We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Hotel Tamara

1 star Hotel | Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 144, Amsterdam, Netherlands 1012 SJ

61.4% Overall Rating

161 out of 260 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (01/09/2015)

Samwise Trevor John Selvaraj thinks…

"Small room and bed , but still OK for few days . If you are single or with friends then you can go there . Not suitable for families and couples ."

Read all Hotel Tamara reviews

Facilities

  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

We do not accept reservations arriving after 22.00 unless you call to confirm and keep us updated on arrival time.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Amsterdam

Hotel Hostel Mevlana
31.32 USD

Hostel 73.8% 758 reviews
Tulipana Residence
36.92 USD

Apartment 85.1% 13 reviews
Bob's Youth Hostel
19.02 USD

Hostel 70.9% 1061 reviews
Damrak Inn
30.76 USD

Hotel 2 star 79.7% 354 reviews
Central Station Hostel
24.60 USD

Hostel 76.2% 230 reviews
Truelove Antique & Guesthouse
67.12 USD

Guesthouse 83.2% 438 reviews
Bees B&B
63.77 USD

Guesthouse 98.9% 20 reviews
StargateAmsterdam
44.75 USD

Apartment 79.2% 24 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 03/09/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 03/09/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
61.4%

Overall Rating

161 out of 260 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hotel Tamara'

Atmosphere
52.0%
Location
88.0%
Facilities
44.8%
Cleanliness
51.2%
Staff
60.8%
Value
64.8%
Safety
68.0%
Refine your results Showing 168 of 246 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7   Next
Reset filter
65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Samwise Trevor John Selvaraj

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

01 September 2015 Samwise Trevor would recommend this property

Liked: Small room and bed , but still OK for few days . If you are single or with friends then you can go there . Not suitable for families and couples .

Disliked: It got only 2 showers and 3 toilets for 20 odd people .

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

28 August 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We stayed above an Irish bar called the blarney stone.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

20.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Hao Yu

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 August 2015

Liked: nothing

Disliked: They changed my booking without telling me. So I did not stay in there. Worst hotel ever

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

21 August 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Central location

Disliked: Shared bathroom cleanliness

40.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

16 August 2015

Liked: The location

Disliked: The property wasn't clean at all and building was very old.

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

15 August 2015

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: First of all, this 'hotel' (I am not sure we can call this a hotel, I have seen better garages) has two different emplacements. You might go to the main address only to find out they don't have any rooms left (even though you made a reservation) and that you have to go to another place (you were not aware of) that is located next to an Irish bar. The recepcionist at the main address is extremely rude and barely speaks English. He told us...go there showing a map. And you have to pay now. I said "no way", I'm not gonna pay until I get a room. He was almost shouting at me, but we didn't pay. We got to the place located next to the Irish bar and stayed there for two nights. I have stayed in hostels and budget hotels for many years and I had never seen anything like this one: dirty, old, filthy, messy!!! Don't go to this 'hotel', spend 10 € more and spare yourself a horrible experience.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Ricky Gemmell

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

12 August 2015 Ricky would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff and value for money

Disliked: The bathroom

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Andrew Baldwibn

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 August 2015 Andrew would recommend this property

Liked: Lockers in the dorms. Front door is always locked and guests are given a key. Relaxed staff. Centrally located within walking distance of the train station, red light district and all the attractions.

Disliked: WiFi is a little tempermental.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Jonathan Astley

Alone

Partying / nightlife

10 July 2015 Jonathan would recommend this property

Liked: Staff are very friendly and more than happy to help. They obviously know their way round Amsterdam and were happy to draw on maps directions to different places of interest.

Disliked: Ok, so it is a bit dated and you wouldn't want to stay more than 2 or 3 nights. There's WiFi but that's you're biggest luxury. It was however, what I had expected so I wasn't disappointed.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Signe Skovbye Nissen

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

30 June 2015 Signe would recommend this property

Liked: I like how helpful the young ladies behind the desk were! I like that it doesn't really feel like a hotel. I felt very at home. It's not sparkly clean but it's comfortable.

Disliked: The staff forgot to supply the bathroom with new toiletpaper. That's the only thing.

25.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

ian dobson

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

15 June 2015

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: Been over charged The dirty sheets on the bed The leaking sink in the room

34.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

11 June 2015

Liked: Nothing at all. Vey bad condition, not worth the money.

Disliked: Everything

57.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Alican Guran

With friends / other travellers

City break

08 June 2015 Alican would recommend this property

Liked: location

Disliked: Very old and run down.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

01 June 2015

Liked: Very close to Dam Square, Centraal station and an easy tram ride to the museums.

Disliked: Poor service. Staff were unhelpful and frequently unavailable. Payment options for the hostel are limited and staff appear to have no knowledge of bookings made at the hostel - I.e. who is arriving and when.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Magdaléna Musilová

With my spouse / partner

City break
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

29 May 2015 Magdaléna would recommend this property

Liked: Really close to city center. In neighbourhood is everything you need.

Disliked: Not so clean and steep stairs.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

roxanne cullinan

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

03 April 2015 roxanne would recommend this property

Liked: Good value for money. Comfy beds. Great location in walking distance from all main attractions.

Disliked: Steep stairs

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Nelio Leca

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

09 March 2015 Nelio would recommend this property

Liked: So many bad reviews had a few mates of mine and myself quite anxious before we got there. Arriving there, we did not know why. The hostel was great! Very welcoming lady upon entry, got a free drink token for a bar and settled straight in. No curfew which is definitely a plus, and your able to smoke as long as the windows open. Defo will stay again next time!

Disliked: No TV In the room so nothing to bug out to, could have a water dispenser? Other than that...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Daragh Cosgrave

Alone

City break

22 February 2015 Daragh would recommend this property

Liked: Good location. Good atmosphere. Family owned.

Disliked: Don't take Visa.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

johnny abreu

With my spouse / partner

City break

20 February 2015

Liked: The location and nothing more.

Disliked: The receptionist. He talks as he is giving you orders. You can't pay by card, only cash. I lost my wallet in amsterdam the first day with no money in cash to pay, he refused to take my friend's card. No facilities to meet people. For the same price you can stay in another place. I wasn't expecting too much but definitely the staff and the place is a complete disappointment. Try somewhere else

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

19 February 2015

Liked: Nothing!! The hotel was terrible!

Disliked: This was the worst hotel i have ever been! It was super dirty! The washroom doesn't have papper towels, the smell was terrible, it looks like they never clean anything! The room was so small that we can't even walk in there! it was just the bed, the sheets were dirty and we can't even sleep inside of the bed.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Dean Roots

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

18 February 2015 Dean would recommend this property

Liked: Very close to train station, dam square and red light district. If all you want is a bed to sleep in for 8hrs a night at a cheap price, you can't go wrong!

Disliked: Dean left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

17 February 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: Small beds

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Elliot Porter

Alone

Visiting friends or family

11 February 2015

Liked: None

Disliked: The owner/manager was a bit abrupt and let himself into my room in the morning without knocking.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Susana Fernandez-Galiano

With friends / other travellers

City break

27 January 2015

Liked: The location was very good and the bathroom was clean

Disliked: No wifi, it was very cold in the room, we got a dorm when we had asked for a single room

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Przemyslaw Reding

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

19 January 2015 Przemyslaw would recommend this property

Liked: The location was just perfect, in the centre of the city.

Disliked: Przemyslaw left no negative feedback.