HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Hotel Tamara

1 star Hotel | Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 144, Amsterdam, Netherlands 1012 SJ

67.8% Overall Rating

137 out of 220 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (20/07/2014)

Cathy Frankowicz thinks…

"I like how cheap it is, fantastic location, great atmosphere interms of the backpacker lifestyle!"

Read all Hotel Tamara reviews

Facilities

  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

We do not accept reservations arriving after 22.00 unless you call to confirm and keep us updated on arrival time.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Amsterdam

Hotel Hostel Mevlana
37.70 USD

Hostel 72.0% 704 reviews
Funky Chickin Apartment
47.13 USD

Apartment 87.4% 74 reviews
Tulipana Residence
49.82 USD

Apartment 86.5% 7 reviews
Bob's Youth Hostel
35.01 USD

Hostel 69.7% 986 reviews
Budget Hotel Tourist inn
42.74 USD

Hotel 1 star 85.0% 97 reviews
Damrak Inn
37.70 USD

Hotel 2 star 75.2% 341 reviews
Central Station Hostel
36.34 USD

Hostel 73.9% 179 reviews
Truelove Antique & Guesthouse
57.22 USD

Guesthouse 85.5% 436 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
67.8%

Overall Rating

137 out of 220 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hotel Tamara'

Atmosphere
64.8%
Location
95.2%
Facilities
49.6%
Cleanliness
52.8%
Staff
75.2%
Value
67.2%
Safety
69.6%
Refine your results Showing 138 of 207 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6   Next
Reset filter
80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Cathy Frankowicz

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

20 July 2014 Cathy would recommend this property

Liked: I like how cheap it is, fantastic location, great atmosphere interms of the backpacker lifestyle!

Disliked: the stairs! hhaha

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

17 July 2014

Liked: Probably the only good things about this place is the location and the fact that the water in the common shower was hot and had good pressure

Disliked: The place is really old which wouldn't be a problem if it wasn't so expensive. There must be a lack of hotel rooms in Amsterdam if a place like this can afford to charge 80€ per night. I only stayed here because it was the cheapest I could find, and it was not cheap at all. I have stayed in youth hostels that are way better than this for a quarter of the price in other countries. The bedsheets are really old and too small for the bed, the matters and pillows were of terrible quality, the place smelled "old", the sink in our bedroom got blocked everytime we used it. Nobody came to clean the bedroom in the 4 nights that we were there. The common shower and toilet didn't look very hygenic, The fact that the stairs are steep was not a problem, the building is old and this is how it is, but it can certainly do with some new carpets, a good deep clean, some fresh air...

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

As a family with children

Family Holiday
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

13 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was conveniently located near the train station and central to many of the locals sites and restaurants. The limited times that we interacted with the staff was always a positive experience. Although it didn't have the luxuries of a basic hotel (like bath towels), we always felt safe and fortunate to be able to share time with both locals and tourists.

Disliked: The room was quite rustic in that there were burn holes on the blankets, very old furniture and bedding, limited lighting, and the continuous smell of 'smoke'. Although I wouldn't recommend this for a family with young children or romantic couples, it would definitely meet the needs of low maintenance free spirits and those looking to enjoy the local amenities.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

SIU CHEONG LEUNG

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

30 June 2014 SIU CHEONG would recommend this property

Liked: Nice staff, clear toilet and shower, good choice for backpacker

Disliked: Smoking is allowed

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

29 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: These are great men running the place. They'll tell you the truth of this world if you'll stop and stand awhile. The location couldn't be better. The room was cozy and simple- perfect for me. I was in a single room. Had a single bed, sink, window, and a small wardrobe with extra blankets inside. Toilet had plenty of warm water. They allow you to smoke in the rooms, but you must open the door and the window to the room. In the night the fire alarm went off and smoking privileges were suspended... so... do open the door and the window like they ask.

Disliked: Nothing, really. I should like to stay here again whenever I come back to Amsterdam in the future. The mattress kind of leaned to one side, and was easy to slide off of. I never quite figured out why. Wasn't a big deal.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
City break
Partying / nightlife
Visiting friends or family

16 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location. Very cheap. Very laid back staff.

Disliked: Lacking coordination between the two shifts. People from one shift were unable to give me a refund back on a lock I had left a deposit for with the other shift.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Richard Clarkin

With my spouse / partner

City break

27 May 2014 Richard would recommend this property

Liked: The location

Disliked: The owner is an old man who doesn't really know what he's doing .

