HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Hotel Tamara

1 star Hotel | Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 144, Amsterdam, Netherlands 1012 SJ

71.7% Overall Rating

124 out of 200 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (14/04/2014)

Susan Morris thinks…

"The hotel was situated near everywhere we wanted. Staff lovely. Beds comfortable we slept ok."

Read all Hotel Tamara reviews

Facilities

  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

We do not accept reservations arriving after 22.00 unless you call to confirm and keep us updated on arrival time.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Amsterdam

Hotel Hostel Mevlana
30.40 USD

Hostel 74.1% 691 reviews
Funky Chickin Apartment
48.37 USD

Apartment 88.2% 72 reviews
Tulipana Residence
40.08 USD

Apartment 80.7% 4 reviews
Bob's Youth Hostel
22.11 USD

Hostel 63.2% 961 reviews
Damrak 2D
60.81 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Budget Hotel Tourist inn
39.90 USD

Hotel 1 star 80.5% 87 reviews
Damrak Inn
41.46 USD

Hotel 2 star 73.0% 329 reviews
Hotel Liberty
41.46 USD

Hotel 1 star 91.5% 222 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
71.7%

Overall Rating

124 out of 200 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hotel Tamara'

Atmosphere
68.8%
Location
97.6%
Facilities
52.0%
Cleanliness
59.2%
Staff
77.6%
Value
74.4%
Safety
72.0%
Refine your results Showing 122 of 187 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5   Next
Reset filter
77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

camille markowitz

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals

16 April 2014 camille would recommend this property

Liked: the character, the nice big shower, the cat

Disliked: beds are really terrible even for a hostel, sheets were really tattered. check out is very early and non negotiable

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Susan Morris

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

14 April 2014 Susan would recommend this property

Liked: The hotel was situated near everywhere we wanted. Staff lovely. Beds comfortable we slept ok.

Disliked: The staircase it was very steep

51.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

11 April 2014

Liked: Lovely owner, makes you feel at home, always has time to talk to you.The Australian guy was too funny. The cat, the owner who is eccentric but amicable and genuine. Location is just about ten minute walk or so from red light district and dam square and only twenty minute or so to centraal station - perfect.No problem with hot water in showers. There was wi-fi available, and it worked well.

Disliked: It was old, dirty and had a strange weed/cigarette smell to it.The windows of the hotel went out on the street where noisy trams.The toilet was a bit dirty and very tight.Sheets and towels were not very clean, you may take it yours with you before coming to hotel..

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

18 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: City Centre location

Disliked: Nothing bad!

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Iain Given

With friends / other travellers

Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway

24 February 2014 Iain would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: Too many stairs

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Ricardo Cordeiro

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

24 February 2014

Liked: Location.

Disliked: All was very old, the kitchen was not always available to our use because they had someone who looked like Filtch from Harry Potter sleeping before 9 pm. Creepy.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

20 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel was very centrally located and easy to find.

Disliked: It was old, dirty and had a strange weed/cigarette smell to it. All of my belongings still smell like Hotel Tamara. The proprietor had us go across the street to a cafe and buy him pot. We got what we paid for, and now have a story to tell people.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Oscar Berriman-Branagan

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

12 February 2014 Oscar would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic location, seemingly dead central to everything (10-15mins walk max). The quirky elderly gentleman who would provide plenty of information about the area, he was also very welcoming and helpful.

Disliked: The steep stairs, not ideal when you're in Amsterdam!

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

31 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Hotel Tamara is very well Located. Thanks to it's location I discovered some really cool areas of Amsterdam. We were given a map and some great suggestions as we arrived as well. If you are planning to be out in the city all day and only come back to sleep and you're coming for a very short stay, I would recommend!

Disliked: There is no lift but many very narrow stairs in the hotel. It's a pain to bring the luggage up to the room if you have a big luggage. The toilets and showers are shared with everyone and there are only two but I didn't find problems taking a shower when I wanted to. there is no safe and I wouldn't leave anything precious, just take it with, which means carrying. It's not a pleasant place if you want to spend time in or if you're coming for a long stay.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Robert Goulds

With friends / other travellers

City break

22 December 2013 Robert would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: Robert left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

14 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good atmosphere

Disliked: not clean

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Cydonie Diwell

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

13 October 2013 Cydonie would recommend this property

Liked: The host was excellent! Really§ enjoyed my stay. Good value for money :)

Disliked: Cydonie left no negative feedback.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Mikhail Konnov

Alone

Business / conference

02 October 2013 Mikhail would recommend this property

Liked: Price. And the hotel was near the congress of cardiologists in which I took part

Disliked: Silence. The windows of the hotel went out on the street where noisy trams.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Milton Soares

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

23 September 2013 Milton would recommend this property

Liked: Location was good.

