there to get the "hostel atmosphere"