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Joel Salgado

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

27 May 2014 Joel would recommend this property

Liked: The location was very central to most Amsterdam attractions. Owner also allowed us to smoke in the room.

Disliked: Not good if you have cat allergies like myself. Also the bike shop next door, would not recommend as I was charged $100 for damage I did not cause.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Chunchieh Peng

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

27 May 2014 Chunchieh would recommend this property

Liked: location is perfect, very close to many touristic attractions. value for money. the staff is willing to help. btw, cat is lovely~

Disliked: just toilet smells a bit...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Irina Vyshinskaya

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

26 May 2014 Irina would recommend this property

Liked: Enjoyable, relaxed atmosphere, perfect location opposite de nieuwe kerk and 1 min from the dam square, friendly staff, clean bathroom and toilets

Disliked: Sheets and towels are somewhat shabby

20.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Gokhan Taslioglu

With friends / other travellers

City break

19 May 2014

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: Everything

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

SERGIO PARRA

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

12 May 2014 SERGIO would recommend this property

Liked: Rooms are quite spacious. Beds aren't the most comfortable. Room was really warm

Disliked: They gave us just one key for three people.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Marko Jakši?

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

05 May 2014

Liked: One has to be open minded in order to stay at this place.

Disliked: They could invest in new sheets maybe?!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife

02 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very central for town and good hospitality

Disliked: Nothing

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Anabel Vélez Vargas

Alone

City break
Events / festivals

02 May 2014

Liked: nothing

Disliked: everything. It's dirty, noisy and doesn't have any commodities.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

27 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location! Close to Centraal station. Friendly staff.

Disliked: Beds were clean but rooms smelled very smoky and bathrooms could've been cleaner.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

camille markowitz

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals

16 April 2014 camille would recommend this property

Liked: the character, the nice big shower, the cat

Disliked: beds are really terrible even for a hostel, sheets were really tattered. check out is very early and non negotiable

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Susan Morris

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

14 April 2014 Susan would recommend this property

Liked: The hotel was situated near everywhere we wanted. Staff lovely. Beds comfortable we slept ok.

Disliked: The staircase it was very steep

51.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

11 April 2014

Liked: Lovely owner, makes you feel at home, always has time to talk to you.The Australian guy was too funny. The cat, the owner who is eccentric but amicable and genuine. Location is just about ten minute walk or so from red light district and dam square and only twenty minute or so to centraal station - perfect.No problem with hot water in showers. There was wi-fi available, and it worked well.

Disliked: It was old, dirty and had a strange weed/cigarette smell to it.The windows of the hotel went out on the street where noisy trams.The toilet was a bit dirty and very tight.Sheets and towels were not very clean, you may take it yours with you before coming to hotel..

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

18 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: City Centre location

Disliked: Nothing bad!

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Iain Given

With friends / other travellers

Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway

24 February 2014 Iain would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: Too many stairs

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Ricardo Cordeiro

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

24 February 2014

Liked: Location.

Disliked: All was very old, the kitchen was not always available to our use because they had someone who looked like Filtch from Harry Potter sleeping before 9 pm. Creepy.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

20 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel was very centrally located and easy to find.

Disliked: It was old, dirty and had a strange weed/cigarette smell to it. All of my belongings still smell like Hotel Tamara. The proprietor had us go across the street to a cafe and buy him pot. We got what we paid for, and now have a story to tell people.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Oscar Berriman-Branagan

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

12 February 2014 Oscar would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic location, seemingly dead central to everything (10-15mins walk max). The quirky elderly gentleman who would provide plenty of information about the area, he was also very welcoming and helpful.

Disliked: The steep stairs, not ideal when you're in Amsterdam!

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

31 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Hotel Tamara is very well Located. Thanks to it's location I discovered some really cool areas of Amsterdam. We were given a map and some great suggestions as we arrived as well. If you are planning to be out in the city all day and only come back to sleep and you're coming for a very short stay, I would recommend!

Disliked: There is no lift but many very narrow stairs in the hotel. It's a pain to bring the luggage up to the room if you have a big luggage. The toilets and showers are shared with everyone and there are only two but I didn't find problems taking a shower when I wanted to. there is no safe and I wouldn't leave anything precious, just take it with, which means carrying. It's not a pleasant place if you want to spend time in or if you're coming for a long stay.