HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Hotel Tamara

1 star Hotel | Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 144, Amsterdam, Netherlands 1012 SJ

71.7% Overall Rating

124 out of 200 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (14/04/2014)

Susan Morris thinks…

"The hotel was situated near everywhere we wanted. Staff lovely. Beds comfortable we slept ok."

Read all Hotel Tamara reviews

Facilities

  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

We do not accept reservations arriving after 22.00 unless you call to confirm and keep us updated on arrival time.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Amsterdam

Hotel Hostel Mevlana
24.85 USD

Hostel 74.1% 691 reviews
Funky Chickin Apartment
48.32 USD

Apartment 88.9% 71 reviews
Tulipana Residence
40.03 USD

Apartment 84.8% 3 reviews
Bob's Youth Hostel
22.09 USD

Hostel 63.2% 961 reviews
Damrak 2D
60.74 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Budget Hotel Tourist inn
39.85 USD

Hotel 1 star 79.8% 86 reviews
Damrak Inn
31.75 USD

Hotel 2 star 73.0% 328 reviews
Hotel Liberty
41.41 USD

Hotel 1 star 91.5% 222 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
71.7%

Overall Rating

124 out of 200 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hotel Tamara'

Atmosphere
68.8%
Location
97.6%
Facilities
52.0%
Cleanliness
59.2%
Staff
77.6%
Value
74.4%
Safety
72.0%
Refine your results Showing 122 of 187 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5   Next
Reset filter
82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Mert Gürnil

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

23 April 2013 Mert would recommend this property

Liked: hotel is well located and staff were friendly, I can not say its very very clean but in total, it worths to pay 40€ to stay a night in Amsterdam..

Disliked: sheets and towels were not very clean, you may take it yours with you before coming to hotel..

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Wiebke Finkenwirth

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

26 March 2013 Wiebke would recommend this property

Liked: the best thing of this place is the owner, a cool old guy with his black cat murphy. he s one of a kind, you can lern everything about dutch history and laugh a lot. everywhere in the hotel its allowed to smoke. simple rooms but totally enough for young travellers. its a small cute place with its own character.

Disliked: Wiebke left no negative feedback.

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

17 February 2013

Liked: the location is decent.

Disliked: Everything. It is small, it is dirty, and it smells terribly. The shower facilities left us with much to hope for.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

11 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: simple but effective

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

David T Pitts

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

10 February 2013

Liked: Excellent location

Disliked: If you're in Amsterdam to get drunk and stoned every night and you just want somewhere to crash then this place will do. If not, steer clear. The entire building is filthy, our bedding was disgusting and looked as though it hadn't been cleaned, our blanket was full of cigarette burns and there was a large white stain that looked real suss. The old bloke who owns the place is nice enough but wouldn't let us go once he started talking, got very frustrating. Whole place stinks of weed.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

James Page

With my spouse / partner

City break
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

04 February 2013 James would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely owner, makes you feel at home, always has time to talk to you. Beautiful cat in the hotel too, Murphy. Really central, close to the train station and with coffee shops just across the street. Room was lovely and warm, clean too - and you can come and go anytime.

Disliked: James left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Ahmed Labah

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife

24 January 2013 Ahmed would recommend this property

Liked: It is a family hotel very centered location near to most of places

Disliked: small room, steep satires

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Daniel Thwaites

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

19 December 2012 Daniel would recommend this property

Liked: The Australian guy was too funny, i was travelling with an oz lady..and the banter was brilliant!!

Disliked: A little bit dirty but its understandable

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

11 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location, staff, atmosphere, free coffee, the cat

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Kari Miller

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

26 November 2012 Kari would recommend this property

Liked: We were right in the middle of the heart of Amsterdam. A quick to any where we wanted to go. The rooms were cute and we actually had a really great bed. The hosts were friendly and fun to be around. The giant intense stairs are awesome!

