We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Hotel Tamara

1 star Hotel | Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 144, Amsterdam, Netherlands 1012 SJ

63.3% Overall Rating

148 out of 238 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (09/03/2015)

Nelio Leca thinks…

"So many bad reviews had a few mates of mine and myself quite anxious before we got there. Arriving there, we did not know why. The hostel was great! Very welcoming lady upon entry, got a free drink…"

Read all Hotel Tamara reviews

Facilities

  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

We do not accept reservations arriving after 22.00 unless you call to confirm and keep us updated on arrival time.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Amsterdam

Hotel Hostel Mevlana
23.92 USD

Hostel 68.9% 733 reviews
Tulipana Residence
35.88 USD

Apartment 87.5% 8 reviews
Bob's Youth Hostel
17.40 USD

Hostel 71.9% 1014 reviews
Damrak Inn
16.31 USD

Hotel 2 star 78.9% 350 reviews
Central Station Hostel
21.74 USD

Hostel 76.1% 208 reviews
Truelove Antique & Guesthouse
46.21 USD

Guesthouse 83.2% 438 reviews
Bees B&B
61.98 USD

Guesthouse 98.7% 17 reviews
StargateAmsterdam
32.62 USD

Apartment 77.8% 22 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 27/03/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 27/03/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
63.3%

Overall Rating

148 out of 238 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hotel Tamara'

Atmosphere
59.2%
Location
92.8%
Facilities
41.6%
Cleanliness
51.2%
Staff
71.2%
Value
64.0%
Safety
63.2%
Refine your results Showing 152 of 225 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7   Next
Reset filter
77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Anthony Clarke

With friends / other travellers

City break

05 August 2012 Anthony would recommend this property

Liked: You could smoke inside (including grass)!!

Disliked: The 70 vertical stairs to our top floor room.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

31 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: On the top floor our room was like a pink castle room.

Disliked: On the top floor there is no toilet and shower.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

15 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: value for money, location

Disliked: steep stairs

42.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Laura chevarria

With my spouse / partner

Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

06 July 2012

Liked: Location only

Disliked: Everything but the location. Smells bad, dirty, hasn't been cleaned in months. Small rooms, cat laying around, rude staff, too expensive, no elevator, loud, no air conditioning, etc.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife

30 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: L'hotêl est vieux, mais très bien situé, à coté du centre d'amsterdam (moins de 5 min). On peut fumer dans la chambre.

Disliked: Toilettes et salle de bains communes.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Relaxation/spa

26 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: An old man is sitting in the kitchen and talking interesting things. Black cat walking through the staires was also very funny. I don't know, everything was great there.

Disliked: Can't find any disadvantages for that price

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

17 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were very friendly, always someone there. Tea and coffee available during the day. Rooms were small but clean. We stayed in a private twin room, it had 2 beds and a basin, toilets/showers were shared. Typical narrow stairs, so be prepared to squeeze your luggage upstairs! Awesome cat called Murphy, very playful for those who missed their own pets...

Disliked: Nothing wrong due to the hotel, just the smell of smoke in the halls sometimes!

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

11 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Ideal Location

Disliked: Shared bathroom

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Joaquin Ignacio Aguirre Cerino

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

22 May 2012

Liked: have good location

Disliked: The hostel is not worth what you pay for this service. Should be more clean and friendly

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Marta Moreno

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

22 May 2012 Marta would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: Shared bathroom. Not wifi in the bedrooms of the 3rd and 4th floor.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

22 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Central location with no curfew and own door key!

Disliked: Nothing!

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Henry McTavish

Alone

City break

22 May 2012 Henry would recommend this property

Liked: This may not be a place for everyone but I loved it. Great location and the owner is just fabulous. If you want to feel a little bit of Amsterdams bohemien side come and stay. Liberal and welcoming... a real pleasure.

Disliked: Henry left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Mariusz Golebiowski

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

15 May 2012 Mariusz would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice atmosphere

Disliked: Mariusz left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

30 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff. Good location

Disliked: Shared showering facilities- but this was expected for accommodation of this type.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Jette Rasmussen

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

25 April 2012 Jette would recommend this property

Liked: We liked the atmosphere and the talk -- You felt the "taking care" from the staff

Disliked: We liked it

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Ekaterina Kolpinskaya

Alone

Business / conference
City break

23 April 2012 Ekaterina would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is nicely located to the main sights and the train station! There are plenty of caffees around too. The staff are great and very helpfull, so do not hesitate to ask)) My room itself was quite small, but I didn't spend too much time there anyway, and all the facilities were working perfectly.

Disliked: It might be a bit loud in the evening and at night, but that's the price you pay for a central location I think

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Tonje Waitz

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

10 April 2012

Liked: Cheap and good location.

Disliked: They do not inform in the website that they have two different locations, one which does not have wifi/internet, lounge area or secure lockers.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

08 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: cheap and somehow clean

Disliked: old

74.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

08 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice location, friendly stuff, nice cat

Disliked: Is not clean

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Liam Hannan

With my spouse / partner

City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

07 April 2012 Liam would recommend this property

Liked: we were moved above the blarney stone pub which is 5mins walk from station..plenty of cafes and shops nearby..was an bank machine in the supermarket next door which was really good! showers were brilliant and beds were grand! being able to smoke in the room was very good!

Disliked: Room could have done with a bit of work but we were not expecting much so it wasnt that bad! we had a mouse one of the nights aswel that used all of my girlfriends phone credit so i gave it a boot up his hole! we found the funny side of it because we were baked haha

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

05 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: right smack in city centre, near shopping area(branded shops, souvenir shops, grocery shop), near and easy access to Amsterdam Centraal Station , restaurant and coffee shop(for people that go there for the weed). also in tourist area. there owner is a weird old man but if u nice to him, he'll be very nice to you. so first impression of you is very important to have comfortable stay there.

Disliked: the toilet and room very dirty, the furniture is very old, condition of the bed is very poor, the window is broken

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

21 February 2012

Liked: Location.

Disliked: No lift, very narrow stairs and hard to get up with large suitcases.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The owners are very nice. The location is great. They have fast internet (but wifi didn't work). Always hot water in the shower. Generally it is a very good place for what you pay.

Disliked: Nothing

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

23 January 2012

Liked: We can store our big luggage here for free for a week while we were travelling around.

Disliked: The space of the stairs is really small so it is harder for us who brought big luggage to the top floor. And the entire hotel smell like cats.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Christopher Martinez

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

27 November 2011

Liked: The location was in a great spot. The staff was helpful when needed.

Disliked: The cost was way overpriced. It wasn't as nice in comparison to other places for the same price.

The property's response is...