HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Hotel Liberty

1 star Hotel | Singel 5, Amsterdam, Netherlands 1012VC

91.5% Overall Rating

177 out of 222 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (01/08/2013)

Peter Clark thinks…

"It is a small hotel that is run like a family. The hotel is clean and in good condition, the rooms are comfortable, the breakfast is very good and the staff are all very helpful."

Read all Hotel Liberty reviews

Facilities

  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Bicycle hire
  • Reception (limited hours)

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Once you have received your booking confirmation you will receive the email address of the hotel. You will need to let the hostel know of your arrival time as soon as your booking is made.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Amsterdam

Bed and Breakfast Groenendael
46.06 USD

Guesthouse 76.6% 89 reviews
Aroza Hostel
34.55 USD

Hostel 57.9% 19 reviews
StargateAmsterdam
55.28 USD

Apartment 80.2% 19 reviews
Damrak 2D
60.81 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Quentin Arrive Hotel
44.57 USD

Hotel 1 star 72.4% 12 reviews
Season Star
82.92 USD

Hotel 62.9% 88 reviews
Amsterdam Mr.Beans Bed and Breakfast
48.36 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Bob's Youth Hostel
22.11 USD

Hostel 63.2% 961 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
91.5%

Overall Rating

177 out of 222 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hotel Liberty'

Atmosphere
89.6%
Location
96.0%
Facilities
87.2%
Cleanliness
86.4%
Staff
97.6%
Value
93.6%
Safety
90.4%
Refine your results Showing 155 of 213 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7   Next
Reset filter
74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

28 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location

Disliked: paryting but no service!

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

sarah abbott

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

19 July 2011

Liked: The owner was friendly (but wasn't around in the morning to provide us with breakfast or even to complain to)

Disliked: 1/ When we arrived the owner had had to take her dog to the vets. She had tried ringing me (but my phone had no battery). I'm not sure why she couldn't have left a note at the door for us to explain why we couldn't get in. 2/ Room was extremely basic (no proper wardrobe or table to put our things on/in, we opened the curtains to the sight of a filthy graffiti-ed wall a couple of feet away from our window, carpet hadn't been hovered and needs to be replaced, duvet was actually 2 singles rather than a double and they were brown and dirty. 3/ Bathroom was tiny with no handwash/soap provided and we had to ask for toilet roll. Shower unit was dirty looking with cracked tiles- we didn't use it. 4/ We went down for breakfast in the morning and the owner wasn't in sight and we could see no way of making our own breakfast (no bread or anything was left out). Kitchen area was tiny and I don't see how it could have been used to cook a decent breakfast for all the guests each morning. 5./ There was no insulation in the property and so we could hear a lot of noise coming from the other rooms. 6/ As we couldn't find the owner we couldn't complain to her face-to-face.- it seems obvious that the owner makes money out of desperate travellers who can't find anywhere else to stay.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

16 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: owner is amazing. feels like a home not a hostel. breakfast was huge and all fresh

Disliked: nothing

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Paul Antonopoulos

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

14 July 2011 Paul would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly staff who were always happy to help and have a laugh. Great location close to centraal station and the red light district. Decent breakfast. Comfortable beds.

Disliked: It was more of a hostel than a hotel. Shared bathrooms and there was a common room. Simply just reminded me of a hostel and mostly younger crowd which didnt really bother me.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

14 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very laid back. Nice lady that works there.

Disliked: We were given a room with 2 single beds instead of the double bed we booked. But we just pushed them together.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

13 July 2011

Liked: Good staffs, friendly

Disliked: Smoking smell all the time

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

04 July 2011

Liked: Location was excellent and the dog was cute.

Disliked: The staff left in a hurry (no time for paying) and came late in the next morning. We had no idea when she was going to come, so we had to wait for her a long time so we could pay for our stay. There was no free breakfast (unless make your own cup of instant coffee is counted as one...) that was promised, atleast not before 11am. Room would have been ok (concidering the price) if the bed wasn't broken. The room was a bit cold and damp (in june), but I suppose that's just normal in old buildings.Our expectations weren't high, but even though we got 4€ discount after the nonexisting breakfast, we were disappointed with this place and would not recommend it.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Lucie Kenny

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

29 June 2011 Lucie would recommend this property

Liked: excellent location

Disliked: small rooms

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

21 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Quality / Price Location Staff Smoke inside Total Liberty (No curfew..etc...!!)

