HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Hotel Tamara

1 star Hotel | Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 144, Amsterdam, Netherlands 1012 SJ

71.7% Overall Rating

124 out of 200 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (14/04/2014)

Susan Morris thinks…

"The hotel was situated near everywhere we wanted. Staff lovely. Beds comfortable we slept ok."

Read all Hotel Tamara reviews

Facilities

  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

We do not accept reservations arriving after 22.00 unless you call to confirm and keep us updated on arrival time.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Amsterdam

Hotel Hostel Mevlana
24.88 USD

Hostel 74.1% 691 reviews
Funky Chickin Apartment
48.38 USD

Apartment 88.9% 71 reviews
Tulipana Residence
40.08 USD

Apartment 84.8% 3 reviews
Bob's Youth Hostel
22.11 USD

Hostel 63.4% 959 reviews
Damrak 2D
60.82 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Budget Hotel Tourist inn
39.90 USD

Hotel 1 star 79.8% 86 reviews
Damrak Inn
48.38 USD

Hotel 2 star 73.0% 328 reviews
Hotel Liberty
41.47 USD

Hotel 1 star 91.5% 222 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 17/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 17/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
71.7%

Overall Rating

124 out of 200 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hotel Tamara'

Atmosphere
68.8%
Location
97.6%
Facilities
52.0%
Cleanliness
59.2%
Staff
77.6%
Value
74.4%
Safety
72.0%
Refine your results Showing 122 of 187 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5   Next
Reset filter
85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Sightseeing & culture

10 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We booked to stay in the dorm room but ended up being taken over to their other hostel above the Blarney Stone irish pub and put into a double room. Luckily, me and my friend aren't uncomfortable with sharing a bed so we didnt mind at all but i think others may do if this happened to them. The room we were given was on the very top floor in the loft up very steep stairs but we knew this was common in Amsterdam. There was a lock on the door leading out to the street and a lock on the room door so it was safe enough. The location of both the blarney and tamara hotel are great, with tamara being a little closer to town but only a few mins walk from blarney. Bathroom was relatively clean and cleaned daily and the showers were spot on warm and powerful! Don't expect luxury, but if you need a bed for the night in a cheap, decent room i'd recommend a stay.

Disliked: Only thing id say is the tamara hotel did smell a little of cats in the hallway (if this would offend you) and is a good few mins from an ATM otherwise as long as you don't expect too much its a great place to stay.

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

21 August 2011

Liked: nothing

Disliked: expensive and dirty

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Christina Puzio

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

08 August 2011 Christina would recommend this property

Liked: Great location. Close enough to walk to & from Centraal Station (or catch the tram that runs directly in front of the hotel. Also very close to the main shopping strip, plenty of cafes and the red light district. The Australian man on reception was very knowledgeable about Amsterdam and was more than happy to assist you with any queries, although would often ramble on with stories. It was entertaining nonetheless! Smoking was allowed in the rooms. Coffee/Tea was available in the common room next to reception if you so wished. Great for young travellers on a budget! The room was decently sized compared to some of the hotel rooms we'd encountered along our trip so far.

Disliked: Steep, narrow stairs! And a lot of them. But this is common in Amsterdam. Of course we were given the room on the top floor, which made it difficult with luggage. At least it's good for the thighs! The shared toilets were a bit dirty, but the showers were clean enough.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Michael Bested

With my spouse / partner

City break

27 July 2011 Michael would recommend this property

Liked: We liked the staff very much the most friendly i have encountered in over 10 trips. The first room we got was a closet so small was it but next day we got a new one that was a little bigger .

Disliked: Well the missing wifi and computer at the place was hot 20 years ago . After we got a new room without any trouble we thought it was ok for the money

25.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

25 July 2011

Liked: NOTHING. It smells too!

Disliked: EVERYTHING. Just dont go here if you dont want to spoil your trip. The owner is rude and the rooms are pathetic. NEVER NEVER again.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Arjun Mukerji

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

25 July 2011 Arjun would recommend this property

Liked: owner was nice, cat was awesome

Disliked: stairs

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 July 2011

Liked: Friendly staff.

Disliked: Broken window in the room with bin bag over it, smell of cat urine in the stairs, not clean.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Helpful owner, 420 friendly, reasonably safe, good showers.

