HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Hotel De Mallemoolen

1 star Hotel | Warmoesstraat 7, Amsterdam, Netherlands 1012 HT

85.4% Overall Rating

541 out of 674 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (15/06/2014)

"Very close to the central station, convenient to walk to other attractions e.g red light district, chinatown, museums."

Read all Hotel De Mallemoolen reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Amsterdam

Hotel De Koopermoolen
66.95 USD

Hotel 2 star 76.9% 191 reviews
Hotel Old Quarter
49.10 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Hostel The Globe
33.48 USD

Hostel 78.6% 1265 reviews
Hotel The Globe Centre
40.17 USD

Hotel 1 star 80.3% 198 reviews
Amsterdam Cribs / Red Light B&B
53.56 USD

Hostel 92.1% 33 reviews
The Greenhouse effect
60.26 USD

Hotel 2 star 88.0% 397 reviews
Hostel Croydon
40.17 USD

Hostel 60.5% 394 reviews
AmsterdamGuest House
46.87 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/08/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/08/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
85.4%

Overall Rating

541 out of 674 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hotel De Mallemoolen'

Atmosphere
79.2%
Location
99.2%
Facilities
75.2%
Cleanliness
79.2%
Staff
96.0%
Value
83.2%
Safety
85.6%
Refine your results Showing 420 of 469 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 16 | 17   Next
Reset filter
68.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Nihan Çiçek

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

24 November 2010 Nihan would recommend this property

Liked: The location of the hotel was great. as stated in the info, it's 2 minutes walk to red light district. and there are lots of nice coffee shops around. the hotel staff was kind and helpful, especially the guy who greeted us when we checked in. Our room was good, but let me note that we had a special room with seperate shower and toilet. That part was total luck. dont expect to have seperate shower and toilet. be prepared for shared ones.

Disliked: There was a bad smell in our room probably spreading form the floor covering, and the customer profile was a little weird but that was ok since we did not look for socializing. hotel de mallemoolen is not a youth hostel where you can party and make new friends.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Mirza Izgur

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife

23 November 2010 Mirza would recommend this property

Liked: In the heart of Amsterdam, nice breakfast, friendly staff

Disliked: Very small room, common bathroom

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

stephen gibson

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

09 November 2010 stephen would recommend this property

Liked: it was right in the heart of the red light district

Disliked: the rooms were poky and we had nowhere to hang our clothes in the room. the toilet wasn`t kept very clean for it being shared by all the other guests

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

29 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's very close to Amsterdam Centraal, so only about a 5 minute walk. The guy at the front desk was super nice, funny and helpful. The room was pretty clean, as were the facilities.

Disliked: The hotel was basically in the Red Light District (not the really seedy part) and our room reeked of pot, but neither of these things is really unexpected.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Gary Shelswell

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
City break
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

26 October 2010 Gary would recommend this property

Liked: Great Location, Very Friendly and helpfull staff

Disliked: Not any dislikes but a hint to hotel- Get a toaster for the breakfast as this would make bread far more enjoying :)

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway

25 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hotel is nearby the station and in the middle of historical centrum.

Disliked: Very small room without wardrobe.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Diego Musacchio

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa

19 October 2010 Diego would recommend this property

Liked: it is in the heart of amsterdam, just 2 blocks away from the main train station and near the red light district.

Disliked: the stairs are very small and if you are carrying a large bag y will be in trouble to get into the second floor.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

13 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the breakfast was really good, wide variety of different food, good quality coffee served in kitchen, everyday cleaning in the room, quiet during the night ideal for resting

Disliked: lack of toilets, the room was stinking

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa

03 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: staffs

Disliked: the staircases are too long and slanting

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

21 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: 24 hour reception was good, opp great chinese restaurant. great view from our top floor room and breakfast was included which was brill a nice spread.

Disliked: A little noisy at night but the xecellent location more than made up for it. You also has tp hand your key in every time you went out which was a bit of a pain

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

16 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendliness of the staff and an excellent location.

Disliked: Could hear a lot of noise from outside the hotel as well as people walking and talking outside the room.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife

14 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great location

Disliked: toilettes

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Shopping

06 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

06 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location.

Disliked: The breakfast- there was no toaster so we had to have sandwiches instead of toast!

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

05 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: it's a nice place to know, very amsterdam-like construction. the room had a good size and the bathrooms were relatively clean.

Disliked: it smelled like tobacco a bit, sometimes the bathrooms were a bit unclean. the guy that stayed at the front desk at night was not as nice as the one that stayed during the day.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

03 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great Location

Disliked: Expensive, Small Bedroom

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife

30 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice and proper hostel. Close to nightlife :-) Really nice and helpful staff!

Disliked: Located in the middle of a street with coffee shops and bars why there is some noise from the street.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

28 August 2010

Liked: Close to the Centraal Station

Disliked: I booked a single room in Mallemoolen but was given a double in Koopelmoolen, their sister hotel. That would be ok if the double room had a window which it had not.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife

28 August 2010

Liked: location was good

Disliked: Rooms are very very small it just take a double bed,thats all. Also showes and wc are not clean enough.Finally ı rent a safe in this hotel but the battery of the safe finished so i wait for 2 hours to open it...

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Shaun Andriske

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

26 August 2010 Shaun would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were very helpful and we could leave our luggage there all day after we checked out.

Disliked: It wasn't the cleanest hostel I have stayed at, and the stairs were quite dangerous, especially carrying luggage up and down the 4 tiny flights

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Michelle Reid

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

26 August 2010 Michelle would recommend this property

Liked: EVERY THING - we had an up grade which was a lovely treat... location was amazing staff were really friendly, brekfast in the morning was nice, every thing was spotless and you were left alone to your own devices.... wicked stay

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Martin Larsen

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Shopping

22 August 2010 Martin would recommend this property

Liked: As the Hotel was overbooked, we got moved to a 3 start hotel just next door. The friendly staff showed us the way and everything was done with ease.The location, whether or not we would had stayed at the 1 start or the 3 star hotel is absolutely amazing.

Disliked: It is more a hotel than a hostel, don't go there to get the "hostel atmosphere"

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

21 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location, staff and being in a fantastic city.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Hazel Kelly

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife
Shopping

19 August 2010 Hazel would recommend this property

Liked: Location was great: Could walk to anywhere I wanted to visit. The hotel was clean and as a single girl staying there I felt safe. Didn't have any trouble sharing the shower/toilet facilities. Staff were always friendly and helpful. The breakfast spread was also a good bonus!

Disliked: My room was very small as I was on the top floor with the slanted ceilings, but it certainly done the job. They weren't joking about the stairs either! (though, thankfully I didn't have masses of luggage ).

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

13 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were friendly and the location was awesome - right in the middle of the red light district.

Disliked: The staircase is very narrow to get up with a huge backpack!