We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Hotel Tamara

1 star Hotel | Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 144, Amsterdam, Netherlands 1012 SJ

64.1% Overall Rating

140 out of 224 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (25/08/2014)

Jordan Toomey thinks…

"Truly an example of you get what you pay for. nothing special, a nice old guy owns and runs the place and it'll do if you're planning to get out and about during the day. Dont expect too much…"

Read all Hotel Tamara reviews

Facilities

  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

We do not accept reservations arriving after 22.00 unless you call to confirm and keep us updated on arrival time.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Amsterdam

Hotel Hostel Mevlana
23.18 USD

Hostel 74.9% 719 reviews
Tulipana Residence
48.29 USD

Apartment 86.5% 7 reviews
Bob's Youth Hostel
15.45 USD

Hostel 72.3% 998 reviews
Budget Hotel Tourist inn
31.04 USD

Hotel 1 star 84.3% 100 reviews
Damrak Inn
23.18 USD

Hotel 2 star 77.6% 349 reviews
Central Station Hostel
28.32 USD

Hostel 74.3% 193 reviews
Truelove Antique & Guesthouse
70.83 USD

Guesthouse 85.4% 437 reviews
Bees B&B
73.41 USD

Guesthouse 98.7% 17 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
64.1%

Overall Rating

140 out of 224 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hotel Tamara'

Atmosphere
60.0%
Location
92.8%
Facilities
46.4%
Cleanliness
50.4%
Staff
70.4%
Value
61.6%
Safety
67.2%
Refine your results Showing 141 of 211 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6   Next
Reset filter
82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Henry McTavish

Alone

City break

22 May 2012 Henry would recommend this property

Liked: This may not be a place for everyone but I loved it. Great location and the owner is just fabulous. If you want to feel a little bit of Amsterdams bohemien side come and stay. Liberal and welcoming... a real pleasure.

Disliked: Henry left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Mariusz Golebiowski

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

15 May 2012 Mariusz would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice atmosphere

Disliked: Mariusz left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

30 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff. Good location

Disliked: Shared showering facilities- but this was expected for accommodation of this type.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Jette Rasmussen

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

25 April 2012 Jette would recommend this property

Liked: We liked the atmosphere and the talk -- You felt the "taking care" from the staff

Disliked: We liked it

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Ekaterina Kolpinskaya

Alone

Business / conference
City break

23 April 2012 Ekaterina would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is nicely located to the main sights and the train station! There are plenty of caffees around too. The staff are great and very helpfull, so do not hesitate to ask)) My room itself was quite small, but I didn't spend too much time there anyway, and all the facilities were working perfectly.

Disliked: It might be a bit loud in the evening and at night, but that's the price you pay for a central location I think

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Tonje Waitz

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

10 April 2012

Liked: Cheap and good location.

Disliked: They do not inform in the website that they have two different locations, one which does not have wifi/internet, lounge area or secure lockers.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

08 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: cheap and somehow clean

Disliked: old

74.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

08 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice location, friendly stuff, nice cat

Disliked: Is not clean

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Liam Hannan

With my spouse / partner

City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

07 April 2012 Liam would recommend this property

Liked: we were moved above the blarney stone pub which is 5mins walk from station..plenty of cafes and shops nearby..was an bank machine in the supermarket next door which was really good! showers were brilliant and beds were grand! being able to smoke in the room was very good!

Disliked: Room could have done with a bit of work but we were not expecting much so it wasnt that bad! we had a mouse one of the nights aswel that used all of my girlfriends phone credit so i gave it a boot up his hole! we found the funny side of it because we were baked haha

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

05 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: right smack in city centre, near shopping area(branded shops, souvenir shops, grocery shop), near and easy access to Amsterdam Centraal Station , restaurant and coffee shop(for people that go there for the weed). also in tourist area. there owner is a weird old man but if u nice to him, he'll be very nice to you. so first impression of you is very important to have comfortable stay there.

Disliked: the toilet and room very dirty, the furniture is very old, condition of the bed is very poor, the window is broken

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

21 February 2012

Liked: Location.

Disliked: No lift, very narrow stairs and hard to get up with large suitcases.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The owners are very nice. The location is great. They have fast internet (but wifi didn't work). Always hot water in the shower. Generally it is a very good place for what you pay.

