We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Hotel Tamara

1 star Hotel | Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 144, Amsterdam, Netherlands 1012 SJ

64.1% Overall Rating

140 out of 224 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (25/08/2014)

Jordan Toomey thinks…

"Truly an example of you get what you pay for. nothing special, a nice old guy owns and runs the place and it'll do if you're planning to get out and about during the day. Dont expect too much…"

Read all Hotel Tamara reviews

Facilities

  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

We do not accept reservations arriving after 22.00 unless you call to confirm and keep us updated on arrival time.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Amsterdam

Hotel Hostel Mevlana
23.30 USD

Hostel 74.9% 719 reviews
Tulipana Residence
45.25 USD

Apartment 86.5% 7 reviews
Bob's Youth Hostel
18.13 USD

Hostel 72.3% 998 reviews
Budget Hotel Tourist inn
25.01 USD

Hotel 1 star 84.3% 100 reviews
Damrak Inn
25.89 USD

Hotel 2 star 77.6% 349 reviews
Central Station Hostel
27.18 USD

Hostel 74.3% 193 reviews
Truelove Antique & Guesthouse
61.50 USD

Guesthouse 85.4% 437 reviews
Bees B&B
73.80 USD

Guesthouse 98.7% 17 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 17/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 17/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
64.1%

Overall Rating

140 out of 224 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hotel Tamara'

Atmosphere
60.0%
Location
92.8%
Facilities
46.4%
Cleanliness
50.4%
Staff
70.4%
Value
61.6%
Safety
67.2%
Refine your results Showing 141 of 211 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6   Next
Reset filter
54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 July 2011

Liked: Friendly staff.

Disliked: Broken window in the room with bin bag over it, smell of cat urine in the stairs, not clean.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Helpful owner, 420 friendly, reasonably safe, good showers.

Disliked: Small rooms.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

20 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good location & nice staff

Disliked: old facilities & very small room & very narrow steps & smells not very good

25.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

18 July 2011

Liked: Location is reasonably good - 10/15 minutes away from the main train station and Red Light district

Disliked: It is by far the worst hostel I have ever stayed at. There is nothing good about this place, except for its location. The place is run down and dirty: they do not seem to be cleaning it, like ever. Also, in the dorm room one of the windows was broken and instead of putting a new one in its place, they patched the problem with a trash bag and duct tape!!! They do not have a lounge area and by "internet" they mean that occasionally you could use one very old and barely functioning computer that they have in a reception area (which, by the way, is not open 24h/day as they claim). The staff in exceptionally rude and unfriendly to everybody. And, watch out - I heard them deny people with reservation a right of stay as they arrived late (around 10pm). I heard them say that they did not have a single free bed left, which was also a lie as there were 2 dorm beds free all night. And they did not show any compassion or understanding for the poor people that they turned away at 10pm on Friday night... Also, during my stay there, somebody's backpack got stolen and they also showed a lax attitude about it. Again, please do yourself a favor and stay elsewhere!!!

The property's response is...

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Alex Strilets

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

16 July 2011 Alex would recommend this property

Liked: Location, price

Disliked: Rooms are extremely small, not very clean, people are smoking in their rooms and you can small that.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Ryan Young

With friends / other travellers

City break

14 July 2011 Ryan would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, central location and allowed to smoke in room. Shwing!

Disliked: Nothin. There were no mice. I wouldn't eat my dinner off the floor but then again I own a plate.

20.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Joonas Pulliainen

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

10 July 2011

Liked: none

Disliked: all

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break

08 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: there was a young boy who was really helpful

Disliked: it was a bit noisy and one of the toilets aren't working properly

42.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Alfian Paiman

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

24 June 2011

Liked: Location wise it's really good, but the overall condition of the hotel was terrible. Staff are friendly, but that's really not enough to compensate the run down condition of the hostel.

Disliked: Place was definitely a lot worse than described. Dirty hostel in general, dirty toilet, extremely narrow staircase that makes it harder to climb 5 levels with luggage, hardly any internet connection at all.

The property's response is...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Staffan Bromander

With friends / other travellers

City break

14 June 2011 Staffan would recommend this property

Liked: Great and frendly staff. Very close to the city center (only a few minutes from Dam square)

Disliked: No common room to meet new people.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

14 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It is an old hostel but its good. The place is clean, the location is perfect, the staff are great and cause its a smaller place the rules aren't as strict. This place is good value for money and even if I had a lot of money it will still be my first choice, I can't wait to go back

Disliked: Nothing

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Ugur Arpali

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

14 June 2011 Ugur would recommend this property

Liked: good location

Disliked: rooms could be cleaner

40.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

28 May 2011

Liked: Only location.

