HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Hotel Liberty

1 star Hotel | Singel 5, Amsterdam, Netherlands 1012VC

91.5% Overall Rating

177 out of 222 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (01/08/2013)

Peter Clark thinks…

"It is a small hotel that is run like a family. The hotel is clean and in good condition, the rooms are comfortable, the breakfast is very good and the staff are all very helpful."

Read all Hotel Liberty reviews

Facilities

  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Bicycle hire
  • Reception (limited hours)

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Once you have received your booking confirmation you will receive the email address of the hotel. You will need to let the hostel know of your arrival time as soon as your booking is made.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Amsterdam

Bed and Breakfast Groenendael
46.04 USD

Guesthouse 77.4% 88 reviews
Aroza Hostel
34.54 USD

Hostel 57.9% 19 reviews
StargateAmsterdam
55.26 USD

Apartment 80.2% 19 reviews
Damrak 2D
60.78 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Quentin Arrive Hotel
44.55 USD

Hotel 1 star 72.4% 12 reviews
Season Star
82.88 USD

Hotel 62.9% 88 reviews
Amsterdam Mr.Beans Bed and Breakfast
41.43 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Bob's Youth Hostel
22.10 USD

Hostel 63.4% 959 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 19/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 19/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
91.5%

Overall Rating

177 out of 222 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hotel Liberty'

Atmosphere
89.6%
Location
96.0%
Facilities
87.2%
Cleanliness
86.4%
Staff
97.6%
Value
93.6%
Safety
90.4%
Refine your results Showing 155 of 213 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7   Next
Reset filter
88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Christopher Schembri

With my spouse / partner

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

04 July 2012 Christopher would recommend this property

Liked: Good location - just a five minute walk from Centraal Station, easy to find, overlooking a canal and, for Amsterdam, a reasonably quiet street. Shalina and her staff (and Molly the dog) are so friendly and casual, we felt very comfortable here. Young Elliot cooks up a great breakfast too! The hotel is right next door to the smallest house in Amsterdam.

Disliked: We really liked it here ... there was nothing we really disliked. It's a little shabby but honestly, who really cares ... that's just cosmetic. The important thing is it's clean. The steep stairs are pretty scarey - but all the buildings in Amsterdam are like that.

The property's response is...

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

04 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location, free breakfast, friendly and accomadating staff.

Disliked: Not clean, stairs were a mess, a lot of repairs need to be made.

The property's response is...

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference
City break

24 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really nice host. Everything is very tiny and personal, if you like that it's a nice place to stay.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Visiting friends or family

17 June 2012

Liked: Very central location and a short walk from most places to see. Relatively quiet street as well so not noisy.

Disliked: Room pretty filthy and our 'en-suite' turned out to be a sink, which leaked. Absolutely lethal staircase with no carpet left. No towels and breakfast was DIY. I've stayed in worse hostels, but not in Europe. Ever.

The property's response is...

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Nichole Chamberlin

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

17 June 2012 Nichole would recommend this property

Liked: Staff was very nice. Rooms were clean and simple. Very laid back hostel in a great area of the city.

Disliked: Nichole left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

10 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Price & Location; right on a canal next to the smallest house in Amsterdam. Within walking distance to everything, and easy to find your bearings. They made us breakfast in the morning (Though we had to wait for someone to come in for their shift two mornings because the employee there didn't know how to cook! So we took over and cooked for ourselves using their food! So great.)