Disliked: The toilet was a bit dirty and very tight.

25.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

13 August 2013

Liked: nothing,maybe the location near the train service.

Disliked: everything

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

17 July 2013

Liked: Location. It's close to everything. And the shower was really good.

Disliked: Bad mattress, torn linen, the whole place smells like mold

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Cesar Rios

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife

10 July 2013 Cesar would recommend this property

Liked: Easy to find and close to the central station.

Disliked: The woman at the reception was very nice and tried to answer all of our doubts.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

08 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The cat, the owner Tez who is eccentric but amicable and genuine. Location is just about ten minute walk or so from red light district and dam square and only twenty minute or so to centraal station - perfect. Across the road is a superb coffee shop and 300m down the road there are the shopping centres and supermarket. You can smoke in the rooms which is great. Shower and toilet are better than you would expect which was great.

Disliked: My bed was next to the window which was fine, but my mattress was oversized so I kept almost falling off - it was necessary for me to stay on the side closest to the window.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Romantic getaway

03 July 2013

Liked: taz is a sick guy

Disliked: BOWLLLZEHH

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

26 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: cheapest

Disliked: bed killed my back

51.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Anna Shtondina

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

10 June 2013

Liked: Great location, in the city center and not far from train station (10min walk). No problem with hot water in showers. The owner was was really friendly and let me leave laggage in the hotel till the evening after check-out.

Disliked: VERY small room (I had a single room): if suitcase is placed near the bed, there is no space left at all (and actually there's no other space for suitcase). Atmosphere in the room like in prison's chamber. No chairs or table, just 2 small tabourets and microscopic wash sink. The sink in the room is awkward and drains water very slowly, so after couple of minutes the sink is full and you couldn't use it until water is drained. Also, there was a little cupboard in the room, but it was full with old blankets. Dirty walls. I preferred not to look attentively to the linen, but the towel was stained and holed. The common room/reception was very small too and the only table was occupied by touristic maps/prospects. Actually there were no space to place some food and drink tea (to be fare, tea/coffee is really free). Cigarette smell everywere in the hotel. Internet didn't worked in my room.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Jean-Jacques Bouillet

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

03 June 2013 Jean-Jacques would recommend this property

Liked: The room was very basic and small, but it met my needs. There was also a sink in the room which I enjoyed having. The room was small, but sufficient for one person (no more). I never heard any noice aside from people walking on the hallway. I am not a smoker and I was a bit worried about smelling cigarette smoke in the room as people are allowed to smoke, but I did not smell anything and it was not an issue. There was wi-fi available, and it worked well. The hotel was also very centrally located and I felt safe. Again, the hotel is very basic, but it is very efficient for a short stay. The room comes with a blanket and towels. There is hot running water and the bathrooms are clean. The only thing I would say about the room is that I would probably needed another blanket had the weather been colder. There is a big window in the room but insulation is poor. However, although it rained one morning, I did not felt uncomfortable at all.

Disliked: It looks very old, but goes with the character of the place. I would probably like to see better doors with more secure locks. The old Australian guy who owns / works there is not very friendly and has hearing and vision issues, but he is fair.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

28 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: Sinking beds

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

20 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is perfect, near the Centraal Station, near the Dam Square, 5min walking from the Red Light District and 10min walking from the Rembrant Square (nightlife).

Disliked: The old man who runs the Hotel.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

04 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This is a cheap hostel right in the centre of Amsterdam. The staff are great characters - especially Taz, who made me copious amounts of tea whilst imparting his vast knowlege of history and social politics. The fixtures and fittings are shabby but clean. i liked that I could smoke in thr dorm, with the consent of other guests. Despite being 2 mins from Dam Square, it was suprisingly quiet at night. Cheap & cheerful! A great stay and will stay again,

Disliked: Would have been nice to have a larger reception/ common room, but the old narrow Dutch buildings make this difficult.