HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Hotel Tamara

1 star Hotel | Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 144, Amsterdam, Netherlands 1012 SJ

71.7% Overall Rating

124 out of 200 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (14/04/2014)

Susan Morris thinks…

"The hotel was situated near everywhere we wanted. Staff lovely. Beds comfortable we slept ok."

Read all Hotel Tamara reviews

Facilities

  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

We do not accept reservations arriving after 22.00 unless you call to confirm and keep us updated on arrival time.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Amsterdam

Hotel Hostel Mevlana
24.85 USD

Hostel 74.1% 691 reviews
Funky Chickin Apartment
48.32 USD

Apartment 88.9% 71 reviews
Tulipana Residence
40.03 USD

Apartment 84.8% 3 reviews
Bob's Youth Hostel
22.09 USD

Hostel 63.4% 959 reviews
Damrak 2D
60.74 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Budget Hotel Tourist inn
39.85 USD

Hotel 1 star 79.8% 86 reviews
Damrak Inn
42.10 USD

Hotel 2 star 73.0% 328 reviews
Hotel Liberty
41.41 USD

Hotel 1 star 91.5% 222 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
71.7%

Overall Rating

124 out of 200 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hotel Tamara'

Atmosphere
68.8%
Location
97.6%
Facilities
52.0%
Cleanliness
59.2%
Staff
77.6%
Value
74.4%
Safety
72.0%
Refine your results Showing 122 of 187 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

29 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I stayed here in a private 5 bed room with 5 of my girlfriends. Firstly, many of the negative reviews are false. This hostel far exceeded my expectations. Initially arriving into Amsterdam central station, the hostel is extremely easy to find and in walking distance. Besides being close to the central station the hostel has very good proximity to all the sites and coffee shops, I managed to spend 3 days without buying any tram tickets and walking everywhere including up to Vondel Park. Secondly, upon arriving at the hostel we were greeted by an extremely friendly man and the owner (a cat) who gave us a free map and showed us all the important cite locations including museums and etc... We were given a 5 bed private room in which we had a sink, towels and tv (more then what most hostels would give you) we were also given access to a public microwave and fridge (also something most hostels wont give you). We were allowed to smoke in our rooms and had no curfew. The area is very nice and me and my 5 girlfriends experienced no unpleasantness from party goers. The showers were AMAZING! far better than my own at home and extremely hot!!! Whoever complained of the shower not being hot must not know how to operate a shower knob. This hostel deserves a far better rating. I was thoroughly impressed and pleasantly surprised at the facilities (as were all my girlfriends) I recommend this hostel to all those who wish to have an enjoyable hostel experience (as this was my first and I would definitely come back).

Disliked: The only thing I could fault this hostel for is the noise. The walls were slightly thing and we could hear people coming up and down the stairs and going in and out of the bathrooms. I understand this is something to be expected when staying at a hostel therefore this fault is very minor but must be mentioned for light sleepers.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sean Hillman

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

02 March 2011 Sean would recommend this property

Liked: I was scared when I booked my reservation for hotel tamara because I booked late and it was all that was left. A couple of the reviews on hotel tamara were great, but there were always more than enough horrible reviews that I was pretty nervous. It turned out to be the best deal me and my friends could have gotten. The beds might not have been amazing, and its not huge, but its a great deal and right in the middle of the city. The people that work the desk are very helpful and everything was clean. You are allowed to smoke in the rooms which is also nice, and for me arriving at about 9 at night, it was nice to only have a 5 minute walk from the train station. The bad reviews about this place are totally wrong. If you are a budget traveler like me, you will love it.

Disliked: Nothing worth mentioning here

62.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

14 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The owner and his cat were very friendly and helpful

Disliked: The property was fairly dirty and we definitely had a mouse visit our room on a couple of occasions.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Jon deleon

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

18 January 2011 Jon would recommend this property

Liked: Great location. Small room but....small price. If I wanted a big room I would have paid a much bigger price. Taz behind the desk was always helpful. With locations of places and use of the interent.

Disliked: none

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

06 December 2010

Liked: Nothing!

Disliked: Everything - what can I say, awful awful awful.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Family Holiday
Romantic getaway

30 November 2010

Liked: Excellent location

Disliked: We lived in a room above a busy pub instead of at the hotel. Bed was broken, bathroom was disgusting, street outside was noisy until god knows when and curtains didn't close properly.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

29 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location!!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife

22 August 2010

Liked: only location.

