HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Hotel Tamara

1 star Hotel | Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 144, Amsterdam, Netherlands 1012 SJ

71.7% Overall Rating

124 out of 200 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (14/04/2014)

Susan Morris thinks…

"The hotel was situated near everywhere we wanted. Staff lovely. Beds comfortable we slept ok."

Read all Hotel Tamara reviews

Facilities

  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

We do not accept reservations arriving after 22.00 unless you call to confirm and keep us updated on arrival time.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Amsterdam

Hotel Hostel Mevlana
24.85 USD

Hostel 74.1% 691 reviews
Funky Chickin Apartment
48.32 USD

Apartment 88.9% 71 reviews
Tulipana Residence
40.03 USD

Apartment 84.8% 3 reviews
Bob's Youth Hostel
22.09 USD

Hostel 63.4% 959 reviews
Damrak 2D
60.74 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Budget Hotel Tourist inn
39.85 USD

Hotel 1 star 79.8% 86 reviews
Damrak Inn
34.51 USD

Hotel 2 star 73.0% 328 reviews
Hotel Liberty
41.41 USD

Hotel 1 star 91.5% 222 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
71.7%

Overall Rating

124 out of 200 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hotel Tamara'

Atmosphere
68.8%
Location
97.6%
Facilities
52.0%
Cleanliness
59.2%
Staff
77.6%
Value
74.4%
Safety
72.0%
Refine your results Showing 122 of 187 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5   Next
Reset filter
85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Relaxation/spa

26 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: An old man is sitting in the kitchen and talking interesting things. Black cat walking through the staires was also very funny. I don't know, everything was great there.

Disliked: Can't find any disadvantages for that price

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

17 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were very friendly, always someone there. Tea and coffee available during the day. Rooms were small but clean. We stayed in a private twin room, it had 2 beds and a basin, toilets/showers were shared. Typical narrow stairs, so be prepared to squeeze your luggage upstairs! Awesome cat called Murphy, very playful for those who missed their own pets...

Disliked: Nothing wrong due to the hotel, just the smell of smoke in the halls sometimes!

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

11 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Ideal Location

Disliked: Shared bathroom

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Joaquin Ignacio Aguirre Cerino

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

22 May 2012

Liked: have good location

Disliked: The hostel is not worth what you pay for this service. Should be more clean and friendly

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Marta Moreno

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

22 May 2012 Marta would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: Shared bathroom. Not wifi in the bedrooms of the 3rd and 4th floor.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

22 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Central location with no curfew and own door key!

Disliked: Nothing!

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Henry McTavish

Alone

City break

22 May 2012 Henry would recommend this property

Liked: This may not be a place for everyone but I loved it. Great location and the owner is just fabulous. If you want to feel a little bit of Amsterdams bohemien side come and stay. Liberal and welcoming... a real pleasure.

Disliked: Henry left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Mariusz Golebiowski

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

15 May 2012 Mariusz would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice atmosphere

Disliked: Mariusz left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

30 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff. Good location

Disliked: Shared showering facilities- but this was expected for accommodation of this type.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Jette Rasmussen

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

25 April 2012 Jette would recommend this property

Liked: We liked the atmosphere and the talk -- You felt the "taking care" from the staff

Disliked: We liked it

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Ekaterina Kolpinskaya

Alone

Business / conference
City break

23 April 2012 Ekaterina would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is nicely located to the main sights and the train station! There are plenty of caffees around too. The staff are great and very helpfull, so do not hesitate to ask)) My room itself was quite small, but I didn't spend too much time there anyway, and all the facilities were working perfectly.

Disliked: It might be a bit loud in the evening and at night, but that's the price you pay for a central location I think

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Tonje Waitz

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

10 April 2012

Liked: Cheap and good location.

Disliked: They do not inform in the website that they have two different locations, one which does not have wifi/internet, lounge area or secure lockers.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

08 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: cheap and somehow clean

Disliked: old

74.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

08 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice location, friendly stuff, nice cat

Disliked: Is not clean

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Liam Hannan

With my spouse / partner

City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

07 April 2012 Liam would recommend this property

Liked: we were moved above the blarney stone pub which is 5mins walk from station..plenty of cafes and shops nearby..was an bank machine in the supermarket next door which was really good! showers were brilliant and beds were grand! being able to smoke in the room was very good!

Disliked: Room could have done with a bit of work but we were not expecting much so it wasnt that bad! we had a mouse one of the nights aswel that used all of my girlfriends phone credit so i gave it a boot up his hole! we found the funny side of it because we were baked haha

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

05 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: right smack in city centre, near shopping area(branded shops, souvenir shops, grocery shop), near and easy access to Amsterdam Centraal Station , restaurant and coffee shop(for people that go there for the weed). also in tourist area. there owner is a weird old man but if u nice to him, he'll be very nice to you. so first impression of you is very important to have comfortable stay there.

Disliked: the toilet and room very dirty, the furniture is very old, condition of the bed is very poor, the window is broken

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

21 February 2012

Liked: Location.

Disliked: No lift, very narrow stairs and hard to get up with large suitcases.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The owners are very nice. The location is great. They have fast internet (but wifi didn't work). Always hot water in the shower. Generally it is a very good place for what you pay.

Disliked: Nothing

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

23 January 2012

Liked: We can store our big luggage here for free for a week while we were travelling around.

Disliked: The space of the stairs is really small so it is harder for us who brought big luggage to the top floor. And the entire hotel smell like cats.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Christopher Martinez

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

27 November 2011

Liked: The location was in a great spot. The staff was helpful when needed.

Disliked: The cost was way overpriced. It wasn't as nice in comparison to other places for the same price.

The property's response is...

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Ellyse Wiltshire

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

21 October 2011 Ellyse would recommend this property

Liked: The owner of the place was very friendly and helpful, the dorm room was comfortable and the whole place felt safe.

Disliked: We weren't told about the free drink on check in, and toward the middle of the weekend the shared bathrooms got a little gross, but nothing you couldn't handle. I think it would be awesome if they had free wifi too.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Greet Van Mol

Alone

Business / conference

08 October 2011

Liked: The shower was hot, the room and shared bathrooms were clean.

Disliked: The hotel is small, noisy and old. The room smelled of smoke, but I'm not a smoker, that's why I noticed. It's a good place to put your head down for the night, but don't expect much more.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

William Moseley

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Business / conference
City break
Events / festivals
Family Holiday
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

29 September 2011 William would recommend this property

Liked: Awesome place, really nice Aussie guy with some funny stories. Also it was well safe init, with locks on the room doors and the main door, and you get a key for 10 euro deposit. Which I got back at the end. Hot showers, smoking in room and being able to put some things in a fridge was awesome. Also Murphy the Cat is a fucking legend.

Disliked: Not much.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

23 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The Staff

Disliked: Not so clean

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

12 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: Only 2 bathrooms for 12 bedrooms