We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Hotel De Mallemoolen

1 star Hotel | Warmoesstraat 7, Amsterdam, Netherlands 1012 HT

80.2% Overall Rating

561 out of 699 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (25/08/2015)

"The location is superb. Near to the main hub and red light district is just streets away."

Read all Hotel De Mallemoolen reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Please Note: We will pre-authorise this first night on your card after booking. This is just a 'pre autorisation' and not a debit. If your credit-card is not valid we will require an alternative card. Failure to contact us with an alternative card may result in your booking being cancelled.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Amsterdam

Hotel De Koopermoolen
60.68 USD

Hotel 2 star 79.2% 197 reviews
Hostel Meeting Point
25.19 USD

Hostel 79.3% 4 reviews
Hotel Old Quarter
47.71 USD

Hostel 74.3% 10 reviews
Hostel The Globe
26.33 USD

Hostel 75.1% 1331 reviews
Hotel The Globe Centre
36.64 USD

Hotel 1 star 77.8% 203 reviews
Amsterdam Cribs / Red Light B&B
40.07 USD

Hostel 92.2% 38 reviews
The Greenhouse effect
51.52 USD

Hotel 2 star 87.4% 400 reviews
Hostel Croydon
28.62 USD

Hostel 63.4% 435 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 27/08/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 27/08/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
80.2%

Overall Rating

561 out of 699 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hotel De Mallemoolen'

Atmosphere
73.6%
Location
96.8%
Facilities
70.4%
Cleanliness
69.6%
Staff
92.0%
Value
76.0%
Safety
83.2%
Refine your results Showing 434 of 494 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 17 | 18   Next
Reset filter
71.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Julien Lefebvre

Alone

Events / festivals

10 July 2013

Liked: Location

Disliked: You get what you pay for. No atmosphere, small rooms, minimal cleanliness and basic facilities.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

mark quinn

Alone

Relaxation/spa

10 July 2013 mark would recommend this property

Liked: I appreciated the convenient location very much. It took three/four minutes to get to from central station.The room was quite adequate for my needs and quite clean. The staff were pleasant and helpful. The breakfasts were pretty good and comprehensive enough for me to dispense with lunch while I was there. It was handy there being a TV in the room too, although I didn't watch much TV while I was there.

Disliked: The centrality of the location meant that it was quite noisy and I woke up most mornings at 6 or 7, but this was actually good because it meant I made maximum use of each day there. I'd recommend using earplugs at bedtime,however, because the Warmoestraat is quite a busy street.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Trang Elina Nguyen

With my spouse / partner

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

15 June 2013 Trang Elina would recommend this property

Liked: Location for everything to do nearby

Disliked: Trang Elina left no negative feedback.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Monika Dworaczek

With friends / other travellers

City break

10 June 2013

Liked: Location was great, you couldn't be more in the centre , breakfast was very good, continental . Friendly staff

Disliked: Well, if you are planing on romantic getaway scrap this property, room was very small, leaving the key each time when you went out, thin walls, could hear all the neighbours, light in the toilet and shower room, one of the energy saving light bulbs that took ages to light up the room, steep stairs, watch out if you are drunk , overall just a place to crush.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

02 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: close to the main train station, I was leaving the next morning. Excellent breakfast.

Disliked: Noisy inside and noisy on the street. You have to pay for WiFi. They had lost my reservation !

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Thomas Roebroeck

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

07 April 2013 Thomas would recommend this property

Liked: it's really in the city center and close to central station

Disliked: the room was scarse and very small. for the price they ask I should say that WIFI should be free.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Lisa Phillips

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

01 April 2013 Lisa would recommend this property

Liked: It was in a fabulous location - everything you need in short walking distance e.g. Central train station, restaurants, coffee shops, red light district, attractions etc. The staff were friendly, approachable and helpful. They spoke really good English. The breakfast was great!

Disliked: I understand this hotel is in a great location, but for the size of the rooms and the interior quality it is quite pricey!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Melissa Rae

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

18 March 2013 Melissa would recommend this property

Liked: Very close to trqin station. Very fun bar area.

Disliked: N/a

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

06 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice central location and friendle staff.