Disliked: Stairs Bathroom too little

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

peter smith

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa

19 June 2011 peter would recommend this property

Liked: Best staff in the world friendly and always willing to help

Disliked: nothing

80.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

17 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is great, and the place is kept clean. Shalina is a good host and she mailed our postcards for us :)

Disliked: Typical amenities for 20 euros/nt: We had a double room and the bed was quite small and uncomfortable. Bring ear plugs just in case other guests are noisy. We arrived ahead of schedule, and there was no way to get in to leave bags or anything (this was mostly our fault though). Thankfully we were let in eventually. I think it was advertised as having breakfast, and there isn't any. All in all not bad, definitely good value for the money.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alexander Phipps

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

13 June 2011 Alexander would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms were clean, warm and welcoming at an excellent price. The hotel owner, Shalina, was very friendly and efficient. During my stay was my 21st birthday. On my birthday, she organised a small party with a meal for us, the other hotel guests and some of her friends. I have never stayed anywhere where the service and friendliness was so personalised. I would definately recommend staying at Hotel Liberty.

Disliked: n/a

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

27 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: homely mood ,very helpful staff very good lacation a nice dog

Disliked: requires a renovation ,let more people choose and will be then money :))

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

22 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Homely atmosphere, friendliness and hospitality of the owner and staff

Disliked: my mother didn't like the steep stairs, but they are just about everywhere in Amsterdam

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

20 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Shalina was really helpful and considerate on our check out time (as our flight was later in the evening).Thanks a lot! Wifi connection is available but u have to go to the reception area to get connected first before u can use the wifi in your room.

Disliked: The steep stairs maybe :)

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

James Gabriel

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

16 May 2011 James would recommend this property

Liked: Helpful and easy going staff - particularly as we were part of a 8 party stag do with ages ranging from 20 - 50! Nice basic breakfast served at a reasonable time. Good value for money.

Disliked: Top floor was a bit steep on the stairs - a good challenge for the younger ones as I was on the 2nd floor which was fine!

The property's response is...

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

NICOLE O'HANLON

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

14 May 2011 NICOLE would recommend this property

Liked: it is in the best location possible right in the centre and close to the train station :)

Disliked: so much that was advertised wasnt avaliable, no towels, no breakfast etc. The lady who runs the place isnt there most of the time so there was no one to ask about anything and they didnt have any maps or any city info for us.

The property's response is...

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

13 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location ig great. We even didnt have to use public transport. Everything was in walking distance.

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

EKATERINA VIKHAREVA

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

10 May 2011 EKATERINA would recommend this property

Liked: great location, nice kitchen view, friendly stuff,

Disliked: be sure to make a check-in appoitment with the owner. we came to the hotel at 10am and noone was there, so we had to leave our bags in another hotel not far from Liberty and only checked-in in the evening.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

05 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, great staff

Disliked: Safe in rooms did not work

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

As a family with children

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

30 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Yes

Disliked: Nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

12 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very close to central station, very friendly and helpful staff. I'll book Liberty Hotel when in Amsterdam again.

Disliked: nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

alex stilman

With my spouse / partner

Business / conference
Family Holiday
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

07 April 2011 alex would recommend this property

Liked: I don´t know about the rest of amsterdam but in this hotel the atmosphere is very relaxed. Everyone is friendly, and shares their knowledge of the city. The breakfast is awesome. The locations is very good.

Disliked: The stairs can be tricky, I know they´re traditional but nonetheless they´re really small steps for my large feet. The wifi in our room was working not that good, but in the common room it was perfect.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

07 April 2011

Liked: Location

Disliked: The bathroom was dirty, they did not clean them during my stay. Kichen sink was always full of dirty dishes.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

samantha Darvell

With friends / other travellers

City break
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

05 April 2011 samantha would recommend this property

Liked: Comfy Beds - perfect for any means of stay Ability to smoke in the rooms, but the place did not smell at all - it was constantly ventilated and air freshened We witnessed the bathrooms being cleaned every day. The staff were really friendly and helpful, they made us feel really at home. The location is perfect, really pretty and close to everything...red light district and a short stroll to Dam square, as well as sights, markets and a multitude of restaurants and coffeeshops.

Disliked: Nothing