Disliked: everything. except location.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

17 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, only 5 minutes walk from the Centraal Station and Damrak square. Friendly owner and staff and a very fair price given how expensive some of the hostels just a few doors down are.

Disliked: The rooms are very basic, and the property as a whole is a little ramshackle. The shower was little more than a trickle and there are only 3 (plus 3 toilets) to be shared with three floors of people.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Richard Coulthard

With friends / other travellers

City break

12 August 2010

Liked: The location.

Disliked: When we arrived we were told they were fully booked even though we had made a reservation for 3 beds in a dorm. Instead they placed a mattress on the floor next to a double bed in a room big enough for barely one person.

34.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Philippa Edis

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Romantic getaway

31 July 2010

Liked: GOOD: location was good. The bed was quite comfy with clean sheets.BAD: Bathroom was absolutely filthy and disgusting. They didn't supply toilet roll, looked like it hadn't been cleaned for years, there was even a note on the door asking us to clean it ourselves!! Guy threw a huge grump when we asked to see the room first before paying for the entire stay, presumably because he knew how terrible it was. No point staying here if you want to get to sleep early - we were directly above a loud irish bar that had drunks singing songs to 3am and as the door is right next to the pub you always had drunk people sitting right in front of the entrance/exit. No way you will be able to get out by 10am with the noise downstairs keeping you up all night. Weren't offered the free drink. Probably wouldn't have wanted to go into that pub anyway ... Curtains didn't go over windows fully. Light was terrible and hardly lit the room at all.

Disliked: Bathroom was absolutely filthy and disgusting. They didn't supply toilet roll, looked like it hadn't been cleaned for years, there was even a note on the door asking us to clean it ourselves!! Guy threw a huge grump when we asked to see the room first before paying for the entire stay, presumably because he knew how terrible it was. No point staying here if you want to get to sleep early - we were directly above a loud irish bar that had drunks singing songs to 3am and as the door is right next to the pub you always had drunk people sitting right in front of the entrance/exit. No way you will be able to get out by 10am with the noise downstairs keeping you up all night. Weren't offered the free drink. Probably wouldn't have wanted to go into that pub anyway ... Curtains didn't go over windows fully. Light was terrible and hardly lit the room at all.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break

30 July 2010

Liked: Good location

Disliked: Very dirty, receptionist smoking drugs, nice cat but litter box was next to our dorm.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

19 July 2010

Liked: The receptionist was very helpful, when we arrived we were told we weren't staying at hotel tamara but in a room they owned above a pub, the receptionist kindly walked us round to it despite her shift having ended.The location.

Disliked: The room was dirty and dusty, one of the beds had broken slats and dipped in the middle also the bathroom was an absolute disgrace we went to a local swimming pool to shower. Patronising and rude attitude of the owner. Also that they were piling people in on mattresses on the floor when they'd ran out of beds in the dorms, something we couldn't help but overhear being organised while we attempted to check in.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

16 July 2010

Liked: very near to amsterdam centraal station

Disliked: the corridors are very dark, and the bathroom is very dirty

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
City break
Romantic getaway

29 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very close to centre-great location, staff were quite helpful and belongings were safe whilst out for a majority of the days.

Disliked: Wasn't the nicest of places to stay but was reasonably priced and clean sheets, was just aplace to sleep for us and done what it needed to, room was a little small for a double though.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tajda Markovič

21 June 2010 Tajda would recommend this property

Liked: I love the family atmosphere in hotel and the kindness of the main staff. In this hotel are the most friendly staff I have ever met.

Disliked: Tajda left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

05 May 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It is very close to the train station and Dam and is a good place to start your travel, but visitors are not allowed to do any cooking, which is not so convinient. (I heard all the hostels in Holland are just like this. I am not sure about that)

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

25.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

11 April 2010

Liked: Not, it is the worse hostel that I have ever stayed. it is horrible, dirty, the service is really bad, smell to drugs, it has a horrible cat.I do not recommend it at all.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

06 April 2010

Liked: Next to station

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

03 April 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This place is a dump, but I would consider staying there again because it's an easy fast walk from Central Station and to everything else. I was very happy with the price and the beds we had were comfy. Only two bathrooms and not on every floor, but I could always get in okay. I loved the free internet, coffe and tea.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

19 March 2010

Liked: it had a cute cat

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Vidal Vides Batanero

10 March 2010

Liked: I didn´t like anything

Disliked: Vidal left no negative feedback.