We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Hotel Tamara

1 star Hotel | Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 144, Amsterdam, Netherlands 1012 SJ

65.0% Overall Rating

151 out of 241 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (03/04/2015)

roxanne cullinan thinks…

"Good value for money. Comfy beds. Great location in walking distance from all main attractions."

Read all Hotel Tamara reviews

Facilities

  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

We do not accept reservations arriving after 22.00 unless you call to confirm and keep us updated on arrival time.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Amsterdam

Hotel Hostel Mevlana
24.63 USD

Hostel 70.9% 740 reviews
Tulipana Residence
36.94 USD

Apartment 84.4% 9 reviews
Bob's Youth Hostel
13.43 USD

Hostel 69.5% 1024 reviews
Damrak Inn
23.51 USD

Hotel 2 star 78.7% 351 reviews
Central Station Hostel
15.66 USD

Hostel 80.0% 213 reviews
Truelove Antique & Guesthouse
55.41 USD

Guesthouse 83.2% 438 reviews
Bees B&B
63.80 USD

Guesthouse 98.7% 18 reviews
StargateAmsterdam
44.77 USD

Apartment 78.5% 23 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 03/05/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 03/05/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
65.0%

Overall Rating

151 out of 241 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hotel Tamara'

Atmosphere
59.2%
Location
94.4%
Facilities
43.2%
Cleanliness
53.6%
Staff
70.4%
Value
67.2%
Safety
67.2%
Refine your results Showing 153 of 228 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7   Next
Reset filter
42.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

21 August 2012

Liked: location

Disliked: it smelt so bad! was really really dirty do not stay here, pay more and stay in a nicer place. especially in the summer as it is a 5 storey building and we were at the top sleeping in 30'C+ heat with no fan or breeze

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Anthony Clarke

With friends / other travellers

City break

05 August 2012 Anthony would recommend this property

Liked: You could smoke inside (including grass)!!

Disliked: The 70 vertical stairs to our top floor room.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

31 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: On the top floor our room was like a pink castle room.

Disliked: On the top floor there is no toilet and shower.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

15 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: value for money, location

Disliked: steep stairs

42.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Laura chevarria

With my spouse / partner

Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

06 July 2012

Liked: Location only

Disliked: Everything but the location. Smells bad, dirty, hasn't been cleaned in months. Small rooms, cat laying around, rude staff, too expensive, no elevator, loud, no air conditioning, etc.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife

30 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: L'hotêl est vieux, mais très bien situé, à coté du centre d'amsterdam (moins de 5 min). On peut fumer dans la chambre.

Disliked: Toilettes et salle de bains communes.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Relaxation/spa

26 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: An old man is sitting in the kitchen and talking interesting things. Black cat walking through the staires was also very funny. I don't know, everything was great there.

Disliked: Can't find any disadvantages for that price

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

17 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were very friendly, always someone there. Tea and coffee available during the day. Rooms were small but clean. We stayed in a private twin room, it had 2 beds and a basin, toilets/showers were shared. Typical narrow stairs, so be prepared to squeeze your luggage upstairs! Awesome cat called Murphy, very playful for those who missed their own pets...

Disliked: Nothing wrong due to the hotel, just the smell of smoke in the halls sometimes!

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

11 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Ideal Location

Disliked: Shared bathroom

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Joaquin Ignacio Aguirre Cerino

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

22 May 2012

Liked: have good location

Disliked: The hostel is not worth what you pay for this service. Should be more clean and friendly

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Marta Moreno

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

22 May 2012 Marta would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: Shared bathroom. Not wifi in the bedrooms of the 3rd and 4th floor.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

22 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Central location with no curfew and own door key!

Disliked: Nothing!

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Henry McTavish

Alone

City break

22 May 2012 Henry would recommend this property

Liked: This may not be a place for everyone but I loved it. Great location and the owner is just fabulous. If you want to feel a little bit of Amsterdams bohemien side come and stay. Liberal and welcoming... a real pleasure.

Disliked: Henry left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Mariusz Golebiowski

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

15 May 2012 Mariusz would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice atmosphere

Disliked: Mariusz left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

30 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff. Good location

Disliked: Shared showering facilities- but this was expected for accommodation of this type.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Jette Rasmussen

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

25 April 2012 Jette would recommend this property

Liked: We liked the atmosphere and the talk -- You felt the "taking care" from the staff

Disliked: We liked it

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Ekaterina Kolpinskaya

Alone

Business / conference
City break

23 April 2012 Ekaterina would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is nicely located to the main sights and the train station! There are plenty of caffees around too. The staff are great and very helpfull, so do not hesitate to ask)) My room itself was quite small, but I didn't spend too much time there anyway, and all the facilities were working perfectly.

Disliked: It might be a bit loud in the evening and at night, but that's the price you pay for a central location I think

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Tonje Waitz

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

10 April 2012

Liked: Cheap and good location.

Disliked: They do not inform in the website that they have two different locations, one which does not have wifi/internet, lounge area or secure lockers.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

08 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: cheap and somehow clean

Disliked: old

74.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

08 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice location, friendly stuff, nice cat

Disliked: Is not clean

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Liam Hannan

With my spouse / partner

City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

07 April 2012 Liam would recommend this property

Liked: we were moved above the blarney stone pub which is 5mins walk from station..plenty of cafes and shops nearby..was an bank machine in the supermarket next door which was really good! showers were brilliant and beds were grand! being able to smoke in the room was very good!

Disliked: Room could have done with a bit of work but we were not expecting much so it wasnt that bad! we had a mouse one of the nights aswel that used all of my girlfriends phone credit so i gave it a boot up his hole! we found the funny side of it because we were baked haha

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

05 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: right smack in city centre, near shopping area(branded shops, souvenir shops, grocery shop), near and easy access to Amsterdam Centraal Station , restaurant and coffee shop(for people that go there for the weed). also in tourist area. there owner is a weird old man but if u nice to him, he'll be very nice to you. so first impression of you is very important to have comfortable stay there.

Disliked: the toilet and room very dirty, the furniture is very old, condition of the bed is very poor, the window is broken

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

21 February 2012

Liked: Location.

Disliked: No lift, very narrow stairs and hard to get up with large suitcases.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The owners are very nice. The location is great. They have fast internet (but wifi didn't work). Always hot water in the shower. Generally it is a very good place for what you pay.

Disliked: Nothing

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

23 January 2012

Liked: We can store our big luggage here for free for a week while we were travelling around.

Disliked: The space of the stairs is really small so it is harder for us who brought big luggage to the top floor. And the entire hotel smell like cats.