Disliked: No hotel bar!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Jamie Picton-Turbervill

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife

11 September 2012 Jamie would recommend this property

Liked: Really central location, everything within walking distance, very helpful and friendly staff.

Disliked: No complaints

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

ayse balkar

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

16 August 2012 ayse would recommend this property

Liked: it has dutch architecture so the rooms are narrow but i've stayed in a private room with my friend so the place's narrowness doesn't irritate me . Our room was clean ,it is very easy to agree with staff in english,the location was so good,very central location

Disliked: nothing

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

19 July 2012

Liked: location was good

Disliked: we stayed in a small box with "our own shower" located outside our room and a shared very dirty and smelly toilet :(

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

10 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly and helpful staff Great location Delicious breakfast!! loved it!

Disliked: not really a minus considering the fact that it was an old style building, however ascending to the 4th floor through extremely narrow and steep staircases with a luggage wasn't that easy or safe.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Graf Matthias

With my spouse / partner

Visiting friends or family

05 May 2012 Graf would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: Everything is small (esp. showers)

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway

11 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is perfect!!! And the staff is very friendliness1!!

Disliked: The space in the room is very small, but if you haven't a big luggage there is not a problem.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

27 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: friendly and helpful staff

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife

22 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly staff.

Disliked: Was quite difficult to find initially.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

03 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is pretty good. It is close to the main station, and very close to the red light district. Dam square is a few minutes. Around the main station one can find trams and reach every place. The hotel has one internet pc available and wifi too. The hotel staff was very friendly and helpful.

Disliked: I took a single room with shared toilette and shower. The room was very small (2x3 squared meters, like a prison), but with TV and a washbasin, not very exciting. A small window close to the ceiling (again prison fashion :) ). In my opinion 70euro/day is a bit too much for such a small and poor room, but this is Amsterdam.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Henrik Pedersen

Alone

Business / conference

14 September 2011 Henrik would recommend this property

Liked: Central location.

Disliked: No wifi. Room to small.

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

22 August 2011

Liked: That it was about ten doors down from the best coffee shop in Amsterdam. The room was so bad it pretty much forced us to see the whole of the city as we didn't want to be in that room.

Disliked: Almost everything. And the thing is when we arrived we were told we had been upgraded - I dread to think what our original room was like.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

17 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Perfect location, just 3 min.walk from Central station and Dam square, helpful staff.

Disliked: everything was ok

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

25 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was very helpful, when we came in after a rain storm an employee ran to get us towels to dry off with. And we had already checked out at that point!

Disliked: We were only given one key for a three- person room. This made it hard to come back at separate times.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

16 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location was EXCELLENT! Very close to the train station, and put Amsterdam on our doorstep. We also had a great experience with the staff and felt they were very friendly and helpful. We really liked our stay at this Hotel.

Disliked: The rooms were very very small, so if this bothers you then this hotel will bother you. There was room for the bed, a table and chair, space for the door to open, and that's it. Nowhere to open a suitcase let alone swing a cat. This didn't worry us. Also, they're not kidding about the stairs! We were only on the first floor but it might have been a problem if we were up higher!! Very very steep. The shower is similarly small and as there was no fly wire I dropped my shampoo and conditioner out the window on the first day. Whoops!

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

04 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Ideal for going out in the very centre of Amsterdam, you can fall back in your bed quite easily.

Disliked: Not a hotel for those in search of romantic, more a place to sleep between making party

68.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

08 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We were in room 12, about 10x12 feet and very small and cozy but it was all we needed. The bed was huge and comfortable and we had a decent sized window. The continental breakfast was pretty good and all the staff were fairly friendly and helpful. Thereś free internet and computer use and the room we were in faced into a courtyard (I use that term loosely) so we were well protected from the street noise. Our room was directly across from the shower and the toilet was a short flight of stairs below us so we had no complaints about the lack of ensuite - the sink in the room helped as well. A few folks mentioned the annoyance of leaving your key card at the front desk when you leave but after talking with other travelers it seems like this is standard practice in Amsterdam. The location was ideal for checking out the hotspots of the city as well as being extemely close to the train station a lot of different tours. It was also easy to walk out of the Red Light District to escape the insanity for a while.

Disliked: The carpet in our room was pretty dirty but the room was also cleaned every day. Very small room but was also fine for our needs.