HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Hotel De Mallemoolen

1 star Hotel | Warmoesstraat 7, Amsterdam, Netherlands 1012 HT

85.4% Overall Rating

541 out of 674 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (15/06/2014)

"Very close to the central station, convenient to walk to other attractions e.g red light district, chinatown, museums."

Read all Hotel De Mallemoolen reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Amsterdam

Hotel De Koopermoolen
67.17 USD

Hotel 2 star 76.9% 191 reviews
Hotel Old Quarter
42.54 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Hostel The Globe
33.58 USD

Hostel 77.3% 1263 reviews
Hotel The Globe Centre
40.30 USD

Hotel 1 star 80.3% 198 reviews
Amsterdam Cribs / Red Light B&B
53.73 USD

Hostel 92.1% 33 reviews
The Greenhouse effect
60.45 USD

Hotel 2 star 88.0% 397 reviews
Hostel Croydon
40.30 USD

Hostel 62.3% 393 reviews
AmsterdamGuest House
33.58 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
85.4%

Overall Rating

541 out of 674 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hotel De Mallemoolen'

Atmosphere
79.2%
Location
99.2%
Facilities
75.2%
Cleanliness
79.2%
Staff
96.0%
Value
83.2%
Safety
85.6%
Refine your results Showing 420 of 469 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 16 | 17   Next
Reset filter
91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway

11 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is perfect!!! And the staff is very friendliness1!!

Disliked: The space in the room is very small, but if you haven't a big luggage there is not a problem.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

27 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: friendly and helpful staff

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife

22 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly staff.

Disliked: Was quite difficult to find initially.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

03 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is pretty good. It is close to the main station, and very close to the red light district. Dam square is a few minutes. Around the main station one can find trams and reach every place. The hotel has one internet pc available and wifi too. The hotel staff was very friendly and helpful.

Disliked: I took a single room with shared toilette and shower. The room was very small (2x3 squared meters, like a prison), but with TV and a washbasin, not very exciting. A small window close to the ceiling (again prison fashion :) ). In my opinion 70euro/day is a bit too much for such a small and poor room, but this is Amsterdam.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Henrik Pedersen

Alone

Business / conference

14 September 2011 Henrik would recommend this property

Liked: Central location.

Disliked: No wifi. Room to small.

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

22 August 2011

Liked: That it was about ten doors down from the best coffee shop in Amsterdam. The room was so bad it pretty much forced us to see the whole of the city as we didn't want to be in that room.

Disliked: Almost everything. And the thing is when we arrived we were told we had been upgraded - I dread to think what our original room was like.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

17 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Perfect location, just 3 min.walk from Central station and Dam square, helpful staff.

Disliked: everything was ok

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

25 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was very helpful, when we came in after a rain storm an employee ran to get us towels to dry off with. And we had already checked out at that point!

Disliked: We were only given one key for a three- person room. This made it hard to come back at separate times.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

16 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location was EXCELLENT! Very close to the train station, and put Amsterdam on our doorstep. We also had a great experience with the staff and felt they were very friendly and helpful. We really liked our stay at this Hotel.

Disliked: The rooms were very very small, so if this bothers you then this hotel will bother you. There was room for the bed, a table and chair, space for the door to open, and that's it. Nowhere to open a suitcase let alone swing a cat. This didn't worry us. Also, they're not kidding about the stairs! We were only on the first floor but it might have been a problem if we were up higher!! Very very steep. The shower is similarly small and as there was no fly wire I dropped my shampoo and conditioner out the window on the first day. Whoops!

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

04 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Ideal for going out in the very centre of Amsterdam, you can fall back in your bed quite easily.

Disliked: Not a hotel for those in search of romantic, more a place to sleep between making party

68.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

08 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We were in room 12, about 10x12 feet and very small and cozy but it was all we needed. The bed was huge and comfortable and we had a decent sized window. The continental breakfast was pretty good and all the staff were fairly friendly and helpful. Thereś free internet and computer use and the room we were in faced into a courtyard (I use that term loosely) so we were well protected from the street noise. Our room was directly across from the shower and the toilet was a short flight of stairs below us so we had no complaints about the lack of ensuite - the sink in the room helped as well. A few folks mentioned the annoyance of leaving your key card at the front desk when you leave but after talking with other travelers it seems like this is standard practice in Amsterdam. The location was ideal for checking out the hotspots of the city as well as being extemely close to the train station a lot of different tours. It was also easy to walk out of the Red Light District to escape the insanity for a while.

Disliked: The carpet in our room was pretty dirty but the room was also cleaned every day. Very small room but was also fine for our needs.

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Mario Grubmüller

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

07 June 2011 Mario would recommend this property

Liked: Nothing!

Disliked: The prices for this rooms are to much!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

25 April 2011

Liked: Central location

Disliked: The place had a constant smell of smoke, other guests were possibly smoking in the rooms and it was loud at night because of passers-by - all night long.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

19 April 2011

Liked: location was handy

Disliked: room was really not very nice - small, fairly old/tired/not pleasant beds/sink/tv with hardly any space to move for 2 people. Didn't feel that the price we paid reflected the standard of this room. Although the breakfast buffet was good.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

01 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very very good place....i mean the location it s next to evreything important and fun in the city.....i love Amsterdam

Disliked: it was a very loud noise coming from upstairs made by some very party people;))...and the room too small

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Cláudio Amaral

With friends / other travellers

City break

12 March 2011 Cláudio would recommend this property

Liked: :)

Disliked: :)

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

David Burton

Alone

Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

05 March 2011 David would recommend this property

Liked: The fact that it was a typical Dutch house with narrow stairs, but good.

