We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Hotel Tamara

1 star Hotel | Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 144, Amsterdam, Netherlands 1012 SJ

62.7% Overall Rating

147 out of 237 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (18/02/2015)

Dean Roots thinks…

"Very close to train station, dam square and red light district. If all you want is a bed to sleep in for 8hrs a night at a cheap price, you can't go wrong!"

Read all Hotel Tamara reviews

Facilities

  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

We do not accept reservations arriving after 22.00 unless you call to confirm and keep us updated on arrival time.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Amsterdam

Hotel Hostel Mevlana
12.44 USD

Hostel 69.5% 732 reviews
Tulipana Residence
37.33 USD

Apartment 86.5% 7 reviews
Bob's Youth Hostel
14.71 USD

Hostel 69.8% 1010 reviews
Budget Hotel Tourist inn
24.03 USD

Hotel 1 star 84.3% 100 reviews
Damrak Inn
15.27 USD

Hotel 2 star 78.9% 350 reviews
Central Station Hostel
11.30 USD

Hostel 74.6% 206 reviews
Truelove Antique & Guesthouse
45.25 USD

Guesthouse 83.2% 438 reviews
Bees B&B
64.49 USD

Guesthouse 98.7% 17 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 27/02/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 27/02/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
62.7%

Overall Rating

147 out of 237 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hotel Tamara'

Atmosphere
60.8%
Location
93.6%
Facilities
40.0%
Cleanliness
48.8%
Staff
71.2%
Value
62.4%
Safety
62.4%
Refine your results Showing 151 of 224 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7   Next
Reset filter
85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Daragh Cosgrave

Alone

City break

22 February 2015 Daragh would recommend this property

Liked: Good location. Good atmosphere. Family owned.

Disliked: Don't take Visa.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

johnny abreu

With my spouse / partner

City break

20 February 2015

Liked: The location and nothing more.

Disliked: The receptionist. He talks as he is giving you orders. You can't pay by card, only cash. I lost my wallet in amsterdam the first day with no money in cash to pay, he refused to take my friend's card. No facilities to meet people. For the same price you can stay in another place. I wasn't expecting too much but definitely the staff and the place is a complete disappointment. Try somewhere else

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

19 February 2015

Liked: Nothing!! The hotel was terrible!

Disliked: This was the worst hotel i have ever been! It was super dirty! The washroom doesn't have papper towels, the smell was terrible, it looks like they never clean anything! The room was so small that we can't even walk in there! it was just the bed, the sheets were dirty and we can't even sleep inside of the bed.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Dean Roots

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

18 February 2015 Dean would recommend this property

Liked: Very close to train station, dam square and red light district. If all you want is a bed to sleep in for 8hrs a night at a cheap price, you can't go wrong!

Disliked: Dean left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

17 February 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: Small beds

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Elliot Porter

Alone

Visiting friends or family

11 February 2015

Liked: None

Disliked: The owner/manager was a bit abrupt and let himself into my room in the morning without knocking.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Susana Fernandez-Galiano

With friends / other travellers

City break

27 January 2015

Liked: The location was very good and the bathroom was clean

Disliked: No wifi, it was very cold in the room, we got a dorm when we had asked for a single room

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Przemyslaw Reding

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

19 January 2015 Przemyslaw would recommend this property

Liked: The location was just perfect, in the centre of the city.

Disliked: Przemyslaw left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Dominica Bates

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

09 November 2014 Dominica would recommend this property

Liked: the staff are amazingly friendly and chilled out. plus you could not ask for a better location. As a student traveller I thought this hostel was wonderful.

Disliked: I would not recommend this hostel for older visitors as the stairs are very steep.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Julia Danielska

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

22 September 2014 Julia would recommend this property

Liked: The location was perfect! We had a lovely view from our top floor window. The staff was very laid back and friendly, definitely worth having a chat with. The decor was kind of old school but I think it just added character to the place. Showers were spacious and water was hot. We had all we needed.

Disliked: nothing

62.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Jordan Toomey

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

25 August 2014 Jordan would recommend this property

Liked: Truly an example of you get what you pay for. nothing special, a nice old guy owns and runs the place and it'll do if you're planning to get out and about during the day. Dont expect too much as the common room is also the laundry room and you'll have to climb everest o get to your pom if you are on the top floor. Overall it does the job.

Disliked: Jordan left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

18 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's basically what anyone who's stayed in hostels would expect. All these negative reviews are obviously from people who don't understand what you get. Girl that worked there was friendly, there was info available and rooms were of usual hostel standard.

