HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Hotel Waterfront

2 star Hotel | Singel 458, Amsterdam, Netherlands 1017

76.9% Overall Rating

23 out of 31 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (06/08/2011)

"Nice place if you're traveling with several people, the room was nice, clean, you had towels and it was located in a really good spot."

Read all Hotel Waterfront reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Internet access in public areas

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Please Note: To guarantee the booking, the guest and credit card holder has to be the same, also the credit card holder has to be present when you check in! Please keep in mind! The hotel does not have 24h reception! Check in is possible till 8pm. When you do not check in before 8pm you will be considered a no-show. We need your arrival time!

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Amsterdam

Hotel Ajax D.R.
45.93 USD

Hotel 2 star 64.7% 59 reviews
Hans Brinker Hotel
32.81 USD

Hostel 73.3% 480 reviews
Budget Hotel Tourist inn
31.63 USD

Hotel 1 star 84.3% 100 reviews
Central Guest Rooms
49.61 USD

Guesthouse 79.9% 106 reviews
Golden Bear
41.99 USD

Hotel 1.5 star 83.4% 5 reviews
Amsterdam Hostel Centre
13.11 USD

Hostel 69.9% 905 reviews
Amsterdam hostel Orfeo
19.67 USD

Hostel 67.9% 501 reviews
Amsterdam Hostel uptown
23.61 USD

Hostel 67.9% 73 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 03/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 03/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
76.9%

Overall Rating

23 out of 31 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hotel Waterfront'

Atmosphere
70.4%
Location
95.2%
Facilities
63.2%
Cleanliness
78.4%
Staff
88.8%
Value
60.8%
Safety
81.6%
Refine your results Showing 22 of 29 reviews
Reset filter
60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Beth Abrahamson

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 August 2011 Beth would recommend this property

Liked: good location. central.

Disliked: way too expensive

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

HansPeter Berger

Alone

City break

14 August 2011

Liked: clos tu evrything

Disliked: There is no night staff between 7 pm to 10 am

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

06 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice place if you're traveling with several people, the room was nice, clean, you had towels and it was located in a really good spot.

Disliked: Only internet in the lobby area and stairs

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

12 July 2011

Liked: Location was good, close to the bars and very central...great view and quiet at night...

Disliked: there were 3 of us traveling together so we probably could have rented a small apartment for less than what we paid for here...wireless only available in the lobby...

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

01 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great location staff were friendly and very helpful beds were comfortable good security

Disliked: A bit expensive however with the good location and consideration of prices for other hostels and dorm rooms it was value for money

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Suryadi Amru

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday
Visiting friends or family

24 June 2011 Suryadi would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staffs

Disliked: Small staircase, no lift

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

stephane solida

With friends / other travellers

City break

06 June 2011 stephane would recommend this property

Liked: great location, friendly staff, cleanliness of the room

Disliked: bit noisy in the street on sat night. too much light in the room during night.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Anders Stougaard

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

22 April 2011 Anders would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff and excellent location

Disliked: ..

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

13 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The receptionist was extremely friendly, helpful, and knowledgeable, going out of her way to make our stay in Amsterdam enjoyable, and informative.

Disliked: While the rooms were small, but functional, and the shower/toilet facilities worked well. The stairs could be a problem for someone not fit.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

22 March 2011

Liked: location

Disliked: low quality of rooms

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

22 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the location was the best.

Disliked: nothing.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Jakub Rybicki

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

22 February 2011 Jakub would recommend this property

Liked: IT was in a great location everything was close by, i didnt want to be stuck right in the center of town and this hotel was on the edge, close enough to walk to anything yet quiet enough for a decent nights sleep.

Disliked: I was expecting it to be like a hostel where i could meet you know other people who are also travelling around europe. Its basically just a hotel so u have a roof over your head at night.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway

15 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: When we arrived to the hotel Fatima was there to receive us. She is really nice and helpfull. It's a pleasure to go to a foreign country and find such a kind and sweet person wanting to make your stay as confortable as possible. The placement was great. It's walking distance to anywhere you want to go, which is a great deal taking into account that the public transportation is not cheap at all in Amsterdam.