Disliked: Nothing

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

23 January 2012

Liked: We can store our big luggage here for free for a week while we were travelling around.

Disliked: The space of the stairs is really small so it is harder for us who brought big luggage to the top floor. And the entire hotel smell like cats.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Christopher Martinez

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

27 November 2011

Liked: The location was in a great spot. The staff was helpful when needed.

Disliked: The cost was way overpriced. It wasn't as nice in comparison to other places for the same price.

The property's response is...

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Ellyse Wiltshire

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

21 October 2011 Ellyse would recommend this property

Liked: The owner of the place was very friendly and helpful, the dorm room was comfortable and the whole place felt safe.

Disliked: We weren't told about the free drink on check in, and toward the middle of the weekend the shared bathrooms got a little gross, but nothing you couldn't handle. I think it would be awesome if they had free wifi too.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Greet Van Mol

Alone

Business / conference

08 October 2011

Liked: The shower was hot, the room and shared bathrooms were clean.

Disliked: The hotel is small, noisy and old. The room smelled of smoke, but I'm not a smoker, that's why I noticed. It's a good place to put your head down for the night, but don't expect much more.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

William Moseley

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Business / conference
City break
Events / festivals
Family Holiday
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

29 September 2011 William would recommend this property

Liked: Awesome place, really nice Aussie guy with some funny stories. Also it was well safe init, with locks on the room doors and the main door, and you get a key for 10 euro deposit. Which I got back at the end. Hot showers, smoking in room and being able to put some things in a fridge was awesome. Also Murphy the Cat is a fucking legend.

Disliked: Not much.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

23 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The Staff

Disliked: Not so clean

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

12 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: Only 2 bathrooms for 12 bedrooms

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Sightseeing & culture

10 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We booked to stay in the dorm room but ended up being taken over to their other hostel above the Blarney Stone irish pub and put into a double room. Luckily, me and my friend aren't uncomfortable with sharing a bed so we didnt mind at all but i think others may do if this happened to them. The room we were given was on the very top floor in the loft up very steep stairs but we knew this was common in Amsterdam. There was a lock on the door leading out to the street and a lock on the room door so it was safe enough. The location of both the blarney and tamara hotel are great, with tamara being a little closer to town but only a few mins walk from blarney. Bathroom was relatively clean and cleaned daily and the showers were spot on warm and powerful! Don't expect luxury, but if you need a bed for the night in a cheap, decent room i'd recommend a stay.

Disliked: Only thing id say is the tamara hotel did smell a little of cats in the hallway (if this would offend you) and is a good few mins from an ATM otherwise as long as you don't expect too much its a great place to stay.

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

21 August 2011

Liked: nothing

Disliked: expensive and dirty

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Christina Puzio

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

08 August 2011 Christina would recommend this property

Liked: Great location. Close enough to walk to & from Centraal Station (or catch the tram that runs directly in front of the hotel. Also very close to the main shopping strip, plenty of cafes and the red light district. The Australian man on reception was very knowledgeable about Amsterdam and was more than happy to assist you with any queries, although would often ramble on with stories. It was entertaining nonetheless! Smoking was allowed in the rooms. Coffee/Tea was available in the common room next to reception if you so wished. Great for young travellers on a budget! The room was decently sized compared to some of the hotel rooms we'd encountered along our trip so far.

Disliked: Steep, narrow stairs! And a lot of them. But this is common in Amsterdam. Of course we were given the room on the top floor, which made it difficult with luggage. At least it's good for the thighs! The shared toilets were a bit dirty, but the showers were clean enough.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Michael Bested

With my spouse / partner

City break

27 July 2011 Michael would recommend this property

Liked: We liked the staff very much the most friendly i have encountered in over 10 trips. The first room we got was a closet so small was it but next day we got a new one that was a little bigger .

Disliked: Well the missing wifi and computer at the place was hot 20 years ago . After we got a new room without any trouble we thought it was ok for the money

25.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

25 July 2011

Liked: NOTHING. It smells too!

Disliked: EVERYTHING. Just dont go here if you dont want to spoil your trip. The owner is rude and the rooms are pathetic. NEVER NEVER again.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Arjun Mukerji

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

25 July 2011 Arjun would recommend this property

Liked: owner was nice, cat was awesome

Disliked: stairs