We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Hotel Tamara

1 star Hotel | Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 144, Amsterdam, Netherlands 1012 SJ

59.1% Overall Rating

156 out of 252 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (10/07/2015)

Jonathan Astley thinks…

"Staff are very friendly and more than happy to help. They obviously know their way round Amsterdam and were happy to draw on maps directions to different places of interest."

Read all Hotel Tamara reviews

Facilities

  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

We do not accept reservations arriving after 22.00 unless you call to confirm and keep us updated on arrival time.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Amsterdam

Hotel Hostel Mevlana
30.73 USD

Hostel 73.4% 752 reviews
Tulipana Residence
38.41 USD

Apartment 82.9% 11 reviews
Bob's Youth Hostel
21.95 USD

Hostel 71.9% 1048 reviews
Damrak Inn
16.46 USD

Hotel 2 star 80.1% 352 reviews
Central Station Hostel
24.13 USD

Hostel 77.4% 225 reviews
Truelove Antique & Guesthouse
52.13 USD

Guesthouse 83.2% 438 reviews
Bees B&B
68.04 USD

Guesthouse 98.8% 19 reviews
StargateAmsterdam
43.90 USD

Apartment 78.5% 23 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 27/07/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 27/07/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
59.1%

Overall Rating

156 out of 252 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hotel Tamara'

Atmosphere
48.8%
Location
92.0%
Facilities
37.6%
Cleanliness
49.6%
Staff
59.2%
Value
64.0%
Safety
62.4%
Refine your results Showing 160 of 238 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7   Next
Reset filter
65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Mikhail Konnov

Alone

Business / conference

02 October 2013 Mikhail would recommend this property

Liked: Price. And the hotel was near the congress of cardiologists in which I took part

Disliked: Silence. The windows of the hotel went out on the street where noisy trams.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Milton Soares

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

23 September 2013 Milton would recommend this property

Liked: Location was good.

Disliked: The toilet was a bit dirty and very tight.

25.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

13 August 2013

Liked: nothing,maybe the location near the train service.

Disliked: everything

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

17 July 2013

Liked: Location. It's close to everything. And the shower was really good.

Disliked: Bad mattress, torn linen, the whole place smells like mold

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Cesar Rios

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife

10 July 2013 Cesar would recommend this property

Liked: Easy to find and close to the central station.

Disliked: The woman at the reception was very nice and tried to answer all of our doubts.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

08 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The cat, the owner Tez who is eccentric but amicable and genuine. Location is just about ten minute walk or so from red light district and dam square and only twenty minute or so to centraal station - perfect. Across the road is a superb coffee shop and 300m down the road there are the shopping centres and supermarket. You can smoke in the rooms which is great. Shower and toilet are better than you would expect which was great.

Disliked: My bed was next to the window which was fine, but my mattress was oversized so I kept almost falling off - it was necessary for me to stay on the side closest to the window.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Romantic getaway

03 July 2013

Liked: taz is a sick guy

Disliked: BOWLLLZEHH

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

26 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: cheapest

Disliked: bed killed my back

51.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Anna Shtondina

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

10 June 2013

Liked: Great location, in the city center and not far from train station (10min walk). No problem with hot water in showers. The owner was was really friendly and let me leave laggage in the hotel till the evening after check-out.

Disliked: VERY small room (I had a single room): if suitcase is placed near the bed, there is no space left at all (and actually there's no other space for suitcase). Atmosphere in the room like in prison's chamber. No chairs or table, just 2 small tabourets and microscopic wash sink. The sink in the room is awkward and drains water very slowly, so after couple of minutes the sink is full and you couldn't use it until water is drained. Also, there was a little cupboard in the room, but it was full with old blankets. Dirty walls. I preferred not to look attentively to the linen, but the towel was stained and holed. The common room/reception was very small too and the only table was occupied by touristic maps/prospects. Actually there were no space to place some food and drink tea (to be fare, tea/coffee is really free). Cigarette smell everywere in the hotel. Internet didn't worked in my room.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Jean-Jacques Bouillet

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

03 June 2013 Jean-Jacques would recommend this property

Liked: The room was very basic and small, but it met my needs. There was also a sink in the room which I enjoyed having. The room was small, but sufficient for one person (no more). I never heard any noice aside from people walking on the hallway. I am not a smoker and I was a bit worried about smelling cigarette smoke in the room as people are allowed to smoke, but I did not smell anything and it was not an issue. There was wi-fi available, and it worked well. The hotel was also very centrally located and I felt safe. Again, the hotel is very basic, but it is very efficient for a short stay. The room comes with a blanket and towels. There is hot running water and the bathrooms are clean. The only thing I would say about the room is that I would probably needed another blanket had the weather been colder. There is a big window in the room but insulation is poor. However, although it rained one morning, I did not felt uncomfortable at all.

