HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Hotel Liberty

1 star Hotel | Singel 5, Amsterdam, Netherlands 1012VC

91.5% Overall Rating

177 out of 222 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (01/08/2013)

Peter Clark thinks…

"It is a small hotel that is run like a family. The hotel is clean and in good condition, the rooms are comfortable, the breakfast is very good and the staff are all very helpful."

Read all Hotel Liberty reviews

Facilities

  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Bicycle hire
  • Reception (limited hours)

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Once you have received your booking confirmation you will receive the email address of the hotel. You will need to let the hostel know of your arrival time as soon as your booking is made.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Amsterdam

Bed and Breakfast Groenendael
46.01 USD

Guesthouse 77.4% 88 reviews
Aroza Hostel
34.51 USD

Hostel 57.9% 19 reviews
StargateAmsterdam
55.22 USD

Apartment 80.2% 19 reviews
Damrak 2D
60.74 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Quentin Arrive Hotel
42.79 USD

Hotel 1 star 72.4% 12 reviews
Season Star
82.83 USD

Hotel 62.9% 88 reviews
Amsterdam Mr.Beans Bed and Breakfast
41.40 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Bob's Youth Hostel
22.09 USD

Hostel 63.4% 959 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
91.5%

Overall Rating

177 out of 222 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hotel Liberty'

Atmosphere
89.6%
Location
96.0%
Facilities
87.2%
Cleanliness
86.4%
Staff
97.6%
Value
93.6%
Safety
90.4%
Refine your results Showing 155 of 213 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7   Next
Reset filter
80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

17 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly people

Disliked: Nope

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

01 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were great and the hotel location was excellent.

Disliked: Nothing - it was excellent value for money

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ana Victoria Toledo

With my spouse / partner

Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

22 February 2011 Ana Victoria would recommend this property

Liked: I really liked the atmosphere, i was completely like at home. The breakfasts were great, we didn't eat more until dinner, and just a burguer or something like that. We had great omelettes, with dutch cheeses, different kinds of cold meat, juice, coffee... actually the first day Shelina (the owner, a lovely dutch woman!) ask us what we would like for breakfast, and we had it whenever we get up (from 10 more or less, until whenever in the day!). The room has no bathroom but it's next door, however there's a sink. It was my boyfriend's birthday and Shelina put some balloons in there, it was great! I also liked the stairs, that are the typical for a classic dutch house (the building in from 17th century or something like that). They made me feel just like a dutch does :D

Disliked: I liked everything. Of course it's not a five stars hotel, but it's very cheap for being so close to the station, and

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Relaxation/spa

08 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice staff, we could bring one person more than we booked for and it was not a problem! They made free breakfast whenever we got up (even at 2 pm). We could smoke in the room and everywhere else in the hostel. The rooms were big and clean, the bathrooms small but clean! The location is perfect, it is 2 minutes from the central station, surrounded by coffee shops and pedestrian zones. The walk to the red light district was about 10-15 minutes (as far as i remember). All in all it was perfect value for the money and we would definitely book again!

Disliked: It was perfect for a group like ours (5 persons). If you are a non-smoker it might be a problem that you can smoke everywhere in the hostel.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

02 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the location

Disliked: rats attack

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Anja Winkler

With my spouse / partner

City break

23 January 2011 Anja would recommend this property

Liked: Cool staff maybe too cool :-P

Disliked: everything was fine

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Vitaly Konstantinov

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

11 January 2011 Vitaly would recommend this property

Liked: Historical building from 1658 year

Disliked: Stairway maybe difficult to use :)

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

matthew hines

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

20 December 2010 matthew would recommend this property

Liked: that we could smoke in the room

Disliked: the stairs

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

05 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location and value for money

Disliked: not really clean even tough not dirty

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 100%

Malene Frederiksen

With friends / other travellers

Visiting friends or family

23 November 2010

Liked: The locationThe woman who picked up the phone when we called, because we couldn't get in (the guy was too stoned to hear the door bell). She was very helpfull.

