We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Hotel De Mallemoolen

1 star Hotel | Warmoesstraat 7, Amsterdam, Netherlands 1012 HT

83.1% Overall Rating

544 out of 679 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (25/08/2014)

Batuhan Ibrahim Ünaldi thinks…

"Classic Dutch houses, i love it :) Friendly staff. Clean enough. Nice location. Breakfast included."

Read all Hotel De Mallemoolen reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Amsterdam

Hotel De Koopermoolen
54.55 USD

Hotel 2 star 77.4% 192 reviews
Hotel Old Quarter
33.30 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Hostel The Globe
15.22 USD

Hostel 69.8% 1283 reviews
Hotel The Globe Centre
27.91 USD

Hotel 1 star 79.8% 199 reviews
Amsterdam Cribs / Red Light B&B
44.40 USD

Hostel 92.0% 34 reviews
The Greenhouse effect
57.08 USD

Hotel 2 star 88.0% 398 reviews
Hostel Croydon
12.69 USD

Hostel 65.0% 409 reviews
AmsterdamGuest House
31.71 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
83.1%

Overall Rating

544 out of 679 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hotel De Mallemoolen'

Atmosphere
78.4%
Location
97.6%
Facilities
71.2%
Cleanliness
76.8%
Staff
94.4%
Value
80.8%
Safety
82.4%
Refine your results Showing 423 of 474 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 16 | 17   Next
Reset filter
37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

19 July 2012

Liked: location was good

Disliked: we stayed in a small box with "our own shower" located outside our room and a shared very dirty and smelly toilet :(

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

10 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly and helpful staff Great location Delicious breakfast!! loved it!

Disliked: not really a minus considering the fact that it was an old style building, however ascending to the 4th floor through extremely narrow and steep staircases with a luggage wasn't that easy or safe.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Graf Matthias

With my spouse / partner

Visiting friends or family

05 May 2012 Graf would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: Everything is small (esp. showers)

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway

11 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is perfect!!! And the staff is very friendliness1!!

Disliked: The space in the room is very small, but if you haven't a big luggage there is not a problem.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

27 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: friendly and helpful staff

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife

22 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly staff.

Disliked: Was quite difficult to find initially.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

03 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is pretty good. It is close to the main station, and very close to the red light district. Dam square is a few minutes. Around the main station one can find trams and reach every place. The hotel has one internet pc available and wifi too. The hotel staff was very friendly and helpful.

Disliked: I took a single room with shared toilette and shower. The room was very small (2x3 squared meters, like a prison), but with TV and a washbasin, not very exciting. A small window close to the ceiling (again prison fashion :) ). In my opinion 70euro/day is a bit too much for such a small and poor room, but this is Amsterdam.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Henrik Pedersen

Alone

Business / conference

14 September 2011 Henrik would recommend this property

Liked: Central location.

Disliked: No wifi. Room to small.

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

22 August 2011

Liked: That it was about ten doors down from the best coffee shop in Amsterdam. The room was so bad it pretty much forced us to see the whole of the city as we didn't want to be in that room.

Disliked: Almost everything. And the thing is when we arrived we were told we had been upgraded - I dread to think what our original room was like.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

17 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Perfect location, just 3 min.walk from Central station and Dam square, helpful staff.

Disliked: everything was ok

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

25 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was very helpful, when we came in after a rain storm an employee ran to get us towels to dry off with. And we had already checked out at that point!

Disliked: We were only given one key for a three- person room. This made it hard to come back at separate times.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

16 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location was EXCELLENT! Very close to the train station, and put Amsterdam on our doorstep. We also had a great experience with the staff and felt they were very friendly and helpful. We really liked our stay at this Hotel.

Disliked: The rooms were very very small, so if this bothers you then this hotel will bother you. There was room for the bed, a table and chair, space for the door to open, and that's it. Nowhere to open a suitcase let alone swing a cat. This didn't worry us. Also, they're not kidding about the stairs! We were only on the first floor but it might have been a problem if we were up higher!! Very very steep. The shower is similarly small and as there was no fly wire I dropped my shampoo and conditioner out the window on the first day. Whoops!

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

04 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Ideal for going out in the very centre of Amsterdam, you can fall back in your bed quite easily.

Disliked: Not a hotel for those in search of romantic, more a place to sleep between making party

68.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

08 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We were in room 12, about 10x12 feet and very small and cozy but it was all we needed. The bed was huge and comfortable and we had a decent sized window. The continental breakfast was pretty good and all the staff were fairly friendly and helpful. Thereś free internet and computer use and the room we were in faced into a courtyard (I use that term loosely) so we were well protected from the street noise. Our room was directly across from the shower and the toilet was a short flight of stairs below us so we had no complaints about the lack of ensuite - the sink in the room helped as well. A few folks mentioned the annoyance of leaving your key card at the front desk when you leave but after talking with other travelers it seems like this is standard practice in Amsterdam. The location was ideal for checking out the hotspots of the city as well as being extemely close to the train station a lot of different tours. It was also easy to walk out of the Red Light District to escape the insanity for a while.

Disliked: The carpet in our room was pretty dirty but the room was also cleaned every day. Very small room but was also fine for our needs.

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Mario Grubmüller

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

07 June 2011 Mario would recommend this property

Liked: Nothing!

Disliked: The prices for this rooms are to much!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

25 April 2011

Liked: Central location

Disliked: The place had a constant smell of smoke, other guests were possibly smoking in the rooms and it was loud at night because of passers-by - all night long.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

19 April 2011

Liked: location was handy

Disliked: room was really not very nice - small, fairly old/tired/not pleasant beds/sink/tv with hardly any space to move for 2 people. Didn't feel that the price we paid reflected the standard of this room. Although the breakfast buffet was good.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

01 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very very good place....i mean the location it s next to evreything important and fun in the city.....i love Amsterdam

Disliked: it was a very loud noise coming from upstairs made by some very party people;))...and the room too small

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Cláudio Amaral

With friends / other travellers

City break

12 March 2011 Cláudio would recommend this property

Liked: :)

Disliked: :)

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

David Burton

Alone

Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

05 March 2011 David would recommend this property

Liked: The fact that it was a typical Dutch house with narrow stairs, but good.

Disliked: everything was ok and as described.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

14 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great Location, cheap & suitable for fun young people

Disliked: nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Aaron Hoose

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

16 January 2011 Aaron would recommend this property

Liked: It's right next to the best coffee shops.

Disliked: Nothing.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

06 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly lady on reception, upgraded to a room with private facilities.

Disliked: Room was right next to reception and had no windows.

22.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals

03 January 2011

Liked: NOTHING

Disliked: Dirty, old, it stinks.... I don't even know why it is called a hotel, this should be a hostel of the worst kind. Even a contact with the bed is risky......you can get some disease.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Maxim Brekht

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

03 January 2011

Liked: Location is the best in city - in center of true Amsterdam atmosphere. Free internet.

Disliked: Terrible beds with oilcloth. Very small room space (triple suite). Very cold in winter.