Disliked: That the breakfast was not included...but you have a kettle in the room and Fatima provided us with tea bags and coffee with no charge!!! :)

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

13 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the location

Disliked: the breakfast wasn't included

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

21 November 2010

Liked: The girl at the reception was really friendly and helpful. I think her name was Tonya and she deserves special mention. She was very hardworking. During breakfast, she would ask if we wanted toast and eggs and she would go make them for the guests. This was in comparison to the guy who was just plain unattentive. We had to ask him to refill the milk before he actually did it. Tonya, the girl, also asked us many times if we wanted a drink while we waited for our rooms to be readied on the first day. She made us feel right at home. She also helped us to print out tickets to the Anne Frank House.

Disliked: I was very turned off on the day of my check out. As our flight was at 5pm we wanted to place our bags in the reception till 3pm after our check out. However, we were informed by the guy at the reception that it was not possible as he was going to lock up the hotel after we leave as we were the only guests that day and we were checking out. He said that "there was no point in me staying". On the website, it was clearly stated that the reception was open "till 8pm". And may i remind him that the whole point of the hotel was to service their guests and as guests we needed their luggage storage service or at least for their reception to stay open. So what is he saying that there is "no point" for him to stay! And the whole time he was really anxious for us to leave as he told us he had an appointment shortly. what a bad end to an otherwise good experience, as mentioned above. i was really turned off by that guy's attitude!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Elaine Howley

With my spouse / partner

City break

14 November 2010 Elaine would recommend this property

Liked: The location of this hotel is fantastic, right near the center without the madness that goes with it. We found we could walk anywhere we needed to go with ease from the hotel. The room was clean and bright (although smaller than the pictures in hostelbookers) but that wasnt a problem as we were exploring the city most of the time. It was warm inside, there was little interference from staff, we came and went as we pleased but if we did need something they were helpful.

Disliked: The fact that the reception closes at 8pm can be a problem for arrival so make sure to let the reception know your arrival time other than that no complaints

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife

01 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location

Disliked: Room was pretty small but fine for what we needed it for as you were hardly there..

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Carol Threadgold

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

16 August 2010 Carol would recommend this property

Liked: We booked this last minute the night before and the price we paid for a double room is standard for Amsterdam. However, we were really impressed with this hotel - the location is brilliant, right in the centre of Amsterdam with all the attractions within walking distance. It is accessible by 3 trams and the stop is pretty much right outside the hotel. There is a supermarket just around the corner too. The reception closes at 8pm so you have three keys to get into the hotel, making it very secure. We had the downstairs bedroom, which didn't have any windows but this wasn't much of a problem. The bed was a king size and it was very comfortable! Breakfast is offered free of charge - tea, coffee, toast, muesli, juice, ham and cheese. The receptionist was very friendly, welcoming and helpful and let us leave our rucksacks behind reception.

Disliked: There was nothing that I disliked about the hotel, I thought it was a great find despite it being last minute and I would really recommend the hotel. I think the only things that I disliked was the fact that there was no window in our room, but we had the downstairs one so maybe it is different upstairs and the sink is in the room rather than the bathroom and I kept forgetting! But apart from that, it's great.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

22 June 2010

Liked: The staff were great, but we fel it was rather over priced for what it was.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

21 April 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: A really nice place to stay! It's small but smart and the manager is very nice and helpfull and the hostel is located in a beautiful area at the singel.gracht!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kimberly Johnson

10 April 2010 Kimberly would recommend this property

Liked: We LOVE this place!! Fatima, a girl that works there was SOOO nice!! she helped us out as if we were the first and only travelers staying at the hotel. Definetely felt at home!! she also did ALL of our laundry and folded it as part of our stay!! :) WE WILL BE BACK!!!

Disliked: Kimberly left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

21 February 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location, facilities and price.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.