Disliked: It looks very old, but goes with the character of the place. I would probably like to see better doors with more secure locks. The old Australian guy who owns / works there is not very friendly and has hearing and vision issues, but he is fair.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

28 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: Sinking beds

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

20 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is perfect, near the Centraal Station, near the Dam Square, 5min walking from the Red Light District and 10min walking from the Rembrant Square (nightlife).

Disliked: The old man who runs the Hotel.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

04 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This is a cheap hostel right in the centre of Amsterdam. The staff are great characters - especially Taz, who made me copious amounts of tea whilst imparting his vast knowlege of history and social politics. The fixtures and fittings are shabby but clean. i liked that I could smoke in thr dorm, with the consent of other guests. Despite being 2 mins from Dam Square, it was suprisingly quiet at night. Cheap & cheerful! A great stay and will stay again,

Disliked: Would have been nice to have a larger reception/ common room, but the old narrow Dutch buildings make this difficult.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Mert Gürnil

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

23 April 2013 Mert would recommend this property

Liked: hotel is well located and staff were friendly, I can not say its very very clean but in total, it worths to pay 40€ to stay a night in Amsterdam..

Disliked: sheets and towels were not very clean, you may take it yours with you before coming to hotel..

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Wiebke Finkenwirth

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

26 March 2013 Wiebke would recommend this property

Liked: the best thing of this place is the owner, a cool old guy with his black cat murphy. he s one of a kind, you can lern everything about dutch history and laugh a lot. everywhere in the hotel its allowed to smoke. simple rooms but totally enough for young travellers. its a small cute place with its own character.

Disliked: Wiebke left no negative feedback.

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

17 February 2013

Liked: the location is decent.

Disliked: Everything. It is small, it is dirty, and it smells terribly. The shower facilities left us with much to hope for.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

11 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: simple but effective

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

David T Pitts

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

10 February 2013

Liked: Excellent location

Disliked: If you're in Amsterdam to get drunk and stoned every night and you just want somewhere to crash then this place will do. If not, steer clear. The entire building is filthy, our bedding was disgusting and looked as though it hadn't been cleaned, our blanket was full of cigarette burns and there was a large white stain that looked real suss. The old bloke who owns the place is nice enough but wouldn't let us go once he started talking, got very frustrating. Whole place stinks of weed.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

James Page

With my spouse / partner

City break
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

04 February 2013 James would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely owner, makes you feel at home, always has time to talk to you. Beautiful cat in the hotel too, Murphy. Really central, close to the train station and with coffee shops just across the street. Room was lovely and warm, clean too - and you can come and go anytime.

Disliked: James left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Ahmed Labah

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife

24 January 2013 Ahmed would recommend this property

Liked: It is a family hotel very centered location near to most of places

Disliked: small room, steep satires

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Daniel Thwaites

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

19 December 2012 Daniel would recommend this property

Liked: The Australian guy was too funny, i was travelling with an oz lady..and the banter was brilliant!!

Disliked: A little bit dirty but its understandable

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

11 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location, staff, atmosphere, free coffee, the cat

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Kari Miller

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

26 November 2012 Kari would recommend this property

Liked: We were right in the middle of the heart of Amsterdam. A quick to any where we wanted to go. The rooms were cute and we actually had a really great bed. The hosts were friendly and fun to be around. The giant intense stairs are awesome!

Disliked: Kari left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

antony williams

Alone

Events / festivals

09 November 2012 antony would recommend this property

Liked: Location. Couldn't be better

Disliked: Quite run down and basic

42.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

05 November 2012

Liked: Location is very good, you can smoke in the rooms.

Disliked: We got a very small room, with enough space for a chair, a sink and one person to stand. There was no space for our bags and the clothes inside them, as the only cupboard was the size of a small box and it was already filled with smelly blankets. The linen and the blanket on the bed, they were DISGUSTING!!! with holes in them, and spots on the corners. Fortunately we actually brought our own linen. The walls were filled with scratchings and markings, signs, people have written different stuff on the walls, under the bed was again disgusting, dust and all, the window did not open properly. There is just one toilet and one shower for every floor, both of them dirty. The only thing I can say about the shower is that it had hot water. Ah, you can hear every single noise from the rooms nearby. The day we arrived we looked for other hostels, however, because it was Halloween, almost everything was booked, or they were only available for one night only. We cold have gladly pay more to get out of there, but there was nothing available, so we bought some blankets and air re-fresheners, so we could actually sleep on something clean and soft, and tried to get back as late as possible and go out as early as we could. It is true that we did not pay so much, 50 euros a night, but that place was worth so much less than that. You will get much better rooms in India for 400 rupees a night and that's less than 10 euros. It was a bad experience all in all., it's quite disappointing to arrive in your first day of holiday to such a place, to spend most of your first day there looking for other accommodation, get stressed, upset and all. I am NOT recommending this place to anybody. Look for something else

The property's response is...