Disliked: The dirt - it was very filthy and dirty, we didn't dare to touch anything The "Receptionist" - he was constantly high, very very stoned and not able to get in contact with The safety - we couldn't lock our door because "the guy who stayed there the last time broke it" The safety in case of fire - I am a receptionist myself, and I know how important it is to know who stays in what room. By arrival, he never asked for our names. He just gave us a key. In fact, he never got to know our names or nationality or anything. He never asked. The kitchen was so full of old food, that we decided not to eat breakfast there.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family
Romantic getaway

15 November 2010

Liked: it is pretty closed to central station (5 minutes walking distance)

Disliked: Creepy, quite dirty, and low feeling of safeness and security

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

14 November 2010

Liked: interesting building with "crazy" stairs

Disliked: without announced breakfast

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

joanne patourel

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Shopping

03 November 2010 joanne would recommend this property

Liked: it was the best location for the money

Disliked: joanne left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife

01 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very well located, the view from the rooms is breathtaking, really wonderful.Staff is nice and really helpful. Rooms are big, and beds are comfy which is always a plus :)

Disliked: The bathroom was not always as clean as we would have liked

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife

01 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The place is ideal and the building is a typical Dutch building with the characteristic narrow and steep stairs, which were quite fun to experience. The woman running the hotel was extremely friendly and very fun to talk to. She made us delicious breakfasts! Also, the view from our room looked right onto the canal and was beautiful!!

Disliked: The bathrooms were not that clean and often lacked toilet paper, but this didn't bother me too much.

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
City break
Romantic getaway

01 November 2010

Liked: location only, but is better to pay extra and rent a room in a different hotel.

Disliked: bathroom was dirty and there was no toilet paper, rooms are horrible and you can not even close them properly, you cant check-in on time ans its very noisy.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

25 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were excellent and the location was right in the centre

Disliked: No towels!

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

12 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location was great. Close walking distance to everything really.

Disliked: On arriving, the hallway stunk really bad and there was garbage bags and dirty linen lying about. So we were immediately given a bad impression. On saying that though, our private room was clean and tidy, very dated though. We had a share bathroom but we never saw anyone else using it. It was always pretty clean. We got an interesting breakfast the first morning. The guy cooked us eggs on toast, then slapped a packet of ham and cheese on the table and said help yourself. We decided not to as it looked like it had been there awhile. The second morning we couldnt even find any staff, so we missed out on breakfast, and left our key. Everything in Amsterdam is expensive, so we were just glad to have a place to crash and not have to share a room with others.

22.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife

06 October 2010

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: Everything, it was a complete dive and very unclean. A complete rip off at 108 euros per night. I would not even pay 8 euros a night for this place!

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Danica Felbab

With friends / other travellers

City break

04 October 2010

Liked: Nothing as I did not even get to go in as our room was double booked and we got moved to a less than desirable place but could not complain as there was never anyone at the Liberty hostel reception.

Disliked: I found the staff to be unprofessional and unorganized. I emailed a few days prior to arrival to confirm and let them know that I will arrive later then my cousin who I was sharing the room with, to make sure he is not charged, and was assured that it would be OK. However, I arrived to find that he has not only been charged the owing amount but overcharged (only a few euro tho) and that we had been moved to another hostel as they double booked our room. Unfortunately for us the other hostel was further away and it came with dirty towels, stained sheets and a filthy bathroom. It did not include the free breakfast. I went to speak to the Liberty hostel staff on 2 occasions but the door was locked. I also emailed once I returned to England but got no response. All in all, POOR effort.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway

04 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is absolutely spot on. Very friendly & helpful staff.

Disliked: The room was very basic but if you only need somewhere to sleep than it's a great value for money.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

03 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location is very good. If you are looking for a cheap, basic, no frills short stay then I would recommend this place. Basically you get what you pay for.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

03 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was great

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Shopping

06 September 2010

Liked: the room was pretty big, smoking allowed

Disliked: dirty, stuff from poeple that were living there before, no own bathroom

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

giuseppe scarpiello

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

17 August 2010 giuseppe would recommend this property

Liked: STAFF IS PRETTY COOL

Disliked: BATHROOM