Disliked: Bed could be slightly comfier. There's not really a safe anywhere so you have to keep your passport on you.

28.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

02 August 2014

Liked: It was close to the smoking cafes

Disliked: Tiny room, fleas, hot, tv lounge was awful

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Cathy Frankowicz

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

20 July 2014 Cathy would recommend this property

Liked: I like how cheap it is, fantastic location, great atmosphere interms of the backpacker lifestyle!

Disliked: the stairs! hhaha

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

17 July 2014

Liked: Probably the only good things about this place is the location and the fact that the water in the common shower was hot and had good pressure

Disliked: The place is really old which wouldn't be a problem if it wasn't so expensive. There must be a lack of hotel rooms in Amsterdam if a place like this can afford to charge 80€ per night. I only stayed here because it was the cheapest I could find, and it was not cheap at all. I have stayed in youth hostels that are way better than this for a quarter of the price in other countries. The bedsheets are really old and too small for the bed, the matters and pillows were of terrible quality, the place smelled "old", the sink in our bedroom got blocked everytime we used it. Nobody came to clean the bedroom in the 4 nights that we were there. The common shower and toilet didn't look very hygenic, The fact that the stairs are steep was not a problem, the building is old and this is how it is, but it can certainly do with some new carpets, a good deep clean, some fresh air...

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

As a family with children

Family Holiday
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

13 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was conveniently located near the train station and central to many of the locals sites and restaurants. The limited times that we interacted with the staff was always a positive experience. Although it didn't have the luxuries of a basic hotel (like bath towels), we always felt safe and fortunate to be able to share time with both locals and tourists.

Disliked: The room was quite rustic in that there were burn holes on the blankets, very old furniture and bedding, limited lighting, and the continuous smell of 'smoke'. Although I wouldn't recommend this for a family with young children or romantic couples, it would definitely meet the needs of low maintenance free spirits and those looking to enjoy the local amenities.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

SIU CHEONG LEUNG

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

30 June 2014 SIU CHEONG would recommend this property

Liked: Nice staff, clear toilet and shower, good choice for backpacker

Disliked: Smoking is allowed

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

29 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: These are great men running the place. They'll tell you the truth of this world if you'll stop and stand awhile. The location couldn't be better. The room was cozy and simple- perfect for me. I was in a single room. Had a single bed, sink, window, and a small wardrobe with extra blankets inside. Toilet had plenty of warm water. They allow you to smoke in the rooms, but you must open the door and the window to the room. In the night the fire alarm went off and smoking privileges were suspended... so... do open the door and the window like they ask.

Disliked: Nothing, really. I should like to stay here again whenever I come back to Amsterdam in the future. The mattress kind of leaned to one side, and was easy to slide off of. I never quite figured out why. Wasn't a big deal.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
City break
Partying / nightlife
Visiting friends or family

16 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location. Very cheap. Very laid back staff.

Disliked: Lacking coordination between the two shifts. People from one shift were unable to give me a refund back on a lock I had left a deposit for with the other shift.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Richard Clarkin

With my spouse / partner

City break

27 May 2014 Richard would recommend this property

Liked: The location

Disliked: The owner is an old man who doesn't really know what he's doing .

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Joel Salgado

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

27 May 2014 Joel would recommend this property

Liked: The location was very central to most Amsterdam attractions. Owner also allowed us to smoke in the room.

Disliked: Not good if you have cat allergies like myself. Also the bike shop next door, would not recommend as I was charged $100 for damage I did not cause.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Chunchieh Peng

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

27 May 2014 Chunchieh would recommend this property

Liked: location is perfect, very close to many touristic attractions. value for money. the staff is willing to help. btw, cat is lovely~

Disliked: just toilet smells a bit...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Irina Vyshinskaya

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

26 May 2014 Irina would recommend this property

Liked: Enjoyable, relaxed atmosphere, perfect location opposite de nieuwe kerk and 1 min from the dam square, friendly staff, clean bathroom and toilets

Disliked: Sheets and towels are somewhat shabby

20.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Gokhan Taslioglu

With friends / other travellers

City break

19 May 2014

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: Everything

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

SERGIO PARRA

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

12 May 2014 SERGIO would recommend this property

Liked: Rooms are quite spacious. Beds aren't the most comfortable. Room was really warm

Disliked: They gave us just one key for three people.