Disliked: Small rooms.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

20 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good location & nice staff

Disliked: old facilities & very small room & very narrow steps & smells not very good

25.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

18 July 2011

Liked: Location is reasonably good - 10/15 minutes away from the main train station and Red Light district

Disliked: It is by far the worst hostel I have ever stayed at. There is nothing good about this place, except for its location. The place is run down and dirty: they do not seem to be cleaning it, like ever. Also, in the dorm room one of the windows was broken and instead of putting a new one in its place, they patched the problem with a trash bag and duct tape!!! They do not have a lounge area and by "internet" they mean that occasionally you could use one very old and barely functioning computer that they have in a reception area (which, by the way, is not open 24h/day as they claim). The staff in exceptionally rude and unfriendly to everybody. And, watch out - I heard them deny people with reservation a right of stay as they arrived late (around 10pm). I heard them say that they did not have a single free bed left, which was also a lie as there were 2 dorm beds free all night. And they did not show any compassion or understanding for the poor people that they turned away at 10pm on Friday night... Also, during my stay there, somebody's backpack got stolen and they also showed a lax attitude about it. Again, please do yourself a favor and stay elsewhere!!!

The property's response is...

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Alex Strilets

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

16 July 2011 Alex would recommend this property

Liked: Location, price

Disliked: Rooms are extremely small, not very clean, people are smoking in their rooms and you can small that.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Ryan Young

With friends / other travellers

City break

14 July 2011 Ryan would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, central location and allowed to smoke in room. Shwing!

Disliked: Nothin. There were no mice. I wouldn't eat my dinner off the floor but then again I own a plate.

20.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Joonas Pulliainen

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

10 July 2011

Liked: none

Disliked: all

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break

08 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: there was a young boy who was really helpful

Disliked: it was a bit noisy and one of the toilets aren't working properly

42.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Alfian Paiman

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

24 June 2011

Liked: Location wise it's really good, but the overall condition of the hotel was terrible. Staff are friendly, but that's really not enough to compensate the run down condition of the hostel.

Disliked: Place was definitely a lot worse than described. Dirty hostel in general, dirty toilet, extremely narrow staircase that makes it harder to climb 5 levels with luggage, hardly any internet connection at all.

The property's response is...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Staffan Bromander

With friends / other travellers

City break

14 June 2011 Staffan would recommend this property

Liked: Great and frendly staff. Very close to the city center (only a few minutes from Dam square)

Disliked: No common room to meet new people.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

14 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It is an old hostel but its good. The place is clean, the location is perfect, the staff are great and cause its a smaller place the rules aren't as strict. This place is good value for money and even if I had a lot of money it will still be my first choice, I can't wait to go back

Disliked: Nothing

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Ugur Arpali

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

14 June 2011 Ugur would recommend this property

Liked: good location

Disliked: rooms could be cleaner

40.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

28 May 2011

Liked: Only location.

Disliked: The owner was not friendly at all! Room looked like it hadn't been cleaned for years! Dirty towels and bed.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

23 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Showers were hot, owner very friendly and helpful, cat was lovely, location was very central. Although a bit rough around the edges, it began to feel homely by the end of the few days we stayed there.

Disliked: Towels weren't particularly clean, bedding was OK but there were holes here and there.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

26 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location. Nearby to Central Station and attractions within the city center.

Disliked: Not very clean and it is quite old. Quite cramped as well, but it's a budget hostel and it provides you with a place to sleep.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

23 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: perfect location, friendly stuff

Disliked: the sheets were very old with holes and many people in a small room but it was ok for spending one or two nights there

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

ANDREW D'CRUZ

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

23 April 2011 ANDREW would recommend this property

Liked: The Australian chap on reception. Great knowledge of the local amenities

Disliked: Beds aren't great

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

22 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nice staff, weed friendly

Disliked: Kinda dirty

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

19 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: owner spoke perfect english, and was very helpful. location was perfect, short walking distance to almost all the attractions as well as amsterdam centraal station.

Disliked: there was a freaky black cat that lived there. however it seems like it's common for other hotels/hostels to have cats too (friends staying elsewhere also saw a cat in their place)?