Disliked: Tiny bathrooms! But expected I suppose...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

David Cole

With friends / other travellers

City break

05 June 2012 David would recommend this property

Liked: Very laid back, friendly hotel with helpful staff. Real Amsterdam feel and character

Disliked: N/A

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Rui Ting Teo

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

29 May 2012 Rui Ting would recommend this property

Liked: Our stay at Hotel Liberty was truly amazing! Despite arriving late at night, we were received by Elliot and introduced to our room, which was clean, with comfy beds and a washbasin that came as a pleasant surprise. The next morning, a scrumptious breakfast of eggs, toast and bacon was served up, alongside juice and a selection of tea and coffee. We were also provided valuable information on the places of interest in Amsterdam beyond the city sights by the owner and Petros, such as Zaanse Schans and Keukenhof. This was in addition to food recommendations, friendly advice and more. Moreoever, the hotel was situated in a prime location, being mere minutes away from Centraal Station and provided us the ability to enjoy an amazing view of the Singel Canal. Though sharing a toilet among the premises, the facility was clean and very much home-like. Hot water was easily available (this was a huge relief for me, as I was unable to bathe in the freezing cold water of my previous hostel in Edinburgh) as well, and the showerhead was not fixed on the wall/ceiling (another personal preference, yay!). The living room cum kitchen was a restful lounge area that we frequently used, being stocked up with a microwave, kettles, utensils, cups, bowls, tea, coffee, sugar, milk and many more. These were provided free-of-charge and used bowls, cups and utensils are not required to be washed by oneself - such great service! Pet lovers have another reason to fall in love with this property - the friendly owner has a lovely Jack Russell, Molly and a cute (and finger-obsessed) parrot, which made our stay lively and again, homely. I would strongly recommend all to come here if you are staying in Amsterdam! The already beautiful Dutch house is undergoing works for revamp whilst guests are out sightseeing, and this means new paintwork, carpets and many more!

Disliked: It would be better if some hangers were placed in the rooms, such that clothes and clothings could be hung to dry after washing them. However, we did manage using the window and the windowsill ;)

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife

24 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location

Disliked: room size, had to sleep with me brothers feet in me face. lucky enough they didnt stink. giving no towels for a shower

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Vladimir Andel

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

15 May 2012 Vladimir would recommend this property

Liked: location

Disliked: tiny rooms

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

13 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: ubication, the staff was friendly

Disliked: the stars, the bathroom was so small! We were carring smaill baggages but someone with larger bagage would have troubles.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

10 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location and staff were friendly and accomodating.

Disliked: Stairway was unacceptable and unsafe and considered a fire hazzard.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Family Holiday
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

06 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hotel had charm and a very laid back character . Beautiful typical Dutch style town building . Breakfast is available from 9am onwards and is made to order . The staff know the area and are willing to advise if asked . The rooms are basic , like a hostel with bunk beds and a couple of single beds . Shower and toilet room is really small .....not for larger people shall we say ! Loved the location , if I go back to Amsterdam I would stay in that end of the city .

Disliked: Lumpy pillows . Small bathroom area. Missed having a TV or radio in our room .

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Jiamin Ling

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

03 May 2012 Jiamin would recommend this property

Liked: Very good location. Friendly and easygoing staff but a little lazy. He didn't buy the food and there was nothing for the breakfast at already 9h, so I had to wait him. But I'am very glad to find this hostel at this time in Amsterdam!

Disliked: Jiamin left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Emma Sprong

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

16 April 2012 Emma would recommend this property

Liked: Great place to stay! We felt welcomed and relaxed! Had everything we could want or need! Breakfast was great, big thanks to Elliot!

Disliked: Nothing.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Phil Roberts

With friends / other travellers

City break

10 April 2012 Phil would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly and attentive staff, breakfast made for you there and then (nice one Elliot). Boss location, good for what we wanted (a place to sleep and somewhere to put our stuff).

Disliked: Got to be honest, there being no towels was irritating.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Ryan Pickstone

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

08 April 2012 Ryan would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly welcome,like others have said very very comfy bed,and great price especially for amstedam

Disliked: Can't really complain to be honest

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

05 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, right by the city centre but just around a quiet corner so there was no noise from traffic / tourists etc. The staff were all very friendly and helpful, happy to recommend us places to go and gave us directions. Breakfast was made however late in the day we woke up, which was a bonus! Overall, the hostel had a very personable feel to it and I enjoyed my brief stay there. Dog lovers like myself will also love Molly, the resident pooch.