Disliked: The owner was not friendly at all! Room looked like it hadn't been cleaned for years! Dirty towels and bed.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

23 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Showers were hot, owner very friendly and helpful, cat was lovely, location was very central. Although a bit rough around the edges, it began to feel homely by the end of the few days we stayed there.

Disliked: Towels weren't particularly clean, bedding was OK but there were holes here and there.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

26 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location. Nearby to Central Station and attractions within the city center.

Disliked: Not very clean and it is quite old. Quite cramped as well, but it's a budget hostel and it provides you with a place to sleep.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

23 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: perfect location, friendly stuff

Disliked: the sheets were very old with holes and many people in a small room but it was ok for spending one or two nights there

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

ANDREW D'CRUZ

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

23 April 2011 ANDREW would recommend this property

Liked: The Australian chap on reception. Great knowledge of the local amenities

Disliked: Beds aren't great

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

22 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nice staff, weed friendly

Disliked: Kinda dirty

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

19 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: owner spoke perfect english, and was very helpful. location was perfect, short walking distance to almost all the attractions as well as amsterdam centraal station.

Disliked: there was a freaky black cat that lived there. however it seems like it's common for other hotels/hostels to have cats too (friends staying elsewhere also saw a cat in their place)?

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

29 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I stayed here in a private 5 bed room with 5 of my girlfriends. Firstly, many of the negative reviews are false. This hostel far exceeded my expectations. Initially arriving into Amsterdam central station, the hostel is extremely easy to find and in walking distance. Besides being close to the central station the hostel has very good proximity to all the sites and coffee shops, I managed to spend 3 days without buying any tram tickets and walking everywhere including up to Vondel Park. Secondly, upon arriving at the hostel we were greeted by an extremely friendly man and the owner (a cat) who gave us a free map and showed us all the important cite locations including museums and etc... We were given a 5 bed private room in which we had a sink, towels and tv (more then what most hostels would give you) we were also given access to a public microwave and fridge (also something most hostels wont give you). We were allowed to smoke in our rooms and had no curfew. The area is very nice and me and my 5 girlfriends experienced no unpleasantness from party goers. The showers were AMAZING! far better than my own at home and extremely hot!!! Whoever complained of the shower not being hot must not know how to operate a shower knob. This hostel deserves a far better rating. I was thoroughly impressed and pleasantly surprised at the facilities (as were all my girlfriends) I recommend this hostel to all those who wish to have an enjoyable hostel experience (as this was my first and I would definitely come back).

Disliked: The only thing I could fault this hostel for is the noise. The walls were slightly thing and we could hear people coming up and down the stairs and going in and out of the bathrooms. I understand this is something to be expected when staying at a hostel therefore this fault is very minor but must be mentioned for light sleepers.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sean Hillman

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

02 March 2011 Sean would recommend this property

Liked: I was scared when I booked my reservation for hotel tamara because I booked late and it was all that was left. A couple of the reviews on hotel tamara were great, but there were always more than enough horrible reviews that I was pretty nervous. It turned out to be the best deal me and my friends could have gotten. The beds might not have been amazing, and its not huge, but its a great deal and right in the middle of the city. The people that work the desk are very helpful and everything was clean. You are allowed to smoke in the rooms which is also nice, and for me arriving at about 9 at night, it was nice to only have a 5 minute walk from the train station. The bad reviews about this place are totally wrong. If you are a budget traveler like me, you will love it.

Disliked: Nothing worth mentioning here

62.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

14 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The owner and his cat were very friendly and helpful

Disliked: The property was fairly dirty and we definitely had a mouse visit our room on a couple of occasions.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Jon deleon

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

18 January 2011 Jon would recommend this property

Liked: Great location. Small room but....small price. If I wanted a big room I would have paid a much bigger price. Taz behind the desk was always helpful. With locations of places and use of the interent.

Disliked: none

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

06 December 2010

Liked: Nothing!

Disliked: Everything - what can I say, awful awful awful.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Family Holiday
Romantic getaway

30 November 2010

Liked: Excellent location

Disliked: We lived in a room above a busy pub instead of at the hotel. Bed was broken, bathroom was disgusting, street outside was noisy until god knows when and curtains didn't close properly.