Disliked: everything was ok and as described.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

14 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great Location, cheap & suitable for fun young people

Disliked: nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Aaron Hoose

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

16 January 2011 Aaron would recommend this property

Liked: It's right next to the best coffee shops.

Disliked: Nothing.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

06 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly lady on reception, upgraded to a room with private facilities.

Disliked: Room was right next to reception and had no windows.

22.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals

03 January 2011

Liked: NOTHING

Disliked: Dirty, old, it stinks.... I don't even know why it is called a hotel, this should be a hostel of the worst kind. Even a contact with the bed is risky......you can get some disease.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Maxim Brekht

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

03 January 2011

Liked: Location is the best in city - in center of true Amsterdam atmosphere. Free internet.

Disliked: Terrible beds with oilcloth. Very small room space (triple suite). Very cold in winter.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

29 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were lovely and very helpful, breakfast was nice and the location was great.

Disliked: Lift only carried one person at a time and the stairs were very steep.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Paul Doyle

Alone

Business / conference

01 December 2010

Liked: What did I like about this property?..... that it was centally located. But nothing else.

Disliked: These guys must have celebrated when they were somehow awarded a 1 star for the 'hotel'! The room (#3) wasn't soundproofed to block out the loud stomping that other guests’ produced passing by (no, not outside -inside!) so whenever people walk past the room you'll be disturbed. The bed’s mattress is thin and soft. It seems that in an attempt to qualify for the 1 star they needed to include a tv in every room. –so room 3 has a tv on a wall bracket jutting out awkwardly in a stupid position It's tiny. It’s musty. Not just the room, but the tiny shower ‘room’ & the bathroom –which is more of a toilet in a cupboard. There seems to be an issue with not opening windows and allowing fresh air from outside to rush through the place. It’s badly needed. The tiny window in my room was nine feet off the ground (yep, like in jail) and difficult to open –I didn’t want to break it by forcing too much so I left it closed for 4 days! My bathroom at home is bigger than the room and I thought I had a small bathroom. It feels like a punishment to stay there. It's not comfortable, it's not relaxing. It's purely utilitarian. Put it this way... if you want a roof over your head but you don't want a dorm and you're on a budget then this place could be alright. To leave the hotel you must shut the door behind you and go next door to leave your keycard. To get back to your room you have to do the reverse and the reason you can't just leave with the key yourself is that you have to go to the reception anyway to get them to buzz you in. This is a stupid system that suits only the hotel -if you forget something you must make this stupid trip into the reception, ask for the keycard, go stand outside & wait for the girl behind the desk to wake up from her hibernation to buzz you in. Loads of times I was standing there in the cold waving up at the security camera outside hoping to catch her attention -and you think to yourself, "but she just handed me the keycard a second ago and she knows she has to buzz me in!" so you go back in again and then the penny drops on her face. “Ah, sorry” Once or twice, ye don't mind -every second time it starts to annoy you. They'll hold onto your luggage (for free) after you’ve checked out which is always handy. Breakfast (nothing to get excited about) is free (well, they couldn't charge for it!). Location for me was perfect -right at the bottom of Warmoestraat, 10 sec from Greenhouse Effect & Hill Street Blues, 4/5mins from Centraal Stn. This place could 'look' a lot better -they could take the depressing-ness away with some funky bright colours. €200/€300 of paint would turn the place around. The room was like something from one of those industrial boys’ schools or borstals from 1950s Ireland and it didn't have to be so depressing looking. I think tourists forgive the weird shaped rooms, the steep stairs, the quaint, funny differences that Amsterdam’s city centre hotels are burdened with but you can't help but think the room was designed by Josef Fritzl. One last point -I enquired weeks before I arrived if I could pay in full, they said no, but that I could do it at the desk when I arrived. I said that I wouldn't have the credit card with me so it wouldn't be possible. They said no, no, no, don't worry you'll be asked how you wish to pay and as we'll already have the CC details just tell them that you want to pay that way (even though you don't have it). Are you sure? "Yes, of course" Really? "YES!" Guess what happened when I arrived? Yep! So if I didn't happen to have an emergency €150 I would have been screwed. Despite the fact that this was their mistake, the woman behind the desk, like those nodding dogs, kept smiling & blinking vacantly at me in that really exasperating way and asked me for evidence that this happened!! I didn't wanna start off my trip like that, ye know, so I just let it be. But that's the kind of place it is. Better to know what to expect rather than be unpleasantly surprised, ye know, “Forewarned…“etc. etc.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Melanie Green

With friends / other travellers

City break

01 December 2010 Melanie would recommend this property

Liked: The receptionist is so lovely, friendly, funny and so so helpful!

Disliked: The wooden stairs are a bit noisy! - get some carpet!!