Disliked: Our room could've done with new carpet, and once it was mid-morning it wasn't so quiet but this didn't really affect us as we had woken up by then anyway.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

22 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The guy who welcomed us when we came was lovely & the little dog was adorable. We got our keys, paid & he gave us a map & marked in all the must-see places, which were spot on! He was very helpful! The property had great character, it was tiny! But totally added to our stay! The bedroom was a great size though. Very steep stair but they were fun! You just had to be fit & able!

Disliked: Not much really, all the little things added to our experience!

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Rahman Sadique Choudhury

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

21 February 2012 Rahman Sadique would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were really friendly, as were the whole nation. No frills - just a place to rest your head - good heating and hot water throughout.

Disliked: Nothing really, a bit of a small bathroom.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Hannah Marshall-Ellwood

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

13 February 2012 Hannah would recommend this property

Liked: Staff extremely helpful, Elliot in particular, couldnt do enough for us, breakfast served at anytime (ideal for hangovers) Great local knowledge and hardworking guy. Good location, safe and secure. Outside being -8 degrees it was nice to go back to a lovely warm room with the heating on all day. All round Awesome value for money! Don't hesitate, book it!!!

Disliked: Only issues we had were the toilet faciities (although clean) only two in the building. Also being on the top floor the stairs were incredibly steep and spirally but you get used to it after the first day or so (even when drunk)

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Wan-I Huang

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

09 February 2012

Liked: Friendly hosts.

Disliked: They've got a dog and that might makes the reception hall smells not that good.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

05 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Absolutely loved it! The staff was incredibly sweet and helpful. I'll definitely be staying here again.

Disliked: It was a little bit cold inside the hostel

48.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Tanya Costa

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

19 January 2012

Liked: The location was the best aspect of this hostel. It was within walking distance from the central station and close to the tourist hot spots such as the Red Light District, Anne Frank House and museums. We were also close to the local shops and restaurants so we could afford to stay out in the city centre for longer without worrying about getting back. About the property itself, they didn't ask for a deposit on our room key (how trusting they are..) and we were given 1 key between the 2 of us for security reasons so we wouldn't think they were accessing our rooms while we were out (again..trust issues..) Overall you get what you pay for which for us was the cheapest most central hostel we could afford.

Disliked: Just about everything else! We were introduced to the building by an English guy who was more stoned than a Brighton beach, then shown to our room which was on the very top floor. The first flight of stairs to get to the reception were small enough but the stairs leading to our room were almost impossible to climb! We both struggled to climb up and considering I've only got size 3 feet that was saying something. If that wasn't the only concern our room was something else. We discovered a box of rat poison right beside my friends bed (I guess on a bright note they're doing what needs to be done to control a pest problem that a previous guest may have complained about!). The security locker didn't work so we kept our belongings with us. The bathrooms were very basic and so small that we didn't bother to use them, instead we opted for the sink as a better option (at least it was cleaner!) All in all, unless you're an unhygienic midget who likes vermin and doesn't mind being left on their own most of the time, then I wouldn't recommend this place.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

chloe popejoy

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

23 December 2011 chloe would recommend this property

Liked: Out of all the hostels we have stayed at through out Europe, this hostel was by far our best exerience! Like comments previous, when you get to this hostel it's like meeting up and staying with old friends rather than employees. The location is perfect! It's within walking distance of everything. The facilities are kept clean and well maintained. There are 2 bathrooms to share- both which are kept clean and well maintained also. There are steep stairs but you get used to it quickly. This is the most laid back hostel (which includes bfast and coffee) that we have ever encountered. Both the owner and the staff (Elliot) were the MOST helpful and generous people we have ever met. They went above and beyond the call of duty and we are so appreciative. Not to mention you can't beat the price!! If either of them ever come to Florida they have a place to stay! Jeff and I absolutely recommend this hostel to anyone considering staying in Amsterdam.

Disliked: Nothing!!