Disliked: Kari left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

antony williams

Alone

Events / festivals

09 November 2012 antony would recommend this property

Liked: Location. Couldn't be better

Disliked: Quite run down and basic

42.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

05 November 2012

Liked: Location is very good, you can smoke in the rooms.

Disliked: We got a very small room, with enough space for a chair, a sink and one person to stand. There was no space for our bags and the clothes inside them, as the only cupboard was the size of a small box and it was already filled with smelly blankets. The linen and the blanket on the bed, they were DISGUSTING!!! with holes in them, and spots on the corners. Fortunately we actually brought our own linen. The walls were filled with scratchings and markings, signs, people have written different stuff on the walls, under the bed was again disgusting, dust and all, the window did not open properly. There is just one toilet and one shower for every floor, both of them dirty. The only thing I can say about the shower is that it had hot water. Ah, you can hear every single noise from the rooms nearby. The day we arrived we looked for other hostels, however, because it was Halloween, almost everything was booked, or they were only available for one night only. We cold have gladly pay more to get out of there, but there was nothing available, so we bought some blankets and air re-fresheners, so we could actually sleep on something clean and soft, and tried to get back as late as possible and go out as early as we could. It is true that we did not pay so much, 50 euros a night, but that place was worth so much less than that. You will get much better rooms in India for 400 rupees a night and that's less than 10 euros. It was a bad experience all in all., it's quite disappointing to arrive in your first day of holiday to such a place, to spend most of your first day there looking for other accommodation, get stressed, upset and all. I am NOT recommending this place to anybody. Look for something else

The property's response is...

54.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

17 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location. Cute cat.

Disliked: No wierless internet. The room was very cold.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Talas Matyas

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

15 October 2012 Talas would recommend this property

Liked: Great Guy, lovely cat, smoking inside, hot water and coffee all day.

Disliked: Bit dirty, small room, shared bathroom, no wifi upstairs.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Nicolas Leube

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

07 October 2012 Nicolas would recommend this property

Liked: we felt really welcomed in this hotel, the owner gave us many advices for touristic activities. there is also a cat living in the hotel.

Disliked: small rooms, it's long ago that somebody made a renovation

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

17 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Wonderful location, friendly staff, value for money!

Disliked: It's an old property lacking a common room but this does not amount to a critique as its location implies that everything one might be lacking is within a 5 minute walk

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

16 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was great, staff was friendly. Our room was perfect for what we wanted. It was great would whole heartedly recommend it to anyone :)

Disliked: Nothing

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Chris Case

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

31 August 2012 Chris would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, right in the heart of the city. Close to shops, markets and the all important cafes.

Disliked: The dreaded stairs, I was only on the 1st floor but the mountainous climb isn't what you need when you've visited a few cafes or bars. The single shared bathroom isn't perfect either, but the shower does have hot water constantly.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

ANDREW DUFFY

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

27 August 2012 ANDREW would recommend this property

Liked: The location, the room and the fact the owner was a legend!

Disliked: Nothing.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

21 August 2012

Liked: location

Disliked: it smelt so bad! was really really dirty do not stay here, pay more and stay in a nicer place. especially in the summer as it is a 5 storey building and we were at the top sleeping in 30'C+ heat with no fan or breeze

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Anthony Clarke

With friends / other travellers

City break

05 August 2012 Anthony would recommend this property

Liked: You could smoke inside (including grass)!!

Disliked: The 70 vertical stairs to our top floor room.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

31 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: On the top floor our room was like a pink castle room.

Disliked: On the top floor there is no toilet and shower.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

15 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: value for money, location

Disliked: steep stairs

42.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Laura chevarria

With my spouse / partner

Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

06 July 2012

Liked: Location only

Disliked: Everything but the location. Smells bad, dirty, hasn't been cleaned in months. Small rooms, cat laying around, rude staff, too expensive, no elevator, loud, no air conditioning, etc.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife

30 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: L'hotêl est vieux, mais très bien situé, à coté du centre d'amsterdam (moins de 5 min). On peut fumer dans la chambre.

Disliked: Toilettes et salle de bains communes.