We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Hotel Tamara

1 star Hotel | Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 144, Amsterdam, Netherlands 1012 SJ

62.5% Overall Rating

151 out of 243 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (03/04/2015)

roxanne cullinan thinks…

"Good value for money. Comfy beds. Great location in walking distance from all main attractions."

Read all Hotel Tamara reviews

Facilities

  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

We do not accept reservations arriving after 22.00 unless you call to confirm and keep us updated on arrival time.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Amsterdam

Hotel Hostel Mevlana
20.02 USD

Hostel 71.1% 744 reviews
Tulipana Residence
36.70 USD

Apartment 84.3% 10 reviews
Bob's Youth Hostel
15.57 USD

Hostel 69.6% 1031 reviews
Damrak Inn
16.68 USD

Hotel 2 star 78.7% 351 reviews
Central Station Hostel
24.46 USD

Hostel 79.1% 214 reviews
Truelove Antique & Guesthouse
55.06 USD

Guesthouse 83.2% 438 reviews
Bees B&B
63.40 USD

Guesthouse 98.7% 18 reviews
StargateAmsterdam
38.93 USD

Apartment 78.5% 23 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/05/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/05/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
62.5%

Overall Rating

151 out of 243 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hotel Tamara'

Atmosphere
54.4%
Location
92.8%
Facilities
40.8%
Cleanliness
52.0%
Staff
68.0%
Value
64.0%
Safety
65.6%
Refine your results Showing 153 of 229 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7   Next
Reset filter
20.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Gokhan Taslioglu

With friends / other travellers

City break

19 May 2014

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: Everything

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

SERGIO PARRA

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

12 May 2014 SERGIO would recommend this property

Liked: Rooms are quite spacious. Beds aren't the most comfortable. Room was really warm

Disliked: They gave us just one key for three people.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Marko Jakši?

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

05 May 2014

Liked: One has to be open minded in order to stay at this place.

Disliked: They could invest in new sheets maybe?!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife

02 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very central for town and good hospitality

Disliked: Nothing

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Anabel Vélez Vargas

Alone

City break
Events / festivals

02 May 2014

Liked: nothing

Disliked: everything. It's dirty, noisy and doesn't have any commodities.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

27 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location! Close to Centraal station. Friendly staff.

Disliked: Beds were clean but rooms smelled very smoky and bathrooms could've been cleaner.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

camille markowitz

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals

16 April 2014 camille would recommend this property

Liked: the character, the nice big shower, the cat

Disliked: beds are really terrible even for a hostel, sheets were really tattered. check out is very early and non negotiable

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Susan Morris

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

14 April 2014 Susan would recommend this property

Liked: The hotel was situated near everywhere we wanted. Staff lovely. Beds comfortable we slept ok.

Disliked: The staircase it was very steep

51.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

11 April 2014

Liked: Lovely owner, makes you feel at home, always has time to talk to you.The Australian guy was too funny. The cat, the owner who is eccentric but amicable and genuine. Location is just about ten minute walk or so from red light district and dam square and only twenty minute or so to centraal station - perfect.No problem with hot water in showers. There was wi-fi available, and it worked well.

Disliked: It was old, dirty and had a strange weed/cigarette smell to it.The windows of the hotel went out on the street where noisy trams.The toilet was a bit dirty and very tight.Sheets and towels were not very clean, you may take it yours with you before coming to hotel..

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

18 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: City Centre location

Disliked: Nothing bad!

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Iain Given

With friends / other travellers

Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway

24 February 2014 Iain would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: Too many stairs

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Ricardo Cordeiro

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

24 February 2014

Liked: Location.

Disliked: All was very old, the kitchen was not always available to our use because they had someone who looked like Filtch from Harry Potter sleeping before 9 pm. Creepy.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

20 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel was very centrally located and easy to find.

Disliked: It was old, dirty and had a strange weed/cigarette smell to it. All of my belongings still smell like Hotel Tamara. The proprietor had us go across the street to a cafe and buy him pot. We got what we paid for, and now have a story to tell people.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Oscar Berriman-Branagan

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

12 February 2014 Oscar would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic location, seemingly dead central to everything (10-15mins walk max). The quirky elderly gentleman who would provide plenty of information about the area, he was also very welcoming and helpful.

Disliked: The steep stairs, not ideal when you're in Amsterdam!

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

31 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Hotel Tamara is very well Located. Thanks to it's location I discovered some really cool areas of Amsterdam. We were given a map and some great suggestions as we arrived as well. If you are planning to be out in the city all day and only come back to sleep and you're coming for a very short stay, I would recommend!

Disliked: There is no lift but many very narrow stairs in the hotel. It's a pain to bring the luggage up to the room if you have a big luggage. The toilets and showers are shared with everyone and there are only two but I didn't find problems taking a shower when I wanted to. there is no safe and I wouldn't leave anything precious, just take it with, which means carrying. It's not a pleasant place if you want to spend time in or if you're coming for a long stay.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Robert Goulds

With friends / other travellers

City break

22 December 2013 Robert would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: Robert left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

14 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good atmosphere

Disliked: not clean

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Cydonie Diwell

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

13 October 2013 Cydonie would recommend this property

Liked: The host was excellent! Really§ enjoyed my stay. Good value for money :)

Disliked: Cydonie left no negative feedback.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Mikhail Konnov

Alone

Business / conference

02 October 2013 Mikhail would recommend this property

Liked: Price. And the hotel was near the congress of cardiologists in which I took part

Disliked: Silence. The windows of the hotel went out on the street where noisy trams.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Milton Soares

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

23 September 2013 Milton would recommend this property

Liked: Location was good.

Disliked: The toilet was a bit dirty and very tight.

25.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

13 August 2013

Liked: nothing,maybe the location near the train service.

Disliked: everything

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

17 July 2013

Liked: Location. It's close to everything. And the shower was really good.

Disliked: Bad mattress, torn linen, the whole place smells like mold

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Cesar Rios

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife

10 July 2013 Cesar would recommend this property

Liked: Easy to find and close to the central station.

Disliked: The woman at the reception was very nice and tried to answer all of our doubts.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

08 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The cat, the owner Tez who is eccentric but amicable and genuine. Location is just about ten minute walk or so from red light district and dam square and only twenty minute or so to centraal station - perfect. Across the road is a superb coffee shop and 300m down the road there are the shopping centres and supermarket. You can smoke in the rooms which is great. Shower and toilet are better than you would expect which was great.

Disliked: My bed was next to the window which was fine, but my mattress was oversized so I kept almost falling off - it was necessary for me to stay on the side closest to the window.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Romantic getaway

03 July 2013

Liked: taz is a sick guy

Disliked: BOWLLLZEHH